Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Iguana Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 349 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 349 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.4
Iguana Backpackers Located at Barrio de Tigrillo, , Montanita.
Iguana Backpackers
Ecuador
Montanita Barrio de Tigrillo
78% 349
-0.8666670 -80.2666670
Iguana Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
10.0

I had a great stay at the Iguana. It has a really nice atmosphere and has a great patio right near the river where you can see iguanas climbing through the trees at anytime of day. Great location, just outside the noisy center. Staff was great and really friendly. I loved having the bar and Iguana Family Dinners are great! I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this spot to everyone. A great stop on my journey!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
5.7

The toilet does not flush and the movies are played too loud. Bad smell and poor lighting.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
10.0

I had a a wonderful stay at the Iguana! They have a great social atmosphere and polite staff. I loved their riverside patio where they have happy hour bar and Iguana Family Dinners each night. The rooms are clean and comfortable with Air Conditioning. It is located close to the beach and to the center of town, but lies just outside party central to allow for a tranquil stay right on the river. I fully recommend Iguana Backpackers Hostel and will definitely be staying there during my next trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2016
9.1

Nice hostel however, it was very quite when we were there. The workers are very nice and always willing to help. It is in a great location for Montanita.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • juliagee
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
7.7

Staff were very kind. I was in a group of 5 people and we originally booked for the 10 bed dorm but they offered us the 6 bed dorm for the same price :) they also let us check out quite late on the day we left without any extra charge or fuss. Food on Mexican night was amazing!!! Not the cleanest hostel ever and it was quite quiet so not the best social vibe. But that's just bad timing! Great location, 2 minute walk to town/the beach

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2016
10.0

A cute little beach hostel, everyone's laid back. Our room is a tad hot but what do you expect at the beach, they tried several times to get us an ac and always are helpful if we need anything. One downfall is no meal included but a lot of great options very close

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
2.0

Don't stay here, there are cheaper, cleaner and friendlier places in town which include breakfast! The toilets smelt like stale wee, the staff were drunk\high and incredibly rude and the cocktails had ants in. Bed sheets were not clean, they had no record of our booking and no decent area to chill. Kitchen was also filthy and not hygenic at all. It felt more like a staff crash pad and that we had intruded and were an inconvenience.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
10.0

Great place to stay in Montanita. Incredible experience.. Very cozy, clean and fun place! Staff super friendly and helpful. Rooms with a/c and good showers with hot water. All rooms have shared bathrooms though. Common space with a bar that have amazing cheap cocktails..the hostel is very small but it was ok I even prefer it that way. Good wifi and the hostel had no cover to most bars which is a big plus! Loved the salad bar and the mojitos. Definitely the place to be! Thank you everyone! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
10.0

Loved this Hostel!! Very clean, nice powerful showers with hot water.. Comfy beds with a/c. The bar was great! Good cocktails, drinking games so you really get to know everyone at the Hostel. Big plus if you are a guest in the Iguana Backpackers get free entrance to all bars in town which is like $5 bucks. So We did not have to pay so very convenient. Staff extremely friendly and the girl in charge speaks perfect English which is another BIG plus. Do not miss the pulled pork sandwich!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.4

Had an amazing time in Montanita! We read some of the reviews and were worried this place might have problems.. It was super fun, great ambiance, they have a restaurant attached that had the only salad bar i have seen in this town and PULLED PORK sandwiches!! We stayed there all night playing drinking games. Was more fun then I have had in a while, definitely the most fun hostel in montanita.. I stayed in the 6 bed, that room had air conditioning which was nice!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.