X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

India House Backpackers Hostel Reviews

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
4150 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Having a pool: definite plus.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The place is really sweet. Big dorms with AC and lots of showers and toilets. The people working here are kind of rude and if the facilities were not as good as they are, then I dont think I would come back. But its sure nice to come here for a few days of NO party!


86%

I had a great time at India House. I was definitely satisfied!

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I loved the $3 breakfast


97%

The staff were phenomenally friendly and helpful, and the location was very convenient for checking out many parts of NOLA. I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in town.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Some of the bathrooms were the worst I've seen anywhere in the world. No idea how the food thing worked... no one ever showed up so I just went out to eat.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

A great hostel, great atmosphere, and a great price... I'll definitely be back!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great to have a pool, a/c and meals. Place needs a freshen up and new computer facilities.


86%

Great stay at the India House! Met some fabulous people, eclectic atmosphere, and right outside the trams for easy access to downtown. Would definitely stay here again!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Location was incredible and had one of the best common areas that I have ever seen. Unfortunately it had the most rude and inconsiderate staff I have ever seen. Except for the guy cooking breakfast. He was awesome.


83%

Great place to stay in NOLA. Not kn the quarter but not far from it either. Staff are friendly and helpful and the pool just tops it off!


86%

Everything was fine. Keep it like it is!

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great Atmosphere ... They have daily cook outs in the back yard where u can eat and meet fellow travelers. This place really put the effort to create a place for all to meet . i love the Hostel feel they have created. if you have never stayed in a hostel this is what it should feel like.


97%

I stayed there while in Nola and honestly, I wish we would have stayed there 2 nights as opposed to renting a hotel room in the French Quarter (quite expensive for a night). The hostel staff was very nice, cool atmosphere. You can make your own food in the back or pay an additional fee to have something made for you. The location is about 20-25 minutes walk from the French Quarter and Bourbon street. My husband and I had a private dorm. It was very clean with clean mattresses. Will be back!

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

I love this place. I felt like I was part of a community.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

If I could describe it in one word, it would be GROSS. I've been to heaps of hostels around the world and have never seen something that disgusting and dirty before. Big disappointment.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

love the house cat


100%

Fantastic in every way. Thanks!


80%

Really cool hostel with good atmosphere. Good location. Cheap breakfast and dinners. Clean for the most part. I would stay here again!


94%

I had a great stay here and made a lot of new friends. We all agreed that India House is a great place to stay! Just do it, book it!


(258 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback