Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Iguana Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 376 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 376 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.5
Iguana Backpackers Located at 46 Calle Spondylus, El Tigrillo, , Montanita.
Iguana Backpackers
Ecuador
Montanita 46 Calle Spondylus, El Tigrillo
89% 376
-1.8251877 -80.7524545
Iguana Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Dec 2016
8.0

Nice hostel, with a cool atmosphere. Close to the beach, and just far enough you don't get a lot of noise from the centre. Definitely could do with some air fresheners though...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
10.0

This hostel was probably the best we've stayed in South America so far. Good vibes, good people, fantastic location. Rooms are clean and comfortable! Right next to beach and bars. Manager Jaren made us feel right at home from the moment we got there until the moment we left. Amazing dinners! Cheap drinks, fun times throughout the night! Travelers on the trail had been talking up Iguana a bunch, so I decided to check it out, and totally impressed! Well worth it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
10.0

Great atmosphere! every night we had a wonderful time with all the other backpackers, all an amazing group who knows how to party! The location is perfect, just a bit away from the center to rest at night, with just a few steps to bars or the beach. Simply beautiful and super cool :) I highly recommend it and when I return I know where to drop my bags, See you soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
10.0

A very relaxing hostel with friendly staff, good surfboard options and iguanas very close to the patio! Really loved this hostel. Comfy beds, A/C, breakfast! Everybody made us feel like a home away from home. Fully stocked communal kitchen and fast WiFi. Good hot showers!! Bbq night was delicious! Awesome, chill place. Would definitely go there again!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Nov 2016
6.3

Really lovely staff + super helpful, but it's a shame that the hostel itself isn't very clean (showers were always full of dirt) and the communal areas were sticky.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2016
10.0

My stay at this Hostal was great! I had so much fun and met wonderful people. The lounge area is perfect to hang out before going out. The staff is super friendly, always willing to help and making sure that you are comfortable. This hostel is clean and very affordable. I also love the location because I can easily walk to the beach and main bars but it is also quiet enough to rest at night. I will definitively be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2016
10.0

loved my stay at the Iguana!One of the Best spots I've stayed on my trip!Staff was great!good wifi, and hot water, which can be hard to find.They have a great bar with drink specials, people from other hostels came to hang out, and the staff is all hot chicks who come out to party. I felt like I didn't have to go out to the bars many nights, Iguana was hella fun!The patio was sick, right on the river, it was a great place to chill out during the day and nurse my hangover.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2016
10.0

great place to stay!!! We had so much fun with everyone staying at the hostel. Staff was so accommodating and polite. The manager was so helpful with suggestions where to visit and best time to go. The hostel was very clean and wifi and AC worked great. This was a very fun hostel to stay and party at and would definitely go back. I recommended this place to other friends visiting next spring and they're excited to check it out too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
9.4

What an awesome hostel! After too long in mancora, was looking for a place to chill in the day and party at night. Perfect! Awesome people, super chill day time, family meal. And then the party begins!!' Clean, friendly and a great vibe

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • phil4195
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2016
10.0

The place to stay in Montañita. Super friendly staff and a great location: close to everything but not in the very noisy town centre. The bar is cheap and the cocktails are good. Communal area is really nice and great to meet people but is actually quiet late in the night when people want to sleep. If the staff are cooking dinners make sure you book, they are super tasty and good value. I will definate stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.