Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,071 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,071 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.4
Il Castello Located at Via Porta di Castello 4 Bologna, , Bologna.
Il Castello
Italy
Bologna 40121 Via Porta di Castello 4 Bologna
81% 1071
44.4960178 11.3413235
Il Castello
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Dec 2016
9.4

At the heart of the city, walking distance to all the main attractions. Helpful staffs and good cleaniniess. Lockable closet provided. The only bad thing is the hostel is difficult to find as it doesn't have any signboard around. Overall I had an amazing time during the stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
11th Dec 2016
7.4

Location is great, close to the city centre and just off the main shopping street/piazza Maggiore. About a 15-20 min walk to the bus and train stations. Bathrooms were clean. Towel and linen provided. Large lockers. Wifi worked really well. No atmosphere and no real common area to hang out in so not the best place to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
8.9

Very clean, very organized, very cute hostel! Great location, a bit expensive but at least you are given nice facilities in return. Would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
9.7

Awesome and cozy place! Friendly staff who speaks great english. I didn't like that I had to pay extra because I checked in a little later than the dedicated check-in time and the place is not well marked, making it very very hard to find. But the rooms are really cute and clean, so overall a good experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Nov 2016
9.7

Nice and Clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Nov 2016
6.0

Definitely one of the weirdest places I have ever stayed in. Don't stay here if you are looking for a hostel. If you are down for a converted condo, this is an ok place for you. The exterior has no signs, you have to ring an intercom to be let in, by a rude staff member that demands to know if you have a reservation. The rooms are so tiny, about 1 foot of space around the bed and that's it. Breakfast is a croissant and coffee - no personal use of kitchen facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
8.3

My stay in this hostel has been really nice. For me the hostel is perfect in order to enjoy Bologna. But, I was travelling alon, and think that the people there not was such social how i would like. My expirience says that is perfect for job travel, or go with a quiet group.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
6.3

I wouldn't recommend this hostel - go for any other option in Bologna. The location is very good and central, and the hostel is clean, but besides that it's not that much positive to say. It lacks atmosphere, the common room is only a few chairs, they have a kitchen but the guest are not allowed to use it, the staff is a bit rude, they provide a breakfast for 3euros which is only one coffee and one toast, and they have only three bathrooms/showers for all the dorms.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
7.1

Not sure why there are such intensely negative reviews for this hostel--it's pretty much on par with others in Italy. Great location, facilities were quite good, atmosphere was pretty much non-existent. Blankets were a bit ratty and there were no charging stations next to the beds, so that could be improved. But considering the budget accommodations available in Bologna, this place is perfectly serviceable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2016
9.1

A posh place which hiding in a lavish commercial Main Street. Except not satisfied with their limited sweet breakfast, others were all good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.