X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA Reviews

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1074 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Location is great, just right off the blue line. You can arrive here from ORD airport taking the metro blue line ($10 all day pass or $3 one way) and get off at the Damen stop. Once you drop all your stuff off at the hostel/check-in you can use the same blue line to go downtown Chicago and explore! I thought the facilities were good. The hostel provides plenty of free and clean towels to use. Free pancakes or oatmeal for breakfast. Lobby is great for meeting people. Rooftop as well!


80%

Our room was very warm to sleep in and there was condensation dripping into our bags.

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The atmosphere was great :)

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The best hostel I've ever been!

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was our first experience staying at this hostel and if we ever find ourselves needing boarding in the area again, we are certain to return. Everything was clean, everyone was friendly, and all facilities you'd get in a hotel were provided (plus some). Privacy and security were excellent, and parking was insanely cheap. 5/5, would stay again!

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

IHSP was very well located, from the airport and the city centre on the subway. Buck town offered plenty of bars and restaurants to go to as well. Also, the area felt very safe. However, as it was August and there was no air-con (only fans) the hostel was, at times, uncomfortable. The staff were very friendly and the facilities were of a good standard. All in all, good but with minor drawbacks.


100%

Awesome x3. Roof deck was so cash, pancakes were awesome. Sweet neighbourhood, can get a bus right on the corner, Walgreens next door = alcohol, washing machines, nice bathrooms, cool staff, general nice atmosphere, 5* all the way. Get the blue line subway and get off at the damen stop, I tried to walk halfway and it was way too far. But it's cheap to eat and there's plenty of nice restaurants/bars. IHSP FTW.

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel was great! Wonderful location and really cool decor inside, it would of been nice to have had slightly smaller dorms however everything was generally fine and we were really impressed with the staff and atmosphere of the hostel!


83%

Bed sheets and tower looked not so agreeable(I mean, cleaniness) of course, this could be personal. Others were all good.


74%

This place is in a great neighbourhood, full of hip bars and restaurants so it's a good location. So close to the station too, ideal. It's way too hot in the dorm rooms but other than that, very comfortable and good breakfast.


100%

On my opinion this hostel is one fo the best. The location is just perfect 10 min to downtown. The neigborhood is very hip a lot of bar with concert and restaurant. The free pancakes in the morning are excellent. The kitchen and the leaving room are very cozy you can feel at home. The only thing that bothered me was the air conditioning too high like the rest of restaurent and cofee in chicago or nothing. Just ask the staff anything they are just so nice and very helpfull.


86%

Really great hostel. The free coffee and pancakes for breakfast were a lovely touch. Couldn't top the location, great area with loads of excellent places to get coffee and brunch and anything else you might wanna eat or drink. Also super accessible transport-wise. Definitely would recommend.

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Stayed over for 3 nights and it was totally awesome. Located right where all The bars are and the rooftop area was super cool as you can see the skyline. Everyone was really nice and staff are as helpful as can be- even joined us on a bar crawl! Great hostel, a definite must of you're in Chicago!


86%

This hostel has a great location, right in the center of so many bars and places to eat in Wicker Park. It is also very close to the Blue line to the airport. The hostel was clean with good rooms, bathrooms and kitchen. The staff were not very helpful and absent at times, making me feel a little uncertain about my safety as well as not having questions answered. They do not really have any social events but the roof top is so fun, you meet great people there! Overall, its a good hostel.


100%

The staff were friendly, the rooftop patio was awesome, and it was a great experience overall! Highly recommended!

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Room for improvement: Unmotivated staff, lockers adequate only for smaller lugage size, packed dormitory, no self control of air condition in the rooms (turned off during the night, starts at 7 a.m. and wakes everybody up), enough facilities but only average cleanliness, low water pressure and sometimes not hot water in the shower Good things: location


94%

Great stay! Always meet people while I'm there. I Stay there whenever I'm in town for work!


94%

Had a blast thanks

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Road tripping across the country, and was looking for a fun place to stay, and meet great people, here we found just that! Awesome location, people, and atmosphere, you don't want to miss the nightly rooftop action! Staff was wonderful, with Kevin always going above and beyond with everything we needed!


100%

Fabulous in every way. I loved the coffee and the rooftop terrace. Staff could not be more helpful. Highly recommended


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback