Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Apr 2017
7.1

Staff were friendly, and the location was great. Beware, there is no staff on duty while you sleep, so if something happens, you are screwed, which is disturbing in a city you aren't familiar with. I had an early bus, with a non-refundable ticket, and although I was up and ready to check out well in advance of my departure, there was no staff to return my drivers license, which they hold for collateral on key deposit. Staff was late, bus missed, money wasted. Very disappointed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
8th Apr 2017
8.6

Very helpful staff, no additional charges, good pancakes for breakfast. Common room could be a little bit cleaner, but it's still ok. I would stay there again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2017
8.3

Key card into building and security code into room. Very short walk to the Blue Line, but is necessary to get to other popular Chicago places. Very friendly staff! Atmosphere was reminiscent of traveling through Europe, meeting many people traveling for different reasons. Kind of old building and some amenities. Overall a better alternative than a very expensive hotel stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
5.4

Although security was good, as was the breakfast, the sleeping area really let this place down. The walls between the 10-bed mixed dorm and the common area are paper-thin, so it's extremely difficult to sleep until everyone has gone to bed. Also, I have to say that the beds in the dorm were some of the worst I've encountered. The mattress appeared to be made of plastic, and the bunks creaked and felt like they were going to fall apart. Basically everything in the bedrooms felt cheap and crappy.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
8.6

Unlike during my last visit in November there were no dried fruits, chocolate sauce for the pancakes or teabags for breakfast and I prefer Sam clean-shaven than with his current beard. On the other hand he clearly has been working out, so that is some compensation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2017
8.6

I had booked a private double bed and ended up getting an entire dorm, complete with a full-sized fridge and working oven and microwave, all to myself. It was great having so much space. The hostel is super close to the Damen Blue Line stop, which made getting to the O'Hare airport easy when I was leaving. I didn't eat breakfast there, but it was nice having oatmeal and pancakes available if I wanted them. I was not at the hostel when people were hanging out at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
8.6

This hostel was great! It was the first time that I had ever stayed at a hostel before. I'm glad we chose to stay at IHSP in Chicago. Would recommend and would come back here again!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
10.0

Sam is Awesome! He made my stay an incredible experience and I would highly recommend IHSP.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
9.7

Perfect place to be. Cheap and good service.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bbonds19899696
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
9.1

Pretty great stay and the staff were probably the better part of the stay. The roof deck is pretty sweet also.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.