Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,041 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,041 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.4
Il Castello Located at Via Porta di Castello 4 Bologna, , Bologna.
Il Castello
Italy
Bologna 40121 Via Porta di Castello 4 Bologna
82% 1041
44.4960178 11.3413235
Il Castello
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Nov 2016
8.9

Very clean, very organized, very cute hostel! Great location, a bit expensive but at least you are given nice facilities in return. Would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Nov 2016
9.7

Nice and Clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
8.3

My stay in this hostel has been really nice. For me the hostel is perfect in order to enjoy Bologna. But, I was travelling alon, and think that the people there not was such social how i would like. My expirience says that is perfect for job travel, or go with a quiet group.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
6.3

I wouldn't recommend this hostel - go for any other option in Bologna. The location is very good and central, and the hostel is clean, but besides that it's not that much positive to say. It lacks atmosphere, the common room is only a few chairs, they have a kitchen but the guest are not allowed to use it, the staff is a bit rude, they provide a breakfast for 3euros which is only one coffee and one toast, and they have only three bathrooms/showers for all the dorms.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
7.1

Not sure why there are such intensely negative reviews for this hostel--it's pretty much on par with others in Italy. Great location, facilities were quite good, atmosphere was pretty much non-existent. Blankets were a bit ratty and there were no charging stations next to the beds, so that could be improved. But considering the budget accommodations available in Bologna, this place is perfectly serviceable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2016
9.1

A posh place which hiding in a lavish commercial Main Street. Except not satisfied with their limited sweet breakfast, others were all good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2016
4.6

There is no visible sign for the b&b. After 15 mins walk from the bus station, I was told by the lady via the intercom that the check-in is at 12 pm and they won't store my luggage, saying there isn't space to store it. They asked me to go back to the bus station. This was at 10:30 am. The day of the check-out, the reception told me I can either sit at the reception for 10 mins or leave my luggage till 2 pm. Well, now you want to store my luggage.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Nov 2016
7.1

The staff is really nice. There's not much atmosphere after the little breakfast they give you. The security was too much though. You need a key for the front door, very big key for the difficult lock to the hostel and a key for your room. The reception leave at 6pm!! So no check in after that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Oct 2016
6.9

The locker is a full wardrobe with the key already provided (no need to buy locks) which is great. However, to charge the phone overnight you need to leave it next to the wall, away from beds, so basically anyone could pick it up. Breakfast is just one toast. Great location and decent cleanliness, but no atmosphere at all. I find it too expensive for what you get.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Oct 2016
8.0

Positiv: Great location Negativ: I could here the guy in the room next door snoring. I had to pay 5€ for leaving my luggage during the day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.