Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Iguana Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 364 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 364 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.5
Iguana Backpackers Located at Barrio de Tigrillo, , Montanita.
Iguana Backpackers
Ecuador
Montanita Barrio de Tigrillo
88% 364
-0.8666670 -80.2666670
Iguana Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Sep 2016
10.0

My favorite hotel I've stayed at so far! Great vibes from the guests, the staff and the volunteers were incredibly kind and helpful. The family dinners they made for us every night were absolutely delicious, as was the salad bar. Free breakfast is nice too! The location is very close to all the bars, restaurants, and beach, but just far enough so that it's quiet and peaceful. Extremely chill and relaxed atmosphere, but great bar and cheap drinks for a big pre game before heading to the clubs!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
9.4

Really enjoyed my stay in Iguana. The staff were all super helpful with every request we had and the atmosphere was one of the best of all the hostels I've been to! Honestly didn't want to leave this place. Would definitely stay here again if I am back in Montanita. Top tip- weds the hostel bar is $5 all you can drink cocktails! Foods excellent too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
9.1

The staff are lovely and the location is good it's just over the bridge to the main area but you can chill out at the hostel and it's really good atmosphere. We also got breakfast included which we didn't expect. Make sure you eat at the hostel we paid $5 for an unreal amount of sushi it was amazing and well worth it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
10.0

Iguana backpackers is located right across the road from the beach by a quiet river. The staff are absolutely amazing one by one, truly caring. The vibes at night are amazing with music and party atmosphere, the staff will help with whatever you need, surfboards are cheap and great breakfast included! The hostel makes you feel at home and if I could I'd stay here for much longer. Also they do special dinners at the hostel changing food types almost every day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
8.9

Great hostel and great atmosphere for a great price. Don't be put off staying on the upstairs landing, it's $5 a night and perfectly comftable. The wifi isn't great and the kitchen is hard to use sometimes however it has a great community feel and the small social area forces people to mingle. The manager of the hostel is so cute as well ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
10.0

I thought I was only going to be in Montanita a couple days, but ended up staying over a week. Iguana Backpackers was just such cool spot. With their family dinners and raging bar at night, I just couldnt leave. Great spot to meet people and go out to party. Great patio to chill at during the day. Affordable rates, with comfortable rooms with air conditioning. Wifi and Hot Water. They have surfboard rentals and laundry service which was great too. Definitely stay at the Iguana if you are in town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
10.0

Surf, Sun, Party! Montanita is fun as hell, and Iguana Backpackers is the spot to stay if you are coming through. Great location close to the beach but just outside the center of town, which makes it a chill spot. Good party vibes, fun crowd, cheap drinks, and comfortable rooms. They do Iguana Family Dinners Wednesday-Sunday, every night is different, I really enjoyed Taco Night. I loved their patio by the river, very picturesque. Iguana Backpackers is a great place to come and meet folks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
10.0

I stayed in Montanita for a few days in the middle of the week before heading south to Peru, and it was a great time. I was at Iguana Backpackers from Tuesday-Thursday and I was impressed how lively the spot was even mid week. Iguana Backpackers has great, friendly staff, a very good juice and salad bar on site, and a sweet location close to the beach. My room was very clean and comfortable, and it was nice to have some hot water! Iguana Backpackers definitely made my stay a good one.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.4

Great hostel the dinners were great. Good atmosphere and good location, a short walk to the Main Street. Karen the manager is really lovely and made us feel very welcome. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

What happens in Montanita, stays in Montanita. Iguana Backpackers is definitely happening. Great location, fun crowd, mellow, good vibes. They do dinners, I loved the PAELLA NIGHT! The bar was raging when I was there great deals, $1.50 RUM AND COKE. A good mix of travellers come through, fun people. They have wifi and hot water which is tough to find sometimes. I recommend the Pulled Pork Sandwich from their Salad & Juice Bar on site. Montanita is a great spot, and Iguana is the best!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.