X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hyde Park Hostel Reviews

2-4-6 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

51%

Rating
2060 Total Reviews
  • 54%Value For Money
  • 53%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 49%Staff
  • 42%Atmosphere
  • 41%Cleanliness
  • 39%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Dirty, slightly smelly and kept up all night with someone snoring but what can you actually expect for the location at the price. Could be so much better though

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Dirty, dump showers, duvels after previous guest, someone in my bed on my arrival, no pillow cases, bugs in toilets, Wi-Fi not included, better to spend 5 quid more per night than stay in that place. Very cute receptionist though;)

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

By far the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. Absolutely disgusting facilties, mould everywhere, no hot water. Tiny, unstable bunks. Staff unwilling to help. Only 2 of 8 showers worked on one floor with one having tiles off floor and walls, just sitting in the shower stall. Lights in dorms and toilets don't work. Was meant to stay 2 nights, left after the first. Would never recommend this place, very dirty and disgusting!

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

everything was satisfactory; had a slight soup kitchen/homeless shelter to it


43%

Rude staff, dirty, expensive

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

- extremely dirty bathrooms - dirty bed (with old food on it) upon arrival - unfriendly & unhelpful staff - woke up to the whole floor covered in water after it rained at night (even though the window was closed), so my things were soaked Worst hostel experience so far, most other guests in my room agreed!

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Comparing to very similar hostel near Russel Square this hostel was awful. Not enough bathrooms/ showers/ lazy staff, no atmosphere. Dissapointing.


60%

I would never go there again. Staff was bored to tell you information. There were strange people living. I guess a lot of them were living there for long time. Window in my room had a lot of holes around so it was VERY cold in the room during nigh. Im sure there were badbug (small insect) who bited my mum during the night. She had a problems on her skin for week.Kitchen was dirty.


60%

Well the hostel isn't that bad.The location is perfect,like 2-3 minutes away form both Bayswater and Queensway and havin breakfast while walking in hydePark is awesome.The room we were in was a little dirty and the people kinda suspicious(some friendly homeless).The breakfast is poor but for 10pounds/night it's ok:toast and regular cerealThe staff were nice and they have service 24/7One night a guy broke into our room to stole some bags but the weird people in the room managed to make him leave

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel itself it's not so bad how is described in most of reviews. The rooms are ok, but the bathrooms and the showers are very dirty. You have to pay 10£ as a deposit, refoundable at check out. The location is great, even if you haven't the opportunity to see from the windows.:P A few steps from Queensway metro station. The staff are very nice and helpfull.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


31%

Horrible staff and conditions


29%

I have no idea how they get passed in health and safety, the stair railings are so unsecure and some rails even missing and covered up with wooden boards, the showers are so bad, the worst i have ever seen, there were mushrooms growing on the walls in there and i am not lying, it was a hole in the ground on a concrete floor and two shower heads in a small room,

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

Worse hostel ever


34%

Never come across such rude staff, the treated me like a kid. Felt very unsafe with the odd range of people there but the rooms like filthy and so crammed together.


54%

more rooms but smaller

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

I don't recommend anyone stays here, the staff are rude and the rooms are disgusting. But you get what you pay for, it's one of the cheaper hostels in London. There is an additional cost for everything, Internet, locker, luggage storage and you don't feel safe.


31%

I am not picky at all after serving in the military for 6 years I appreciate almost anything, but the staff was extremely rude. Most of the showers didn't work. There was a lot of people with mental health issues living/staying there, getting drunk and walking around saying racist remarks (to other people). The security couldn't remove the hooligans from the front and me and my wife didn't sleep at all... our roommate from Argentina (who was a great guy) left early too (he had enough) etc.


51%

The hostel is in a very good location and it's cheap. These are the only two good things about it. There's a lot of people who live there, mostly sleazy males so in the kitchen if you're a woman you will feel at least uncomfortable. Food gets stolen ALL THE TIME from the common fridge, staff doesn't care about it all. It's not safe. It's a good place to sleep for the night as in there's a bed and a roof (yet constant noise like in all backpackers), but I wouldn't leave any valuables there

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Worst hostel ever!! Dirty, most showers did not work, rooms overpacked, no ventilation, staff not helpful, not enough chargers in the room for everybody,mno individual lights, you had to turn on general lights, disturbing everybody. If I can avoid it, I will next time


23%

The worst hostel in London! ... And i Lived in several. Hyde Park Hostel looks like an abandoned Convent, cold and impersonal and this is only the start of a list that you could never stop if you would. I will try to be more resumptive though. The staff has been: Deceitful, Invasive and so annoying they even forbad me to just stand in front of the hostel! The showers seems a product of Dario Argento's fantasy, not surprised when i saw people with cream for mushrooms so. AVOID AVOID AVOID!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(120 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback