Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,375 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,375 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA Located at 1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago.
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
USA
Chicago Illinois 60647 1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line
91% 1375
41.9110482 -87.6776066
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
7.7

I wish the staff was on site 24/7 due to needing a first aid kit at 6 am, the ice machines were broken, and I wish there was at least 1 sink outside the bathrooms on the 2nd floor. Lights in the room were an issue. There was a light bulb with a pull cord that you had to be 6 ft to use. One lamp didn't have a switch so you had to unplug it. And the other lamp had two bulbs that had one switch broken so you also had to unplug that. No tv remote. Staff was friendly,place was clean. Great location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Sep 2016
8.9

Nice hostel, where you can meet young travelers from all around the world. The setting is quite simple, but there is everything you need. Restroom and showers (vou can get towels, too), common room and kitchen (where you can also cook and leave your own food in the fridge) and the rooftop terrace, which is great! Shops like walgreens, bars, little restaurants and the Blue Line and bus stop are around the corner, that's great, too and equalizes the fact, that the hostel is not downtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
9.7

Foremost, I'm actually from the states and coming to IHSP I met sooo many people from across the world! It was amazing. In saying that the hostel was amazing definitely would recommend it to anyone! The staff is very helpful and when you first get there they give you a small tour of the grounds and basic ground rules of the hostel. The only thing that I would say kinda sucks are the floor boards are very creaky, but other than that hands down awesome! Breakfast is free and they have a rooftop!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Sep 2016
8.9

It's a great experience to stay in HISP. The staff Sam was very nice and helpful, I felt so welcomed during my stay. The subway is just across the street to take me to downtown or Ohare airport, and there is a Walgreen next to the hostel, very convenient. Recommend to anyone wants a short visit in Chicago.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • christypescini
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
10.0

The staff were extremely helpful-especially Sam who helped us print our boarding passes for our flight. Very clean with lockers for storage and the best roof top deck! Location is a little out of Chicago but the public transport is great with a train station just across the road. The only complaint that I have is the coffee was a bit crappy. I highly recommend this hostel, great value for money!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
17th Sep 2016
8.0

The staff was really nice (most of them). Unfortunately the hostel does not have a bar and people are not very open and talkative, however, very much depending on the night. Sometimes it is great to meet people on the roof top. The lockers require somewhat large padlocks, sleeping bags are not allowed but overall a good hostel with enough showers etc. The location is awesome!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
8.6

Stayed here several times and this place never disappoints me. I think this says it all. I do recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Sep 2016
8.0

Free breakfast is a lie. They provide coffee and tea for drinks and pancakes (that you got to cook yourself) to eat. That's all; no bread, no milk, nothing else. I ended up having breakfast out every day. Staff not really nice, always seem like they're bored or doing you a favour. Despite that, ok place to stay a few nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
7.7

Wi-fi just does not work at all here. Staff are helpful and friendly. Good location right next to train station and many bars and restaurants. Rooftop terrace is pretty cool too. Not a bad place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
9.4

Bunk beds were very squeaky and the automatic aroma spray every so often in the room was pretty over powering. Room was also pretty hot at night until morning when it is all occupied (with 4-8 ppl in the room). Apart from that, bed was comfortable, nice showers, a good amount of sinks and restrooms. Rooftop chilling was nice, met a couple interesting fellows up there as well as the staff. Decent neighborhood to stay in, with lots of bars and lounges, although not my scene (hip hop/ratchet).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.