Hostelworld.com

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA Located at 1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago.
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
USA
Chicago Illinois 60647 1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line
91% 1240
41.9110482 -87.6776066
IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel. The location is really good, close to bars, coffee shops but also next to the Blue Line. A very safe neighbourhood. The hostel itself is clean and has a great coffee machine and breakfast. The common room is big with a kitchen and a pool table with some challenging features. The staff is great as well and very helpful. Met a lot of cool people here and would def stay again. The wifi can be a little slow at times and the showers could be better. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
7.7

Loved the neighborhood and roof access 😊😆

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.4

Friendly staff, great location, good atmosphere and common room. Free breakfast of pancakes, oatmeal, and good coffee. I was in the one bed in the dorm that was awkwardly placed, but it wasn't that big of a deal. A fun/party atmosphere is encouraged, so I found that earplugs were great on the nights I wanted to go to sleep early. I'll be staying here whenever I'm in Chicago.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
8.6

The location of this hostel is literally perfect-- only a block away from the train and right in the heart of Wicker Park. The staff that I met while I was there were very friendly and helpful. If you are going to spend time in Wicker Park I definitely recommend that you stay in this hostel. It is an amazing location and very convenient way to lodge while traveling in Chicago!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Apr 2016
9.1

The hostel was well equipped and easy to reach by the LTrain. Everything you need is right there. I had a nice stay. Breakfast was good but very sweet. I would recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Antarctica, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2016
10.0

Awesome location, directly in the middle of a night life area, and a subway stop. The staff is great too, they're all really friendly and helpful. The hostel itself is really cool too, prefect for meeting other travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jack21304
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
9.1

This was my first American hostel experience and I was very impressed. IHSP has a decent sized common area and kitchen (with free make-your-own pancakes for breakfast), and a real gem of a rooftop patio that affords a decent view of the Chicago skyline to drink a beer to. The staff, in particular Sam & Mel, were very helpful, friendly and just generally cool people all round. They were full of useful recommendations about the local area (the very hip Wicker Park) and Chicago generally.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • yogeshgo
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2016
10.0

IHSP is great vakue for money, situated adjacent to Damen cta makes life easy. Staff is ver friendly and cooperative. I enjoyed my 3 dat stay and live to visit again. Paola Mesa one of staff member, i got lot of assisatnce from.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2016
9.1

Great hostel, awesome location near loads of restaurants, bars etc. and near the blue line CTA which can get you anywhere. Clean, nice kitchen/communal area, nice rooftop area to drink/smoke.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2016
10.0

I could not be happier with my stay at IHSP last night. My bed was comfy; I got my own bathroom to shower in like at home; there was a free coffee machine that ground the beans in front of you; and a dope deck on the roof that looked amazing for a barbecue. It's really too bad it was raining. And to top it all off - and probably the most important part of any hostel - is the guy at the desk, Sam, was super chill. Thanks for the great stay IHSP, I'll be back soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.