Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

IchiEnSou

  • 4-2 Komatsu-Chou SijoSagaru 4 Choume YamatoOojiDou, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 839 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 839 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
IchiEnSou Located at 4-2 Komatsu-Chou SijoSagaru 4 Choume YamatoOojiDou, , Kyoto.
IchiEnSou
Japan
Kyoto 605-0933 4-2 Komatsu-Chou SijoSagaru 4 Choume YamatoOojiDou
92% 839
35.0029726 135.7732969
IchiEnSou
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
9.7

It's a great place close to many attractions in Kyoto. Clean and cosy rooms with pleasant AC operated by very nice and helpful owners. Highly recommended:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jun 2016
8.6

The location is perfect, right in the historical area. The hostel is lovely with very nice atmosphere and the owners are very kind and welcoming.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jun 2016
10.0

I wish there was an option to give more than 10. This was easily my favourite place I stayed at in Japan. The place has a very homely feel to it and the staff are very very friendly. The location is perfect if you want to see geisha, is close to a JR Station and close to bus stops. Only complaint I have is that the wooden floors creak very loudly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th May 2016
9.4

This is such a wonderful guesthouse! Myself and 2 friends stayed here for three nights in a dorm. The property is so cute and well located. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2016
9.7

Just no individual lockers, but besides that, everything's awesome (location's great) and the couple's really helpful too! Amazing atmosphere as well. Their cute toddlers brighten up our stay too :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
8.3

Pros: Very near to Kawaramachi, where there are a lot of places to dine. Also near to the river. Common area is pretty large. The house seems to be converted into a hostel from an old japanese style building, good if you like the style. Cons: As the building is an old japanese style building, the floors will easy sound when you walk by. In males dorm, the power sockets were not so enough. and some beds have their sockets far from thier bed. Also the men's toilets are on 1/F but you sleep on 2/F

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • emily_whittaker2790
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
4th May 2016
9.7

Lovely family guest house we were made to feel really welcome. Would definitely recommend. Thanks Yashi! X

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Apr 2016
9.1

Overall, I had a nice stay at IchiEnSou. The location is awesome! 1 min walk from the main busy street and bus stops at Gion Shijo area. You can also walk to Kiyomizu Temple (15 mins). The owners are really nice and caring. Felt like home with traditional Japanese tatami rooms and sleeping with futons. Please note if you are arriving around 2-4pm, the whole house will be locked with no staff inside so if you are arriving around that time need to make alternative arrangement for luggages.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
9.7

It's quite difficult to find it at the first time, esp. after a long trip from Osaka and with luggage. But after that, everything is perfect. Overall, good value for money and highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
9.4

I loved my stay here! Loved the atmosphere and I didn't expect sleeping 'on the floor' would be comfortable, but it was :). Location was also very good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.