X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hyde Park Hostel Reviews

2-4-6 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

54%

Rating
1741 Total Reviews
  • 57%Value For Money
  • 53%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 51%Staff
  • 46%Atmosphere
  • 43%Cleanliness
  • 42%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

The staff at the reception was rather unfriendly. No smiles, no questions regarding our stay (whether we needed directions or tips) and hardly any eye contact, all of which does not make one feel welcome. The facilities were in poor condition, at least nothing was moldy... maybe the ongoing renovations will improve this.

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Staff were really rude and lots and lots of stairs but either than that it was fine, cleanish sheets, hot water, only slightly cracked mirrors.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Toilet was dirty, shower and toilet pipes were blocked. In room was ok.

  • 7th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The staff wasn't nice. They were just working, not even one smile was showed... Cleanliness--the shower it ugly..

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

I picked the hostel because it had low prices, therefore I didn't expect to have an outstanding service. Everything was OK in general. The only thing that needs is a common area to stay and may be meet more people staying at the hostel.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

Jesus Christ!!! this is the worst hostel I have ever stayed in...I had read the reviews but went there anyway coz my friends were staying near...thinkin...how bad it could really be? But OMG, they were all right. Unwelcomed staff, room absolutely smelly, big time, toilets disgusting, dirties, awful, had to go to bars or cafes to use bathrooms, and showers the same, plus you have to go on an adventure to find them and then to find and empty one. Overall, DONT STAY THERE


60%

Good for 1 or 2 nights max. Good place, near centrum. Toilets are nonstop unclean. 2 electric sources for phone recharching in room for 18 people. Im not gonna sugest this hostel to my friends.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

windows cannot be locked, ants that bite

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


20%

Broken window, 22 people in one bedroom no dividers they are liars no free Internet 1pound per hour 2.50 pound for the map unfriendly staff when we was there their was only 2 working bathrooms in the whole buildings and 3 working showers on of which had 2 showers but onli one worked...it looked like a converted insane Asylum vent where painted over and we saw 2 rats while we was there kitchen was nasty I doubt there is any health standards by the looks of things I'm a chef...


63%

you do not expect any luxury, but ventilation of your room is rather a must....

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

For what it's worth, this hostel wasn't bad. The bathroom and toilets were in poor condition though. The staff were pretty friendly and my room was good.

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

It's a good hostel.


49%

Staff needs to improve their attitude towarsd guests as they are very rude at the front desk when u ask questions it's like they cant be bothered. Attitude stinks expecially the male staffs.


43%

This hostel has a fine location - though still an hour walk from most of the tourist attractions - but that's about it. Staff is rude, security terrible, showers and toilets too few and gross. It's sort of 'you get what you pay for'.

  • 31st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

When I arrived at the hostel the police was there to remove some Guys who had made som trouble for a couple of nights. Not the very best impression I got when arriving, but despite this episode the staff was very friendly and professional when handling the situation, and the other guests in my dorm were friendly

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Too many strangers and some guys look like gangsters. The worst hostel I have experienced.

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The location of the hostel is really good. It is better than I thought. I lived in a 9- bed female room. It is ok for people to live in a short time. There is no hot water in the bathroom, which is terrible.The toilet is not clean enough.

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Breakfast could have been more various.


74%

The room downstair is very noisy since people go to the dinner room and make a lot of noise. There is only one door in this room so you can't sleep well because of the light of the corridor


46%

Security: My friend had his iphone stolen on the last night while he was sleeping. He had left it charging on the plug beside his bed and as he woke up there was just the charger but no phone. The hostel doesnt provide lockers in the room, so everybody leaves their stuff under and on the beds, which proved to be very unsafe! Moreover, anybody can enter the hostel even if they are not there, once the main door is always unlocked. The staff is definetely not friendly, sometimes even rude.


(862 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback