Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1466 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1466 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Feb 2017
9.4

Super clean facilities, and super nice guy at the reception. Maybe some electric plugs more for the upper beds wouldn't hurt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Feb 2017
9.4

Good place, good people, close to the train, make easy to go anyplace including at airport, ride of 35 minutes! We have bars, restaurantes and party only some steps fron the hostel and 20 minutes from the attractions by train, i loved my experience, Chicago is amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nmelvin95
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
9.4

I only stayed in IHSP Hostel for one night but it was a very pleasant experience. The free breakfast was wonderful and I loved how close it was to the metro station. I was also able to park my car overnight for a really good price. Overall, I would definitely choose to stay at this hostel on my next trip to Chicago.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jan 2017
10.0

I absolutely loved it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Gabillionaire
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
19th Jan 2017
5.4

1. The short blonde hair male staff was terrible. Rude and not helpful. Got greeted by an angry face and scolding for being late when I was not late. Please don't work in the service industry if you're gonna maintain that attitude. 2. Long blonde hair male staff was amazing though. Incredibly friendly and helpful. A polar opposite. 3. Building was old. It looks dirty but it's actually pretty clean. 4. Value for money, will come back if the rude staff is gone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • chloe_hunt7591
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jan 2017
8.6

Great location and the common areas and breakfast are good. Showers good and hot, and mostly clean. Excellent wifi. Downside is the plastic sheeting on the mattresses and pillows, the thin duvet with no cover and just a sheet, and an extreme rule about not using your own sleeping bags. Perhaps if you are in a smaller room it would be better, the 12 bed dorm was not great. However would stay again for location and value, and hope the other rooms are better !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
9.1

Great place, great location. I recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
9.1

Great value for the money! Roof top balcony has amazing view and the staff are super helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
9.1

Great location and no complaints on our room or restroom/shower facilities. Showers were hot (perfect for cold Chicago winters) with great water pressure. Rooms were private and the WiFi did its job. Staff welcomed us immediately upon check in and showed us around in a friendly manner. I really can't say how great the location was enough. Literally a block away from a metro stop and right next to a store that sold beer, liquor, tobacco and food products 24 hours a day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
9.4

The IHSP Chicago Hostel was friendly and accommodating! The location is great, with quite a few coffee shops and bookstores around. Subway access us just a block away. I look forward to staying here again next time I'm in Chicago. I would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.