Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

IchiEnSou

  • 4-2 Komatsu-Chou SijoSagaru 4 Choume YamatoOojiDou, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 874 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 10.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 874 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 10.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Mar 2017
8.6

I really enjoyed my stay at this charming, quiet hostel hidden in Gion, one of the most beautiful district in Kyoto. The couple running the place are lovely, as are their young daughters who insist that the guests play with them. No lockers or locks on the door, but given how secluded the hostel is I'm not worried and there is a safe for laptops and other valuables. Beds were nice, lovely shower room and a good kitchen and lounge area that always had a few people chilling out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
9.4

Great place, location, cozy, lovely staff and definitely recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Feb 2017
9.4

Really nice little hostel located right near the subway. Owner is a really nice guy as well and was happy to help tell us some things to do around Kyoto. The only negative was that the cleaners are very noisy when they come on the room. That being said if you're up before 11 that won't be an issue! Would definitely recommend staying here if you're looking for a cozy quiet place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Feb 2017
8.3

Good: The staff were very friendly and helpful, atmosphere was very cozy. First time sleeping on futon for me - it was a good experience (though I still prefer a fluffy comfortable bed). Not so good: The bathroom was tiled, and there was no ventilator - so the window was constantly open to ventilate the toilet. No issues on privacy since there is a shower curtain, but it made bathing extremely cold during winter.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
10.0

The place is in a perfect location and the staff are so friendly! Would highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
9.4

The hostel is very comfortable and Yashi is an awesome host. The location is quite good. I'm not sure that Kyoto has an ideal location to be because everything is so spread out, but I think the hostel is at a pretty good place. It is very close to 2 different subway lines. The hostel has a comfortable common area where people can interact and we found that people were very friendly and full of advice. The beds were very comfortable. My only real concern is the lack of lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
9.7

This place is a true gem! I was herenfor 1 week over Christmas and had an amazing stay. The atmosphere in the common space is magical I could sit there and relax for hours in the well heated room listening to Jazz music played by the owners. The owners are so lovely! I talked with them everyday and they made me feel like I was with my long lost Japanese family! Facilities were good. But no lockers, not that I ever felt unsafe as it's such a small place where everyone knows everyone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Nov 2016
9.4

very pleasant place to stay with very friendly host. a small place so more like staying at a b&b than a hostel. easy to reach from the main station by tube, I actually quite liked the walk though. bit chilly at night but it was nearly December. river nearby nice to walk along.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
9.7

I love everything about this place. This is like your second home. The staff are all friendly and very helpful with each other. I had good sleep for all the 3 nights. The location is perfect, near train station and bus stops, walking distance to many attractions. Convenient stores and supermarkets is just around corner. extremely safe even without locker. The only bad point is that there are only 2 showers but that is not problem for me since I only take shower in the evening.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
9.4

Nice and cozy. Great location. Friendly people. Am very glad I stayed there for 6 nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.