Hostelworld.com

Iguana Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 344 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 344 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 7.1
Iguana Backpackers Located at Barrio de Tigrillo, , Montanita.
Iguana Backpackers
Ecuador
Montanita Barrio de Tigrillo
75% 344
-0.8666670 -80.2666670
Iguana Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • juliagee
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
7.7

Staff were very kind. I was in a group of 5 people and we originally booked for the 10 bed dorm but they offered us the 6 bed dorm for the same price :) they also let us check out quite late on the day we left without any extra charge or fuss. Food on Mexican night was amazing!!! Not the cleanest hostel ever and it was quite quiet so not the best social vibe. But that's just bad timing! Great location, 2 minute walk to town/the beach

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2016
10.0

A cute little beach hostel, everyone's laid back. Our room is a tad hot but what do you expect at the beach, they tried several times to get us an ac and always are helpful if we need anything. One downfall is no meal included but a lot of great options very close

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
2.0

Don't stay here, there are cheaper, cleaner and friendlier places in town which include breakfast! The toilets smelt like stale wee, the staff were drunk\high and incredibly rude and the cocktails had ants in. Bed sheets were not clean, they had no record of our booking and no decent area to chill. Kitchen was also filthy and not hygenic at all. It felt more like a staff crash pad and that we had intruded and were an inconvenience.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
10.0

Great place to stay in Montanita. Incredible experience.. Very cozy, clean and fun place! Staff super friendly and helpful. Rooms with a/c and good showers with hot water. All rooms have shared bathrooms though. Common space with a bar that have amazing cheap cocktails..the hostel is very small but it was ok I even prefer it that way. Good wifi and the hostel had no cover to most bars which is a big plus! Loved the salad bar and the mojitos. Definitely the place to be! Thank you everyone! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
10.0

Loved this Hostel!! Very clean, nice powerful showers with hot water.. Comfy beds with a/c. The bar was great! Good cocktails, drinking games so you really get to know everyone at the Hostel. Big plus if you are a guest in the Iguana Backpackers get free entrance to all bars in town which is like $5 bucks. So We did not have to pay so very convenient. Staff extremely friendly and the girl in charge speaks perfect English which is another BIG plus. Do not miss the pulled pork sandwich!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.4

Had an amazing time in Montanita! We read some of the reviews and were worried this place might have problems.. It was super fun, great ambiance, they have a restaurant attached that had the only salad bar i have seen in this town and PULLED PORK sandwiches!! We stayed there all night playing drinking games. Was more fun then I have had in a while, definitely the most fun hostel in montanita.. I stayed in the 6 bed, that room had air conditioning which was nice!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
9.7

Hostel was great! I was mainly looking for somewhere to put my stuff and go surf all day. Had a good time, they make really good mojitos, which is my favorite drink and they were pretty strong so I was relatively happy. Made a few friends, all the travellers were friendly and at least from Europe etc. Random thing to say, but its nice to be in a chill hostel that feels like your with familiar people. Glad I stumbled upon this place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
10.0

Had an incredible time at this hostel! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.. I thought they did a great job keeping it clean, and they have large fans to cool you down at night.. Drinks were spot on, very cheap and were strong.. We stayed up partying and went out, town was fun but I honestly enjoyed hanging out here more.. Will return later on my trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
9.4

Ideal location as you can stroll to the bars but you don't get the noise. I stayed in a 3 man room and a single room, both very clean. I met some really cool people here. It's chilled out, good social atmosphere. Great value for money. The owner's really nice!! $4 open bar on one of the night's which you can't complain at!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
2.0

We booked online a week ahead at $12 pp/pn. The day we arrived the manager told us that the price for one of the nights had doubled due to a public holiday. They had forgotten to change the price online and also didn't let me know in time to make other arrangements. Their mistakes, not mine. She told us we would have to pay this price or leave. To top it all off, when we decided to leave, the hostel kept the deposit, saying we hadn't told them quickly enough!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.