X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hyde Park Hostel Reviews

2-4-6 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

53%

Rating
1992 Total Reviews
  • 55%Value For Money
  • 55%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 50%Staff
  • 45%Atmosphere
  • 43%Cleanliness
  • 43%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Showers very dirty No security at all Breakfast ok but too early Noisy roommates...

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Access to lockers was difficult, access to wifi was difficult, no hooks/ shelves in the bathrooms

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Betten kaputt (fehlen Schrauben usw..), Matratzen total dreckig, Türen werden nach dem Reinigen vom Personal offen gelassen, extreme Lautstärke, Frühstück katastrophal ( lösslicher Kaffee, 1 Sorte Kellogs, Toastbrot, 1 Sorte Marmelade!!! Interkontinental ,is klar!!!!), Personal unglaublich unfreundlich!!! Sogar der Chef lässt zu, dass der Kunde vom Personal verbal angegriffen wird!!!!! NIE WIEDER!!!!

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

feel not safe


40%

This place is F*#$ing horrendous. Firstly we checked in late (~1:30am), the room we were given only had one available bed (and even that one was dubious i.e. looked like it was in use) . We told reception, and one staff member came through and removed someone else's bed linen and belongings to make room for me. So not only did i have to sleep in a used bed, the person who was keeping in it came through later and woke me up. We told reception the next morning and they couldn't give a f#$%.


34%

very weird place...unhelpful staff, strange room-mates, really warm rooms. only good because cheap but otherwise avoid.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Nothing bothered me more than the rude staff in the hyde park hostel. They were ill-mannered, distant, cold and downright disrespectful. Advice to the manager: provide a customer-friendly attitude course for your staff as soon as possible. Very average accommodation but that's what you get for paying an average price (so I have no complaints there) The location was ideal for the purpose of my trip: the nottinghill carnaval. The bedlinen was clean. I am very satisfied with hostelworld.com!

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

Hyde Park Hostel is without any doubt the worst hostel I have ever been in my life. The only good thing about it was the location but I personally think that I prefer staying in a place further the most important things in London rather than staying this hostel. The room was very small (looked exactly like a prison cell), the bathrooms were very old and dirty and the showers were just disgusting. Even though it´s a cheap place I would never recommend it to anyone. Nuria

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Enjoy the times i stayed. Good value and overall satisfied.


54%

The Location is pretty decent as it is next to Hyde Park and QUeensway is close however the service, facilities and Cleanliness is poor... But if you stay just 1-2 nigths it's fine.


40%

Absolutely disgusting, the number of toilets were inadequate for the amount of people in the room (21 bed dorm and 1 toilet). The shower room was putrid, tiles had come off walls and smashed inside the cubicle, shower head fitting was faulty and squirted water in all directions. No kitchen, poorly signed. Poor cleanliness of breakfast room. Convinient location, short walk to paddington station and opposite Hyde park. Personally I would look for somewhere else, luckily only there for 1 night.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Overall is good, near bus stop and underground. Plug is limited.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

No lokers in the dorms, all the hooks in the toilets and showers are broken, there are just few showers each floor for too many people that's why are always dirty. If you need a dish or a fork to eat your dinner you have to ask at the reception. When I asked for a fork they found the Only one left after 2minutes, and it was a plastic one. Second day when arrivedin the evening I found my bed have been given to somebody else, at the reception they just told me to take one free bed if one free.


37%

Such a rude staff, we ended up checking out four days early, because of the impoliteness and mean nature of the people Worning there.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

It would be helpful if the staff explained a bit more about the hostel when the guest arrives (location of the toilets and showers, how to use the key, rules in the kitchen...). It is important too to know that in the kitchen there are no dishes nor cutlery. Also, the cleanliness clearly needs an improvement.


54%

The staff was not very pleasant The breakfast is very cheap We didn't take a shower 'cause there arn't enought


57%

No aircon or fans could not open windows even for air....so security was good but in summer not good... The showers didn't work on the 3rd and 4th floor when they eventually did (if you call a drizzle is working) and no hot water... Breakfast basic but clean and fresh cereal milk and toast options Location was good and close to Tube and Buses

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

They give you what you pay for, but I´ve always thought that if you want to enjoy your stay you should stay in a nicer place


34%

This, without a doubt was the most miserable hostel i have stayed in anywhere in the world, and i'm sad to say it was in my home city! The staff - Miserable. The bathroom facilities - rubbish. The breakfast - very poor.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Hostel is notorious for the thief gangs who regularly rob the tourist staying there.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(111 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback