Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Iguana Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 357 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 357 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.2
Iguana Backpackers Located at Barrio de Tigrillo, , Montanita.
Iguana Backpackers
Ecuador
Montanita Barrio de Tigrillo
85% 357
-0.8666670 -80.2666670
Iguana Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
10.0

I thought I was only going to be in Montanita a couple days, but ended up staying over a week. Iguana Backpackers was just such cool spot. With their family dinners and raging bar at night, I just couldnt leave. Great spot to meet people and go out to party. Great patio to chill at during the day. Affordable rates, with comfortable rooms with air conditioning. Wifi and Hot Water. They have surfboard rentals and laundry service which was great too. Definitely stay at the Iguana if you are in town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
10.0

Surf, Sun, Party! Montanita is fun as hell, and Iguana Backpackers is the spot to stay if you are coming through. Great location close to the beach but just outside the center of town, which makes it a chill spot. Good party vibes, fun crowd, cheap drinks, and comfortable rooms. They do Iguana Family Dinners Wednesday-Sunday, every night is different, I really enjoyed Taco Night. I loved their patio by the river, very picturesque. Iguana Backpackers is a great place to come and meet folks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
10.0

I stayed in Montanita for a few days in the middle of the week before heading south to Peru, and it was a great time. I was at Iguana Backpackers from Tuesday-Thursday and I was impressed how lively the spot was even mid week. Iguana Backpackers has great, friendly staff, a very good juice and salad bar on site, and a sweet location close to the beach. My room was very clean and comfortable, and it was nice to have some hot water! Iguana Backpackers definitely made my stay a good one.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.4

Great hostel the dinners were great. Good atmosphere and good location, a short walk to the Main Street. Karen the manager is really lovely and made us feel very welcome. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

What happens in Montanita, stays in Montanita. Iguana Backpackers is definitely happening. Great location, fun crowd, mellow, good vibes. They do dinners, I loved the PAELLA NIGHT! The bar was raging when I was there great deals, $1.50 RUM AND COKE. A good mix of travellers come through, fun people. They have wifi and hot water which is tough to find sometimes. I recommend the Pulled Pork Sandwich from their Salad & Juice Bar on site. Montanita is a great spot, and Iguana is the best!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

I travelled to Montanita in August with a group of friends, we had heard of Iguana Backpackers from other travellers on the road and we gave it a try, turned out to be a great experience! The hostel has a very fun social scene, especially in the evening when they do their family dinners and happy hour at the bar with great drink specials. When we were there the hostel was full, so I could tell it was a popular spot. They have hot water and wifi which work great. I definitely recommend the Iguana

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
10.0

Iguana Backpackers is a great spot! Reasonably priced and clean. Happy staff.. Fun party vibes with a great bar! $1.50 Rum&coke and happy hour everyday! They do Iguana Dinners, the Mexican and Barbecue Nights are the best. Rooms are comfy and clean and the location is nice just outside the noisy center. They have surfboard rentals and laundry service too which is a plus. The Salad & Juice Bar is a great spot to grab a fresh, healthy snack during the day. I recommend it for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
10.0

I had a great stay at the Iguana. It has a really nice atmosphere and has a great patio right near the river where you can see iguanas climbing through the trees at anytime of day. Great location, just outside the noisy center. Staff was great and really friendly. I loved having the bar and Iguana Family Dinners are great! I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this spot to everyone. A great stop on my journey!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
5.7

The toilet does not flush and the movies are played too loud. Bad smell and poor lighting.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
10.0

I had a a wonderful stay at the Iguana! They have a great social atmosphere and polite staff. I loved their riverside patio where they have happy hour bar and Iguana Family Dinners each night. The rooms are clean and comfortable with Air Conditioning. It is located close to the beach and to the center of town, but lies just outside party central to allow for a tranquil stay right on the river. I fully recommend Iguana Backpackers Hostel and will definitely be staying there during my next trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.