Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Iguana Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 359 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 359 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2017
10.0

This hostel has been one of my favourite during my trip. Upon my arrival the staff were helpful and provided me with all the information I needed to get to know San Cris. The location is perfect and steps away from the food and textile market. This is a very social hostel and you are guaranteed to make new friends, the staff also organize groups for travelers to check out live music and the nightlife each night but this is totally optional! I was sad to leave this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Great locations. Lots of space to hang out and lots of tours/shuttles available to explore the area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Mar 2017
10.0

In a few words, this is the place to be at Sancris. Location is perfect, just around the corner from the most amazing markets, restaurants and bar. The staff (all volunteers, mind you) will do absolutely everything to make your stay enjoyable and fun. Great nights spent around the fire, a lovely little bar to sip cervezas and good value for money. Couldn't ask for more!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
10.0

Staying at La Iguana was a great experience. I was there about a year ago and came back for more. The location is great, short walk to the market, the downtown plaza, the colectivos to go visit Chamula... the staff make a great effort to make you feel comfortable, they're very friendly and organize activities that make it easy to get to know other travelers as well as all the things that San Cristobal has to offer. Would definitely recommend! Hope to see you guys again soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • TankLeprechaun
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Mar 2017
10.0

I would definitely recommend Iguana to anyone who's seeking a fun and lively environment and a relaxed atmosphere, together with a friendly staff and excellent facilities. This is the right place to be to fully enjoy San Cristobal under any aspect and meet other fellow mochileros. Cherry on cake, the breakfast alone can make your day. 100% recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Mar 2017
10.0

My friend and I had the best time in San Cristobal probably because we stayed at Iguana. The staff (Nino and Chinculla) is so sweet and will take you to party any day of the week! The location is fantastic; very walkable to the center. Definitely try the pox they offer at the bar!!! The breakfast is yummy too. We had a private room which was big and cozy. Can't recommend this place more, especially if you're down to party..excited to go back some time!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
10.0

Liad back atmosphere, amazing breakfast and close to food market, bbq's at garden and movies at lounge area, more showers will be good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
10.0

Good atmosphere staff are great, they cook your breakfast everyday, good location between food market and mainsquare! You can watch movies and drink some shots at lounge area!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jan 2017
10.0

Great hostel with a good vibe. Had an incredible BBQ, with heaps of meat, veggies, aguas, salsa, sausages cooked by the staff - delicious! Super close to the main fruit and vegetable market, and the artisans market too! 5 min walk to city centre. Owner a super lovely dude who's passionate and knowledgable about his city! Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
26th Jan 2017
4.3

Woeful. No atmosphere at all and the staff were rude and obnoxious.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.