Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 960 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 960 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.7
Il Castello Located at Via Porta di Castello 4 Bologna, , Bologna.
Il Castello
Italy
Bologna 40121 Via Porta di Castello 4 Bologna
85% 960
44.4960178 11.3413235
Il Castello
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Sep 2016
7.4

Great location but not well sign posted when you get to hostel, make sure you have a photo of the front of the building because you have to press a buzzer that says something about 'fashion line'. Nice staff, very helpful. Basic breakfast, only two toilets and showers for quite a lot of people. Worth it if you're staying short term

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
10.0

I greatly enjoyed staying here! The staff and the travelers were very nice. I had to check out early, and it was no problem. The lady at the desk actually got there earlier than usual to check me out and call for a taxi. Very clean, neat rooms and bathrooms. Had a locker in my room to lock up my belongings.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you!

  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Sep 2016
8.9

Clean, great location and good breakfast. The room had plenty of personal storage space, that included a key and the walk from the train station was 15 min and it was in the middle of the old part of town. The only unusual thing about my stay was that check-in was limited to the duration 12-19 pm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
9.4

Great location, but not very well signposted... Friendly, helpful staff, goos atmosphere, clean and great showers. Breakfast was a bit limited, and would have been nice to be able to make tea/ coffee yourself. Overall I had a really good stay, even if it was only one night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Sep 2016
7.7

Loved the location - very central. Plenty of security and private room had air con, was clean and decorated nicely, came with complimentary towels and robes. Only issues have previously been mentioned in other reviews: Not enough shared bathrooms/toilets for the number of guests (awful when you need to pee!), the spa is actually just some buttons in a shower and the breakfast is poor. You are only allowed one very small croissant or toast and one apple, which is not much bang for your buck!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
5.4

If you want a "meh" experience then this is the place for you. Also, skip the breakfast, it's terrible.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Happy not to have you as our guest again.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Sep 2016
8.0

Clean, friendly, but they charge for everything beyond bed, breakfast, and bathroom use. Wasn't able to use the kitchen, and yes - 2 bathrooms among everyone there was not enough. I survived by needing it at odd hours. Social environment - bedroomand foyer layout promotes conversation. Clean. Stayed just one night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Macedonia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Sep 2016
10.0

Great hostel. Right in the center, very clean and the staff is very helpful. I stayed one night and I loved it. Would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
8.9

Very nice! During the night it was too hot in the room and there was no air.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
8.6

Very nice and cozy place, the girls from the staff were very helpful, the place is very clean and the ppl were cool. The only thing that bothered me a bit maybe because i never saw it in any other hostel is that you have to pay 10 extra EUR if you are arriving after 19:00 o'clock

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.