Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 368 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 368 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse Located at Avenida 4,100 metros oeste Escuela de la Roosevelt, San Pedro, San Jose.
In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse
Costa Rica
San Jose 2050 Avenida 4,100 metros oeste Escuela de la Roosevelt, San Pedro
83% 368
9.9309134 -84.0537679
In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Jul 2016
6.6

Fine place to stay a few nights, however we've stayed other places in San José/San Pedro area for the same price, yet with a much bigger room and cleaner facilities. The bathrooms should be cleaned daily, which was not the case. The room was not too clean either. Staff was very friendly and the breakfast delicious (pancakes).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2016
7.7

Nice people and great location. The cleanliness could be improved in all aspects.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jun 2016
6.9

Main let down of this hostel was lack of atmosphere. I think it was more of a student house than a hostel? It wasn't very welcoming and we almost felt a bit out of place. Anyway, friendly staff, rooms comfortable and clean, beds had curtains, hot shower, nice breakfast of pancake w banana and coffee... Not a great area but near a few small grocery shops. Kitchen had plenty of bowls, cutlery etc but no more than 2 pans, computers didn't work. Could be worse, but could also be a lot better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th May 2016
9.1

Certainly one of the best hostels for the money I've ever stayed in. Josie, the owner, does a great job getting you oriented to San Jose. The vibe is pure hostel ethic - have fun, be adventurous, Pura Vida! The building is funky and rather run-down but comfortable enough. Good community spirit - again, that's Josie's doing. Location is a safe neighborhood by the university. Recommended as your first stopping place before moving on to outdoor adventures in the rest of Costa Rica.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2016
8.9

Its always difficult exiting the airport for the first time in a new place; no matter how much research you do, you can't be sure you know enough to keep out of trouble until you figure things out. In the wind hostel is a great bridge for travellers of modest means offering ato arrange a direct taxi pickup at the airport so you don't have gamble on an unknown in the gauntlet of shouting drivers at the airport exit. The hostel is safe and comfortable located near the university campus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
7.1

Two different rooms; I found the single private with shared bath very cramped and with no provision for hanging things. The shared bath was barely adequate. The ensuite private that we had once my wife joined me was pretty nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Apr 2016
2.9

Apart from the friendly blonde girl, this place is terrible. I had far better value throughout Costa Rica for a budget room. I'm shocked that the ratings are so high

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • crhughes1970
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Apr 2016
5.7

Good hostel facilities with kitchen and each bed having a curtain, light and power socket is nice. Breakfast was nice - one pancake and coffee. Wouldn't rate the hostel though, didn't feel very friendly, atmosphere was kind of lacking and not convinced the sheets were clean which is the only thing you expect from a hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
10.0

felt very safe, the staff we spoke with were very kind and helpful, and it was very clean and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
9.1

It's a little far from San Jose, but downtown is easy to go get to. Also somewhat of a blessing in disguise and I really didn't like downtown. Not a lot of options for groceries. But Christian was incredibly helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.