X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hylands Reviews

307 Queens Road, Beeston, Nottingham, Nottingham, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
99 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very homely. Really friendly. the staff can't do too much for you. Will return again and again.


49%

Person on duty was incompetent and lied incessantly to cover their tracks

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry that you were not happy with the service provided. The member on staff on duty that night was new and was working alone for the first time so she probably was a little unsure of herself. I find your accusation of incessant lies a little extreme when it seems your only issue was a kettle which was replaced immediately.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Very friendly staff. I booked the smallest and cheapest room and was surprised when I got there. The room was excellent, great value for money, highly recommend this hotel!

  • 9th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff was very friendly and helpful Tasty breakfast.

  • 8th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Best place we stayed in out of the whole UK

  • 5th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

A really comfortable room, friendly staff and good breakfast

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

I came to Nottingham by bus and saw a route at the bus station, the driver and the other passengers were very helpful. If you are coming by bus ask for the Dovecote Lane stop, it is right opposite the hotel. All day everywhere tickets are available from bus drivers at an economical rate and will get you anywhere pleasantly. The hotel itself is homely and comfortable and the staff caring and helpful. There are plenty of casual eating venues within a short walking distance and a large Tesco near

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice staff and breakfast! Will go back if visiting again!


100%

had a great time. very friendly staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind remarks. Glad you re enjoying your trip.

83%

£18 per person for a 4 man room, can't go wrong! Nice enough room, incl, tv, sink, fringe, kettle, window, storage. Peaking good

  • 6th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Loved that location was quiet but near train station and bus stop. Staff friendly and helpful. Wi-fi signal only good downstairs, room was stuffy. Charming old house. Overall loved it.


74%

Could do Breakfast a bit earlier than 7.30 on a Saturday.

  • 19th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Having been working in Nottingham on and off for the past two weeks and have stayed here in a single room. Very comfortable and a fairly sizeable room ( though some I saw were tiny). Everywhere very clean but whole building needs a good paint. This does not put me off returning especially as the breakfasts are brilliant. You can ask for most combinations of food and they produce them freshly cooked on a hot plate.


97%

This was the cutest hotel! The people were so sweet and we had a great time. I wish I could have stayed there longer

  • 2nd Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • American Samoa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Very basic but can't complain as it was so cheap. Brilliant staff, really friendly and helpful.

  • 31st Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Convenient for the university. It was difficult to sleep due noisy neighbours. The breakfast was pretty good.


89%

One bad point: the floor would make some noise next to my room. But that was not particularly disturbing and the rest was quite perfect (cleaning, breakfast, ...). Also, not so many bathrooms; but I had no problem, so it's just a "maybe"

  • 4th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I enjoyed my stay and thought Hylands was very cute. However, one of the rooms that I paid for smelt very musty and a bit old. It just seemed to need a refresher.

  • 8th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very good better than expected the staff were really room basic but it had everything you needed tv fridge and microwave only 4 miles for the town centre which only 11 pounds for a taxi.

  • 17th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything is awesome. The staff are super friendly.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(62 results)


View all Nottingham Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback