Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

IchiEnSou

  • 4-2 Komatsu-Chou SijoSagaru 4 Choume YamatoOojiDou, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 888 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 888 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
8.6

Perfect location. Understated civility in a 'crazy' world. Family run so expect family life - kids and all. Ideal first night stay, direct from Osaka via JR.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
10.0

Relaxing tradional japanese house, with all modern necessities thought of without loosing any style or beauty of the original building. I can't recommend this enough from relaxing atmosphere to general location, it was a great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
9.1

Great atmosphere for meeting people. Only down side was beds were more traditional which meant they were a bit hard, but if traditional is what you're looking for then it would be great. One thing I would add would be curtains to the beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Apr 2017
10.0

Me and my partner stayed her for four nights. It is an awesome hostel in a great location, secluded and central at the same time. The beds are comfortable and clean. The facilities are good. Finally the staff are amazing. Very friendly and welcoming as well as knowledgable about Kyoto and Japan on the whole great for helping with travel plans. Definitely recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.1

Amazing location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2017
10.0

Very friendly staff, nice central location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Mar 2017
8.6

I really enjoyed my stay at this charming, quiet hostel hidden in Gion, one of the most beautiful district in Kyoto. The couple running the place are lovely, as are their young daughters who insist that the guests play with them. No lockers or locks on the door, but given how secluded the hostel is I'm not worried and there is a safe for laptops and other valuables. Beds were nice, lovely shower room and a good kitchen and lounge area that always had a few people chilling out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
9.4

Great place, location, cozy, lovely staff and definitely recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Feb 2017
9.4

Really nice little hostel located right near the subway. Owner is a really nice guy as well and was happy to help tell us some things to do around Kyoto. The only negative was that the cleaners are very noisy when they come on the room. That being said if you're up before 11 that won't be an issue! Would definitely recommend staying here if you're looking for a cozy quiet place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Feb 2017
8.3

Good: The staff were very friendly and helpful, atmosphere was very cozy. First time sleeping on futon for me - it was a good experience (though I still prefer a fluffy comfortable bed). Not so good: The bathroom was tiled, and there was no ventilator - so the window was constantly open to ventilate the toilet. No issues on privacy since there is a shower curtain, but it made bathing extremely cold during winter.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.