Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Iguana Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 561 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 561 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
9.4

Really nice hostel with a good atmosphere. Also the dinners are the best food ever and the drink deals are really good!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2017
8.9

Iguana hostel is a great place to Party in Montañita. The open bar and cheap drinks are unbeatable in price. Really enjoyed the loft room also, however my standout were the staff there. I had an accident and had to go to hospital and one of the staff went to the effort of taking me all the way and back for which I am forever thankful to him! Also all of the other staff were constantly checking on me and making sure I was ok. It really made my stay. These people would do anything to help you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Sep 2017
7.1

The staff were really nice and even made breakfast for us after 10 (when it is officially over). Cocktails were 2 for 1 during happy hour for 2.5$. But the tiny 4 and 3 bed rooms where we stayed smelled very moldy when we entered and were only bearable after having the windows open all evening.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Aug 2017
10.0

My mate and myself stayed here for a week and had an absolute unreal time, staff were friendly and accomodating, everything was good and the party is very fun can't say a bad word about this place. Definitely recommend to anyone who wants to have a bit of fun and also relax. Beers are cheap and cocktails are really cheap especially happy hours and open bar nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2017
10.0

Iguana is a really cool Hostel, even now in low season, the staff tries to create a nice atmosphere to meet people and party. The price is very convenient and comes with breakfast!!, I think is the best deal you can get in Montañita.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2017
9.4

Great social atmosphere, great location, and the friendliest staff I have ever encountered,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Aug 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Aug 2017
10.0

Rosetta, the owner, is an absolute champion! Very hospitable, really fun, and knows how to host a good party. Overall, I had an awesome time here! Have to stay in iguanas if you come to montanita.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
10.0

I want to thank everyone in the Iguana hostel, they really helped me. Namely, I've been left without any of my stuff and money in Montanita but still I had the best time ever since my hostel staff helped me a lot. Same praise for breakfast, common dinner, parties where you could gather people from all over the world, cheap cocktails, crazy atmosphere. If you've come to the hostel alone, you can get very close to everyone.Thank you so much,Rosita, Constanza, all the volunteers there. Iva,Croatia

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2017
7.4

Look the party is unbeatable for backpackers especially when they have all you can drink rum and vodka for 6 bucks. Be warned that there are hectic mozzies at times and that you might get a poor bed. I had a rad time here, hope you do too if you decide to stay there. Pancho out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×