X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

India House Backpackers Hostel Reviews

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
4201 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Amazing place to stay in Nola... staff has great recommendations about music, food, etc. It's a great space to hang out, probably the best hostel I've seen in the United States.


86%

they did real good

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Not too far from french quarter (30 mins walking); close to the street car. Nice back area to hand out and drink before going out.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Helpful to know before you check in: they dont accept credit cards for amounts less than EIGHTY DOLLARS so make sure you have enough cash to cover your stay (ATM on-site, $2.75 fee). Free wifi w/a strong signal. Short order cook for breakfast & dinner for $3-$6! Small lockers for valuables (can buy lock for $7) but I didnt have any security problems. SUPER helpful staff! Was worried about the 2 cats living there as I am stupidly allergic but they DO NOT enter the bedrooms & I didn't sneeze once

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Not what I expected from a hostel that had great reviews when I was finding a place to stay. Felt that the open plan rooms felt very crowded even though the rooms were split. Staff initially seemed great but there were a few times I got a "couldn't care less" impression when I made enquiries about a few things and staff were too busy looking at their phones - not great for customer relations. Although I did meet some great people there I did feel a little insecure at the premises.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

great place. good location. the bathroom was brand new - room was warm. easy to find and very cool area

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

good value option easy to get to bourbon street on the tram. the old guy who works night shift is the best staff member we met.


86%

Very relaxed atmosphere. They have a common dining area, as well as fridges and a kitchen that are open for use. The breakfast there cooked by the staff was delicious! Close to downtown by the street car. Would recommend to anyone wanting to enjoy the New Orleans experience without breaking your bank account with an expensive hotel.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

You would think that the staff would know the airport bus schedule or at least update the posted schedule...as even though I asked twice...where i could catch it, and would it stop there while reading the dirty worn down schedule, they said yes, yet there was no bus at that time in the morning....thus an exspensive taxi ride:( it's a grest place if you're 18-25 and want to drink at the hostel every night...


94%

The only real complaint I had about this hostel was that, during my week-long stay, my fellow hostel-goers seemed to be more than content to stay in at night rather than go out and explore the city. However, this is not the fault of the hostel itself so I can help but highly recommend this place.

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Sorry to say shower were crappy, don't gve you a towel but $5 to buy one was reasonable, it was absolutely freezing at night with the draft coming through the windows from the air con, literally just had a sheet, should have asked for a blanket but most places would think to give you one! had the worst nights sleep coz of it, even people with blankets were freezing so I Duno how they cope in winter as no heating! atmosphere was really good everyone friendly. Great location to get to bourbon st


89%

One of the best hostels for people traveling along to meet some people to see new Orleans with


86%

Everything is pretty good but maybe they need to have a better control in order to go inside because sometimes I had the impression it was like a bar where anybody could do it.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bolivia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The best place to stay. The beds aren't anything worth raving about, But let's be honest... You'll hardly be using them and by the time you do, you won't even notice.


97%

Really nice hostel! :)

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Has a great vibe, great place if your traveling by yourself to meet some cool people to enjoy New Orleans with


77%

Super low prices. One added plus is that the hostel staff prepares very tasty breakfast and dinner every day. Average dorm rooms, reasonably clean, although not very warm when it gets cold. Wi-Fi was always working. Hostel is located conveniently near the streetcar station which takes you directly to Downtown. You can easily meet people and the hostel suggests some Jazz/Blues events/places every night that are worth of visit. I had a nice stay in the Big Easy and I do recommend this hostel.


51%

I was extremely disappointed in the matteress. It was so thin and worn out that I could feel the springs. It was the worst bed I've ever experienced. I had trouble sleeping. The price for staying there was good but, even at $30/night, it wasn't worth not being able to sleep.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Hostel had a good social vibe however facilities were poor. Water did not work in the showers, dirty and not all toilets were funcitiong. There seemed to be confusion about bed allocation meaning some people were left bed less. Better hostels in the area


71%

I would encourage anyone to stay here for the location, atmosphere, and good facilities (especially for long-term travellers - washing facilities, kitchen, common areas are excellent). However, the staff are quite rude, probably because they're overworked and have an archaic booking system, and will make you feel like you're asking for one of their kidneys, when you just have a simple question or want to check in or out. Don't let that deter you though, it's a lot of fun staying here.


(237 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback