Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Iguana Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 441 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 441 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Feb 2017
4.9

I booked 4 nights here but ended up only staying one. I barely slept at all that night for a number of reasons. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, and the building is made of wood and very creaky, so any movement at all in the hostel made a lot of noise. On top of all that, I could hear everything that was happening outside in the courtyard, so the people staying up until 3am partying will keep you awake if you decide not to join them.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
10.0

I've been traveling for a few years now and found the perfect combination of party, tranquility, value, and overall amazing vibes at Iguana. They are close enough to cocktail alley to walk there in 3 minutes but far enough for a good nights sleep. The owner was always around and so helpful. They offer a badass dinner most nights as well. I booked three nights and stayed a week.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
10.0

I had a great stay here at Iguana! Is the best value hostel in monta, staff and volunteers were amazing, friendly and knowledgeable, and the owner will do everything she can to ensure you have a great stay. Hostel is in a perfect location, three minutes walk from the main street in a very safe and quiet neighbourhood so you get the best of both worlds. There are dinners almost every night which together with the cheap drinks creates a great social environment. Best hostel in a long time!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
7.7

Great atmosphere here but definitely some room for improvement. Being on the river made us a buffet for the mosquitos and we frequently lost power making it too hot. The ac was not working well and we checked the filter and it was covered with filth. Fans would be better honestly. $25 a night for a private room was just too much considering the circumstances.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 78 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.6

When you book 'Iguana backpackers' you don't actually expect to see real iguanas. . . . They're pretty intriguing creatures to hang out with. More bathrooms are being built now which will be an improvement, other that that it's a fairly good hostel, close to town and beach but away from the noise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Feb 2017
10.0

Great hostel, close to town and the beach. Karen and the staff are awesome and created a really good environment. Breakfast is good, the drinks and food are all very cheap and wifi great... download movies great. Booked two nights and stayed four. Awesome time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cnorthm5898
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
8.9

Staff and atmosphere was great. Free breakfast also decent. Maybe would benefit from one or two more showers/bathrooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
10.0

Had a great stay here, nice homely feel with a lively night seen - would recommend to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Franz_cisneros
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
10.0

Best hostel in Ecuador!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rosiehughes567
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.1

Awesome hostal. Staff are super friendly and helpful. Great atmosphere and they know how to party, but off the main strip so you can get a nights sleep ☺

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.