Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1,282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1,282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA Located at 1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago.
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
USA
Chicago Illinois 60647 1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line
92% 1282
41.9110482 -87.6776066
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
10.0

I had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly. Pao was my favourite because she came to catch Pokemon with me

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.4

Only downside is it's difficult to meet people here, the common area isn't really built for it (although it's nice, just difficult to make new friends) and it's not a party hostel - there are families who stay here too. Otherwise I loved the location, it was perfect. Staff were super friendly, the place was really clean and the other facilities were great. Good value for money too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • MrInvisible
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
6th Jul 2016
10.0

Fantastic vibe at this hostel, 24 hour rooftop is awesome as you will play games and drink to all hours of the morning with great people. Pool table, computers and the waffles for breakfast are brilliant. You have to stay here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
10.0

Top hostel, friendly staff and a cracking roof terrace.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
9.4

One of the overall best hostels I've ever stayed in: 1.Location- Wicker Park is one of the cuttest neighborhoods, plenty goodstuff within walking distansce+ very easy to get downtown, O'hare, Megabus station etc by Blue Line. 2. Great atmosphere! Cool public room+best rooftop to chill with the other guests- some of the nicest, most interesting I've met. Fun breakfest! 3. Best staff EVER! Already miss you guys. Had so much fun I decided to stay for another night :) Can't wait to come bac

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jun 2016
8.9

This is a really good social hostel and the roof top is a fantastic place to hang out. Everyone I met was very fun and friendly! The staff were a little bit vague sometimes and were pretty cheerful. The location is amazing, 1 minute from damen station and the area of wicker park is really cool. Would highly recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jun 2016
8.6

Besides the couple of stoned guys sitting in the front desk and making it the longest check in I've ever had, the place is comfortable and the location is perfect. Ask to get an accommodation on the first floor, which are way better than the ones on the main floor. There's no noise or lighting disturbing from reception or main area, also the showers work better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
9.7

Amazing location!!! We bought a 3-day rail pass which meant we could use trains/ buses as many times as we liked. The Walgreens next door is great for groceries and snacks. Kitchen had all the facilities we needed to cook dinner. If you're up for some exercise- we ran/walked the "606 bloomingdale trail", very close to the hostel and beautiful at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
9.4

Really chill place to stay with great breakfast included! Staff were lovely and the place is super clean. The neighborhood is really funky with good bars and vintage stores. Only 20mins from downtown on the train. Only fault is sometimes the reception is not 24hrs which can be annoying if you arrive overnight. But overall a good place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • justnoahhh
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
9.7

This hostel was AMAZING! First I have ever stayed at and I will definitely be back to IHSP. It's in Wicker Park which is a very safe area of Chicago which is always on the plus side. The place felt very homely and we were welcomed so kindly. We got such a great deal on our double private and with a request, got $10 parking for our ENTIRE stay! Simply astonishing and I will 100% be returning for another stay! 😊💯

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.