X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

India House Backpackers Hostel Reviews

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
4776 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Great with the newly renovated pool. The private rooms kept a much higher standard and cleanliness than the dorms, very worth it!


97%

Very nice friendly environment, chilled laid.back. there is meals available


49%

The bathrooms were dirty, there was a little fish or something in one of the toilets. Bugs everywhere. The room was okay, but you won't get a towel, you get to buy one. The one good thing is that it's very close to the streetcar line that takes you into the French quarter. Still the worst hostel I stayed in so far.

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24


80%

Couldn't fault the place. Great breakfasts, friendly staff. Facilities a bit dated and the pool was only available the day we left. Other than that was very close to town and had a great time staying there.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

We had a pleasant stay (1 night), although we had a bug problem in our first room. But after letting the staff know, they would ensure to cut the tree close to the window (to reduce the insect infestation) & even offered us a free upgrade to a private 4-bed-room with ensuite bathroom (instead of a 2bed-private with shared br). The new room was much nicer and cleaner. The breakfast (cheap, but not free) was good as well. Only the pool was under maintenance & could not be used while we were there.


97%

People of the hotel very nice Hyppie atmosphere :)

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


29%

I had a private room with a bathroom. The room was worst than a third world country! There were holes in the floor where the cockroaches came through, ceil falling off , blood stains on the sheets, and black mold. If you have a disability they do not accommodated. They are quite aggressive and rude!

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! You guys are amazing & we will definitely return. Thank you for providing a cozy atmosphere!

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This is the perfect location, right off the streetcar line. The staff and other guests were friendly. We were out and about most of the time and all we wanted was a bed with AC and private bath. India House had exactly what we needed and wonderful cat to great you. We will definitely stay there again. Having food on site is a plus even though we didn't end up taking advantage of it.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


23%

Very filty hostel, cockroaches everywhere in the kitchen and rat outside in the garden. The rooms doesn´t get cleaned and old trash laying around. Most of the people that work there were not very friendly, didn´t even say hi to you. Didn´t like the atmosphere, that was all about getting as drunk as possible and otherwise not really socializing in another kind of way.


31%

The staff were very rude and impatient. The place always seemed dirty and messy. There were caterpillars everywhere.


91%

I had a great time at the India house. I think some of the staff could have been nicer. I asked a girl for a trash bag and she gave me an attitude about it. And the older man the cooks acted like he hated life and people. But all and all it was great, nothing fancy, just a place to rest your head.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

India House is a total gem when it comes to Hospitality in New Orleans. When you are looking for a cheap place to rest your head after partying in the Quater, this is great place to relax by the pool and meet like-minded people from all around the world! Also, they make breakfast every morning which is crucial AND delicious. Part of our group stayed in a private room which was very nice when you would like to leave your valuables behind without concern..and your own bathroom which can be crucial

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Room was big and clean and had very good beds! I just wish it had had like a little table or some chairs.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This was a great place to stay, staff were sound, really helpful, people staying there were great too, everyone mingled freely, theres a swiiming pool here too, didnt use it, but its there if you want to use it. The dorms were a bit basic, but I only see it as a place to put your head down for the night, so unless you are fussy, it should be bearable, considering you are only paying 20 a night. The hostel has hot food every evening, really filling, its close to a tram stop too.


80%

Great place to stay if traveling alone, I met tons of awesome people who were very nice and fun. Atmosphere is very conducive to meeting new people. Staff is friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and kitchen were kept clean. There are some bugs that fly around but not much of a problem. Located right near the streetcar giving you easy access to the city.


77%

Probably the best hosts I ever been.


54%

That poor lil cat got into our room and we all woke up with flea bites. Shout out to Rudy for holding down the night shift like a total legend. Felt very safe with him around.

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Some staff very rude but some staff amazing! Washroom situation difficult with only 2 showers/toilets inside and rest outside.


89%

Great friendly and relaxed place in a perfect location.

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(281 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback