X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hyde Park Hostel Reviews

2-4-6 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

51%

Rating
2104 Total Reviews
  • 54%Value For Money
  • 52%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 49%Staff
  • 41%Atmosphere
  • 40%Cleanliness
  • 39%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Comparing to very similar hostel near Russel Square this hostel was awful. Not enough bathrooms/ showers/ lazy staff, no atmosphere. Dissapointing.


60%

I would never go there again. Staff was bored to tell you information. There were strange people living. I guess a lot of them were living there for long time. Window in my room had a lot of holes around so it was VERY cold in the room during nigh. Im sure there were badbug (small insect) who bited my mum during the night. She had a problems on her skin for week.Kitchen was dirty.


60%

Well the hostel isn't that bad.The location is perfect,like 2-3 minutes away form both Bayswater and Queensway and havin breakfast while walking in hydePark is awesome.The room we were in was a little dirty and the people kinda suspicious(some friendly homeless).The breakfast is poor but for 10pounds/night it's ok:toast and regular cerealThe staff were nice and they have service 24/7One night a guy broke into our room to stole some bags but the weird people in the room managed to make him leave

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel itself it's not so bad how is described in most of reviews. The rooms are ok, but the bathrooms and the showers are very dirty. You have to pay 10£ as a deposit, refoundable at check out. The location is great, even if you haven't the opportunity to see from the windows.:P A few steps from Queensway metro station. The staff are very nice and helpfull.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


31%

Horrible staff and conditions


46%

Hyde Park Hostel was one of the baddest hostel I've been. The price is really good, so you can't expect to much, but the staff really seem to not like their work, the hostel looks like a prison with just gray and dull walls and electricitypoint for rechargers aren't available in the rooms. You have to pay for all the extra's, like towels, WiFi and using mobile rechargers.


37%

The staff were very rude, not very welcoming. The rooms were big, and everyone was loud, don't expect a good nights sleep. The location is good, close to the metro about 5 minutes walk. I don't recommend stain at this hostel unless its your last resort, like it was mine.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

I have no idea how they get passed in health and safety, the stair railings are so unsecure and some rails even missing and covered up with wooden boards, the showers are so bad, the worst i have ever seen, there were mushrooms growing on the walls in there and i am not lying, it was a hole in the ground on a concrete floor and two shower heads in a small room,

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

Worse hostel ever


34%

Never come across such rude staff, the treated me like a kid. Felt very unsafe with the odd range of people there but the rooms like filthy and so crammed together.


54%

more rooms but smaller

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

I don't recommend anyone stays here, the staff are rude and the rooms are disgusting. But you get what you pay for, it's one of the cheaper hostels in London. There is an additional cost for everything, Internet, locker, luggage storage and you don't feel safe.


31%

I am not picky at all after serving in the military for 6 years I appreciate almost anything, but the staff was extremely rude. Most of the showers didn't work. There was a lot of people with mental health issues living/staying there, getting drunk and walking around saying racist remarks (to other people). The security couldn't remove the hooligans from the front and me and my wife didn't sleep at all... our roommate from Argentina (who was a great guy) left early too (he had enough) etc.


51%

The hostel is in a very good location and it's cheap. These are the only two good things about it. There's a lot of people who live there, mostly sleazy males so in the kitchen if you're a woman you will feel at least uncomfortable. Food gets stolen ALL THE TIME from the common fridge, staff doesn't care about it all. It's not safe. It's a good place to sleep for the night as in there's a bed and a roof (yet constant noise like in all backpackers), but I wouldn't leave any valuables there

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Worst hostel ever!! Dirty, most showers did not work, rooms overpacked, no ventilation, staff not helpful, not enough chargers in the room for everybody,mno individual lights, you had to turn on general lights, disturbing everybody. If I can avoid it, I will next time


23%

The worst hostel in London! ... And i Lived in several. Hyde Park Hostel looks like an abandoned Convent, cold and impersonal and this is only the start of a list that you could never stop if you would. I will try to be more resumptive though. The staff has been: Deceitful, Invasive and so annoying they even forbad me to just stand in front of the hostel! The showers seems a product of Dario Argento's fantasy, not surprised when i saw people with cream for mushrooms so. AVOID AVOID AVOID!


20%

I paid for nothing. Didn't stay there a minute and didn't get my money back including deposit. Unfortunatelly a tragic reason lead to this but the staff did not show any flexiblility.


54%

It's pretty dirty in this place. The beds and pillow are fine though. The showers and toilets are free public washroom level and the floor could be cleaner. For a towel I had to pay 5 pounds so bring your own

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

This is a true dive and a very crowded one, at that. The shower areas look like from a concentration camp. Many of the bathrooms didn't work and those that did were tiny and not enough for the number of hostelers staying at this huge hostel. The social/breakfast room in the basement level is a humbling place. The breakfast provided is as simple as it can get. The check-in staff need a lesson in being courteous. This hostel only takes cash payment and should advertise that is the case.


51%

Well the stay was a dissappointment overall biggest issues being security and cleanliness. Because of the system in place, anyone could come into the hostel if he was smart enough. Even the extremely over-priced luggage service they did, didn't look very secure. Sincerely, I would prefer to pay more than have the same experience again.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(119 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback