X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

India House Backpackers Hostel Reviews

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3919 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

A really good backpackers facility- good feel.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Environment is very chill, LOVE THE POOL. We stayed in Zambezi, and honestly my ONLY complaint is that our fitted sheet was not the right size of our bed so it wouldn't stay tucked, and you end up sleeping on the plastic mattress cover most of the night-STICKY. But seriously, other than that everything was great.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Cheap, but the private rooms are pretty rough and its far from anything worth doing. Streetcar takes forever so we ended up cabbing everywhere. Our room literally had a big hole in the wall, and the dusty old air conditioner made me sick. Staff are 50/50- some are lovely but others are rude and indifferent.


46%

The private room is a shack near a noisy filthy fountain that has a hook to lock the inside of two peices of plywood acting as a door and a padlock for the outside. There is ONLY a bed a reading lamp and a ledge! The bathrooms and showers are unisex no privacy. The 8 bed women's dorm was spacious clean and decent with a real lock. Didn't like the wood platform leading to the shower but it was private and clean. There always was a group hanging out in the back. Won't be back EVER!!!

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Great hostel. I would stay here again. Enjoyed hanging out in the lounge area, and meeting new people. The staff was very friendly, and accommodating. The shower is a little busted, and it's a trek to get home from Bourbon Street when there are no taxis available. Had a great time though!!!


77%

Need to fix air conditioner in all rooms. Food was great. 75 percent of the staff was friendly and bad knowledge of the area

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Some staff members were more knowledgeable about the area and thus more helpful than others. The facilities were generally good, lots of cool things on the premises and lots of common spaces. One of the beds I had was very soft (would bottom out if i slept on my side) and I could feel springs poking me; it is probably due for a replacement.


83%

its cheap, people are friendly and you get what you paid for. there is a fully functionning kitchen, cheap meals are served every night for like 5 or 6$, which is great for people who travel on a budget. Get the Jazz pass, it'll get you on any bus or tram and you are on the main line. it'll take about 12 min to get to the quarters. Well lit area. If you're looking for an inexpensive place to stay, stay here. theres a pool, fridges, ac, tv.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The India House is a funky-cool place with a great vibe. It's one of the closest clones to the old EU-style hostels I've visited in the U.S. As far as hostels go, the India House is the real deal, and well worth the experience. I loved it.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Had a lovely time at India House. Great atmosphere and a wonderful place to meet folks from around the world! Staff was friendly and helpful though a few in particular seemed asleep at the wheel and were rude. Clean facilities however it was a bummer that private rooms have bunk beds (not romantic or functional for my partner and I). Overall a great vibe and awesome location if you want to experience New Orleans.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Pool was awesome. Staff were helpful. I wish the lines were shorter at reception. About 2-3 instances where i waited 20-30 minutes to ask a question/check out


94%

Great hostel. Right near trail cars, staff was nice, bathrooms/ dorms really clean. Wails recommend for anyone coming to New Orleans for a spell

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great time! Excellent location, clean facilities, great atmosphere and friendly staff. Can't go wrong!

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

India House is a perfect place to stay in New Orleans. It is well located (near the main streetcar line) and my room was okay. I also met many awesome people there and the staff was great. The only thing is I wish backpackers would be more respectful : every morning it was a mess outside, people leaving garbage, empty beers,... and the employees had to clean it every day.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Really great hostel, the best I've stayed at yet. Staff was really friendly and people at the hostel were amazing.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Clean and nice place with a good location

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

India House is a must-see in New Orleans for its amazing atmosphere.


74%

Far from the center but close to the streetcar, staff unfriendly. Easy to meet people from all over the world there.


91%

Had a great stay at India house. It's a great atmosphere for travelers and is very easy to meet others. A trolley a block away will take you to Bourbon Street which is a must. Besides that loos and showers are clean. Bunks are inexpensive and comfortable enough and security doesn't seem to be an issue and the outdoor atmosphere makes for a great time.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Pros - Excellent location, solid wifi, private rooms are very good value, plenty of common areas and facilities, lots of people at any one time. Cons - why on earth was there a door between us and another room with a huge gap at the bottom? Could hear everything as if we were in there with them. It's a party hostel so if, like us, you go to bed early to get up for an early plane you're screwed as there's little let up. At 3am waiting for a cab to airport - two people bleeding on doorstep.


(240 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback