Hostelworld.com

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1,255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1,255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA Located at 1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago.
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
USA
Chicago Illinois 60647 1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line
92% 1255
41.9110482 -87.6776066
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • justnoahhh
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
9.7

This hostel was AMAZING! First I have ever stayed at and I will definitely be back to IHSP. It's in Wicker Park which is a very safe area of Chicago which is always on the plus side. The place felt very homely and we were welcomed so kindly. We got such a great deal on our double private and with a request, got $10 parking for our ENTIRE stay! Simply astonishing and I will 100% be returning for another stay! 😊💯

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
10.0

I loved staying at IHSP hostel! It was clean, comfortable, social! Everything I needed and more! Thank you so much! Stephanie

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
9.1

Location can be reached easily from ORD Airport. Take Blue line metro CTA and get down at DAMEN station and its walkable from there. Breakfast is good. Coffee and Tea available all the time. Checkin checkouts: I've two separate booking which made me wait from 11am to 2pm for 2nd day. Except that rest is all good. Its a happening place for youth. Riverwalk, Millenium park are a half an hour far by metro. Better u take DAY PASS Blue line at ORD. Overall its nice exp. WORTH MY MONEY :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
8.0

The showers on main floor need repairs. You can't get a shower because the facets don't work. Only a drip of water flow and that is either too hot or too cold. I had to use the upstairs facilities. They are still in the dark ages with bathroom door locks- only a tiny latch, most of the time males leave open and when you try to enter it males are exposed, not funny for an adult lady. This my second time here. The Staff is Sweet. Thank you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
9.4

There's a rooftop deck with a view of downtown Chicago that can't be beat. The location is less than two blocks away from the train for easy access to the rest of the city, there is a Walgreens next door to buy anything you might have forgotten including beer/wine/alcohol :) and the staff here is the best. Thank you, thank you, thank you to Meg, Dan, Sam, Paola, and Levi for making my time in Chicago an experience I will never forget. You're all awesome and it was a pleasure getting to know you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
10.0

The best hostel in America! Love this place so much... Makes me want to move to Chicago. Free breakfast, amazing rooftop, great staff and a great atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2016
8.3

Staff was awesome! Food was reasonably good. Parking was easily found. subway station is literally 50 meters walk and it reaches downtown in 10 min. also heads to the O'Hare airport. The downside was that the lockers are small and there are only a few showers. Definitely recommended!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
8.6

Pros: IHSP is in a really nice neighborhood with easy access to downtown by subway or bike. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and comfortable. Cons: Breakfast was only pancakes. I wish there were other options, especially fresh fruit or vegan options. There were not a lot of showers. The lights were shut off and I was told to leave the common room at 11, when quiet hours started, even though I was just working quietly. There wasn't really anywhere else to go work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th May 2016
8.0

Great location- really nice area of Chicago and close to public transport. Good kitchen and free breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • phantom04866791
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd May 2016
9.7

Great Hostel. Awesome view of the city from the rooftop. I went during slow season but was able to meet a lot of people because they have a great common room and the rooftop kinda brings people together. Next to the blue line metro so very easy to travel throughout the city. Great staff and it was clean. I don't really find American hostels all that great but this one was pretty good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.