X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

IHSP Chicago Hostel at Damen CTA Reviews

1616 N. Damen Ave, CTA Blue Line, Chicago, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
876 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

One of our most favourite hostels we stayed in whilst in America !!


83%

Perfect if you want to be in Wicker Park and the international, nightly rooftop party was great. Decent beds and nice clean big bathroom that was deluxe. There is NOT parking as stated. You have to find parking blocks away and huff it. It was free but 7 blocks away. Just sn FYI.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

It was too loud and noisy during the middle of night.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I loved this hostel. The location is amazing, the people and the staff were awesome to be around with. I came to Chicago thinking I would have an okay time, and it completely exceeded my expectations! Wyatt was an epic host, and he does a pretty good job at keeping the place running smoothly for the guests and fun at the same time. I will def stay here again next time I am in town.


89%

Dan was very friendly and like all staff, very helpful and patient. They offer amazing insider tips to help you see Chicago from a locals perspective . The location is amazing as they're right up the road from lots of cool stores. The staff contribute to building a fun and memorable experience in Chicago. This hostel just further solidified the idea I had previously held that Chicago is very, very cool.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, fun and social atmosphere. Clean showers and great kitchen. Girls and boys dorms open straight onto the common room which can be a bit awkward in the morning when everyone's having breakfast (free pancakes A ) and staring in at you.


94%

Thanks guys for a memorable stay ! You had great advice, great conversation and the hostel is probably one of the best I've been, the roof deck is the bomb !!


91%

I stay at IHSP near every time I come into Chicago. I live in a nearby state, often come to town for concerts, to conduct research, or simply to visit the museums and enjoy a bit of quality nightlife. Not only does Wicker Park present itself as an ideal and convenient neighborhood for staying in and getting around from, IHSP provides an incredibly high quality hostel experience at relatively low cost. I've been at hostels all over the world and this is my favorite, second to only one.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Really great hostel. Loved the location. The surrounding area has lots of great bars and places to eat. It is also extremely close to the metro so getting around is easy! Good social atmosphere. There is a large common area and free pancakes for breakfast. Had an awesome time there and meet a lot of fun people. It was very secure and I felt comfortable and safe there. Would highly recommend this hostel.


77%

Rooms are not that great and not all of them have windows. But the common areas are great!


91%

The best front desk Ever!! He is so helpful!! It's easy to get there , just with the blue line . A lot of places to visit around the hostel. Thank you for everything !!!

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

A great place to stay for one night or two, good atmosphere in a very hipster-vintage like neighborhood. Another way to discover the windy city!

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

excellent


71%

If you're coming here to party, then this is your place. If you intend on sleeping, forget it. You hear everything from everywhere. I was in two different rooms on two floors and first was on the first floor so I couldn't go to sleep until quiet hours (midnight & one) because of the pool, music, guitar, piano, etc and the second floor isn't much better with yelling, hair dryers and mayhem. I slept ok on a bottom bunk but on the top bunk bed/floor creaked with every move. you can do better.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

We had a great stay here for a couple nights in one of the double-bed rooms. The hostel is well-located and nicely set-up, and has a nice laid-back atmosphere. Friendly reception staff, decent-sized room with linens provided, wifi, free pancake breakfast, and generally quite clean. The only minor issue was occasional bathroom line-ups here and there, mostly because one night there was a big high-school group staying. Would definitely recommend.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice hostel with good atmosphere in a good location.


100%

We had the best stay here! Amazing location, the neighbourhood is awesome and it's very easy to get downtown to all other attractions. Staff were amazing and the general vibe of the hostel is great! Would definitely return on my next visit to Chicago.


77%

very good location. very good facilities in the common room area. good value of money. as a hostel, it is a good place to choose.


97%

Had an excellent trip and the hostel made it great! I felt very comfortable and at home and especially enjoyed the roof deck and kitchen. My only complaint was that in the girls dorm there weren't many outlets or lights.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The location is incredible! The immediate area around the hostel is full of bars and restaurants. The Tavern across the road is a great place for a late night/ early morning beverage. Internet is fast. Beds are comfy. Lots of showers and toilets. Pool table and Wii in common room, although the pool table has seen better days but a bonus none the less. Subway down the road which is 4 stops from downtown loop. We stayed in another hostel downtown in Chicago this one is miles above.


(65 results)


View all Chicago Hostels

Please give us your feedback