Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,427 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,427 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA Located at 1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago.
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
USA
Chicago Illinois 60647 1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line
89% 1427
41.9110482 -87.6776066
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Dec 2016
10.0

It is the best value for money I have ever had for a place I stayed. It is convenient for any location you want to get to in the city. Compared to other cities, it is superior.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
8.0

Staff were very nice and helpful!! Decoration seems a bit outdated and contributes to the overall impression of uncleanliness, which is my biggest "but" in going back. Location is rather far from downtown.However,the neighborhood where IHSP is located definitely has a charm of its own with many cafes, shops and restaurants nearby, and is only a block away from Damen station (blue line). There's also many bus options and even a bike station in the area, so it's actually very easy to move around

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Nov 2016
10.0

Chicago IHSP is an awesome place! I stayed there last year and knew I had to come back. The staff is always friendly and knowledgeable. They have suggestions of places to see and places to eat. The worst thing I can say is that the water pressure stinks sometimes in the showers, but that's to be expected with that many people/showers in one place. I will absolutely be back next year!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Nov 2016
8.9

Great hostel. Really cool roof deck, great sized common area, great self serving pancakes for breakfast, was in a great area and easy to access from the CTA train. Wasn't much of an atmosphere but that was more to do with it being mid-week in off season. Staff were great and Sam was super helpful throughout our entire stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Nov 2016
8.3

Great location in Wicker Park, surprised by how much variety of places to eat at night was a real surprise. The hostel itself was a bit old, creaky floorboards, not enough bathrooms and a couple of the showers could do with some bleach. A bit of an update to the hostel would be a good idea. Overall a good hostel to stay at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
5th Nov 2016
8.0

Good hostel. Nice and clean. Friendly staff. Location is okay, quite a few bars/restaurants really close to hostel however about an hour walk into downtown. Nice breakfast

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2016
5.4

Over priced for what it is

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
10.0

This was our first hostel experience and it was great. Rooftop patio and common areas were kept clean and organized, staff was friendly, rooms were comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Oct 2016
10.0

I enjoyed my stay at IHSP. It's in a really great location right by the metro & Wicker Park is a really cool area too. I met loads of cool people. All the staff are super friendly & helpful, especially Sam who was my fave! & theres free pancakes & coffee every morning, what more could you want!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Oct 2016
6.6

Nice enough. Good location and clean. Not much going on though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.