X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

India House Backpackers Hostel Reviews

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
5408 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Fun hostel, staff were nice

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Need a better heater!! I could barely feel the heat from the heater and it was really cold at night!

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Awesome environment great staff cheap meals and felt safe on site. Bringing own blanket if traveling when cold it is chilly there if weather bad. Also brings own towel and msybe pillow if like thicker style. They have washing machines on site. Overall great experience

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Power didn't work in the room for a day and a half making that night too cold to sleep in and had to ask multiple times to be fixed. The breakfast they make is fantastic, and for a great price. Not overly close to the French quarter, would have to take an uber to it at night. Showers / washrooms are so so dated, and always freezing cold rooms.


91%

The public spaces were fantastic, lots of lounges and outdoor patios and even a pool, plus really good breakfasts and dinners they sold for cheap. The room itself wasn't great, the beds were pretty uncomfortable and the rooms were freezing-- and they only gave us one tiny little throw blanket each. And the showers were always either cold or would send just one jet of hot water out-- straight at the wall.

  • 3rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

It offers very inexpensive, but good quality breakfast/dinner. The staff members are quite nice and helpful too. Customers are more younger age college students. The only thing is that they don't offer locks for locker in each dormitory. You'll have to bring your own or buy one at the vending machine. Given the large dorm room and the flow of customers, it is a little unsatisfying to leave my stuff in the room. I also don't see housekeepers to clean the dorms.


100%

I had such a great time here. The hostel is amazing as are the staff. It created a very friendly atmosphere. The facilities are fantastic as are the communal areas. I stayed in a private room which was really good.

  • 3rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a great time here. Great value for the 2-person private room en suite. Favorite part was the community area; it was a great way to meet other travelers and hang out.

  • 3rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This was a great hostel. The staff was lovely and it had a cheerful welcoming atmosphere. One thing to be careful of is that the walls are thin, so you might want to bring earplugs. Otherwise, everything was perfect.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed here several years back and had a blast! Always on my radar when in NOLA!

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel was full of life and great people but it was not incredible clean and the common areas were very 'worn in'. It was also not the mot secure spot with my room not ever locking. The hostel itself is in a good location a 15 minute tram ride from the French Quarter and has some great offers on food for breakfast and dinner.


80%

The staff working there were awesome. Thank you Ginny for being so helpful! I stayed in a recently renovated room that was warm, clean, and updated. The dinners and breakfasts that are served are also really delicious. Overall I will be returning if I'm ever visiting New Orleans again.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had everything needed. Felt really safe and everyone was welcoming. Spotless room and a quarter of the price of the hotel we had initially stayed in at the beginning of the trip.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The atmosphere is great in India House Hostel! There is a lot of people to meet and the courtyard is a great place to hangout as is the living room. The staff was also very nice and helpful! There was a big hole in the window of my room (number 1) Ginny (on the staff) was very helpful and she came to put cardboard and tape, but maybe it is something the Hostel should really fix as it gets cold at night during winter. The food is great and cheap. There should be more plates and cups in the kitche

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Stayed 5 nights, father / son outing in a private room. Wonderful experience. Great staff. Good handling of food needs. Lots of repairs needed...even minor stuff, lights out, plumbing not working, window stuck open at 39 degrees Need someone to stay on top of the mechanicals.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Not particularly clean or new, but I liked the cozy, cluttered atmosphere and eclectic decorations. Loved that it wasn't too far away from everything and how easy it was to meet people. Only complaint is how freezing the rooms were - I had to sleep with 2 layers of clothes on due to lack of central heating & two girls in my dorm weren't given comforters because the staff had run out.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Very happy with the hostel and the experience it provided for New Years celebrations. A massive plus for this hostel is the atmosphere it creates. Would definetly recommend.


94%

The staff was friendly, competent, and always available. They performed their tasks with a smile, and if they did not know the answer to your questions, would try to find out. The breakfasts they serve are a backpackers dream, and the evening meals were tasty and filling. The mothership of hostels!!!

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

rad hostel, they do breakfast and dinner! both good and cheap, good internet, heaps of kitchen stuff, lots of places to hang out


91%

The India House was a great experience. It was reminiscent of my time in Europe. Staff was courteous and helpful. The outdoor atmosphere with tables, lounge and pool are so far from commercial and gaudy. Lots of focus went into to the individual's experience. I plan to stay here again and again in the very near future.

  • 26th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(299 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback