X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

India House Backpackers Hostel Reviews

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
5385 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Had an amazing time there! Backpacker spirit at its best!

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I loved the Hostel, the vibe and the people I met. Absolutely cannot fault a pool, cheap breakfast, close and cheap tram line and great people. I can imagine people are quick to judge all the writing on the wall but I loved it. Great character And so cheap


83%

We loved staying here and will definitely come back! The pool and lounge are great. Super comfy sofas for when the sun gets too much. We would love to see some speakers installed for music and some group activities going on. Location was fab really easy to get around. The cheap breakfast and dinner is so good you should do more! we didn't eat anywhere else its so refreshing to have a good meal without paying loads! Thanks so much

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Such a great place to go when in New Orleans.

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Cheap but horrible environment.

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great. Hospitable. Friendly.

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent place, great location right by the street car!


86%

Amazing hostel, met so many awesome people and had the time of my life. Wish I could've stayed longer!

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

When we got there the man was very friendly, it was very hot though and the air con didn't cool the room down very well. The facilities weren't to a particularly good standard. The interior was very interesting to look at and there was a lot of art on the wall making this place very quirky. However if you're looking for somewhere more comfortable and clean I wouldn't recommend this to you.


89%

It is a very friendly place, I would love to go back again. The staff is kind and helpful. Totally worth the money.

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

People were friendly and the hostel was crowded, but rooms should be more clean.


89%

Great atmosphere, young persons hostel. Its great to have a pool and that they provide food for purchase as almost all hours. Hygiene of the kitchen needs to be improved as I have seen some cockroaches and other bugs. Its located out of the main part of town however the tram line is right outside and its cheap to get in.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24


100%

BRILLIANT! Best hostel I stayed at in America- fabulous atmosphere, fascinating people, super staff, many adventures. I have been recommending this place to everyone who is going to NOLA. Magic place.


74%

Everything is decent with this hostel and the pool allows a good opportunity for some downtime as well as providing a social platform. The cleanliness in the kitchen could be improved as there were cockroaches and Beatles running across the dishes and food. I would recommend staying here, it is good value for money, and it is a nice treat to have a good cooked breakfast although this will cost you an extra $6 - which I found was slightly over priced.


94%

Fun & friendly! It has a pool... What more do you want?! You should definitely stay here!


97%

I absolutely loved the hostel, the atmosphere was great, fantastic value for money. I would recommend it to anyone, infact I already have.


83%

Accommodations and location was well worth the money. Kitchen was adequate to make simple meals, lots of space for beverages.. just make sure you label your stuff. Always a chance to meet interesting people as this place was quite busy at all times.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a great time, great staff with a great atmosphere.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

A great hostel with a sociable atmosphere. The rooms were slightly old and not that great ,but minus that the hostel was great A good kitchen, lobby, wifi, beer garden and pool. I my stay here.


89%

While the staff at India House could have been more welcoming, the private room we stayed in was clea and the hostel was so close to downtown.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(3501 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback