Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Iguana Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 456 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 456 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Mar 2017
10.0

This place was fantastic. A wonderful group of people, and it is run with the intent to make sure people have a great time. The breakfasts are good with lots of fresh fruit, and Karen and the staff are all very friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
10.0

I had a great time in iguana hotel! The beds are comfortable and clean, the staff is really nice and the breakfast was good! Very good location! They have very good diner at a good price! I will definitely come back to iguana backpackers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
6.6

A good hostel to party on some nights, we had a great night on the full moon eve. They had a deal for unlimited drinks for $6 (only spirit's, not a nice hangover!!) big loft dorm was OK but pretty warm in the eve with no fans. Lots of mosquitoes in the eve as it's close to the river. Staff were clueless and obviously new, struggled to check us in and give us any sort of info about the place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Mar 2017
9.1

I had a great stay at Iguana! Rosetta and the team are amazing fun, as were the people who were staying here. If you like meeting people, partying and going out you will love Iguana. The facilities are good (hot water!!) and the air con in the smaller rooms is excellent. Bring air plugs though as the A/C and fans are loud. There are also a lot of mosquitos here and in Montanita in general

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2017
9.1

Karen and the staff are so welcoming! Always a good party atmosphere going on at iguanas ad delicious family dinners. Hope to come back one day! Definitely would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
10.0

Karen and her staff were great and my first night there was a big party. everyone was super friendly and it is located perfect distance from town, close enough to go out and far enough to not hear all the noise if you wanna chill

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Feb 2017
4.9

I booked 4 nights here but ended up only staying one. I barely slept at all that night for a number of reasons. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, and the building is made of wood and very creaky, so any movement at all in the hostel made a lot of noise. On top of all that, I could hear everything that was happening outside in the courtyard, so the people staying up until 3am partying will keep you awake if you decide not to join them.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
10.0

I've been traveling for a few years now and found the perfect combination of party, tranquility, value, and overall amazing vibes at Iguana. They are close enough to cocktail alley to walk there in 3 minutes but far enough for a good nights sleep. The owner was always around and so helpful. They offer a badass dinner most nights as well. I booked three nights and stayed a week.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
10.0

I had a great stay here at Iguana! Is the best value hostel in monta, staff and volunteers were amazing, friendly and knowledgeable, and the owner will do everything she can to ensure you have a great stay. Hostel is in a perfect location, three minutes walk from the main street in a very safe and quiet neighbourhood so you get the best of both worlds. There are dinners almost every night which together with the cheap drinks creates a great social environment. Best hostel in a long time!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
7.7

Great atmosphere here but definitely some room for improvement. Being on the river made us a buffet for the mosquitos and we frequently lost power making it too hot. The ac was not working well and we checked the filter and it was covered with filth. Fans would be better honestly. $25 a night for a private room was just too much considering the circumstances.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.