Hostelworld.com

Iguana Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 337 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 337 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.7
Iguana Backpackers Located at Barrio de Tigrillo, , Montanita.
Iguana Backpackers
Ecuador
Montanita Barrio de Tigrillo
73% 337
-0.8666670 -80.2666670
Iguana Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
10.0

Loved this Hostel!! Very clean, nice powerful showers with hot water.. Comfy beds with a/c. The bar was great! Good cocktails, drinking games so you really get to know everyone at the Hostel. Big plus if you are a guest in the Iguana Backpackers get free entrance to all bars in town which is like $5 bucks. So We did not have to pay so very convenient. Staff extremely friendly and the girl in charge speaks perfect English which is another BIG plus. Do not miss the pulled pork sandwich!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.4

Had an amazing time in Montanita! We read some of the reviews and were worried this place might have problems.. It was super fun, great ambiance, they have a restaurant attached that had the only salad bar i have seen in this town and PULLED PORK sandwiches!! We stayed there all night playing drinking games. Was more fun then I have had in a while, definitely the most fun hostel in montanita.. I stayed in the 6 bed, that room had air conditioning which was nice!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
9.7

Hostel was great! I was mainly looking for somewhere to put my stuff and go surf all day. Had a good time, they make really good mojitos, which is my favorite drink and they were pretty strong so I was relatively happy. Made a few friends, all the travellers were friendly and at least from Europe etc. Random thing to say, but its nice to be in a chill hostel that feels like your with familiar people. Glad I stumbled upon this place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
10.0

Had an incredible time at this hostel! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.. I thought they did a great job keeping it clean, and they have large fans to cool you down at night.. Drinks were spot on, very cheap and were strong.. We stayed up partying and went out, town was fun but I honestly enjoyed hanging out here more.. Will return later on my trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
9.4

Ideal location as you can stroll to the bars but you don't get the noise. I stayed in a 3 man room and a single room, both very clean. I met some really cool people here. It's chilled out, good social atmosphere. Great value for money. The owner's really nice!! $4 open bar on one of the night's which you can't complain at!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
2.0

We booked online a week ahead at $12 pp/pn. The day we arrived the manager told us that the price for one of the nights had doubled due to a public holiday. They had forgotten to change the price online and also didn't let me know in time to make other arrangements. Their mistakes, not mine. She told us we would have to pay this price or leave. To top it all off, when we decided to leave, the hostel kept the deposit, saying we hadn't told them quickly enough!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
21st Mar 2016
6.6

Basic hostel a few steps outside the party streets. Would have expected a more social athmosphere than was the actual case, not a bad stay but think you can find better deals with the same money elsewhere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2016
2.9

Tell people that they could be staying on a mattress on the floor without any walls surrounded by cockroaches.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2016
8.6

Very fun party hostel. Close enough to walk to the bars and clubs, but far enough away where you don't hear them at night. They also host beer pong most nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2016
8.3

A good hostel if you just want to party. Close to all the bars but quiet enough after 2am so you can sleep, or at least quieter than those on the main strip. Basic kitchen but usable, very cheap happy hour drinks and the loft dorm is great value. Bathrooms were not pleasant, they were cleaned regularly but there are not enough so they dirty quickly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.