X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

India House Backpackers Hostel Reviews

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3613 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Towel price list should be clear at the reception and term & conditions.


66%

Main issue is the cleanliness. The blanket doesn't look very pleasant though, but they keep restroom relatively clean. The whole building is very old but everything works still. They just keep everything to the essentials and there's a warm living room with a kinda hostile kitty walking around. 20 min s from french quarter and its right next to the street car railway. Honestly, i think its fair to the price.


60%

The facilities were a good warm up for my coming up trip in the central america. rough environment.

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Good Accomidations, a bit of away from the center of the action, but everything one needs with in a hostel! Pura Vida!

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

A classic party hostel. Surprisingly big, the main building a run-down but interesting old mansion and several other buildings out the back. Try if you can to book into one of the dorms at the rear - they are better supplied with toilets and (slightly) quieter. Some renovations seem underway too. I didn't use the kitchen much but as other reviews point out it's not exactly the most salubrious space - still, you're in New Orleans, eat out!


91%

This was my first time staying at a hostel and I will definitely consider trying more in different countries.

  • 11th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Super cool hostel, well set out in some beautiful old New Orleans buildings - loads of character. Staff are cool and helpful and the meals they whip up are awesome. Location is slightly far from downtown French Quarter, but there is a street car right by that will take you directly. The place to stay in NOLA.


83%

I liked the overall atmosphere of the hostel. The staff were very friendly and professional. The room was fine. The only issue I had was with the wi-fi. Otherwise, I would recommend this location to anyone looking for a different experience.

  • 9th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

The Hostel was great. You literally walk out the front door and are on the trolley in a matter of fifty steps. I stayed for a few weeks in two different dorms and they were both more than adequate. The communal areas inside and out are great for impromptu jam sessions, great chats, and of course a few beers. The hostel was clean enough for me but I can see how those unaccustomed to hostels may find it slightly on the dirty side. Free coffee always flowed and breakfast was a life saver.

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It is definitely one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in.

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

-unsafe neighborhood -really dirty bedclothes -unfriendly staff -one guest's notebook was stolen when we were there -if it gets cold outside, so does the hostel - no proper heating

  • 5th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

An A-M-A-Z-I-N-G place to stay!


91%

Nice atmosphere, helpful front desk, good basic ensuite room, convenient location on the street car line, great jazz bar close by and a good neighborhood restaurant at walking distanced. Cheers, Jan Dekker

  • 4th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

very dirty, cheep but to choose only for the price. Close to downtown, you can use the street cart that doesn't pass so often. Choose something different

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

If you want to make friends, this is the place to be. Huge common areas for socializing. The breakfast and dinner were inexpensive and delicious. The staff could be more knowledgeable about the area (specifically recommendations that are put on the daily board). Also, there was a large cockroach in my room the first night, but it's a big old house. Everything was very clean otherwise. Good location. Would stay there again.


71%

They must often clean the kitchen and the tables. I saw many cockroach in kitchen. The tables were always dirty!

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Found black long hairs through out the bed!! Not close to the french quarters it's a cable car ride of about 10-15 mins. For the price of a private room it's just as much to get a hotel in the quarters. Staff were rude, saying mean things about other people as they walk past. If you are on your own it is a cheap night but if there is 2 or more just get a hotel.

  • 1st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The location is quite good and the whole place is quite cool, if the weather is warm. For cold days, the common rooms inside are a bit small for this amount of people and I don't understand that there are only one way cups, plates and silverware...


26%

I have stayed in more than 10 hostels all over the world in the past 11 months, but this is the WORST hostel I have ever stayed in. It's located in a sketchy neighborhood that you won't feel safe walking back after 8pm. They gave us (5 guys) a room with only a small radiator despite the freezing weather of New Orleans in November. The room is super dirty with footprints everywhere and a big leak on the ceiling. The beds are all dirty and they didn't even have enough blankets for us. AVOID!


80%

Really funky place to stay with a real homey feel. Really great place to meet people. The hostel put on a Thanksgiving dinner for us which was really lovely. Place could do with a bit of a spruce up and there really weren't enough showes and toilets, but had plenty of character and would definitely come back!

  • 25th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(154 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback