X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA Reviews

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1190 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

During my stay Sam and Meg were both working (evening and morning respectively), and they are both super cool, very laid back, but ready to help if you need anything. Thank you again for another great stay!


86%

Water pressure in showers left something to be desired...on a particularly busy morning, I had one that was literally only a trickle. Even when it was quiet, the showers were like a gentle spray. But overall the stay was nice and everything was great, good value for the price!

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Dan and Meg were both awesome as always. Thank you for being great! The water pressure in the showers could be a little better, but overall had a wonderful visit.


80%

The bedrooms are pretty small and could be better equiped.

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff was incredibly friendly from beginning to end. Great atmosphere of international and U.S. travelers. Amazing value. Pancake and waffle breakfast included.

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel was awesome and the atmosphere great. It was clean, organized and the people at reception even greater! Thanks Daniel and Sam for helping us! :) the only thing I would change is the common room closing hours. Probably because we are Argentines and we are late, but 11 pm seems a bit early to close it down. Anyway, we had an amazing time there and I highly recommend the hostel.


86%

The only thing that I can really see as worth improving are the showers. The water pressure is pretty abysmal, and with the cold weather, it's hard to keep body parts not being hit by the trickle of water warm. Love the staff though. So friendly and helpful! And the location and security are absolutely ideal.

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location and great people!! Only stayed for one night, but would absolutely return for more. Had a private room -- on the smaller side with thin walls and only one outlet, but it had a nice double bed. The general facilities were great, with rooftop deck to boot.

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great setup, great value for money, great location. Paola, and rest of the staff are great!!!

  • 17th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Friendly staff, very clean, Overall was a great stay.

  • 17th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The location here is phenomenal and the staff is super friendly and helpful. During my most recent stay I saw Dan help someone bring in their skis (a Canadian traveling across the country and staying for the night). And, in the morning Paola set up breakfast for everyone and was very nice as I was checking out.


83%

The bathrooms were nice but the showers just had no power to them. The water just dribbles out!


91%

Stayed only for a night. Everything was great. The girl at the reception (Meg, I think) was super friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. A bunch of bars and shops are very close. O'hare airport was only 35 minutes away by metro.

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Armenia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Really lovely hostel in Wicker Park area of Chicago. Away from the main sites but on the blue line so they are easily accessible. The atmosphere and price makes it a good alternative to the one hostel in downtown (HI). Staff were excellent, especially Meg who was friendly Nd helpful and always had a smile on her face. Recommended.


97%

Everything is good. Also bery close to the Loop


91%

This is a nice hostel in a great location. Wicker Park is definitely one of the best neighborhoods in Chicago. The staff was great. Meg helped us with our flights in the morning all while managing everything else.


89%

Great location! The facilities are amazing, from the stairs with oaintings all over it, to the community area with great architecture

  • 26th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We stay here every year on our annual trip to Chicago. The staff are extremely friendly, the accommodation is clean and the location is prime!

  • 26th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I'm always transferring at Chicago, this hostel is in an excellent location where the nearby blue line runs 24 hours to airport or central station, with that reason alone, I'd definitely stay here again. I'd recommend staying in single gender dorms rather than mixed one, as the latter is often located at 2nd floor, where people hang out a lot. With the floor making squeaky sounds whenever someone walks around, it almost always means little possibility to sleep b4 midnight.


97%

Fantastic hostel, great location, great people, would definitely stay here again! Breakfast was pancakes with toppings, very nice, and the all day coffee came in handy. Close to 24hr walgreens, very close to Damen train station, very close to bike share station, sociable atmosphere, sweet roofdeck.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(75 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback