Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,452 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,452 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA Located at 1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago.
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
USA
Chicago Illinois 60647 1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line
88% 1452
41.9110482 -87.6776066
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • chloe_hunt7591
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jan 2017
8.6

Great location and the common areas and breakfast are good. Showers good and hot, and mostly clean. Excellent wifi. Downside is the plastic sheeting on the mattresses and pillows, the thin duvet with no cover and just a sheet, and an extreme rule about not using your own sleeping bags. Perhaps if you are in a smaller room it would be better, the 12 bed dorm was not great. However would stay again for location and value, and hope the other rooms are better !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
9.1

Great place, great location. I recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
9.1

Great value for the money! Roof top balcony has amazing view and the staff are super helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
9.1

Great location and no complaints on our room or restroom/shower facilities. Showers were hot (perfect for cold Chicago winters) with great water pressure. Rooms were private and the WiFi did its job. Staff welcomed us immediately upon check in and showed us around in a friendly manner. I really can't say how great the location was enough. Literally a block away from a metro stop and right next to a store that sold beer, liquor, tobacco and food products 24 hours a day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
9.4

The IHSP Chicago Hostel was friendly and accommodating! The location is great, with quite a few coffee shops and bookstores around. Subway access us just a block away. I look forward to staying here again next time I'm in Chicago. I would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Dec 2016
9.4

This place is amazing. U can enjoy the the time with people who come from the other country. And the stuffs are so nice and helpful. I highly recommend for every backpackers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Dec 2016
8.0

Good hostel but severely lacking powerpoints - there were no proper powerpoints in our room, only a very strange make-shift single powerpoint (that did not have a three prong option) which needed to be plugged in to make the only light in the room work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2016
5.7

it was nice staying there chicago is sooo cold !!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
10.0

It is the best value for money I have ever had for a place I stayed. It is convenient for any location you want to get to in the city. Compared to other cities, it is superior.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Nov 2016
9.4

Cool little hostel, with great easy access to the city & airport! Free pancake breakfast was to die for. Facilities are great and bathrooms clean!! Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.