Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

IchiEnSou

  • 4-2 Komatsu-Chou SijoSagaru 4 Choume YamatoOojiDou, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 902 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 902 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2017
9.1

Mr. Yashi and staff are very kind. Hostel is clean, very clean and a few steps from the Gion Shijo station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
9.7

Thought this place was fantastic overall. 100% would recommend. The student workers were so nice to talk to and would even take you out sometimes. The location was perfect, right in the heart of the best part of Kyoto. The other travelers were very social as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

Awesome rooms in a great location. Family run and very accommodating. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to other travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Jun 2017
9.4

Quaint traditional style house with loads of character. Squeaky floor boards reminded us of the Ninja houses...there was simply no way of getting around quietly! Lovely staff, comfortable beds, great location in the heart of Gion.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
27th Jun 2017
9.7

Lovely hostel, lots of space in the shared room. Facilities were fine and everything was lovely and clean. The place had nice character about it and was very comfortable to stay at. The staff were very friendly, there weren't many people staying at the hostel when I was there, I think in general though I would consider recommending this hostel to travellers who like quieter nights, though it's very close to areas where there are plenty of night life options..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2017
10.0

This hostel felt like a an awesome authentic experience. This was in a traditional Japanese home in one of the only geisha districts left in Japan! Loved it!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
8.0

The best thing is the location. The hostel is dated and the floorboards are creaky. The male toilets are downstairs only.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
10.0

I really REALLY enjoyed my stay here. My husband and I ended up extending our stay an extra night. Great location in the Gion district, 3 minute walk to the subway, down the street from Yasaka Shrine, which is a lovey place to visit at night, lots of restaurants and bars open late in that area. Owned by a lovely Japanese and Korean couple who were attendant to any of our needs and questions. The building has an older more traditional feel to it with lots of wood, I definitely recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
8.6

Fantastic location in the heart of Gion, very convenient for the metro line and buses so easy access to fushimi inari taisha as well. The hostel itself is calm and family like, and the hostel owners are warm and friendly. Only issue is the water pressure in the shower was a little weak, but that's it :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th May 2017
8.6

Perfect location. Understated civility in a 'crazy' world. Family run so expect family life - kids and all. Ideal first night stay, direct from Osaka via JR.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×