Hostelworld.com
Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 740 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 740 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.6
Il Castello Located at Via Porta di Castello 4 Bologna, , Bologna.
Il Castello
Italy
Bologna 40121 Via Porta di Castello 4 Bologna
84% 740
44.4960178 11.3413235
Il Castello
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Apr 2016
8.6

Il Castello is a great hostel for visitors staying for a night or two who want a clean, safe, optimally located place. The hostel is very clean and probably a five minute walk from the city center. However, this is not the place for people who are night owls or partiers. There's not a common area or bar and the front desk closes at 7 PM. However, you may come and go as you please at any hour. The walls are very thin so consider bringing earplugs with you. Overall I enjoyed my stay though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
9.7

Love staying there😊more variation on breakfast menu..please☺

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2016
8.3

The hostel was fine for a quick stopover tour in Bologna for two days. There is not really a common area, just a kitchen where they serve a meager breakfast. If you are a light sleeper, this place may not be for you as the walls are very thin. The staff were lovely and the hostel is in a great location to the Piazza Maggiore, only about 7 minutes away if that. Would not stay here again, purely because of the walls as I could hear everything even from two rooms over.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Apr 2016
7.7

I stayed here for one night and had a pleasant stay. It would be nicer if there was access to a kettle, fridge, etc. for guests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Apr 2016
7.7

the hostel is very small but cosy and clean. The staff is very friendly but there's no kitchen and you can hear every sound from the next room cus there's no wall but just a wardrobe to separate the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
8.9

I absolutely loved the staff, they were so helpful in explaining the city, and where I should go based on the amount of time I had. The stove didn't work which made it more difficult to cook, but other than that it was a great experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
8.0

Hostel is clean and safe. Very easy to find and all the city's visiting places are near the hostel. But breakfast is very very small and totally not enough. Atmosphere and interior is beautiful but walls are very thin and if neighbours in other room is noisy you can hear everything. I would say that it is perfect hostel if the price would be half lower:)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
8.6

Il Castello is great hostel. It's quite expensive for me, but I needed urgent place to stay for 2 nights in Bologna. The stuff are really nice and friendly. You have a key for your own locker, which is very good.The only thing is that many people are going in and out of the room during the night, but that it's every hostel. If you a going to Bologna Il Castello is a good option, because it's in the heart of the city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2016
7.1

The hostel itself was nice but the people working there were really rude. Also the doorbell says "Il Castello fashion institute" or something and the street is called il castello, so it seemed like it could have been another business since doesn't say "fashion institute" anywhere on this page. When I very nicely told the girl my confusion she was really really rude. Also the check in hours & 10 € surcharge for after 7 pm is ridiculous, absolutely ridiculous. No outlets by the beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
9.4

The location is perfect. It is like at the literally center of the city. The facilities were good and clean, the staff was super nice. :) The breakfast was too Italian, if you know what I mean :) Definately suggest this one if you travel alone or with a small group :) È stato tutto perfetto :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.