X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

India House Backpackers Hostel Reviews

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3841 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

They must often clean the kitchen and the tables. I saw many cockroach in kitchen. The tables were always dirty!

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Found black long hairs through out the bed!! Not close to the french quarters it's a cable car ride of about 10-15 mins. For the price of a private room it's just as much to get a hotel in the quarters. Staff were rude, saying mean things about other people as they walk past. If you are on your own it is a cheap night but if there is 2 or more just get a hotel.

  • 1st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The location is quite good and the whole place is quite cool, if the weather is warm. For cold days, the common rooms inside are a bit small for this amount of people and I don't understand that there are only one way cups, plates and silverware...


26%

I have stayed in more than 10 hostels all over the world in the past 11 months, but this is the WORST hostel I have ever stayed in. It's located in a sketchy neighborhood that you won't feel safe walking back after 8pm. They gave us (5 guys) a room with only a small radiator despite the freezing weather of New Orleans in November. The room is super dirty with footprints everywhere and a big leak on the ceiling. The beds are all dirty and they didn't even have enough blankets for us. AVOID!


80%

Really funky place to stay with a real homey feel. Really great place to meet people. The hostel put on a Thanksgiving dinner for us which was really lovely. Place could do with a bit of a spruce up and there really weren't enough showes and toilets, but had plenty of character and would definitely come back!

  • 25th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Cracking hostel, pretty good location with a tram stop literally 50 meters away that goes straight into and out of town. Really sociable atmosphere inside and outside, they do breakfast and dinner for pretty cheap as well. Only thing letting it down was the rooms and facilities (it was all pretty dark and cold and had an aura of grime about the place) but that added character and gave it an atmosphere like a proper travellers hostel. All in all - well worth a visit.


37%

The room was dirty, 12 people in a room big as mine at home. Dirty lines and just 1 shower for 12 people. The heater is very old, made in 1989, and noisy. The facilities are really cold. The black girl who checked us in seemed disappointed about our arrival.

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

My biggest qualm was only having paper plates and cups. Such a waste everyday! And horrible to eat off. Buying proper stuff would save money Surely The place was pretty grubby but did had plenty of hangout spaces. The staff acted like we were in the way mostly. Our first room was very rundown, squished bugs everywhere. Our second was nicer, newly renovated. Although the showers were often cold. There was good food available everyday, and lovely cooked breakfasts (nothing for free though!).


66%

good location, great outdoor space, rooms a bit sketchy but survivable. nice people and opportunities to meet each other. could do with new bedding though!

  • 19th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Basically ok. Short ride in to town on the cable car (or a 30-45 min walk), but everything else pretty basic. Only one staff member I met was particularly friendly, the wifi didn't reach my room, and there didn't seem to be any atmosphere to speak of (no band nights or open mic as far as I could tell!).


86%

This is my first time staying in a Hostel and i would do this all over again. Shame that it took this long for me to try this experience.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

I had a great time at India House. Great way to experience the city.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff is friendly when you arrive there, but they are not helpful at all on phone before your arrival, which may lead to anxiety before arrival. The do not accept debit cards or amex or discover for a partial initial payment, What's with that????

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

One-of-a-kind place--unbelievable value--fantastic in every way.

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Mouses in the room - we found 3 mouse holes! The staff was not helpful at all, in contrary, they blamed us on leaving food in the room. Yes, we did - one packed choclate bar. The floor wasn't really clean, especially under the bed, so mice probably could find a lot of food left there. The bed was just bad, completely damaged. Very overprized for what you get. Room was cold, heating too small for the room.

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 31-40


86%

India House had staff with character, the kitchen was well organized and no one stole my food which is a major pro. The location is obviously not in the main city only 45 minute walk from it but it is on a tram track only $1.25 to the main stretch with tram's that run most of the night. The bedrooms were nice and homy, the showers worked well and there were plenty of toilets(room 9) but the heating was a bit intense and it was essential because the floor had a strong breeze coming up through it.

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

great party place. 15 minutes to the town. no breakfast


74%

Some of the staff seemed to be a bit bored with their jobs. Hostel was a bit grotty in places. They need to have rules on noise at night as I was kept awake by people talking loudly in the smoking area until 4am. Good meals available


57%

The staff weren't very friendly and seemed annoyed every time I asked them a question about anything The kitchen is dirty and has cockroaches and minimal utensils and plates The showers are horrible! Made for a midget and not enough of them One really good thing about this hostel is that it has great atmosphere, really chill and easy to meet fellow travellers. Hostel has a list of events going on each day and tours which is helpful. They provide cheap meals throughout the day

  • 10th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

A cool hostel in a cool city. The people staying at the hostel are what makes it worth visiting. The rooms were ok- not so clean but if you're looking for a fun time this is the place to be.


(2594 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback