Hostelworld.com

IHSP Santa Barbara

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 189 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 189 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.0
IHSP Santa Barbara Located at 111 N. Milpas Street, , Santa Barbara.
IHSP Santa Barbara
USA
Santa Barbara 93103 111 N. Milpas Street
78% 189
34.4227593 -119.6809121
IHSP Santa Barbara
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th May 2016
9.7

I had a great time at the hostel, is very cute, the stuff is super friendly and and helpful and its close to the beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
7.4

With only 2 hostels in the area, there was limited choice as to where to stay on a budget. Pros: The hostel was small so it didn't feel too busy and they provided free parking at the rear and free breakfast (diy pancakes). Cons: The facilities weren't great; the showers were poor (I know there's a drought in CA but these literally trickled) and there was no mirror in either of the upstairs dorms or bathroom making it hard to get ready. Upstairs dorms could do with upgrade to code door lock too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
8.3

I stayed in a private room for 1 night. I loved being a few blocks away from the beach and the Santa Barbra downtown area. Everything was a quick bike or drive away. The staff was very friendly. As a neat freak I wish the showers had more water pressure, but California drought gets us all in the end. I would defiantly stay here for my next SB trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
10.0

What a fantastic place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2016
8.0

Actually a very nice hostel. I've stayed in many, this one is more or less standard. It's in a good location and the facilities are nice. I think the bad reviews IHSP has received are from people who didn't realize this is a hostel, or expected something extravagant. I usually don't post reviews but felt it was necessary for this hostel because the negative reviews are unprecedented.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2016
10.0

Love this place, staff is great! Can't wait to come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2016
7.4

Unfortunately I couldn't stay longer, I was mostly in and out. Never a big fan of street parking, so that would be the only downside (also, kinda wish they had dorms for non-international or non-students since there aren't really other Hostels in Santa Barbara, but that's ok I guess). Otherwise, I like the staff, good to converse with. I was in a private room, which was right next to a common area, a guy was talking on the phone, and the staff moved him, which was nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • pedroltramos1307
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
2nd Feb 2016
7.4

This is a cool little hostel, good atmosphere, free pancakes for breakfast and easy free parking. The ensuite bathroom was too small and didn't lock, the common bathrooms were nicer as they are big and clean. Missed some lockers and charging for shower towels is a bit greedy... It's a cheap stay in an expensive town so I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2016
9.4

Cool Place. Super fun staff and people. Close the beach

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jan 2016
7.4

I stayed only 1night because it was a stop during my road trip but the atmosphere was nice, i had a great Time there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.