Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 914 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 914 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.7
Il Castello Located at Via Porta di Castello 4 Bologna, , Bologna.
Il Castello
Italy
Bologna 40121 Via Porta di Castello 4 Bologna
85% 914
44.4960178 11.3413235
Il Castello
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.3

The double room feels kinda cold and not so welcoming. Staff is great! The place is close to everything which is nice. As a couple i'd recommend spending your time somewhere else, as a backpacker or single traveller it might seem perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
7.1

Upon booking, we noticed we couldn't check in after 7, so we emailed immediately after to say that due to our bus, we would like to check in at 8 and if they could wave the 10 euro late check in fee, but no. They did however let us pay everything online which was wonderful! Everything was pretty clean. They have a FULL kitchen, but we weren't allowed to even boil water. After check out, we weren't allowed to wait in the common room, or reception office. And no air-co although it's advertised

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you for your resume. Anyway we are so sorry that we have not satisfied your desires. We understand that for as much as 16€ that you payed for you night staying, it is normal that you pretend that we wait for you all night long, that we let you use thet kicthen freely as it was your home's one, not let you made late check-out untile you want. We are working, for the same price of course, to include free dinner and massages. Just for you.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Aug 2016
7.1

This is an ok hostel; the dorm rooms are clean and have big lockers plus the location is excellent. However the bathrooms were quite dirty especially the showers and the wifi was slow at night. Also there is basically no common area except the breakfast bar. We literally got two small pieces of toast for breakfast and a coffee. We didn't think it was too hard to find, look out for the large wooden door with the 2 pot plants. And the buzzer is for Il Castello fashion line but it's for the hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Aug 2016
7.1

Hostel was clean and good location, however the fridge and kitchen facilities were locked at 7pm and you couldn't get anything from it until 8:30 the next morning

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you for your resume. Anyway our staff is available since 8 am. Maybe you did not noticed it.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Aug 2016
9.4

This place is really nice, and I would definitely recommend staying here. Very comfortable. Just a few things to note... The walls are paper thin, so you can hear every word of the conversation next door as if it is in your own room. There were only two showers for everyone, which just wasn't enough. The pressure on the bathrooms might be alleviated by mirrors in the dorms. They will charge you €10 for arriving after 7pm, which seems pretty steep to me. No working air con in my dorm room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Aug 2016
8.0

The Hostel is in a fantastic location. You're right in the middle of Bologna with the Two Towers just a 5 minutes walk away and Piazza Maggiore even closer! Our double bedroom was simple but clean. The bathrooms were not that clean though, but that's because there were just too many people for 3 toilets and 2 showers. Although the stuff was very helpful and cleaned the facilities every day it was inevitable. The breakfast was free and simple but good. I would go back there!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2016
7.4

Good short walk from the train station and a nice apartment block - although the only buzzer was for Il Castillo fashion line - which made it very confusing. Staff were a little abrupt and there were a lot of agressive rules on the back of doors! Breakfast shouldn't be called breakfast - two tiny (wafer thin) pieces of toast and an apple - I asked for another slice of toast and was refused! Atmosphere was okay; but the rooms were echoey so voices were loud and kept others awake.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
8.6

Very difficult to find and no directions on website. Was in a building with other places, should have specified that

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
7.7

Great location, right in the city centre nearby the main square. Easy to find from the train station, 10mins walk basically down 1 straight line. The recetionaist isn't very knowledgeable about the local/nearby attractions, which is a shame. I wouldn't personally recommend Bologna but its easy access to Venice, Ferrara, Paduva and Florence makes it great for a day stopover

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
6.6

if you want to find a place that will enhance your time in Bologna this is NOT the hostel to stay at. However if you just want a place to crash for a couple of nights this place is fine. I wouldn't recommend staying for more than two nights however.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.