X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

India House Backpackers Hostel Reviews

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
4198 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

We loved it! After travelling through we decided to come back and stay here. Great atmosphere, very easy to get to bourbon street and around town by using the trams. We stayed in a private dorm. Basic, good sized rooms, clean and all you need. Would definitely stay here again!

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I'd never stay anywhere else! Staff was Accommodating for me because I'm in a wheelchair. I was able to get around easily. Short walk to the Canal street cable car. They serve bfast

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice hostel with a wonderfully warm atmosphere. We had a room which was in a house next to the main building, with it's own entrance. Feeling like going home! We had a car and parking is easy in the street. I would definitely stay there again for a next trip to NOLA.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The place was charming, offered everything you might need from food to advice to internet, was in a good location, and had very low cost so great value. The negative points were that the bathrooms were not very clean or functional and we never had hot water. Also our beds were very uncomfortable, particularly the top bunk which allows one to feel every metal slat supporting the thin mattress. Our private room wasn't heated and we were pretty cold.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

This place had a very cool, backpacker feel to it. Not as clean or security conscious as some more boutique-type hostels I've stayed at in Europe, but this is definitely a good option for young people who don't want to spend too much money on a hotel in New Orleans). Great breakfast for $5 made to order. Lots of space to hang out both indoors and outdoors. A good place to meet people. About 10 min/$10 cab ride or 25 min (


71%

Overall, I enjoyed the stay and would recommend it to others based on the atmosphere and good value for money. The kitchen was kept clean, however the same was not true for the showers and bathrooms. The toilets were repeatedly blocked though the problem was generally resolved in a few hours or so. The dorm was very cold at night!

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Really enjoyed my stay here. Plenty of friendly people and a good environment.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved the India House and would definitely come back. atmosphere is great big common area to chill and get to know the people staying there. Very close to public transport so the downtown is just a trolley away.


83%

Really enjoyed my stay!

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place and great atmosphere to hang out and meet new people, quaint and organized. Conveniently located a few steps from the bus stop.


100%

I was surprised that towels need to be purchased, and yet, what the heck. I REALLY, REALLY appreciated that you have a short order-specialty cook that makes wonderful breakfasts/brunch. That is the best, ever. The layout was fantastic. I also appreciated the ease of using the Canal streetcar line, just across the street that goes to the French quarter. I would stay again.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Fun hostel in a fun city - if you want the niceties of a new hostel go there but this place kicks ass


100%

Had an awesome time at India house over Halloween. Such a great atmosphere and great people.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

2-ply toilet paper. For hostels this is luxury. Still haven't seen the legendary 3-ply yet. If India House did this, it would be Nirvana.


74%

I have been staying at the india house for more than ten years. The atmosphere at the india house is really very unique, and I always have a ton of fun there. The many communal areas and tables make it very easy to meet other travelers there. My only problem with my last two stays is that the facilities are really going downhill quickly. The bathrooms are gross and the entire property is filthy dusty.My allergies go insane there. The price per night keeps going up, so how about some fixes?


100%

The atmosphere is the best! Very artsy and cozy. Great staff and guests from all over the world. The living room area is super comfy with a large TV and lots of channels for the days when you just want to chill. The courtyard area is really large actually and contains noise pretty well though obviously always bring earplugs when travelling. The food served in the morning for breakfast was also really good and super affordable! This is my go-to in NOLA

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This is a good place, with nice facilities, including a pool. The buildings are charming, and the fact that they cover the whole block means space for a lot of guests, which gives you chanses to meet a lot of people. I'll return there next time in New Orleans, no doubt.


94%

This place was magical. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. This place is what you make of it, in the BEST way possible. :)

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The sheet or the bed was smelling pee, the staff was not friendly

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Fun and friendly place. Not the place for those who want quiet! Definitely a party place in a good area close to canal street and the streetcar. 10 mins from french quarter and live music everywhere. Absolutely loved it! Xxx


(241 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback