Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 203 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 203 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego Located at 3751 6th ave, , San Diego.
ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego
USA
San Diego CA 92103 3751 6th ave
89% 203
32.7461988 -117.1593564
ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Nov 2016
3.7

Very disappointed with this hostel. Please be aware that most of the people staying here are "students" (read unemployed people who bum around the hostel all day) and that there is very minimal social organisation. The staff are inattentive and cancel almost all of the 'scheduled activities' at the last minute. Avoid at all costs!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay here. To address some of your concerns - we do have long term students that stay here, and we do complete an application process with each one of them to ensure we get the right people. We're sorry that you were put off by this. We hate to cancel activities as we love running them to show people a good time but unfortunately if we don't have enough interest (at least 5 people) we do have to cancel them. Unfortunately you did catch the end of a period where there was a large convention in town, so a lot of our guests were occupied with that rather than our social activities. Again, thanks for your feedback, and we are sorry that you were disappointed. I hope that you may give us a chance down the track to redeem ourselves at this or one of our other locations here. If not however, safe travels, and all the best! Cheers, ITH Management

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2016
10.0

Great staff and location, I was welcomed in and had an amazing time with everyone. Thanks for having me, hope to stay there again soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay be sure to return if you are ever in San Diego. Cheers ITH Management

30th Sep 2016
10.0

Been to hundreds of hostels, this one is easilly top 5. Great staff, wonderful manager Jared, laid back, this hostel is a well oiled machine in a perfect neighborhood. I love all the activities they organize. The room temperature is perfect, it's a party hostel and a quiet hostel at the same time. Jon from Taiwan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. We're glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay!! Come back and visit soon! Cheers, ITH Management

23rd Sep 2016
8.6

It was a wonderful stay, and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. We're glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay!! Come back and visit soon! Cheers, ITH Management

10th Sep 2016
8.9

Nice, clean hostel in a good location close to Balboa Park and a short Uber ride to the airport. Free breakfast in the morning. The night I was there, there was some drunk pajama party in the lounge that went ALL NIGHT LONG - I couldn't hear it in my room, but everytime I went to the bathroom, I could hear the party. Just be aware that this seems to be a bit of a party hostel. Luckily, the party doesn't extend into the dorm rooms!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey. Thanks for the kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to provide a social atmosphere with also having people respect the quiet hours and the guests who wish to sleep early. Cheers ITH Management

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
10.0

It was my first time staying at a hostel and I had a very welcoming experience from the staff to the guests that I met while my stay. It's an experience I recommend to everyone who wants to travel, cost is minimal but you get a lot of value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey thanks for the kind words we're so glad to hear your enjoyed your stay here and felt like part of the family. Come back soon! \Cheers, ITH Management

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
9.4

Great hostel, really friendly and welcoming atmosphere, a little family of students live here and they're so willing to help out in any way possible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're so glad to hear your enjoyed your stay here and felt like part of the family. Thanks for your comments about the atmosphere and willingness to helpp out, we will let the staff know. Come back soon! Cheers, ITH Management

  • notsaintnick
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
10.0

I enjoyed myself while I stayed at this hostel. This was the first time I ever traveled alone so it was kind of weird. One of my favorite factors about this hostel is its activities. The activities are a good way to break those barriers, believe me. The cons were already said in previous comments so I won't waste time. All in all I enjoyed this place, love the staff and the city. Ps... I traveled alone so be open to new things like me and you'll be fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the kind words we are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. Come back next time you are in town

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Aug 2016
7.7

A good hostel in a good location near the park and plenty of buses. The staff are friendly and helpful and will advise you on the best places to eat and things to do. If you're not there at the start there is limited/no breakast but they do put pizzas on in the evening. The rooms are air conditioned and each bed has a shelf, light and your own plug!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. We're glad you found it easy to get around from our location and that our staff were helpful! We're working on ensuring our breakfast supplies last long enough as we've just gone through some changes, and we're doing better now, so sorry about your limited givings. Glad you got to enjoy the pizzas though. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers, ITH Management

4th Aug 2016
10.0

Awesome. Awesome. Awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review! Come back anytime for some more fun at the Ith Zoo Hostel, Cheers Ith Management

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.