X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

India House Backpackers Hostel Reviews

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
4197 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Fantastic in every way. Thanks!


80%

Really cool hostel with good atmosphere. Good location. Cheap breakfast and dinners. Clean for the most part. I would stay here again!


94%

I had a great stay here and made a lot of new friends. We all agreed that India House is a great place to stay! Just do it, book it!


100%

The staff were friendly :)


57%

The facilities are old and rooms aren't exactly clean. Most of the staff isn't very helpful and it seems like they don't care about your questions about the city when asking for advice. The best thing about the hostel is the pool and the fact that it is cheap. If I ever come back to NOLA I woundn't stay there again (unless the had renovated the facilities).

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

India House is an absolute palace- 100000% worth what you pay for. Amazing location, amazing people, amazing atmosphere! Can't wait to return.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very nice House, beautiful garden, bbq kitchen, huge and beautiful pool, only 10 minutes by streetcar to french quarter.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Pretty decent hostel for such a cheap price! Stayed in a private room because not a big fan of the hostel/party atmosphere (but if you are then India house is perfect) and where completely undisturbed! Had to be moved into a dorm for the last night; wasnt great but again, for the price, not bad!


97%

Had a amazing time staff was wonderful the people was amazing wit alot of stories to tell will go back again learn a lot met some very friendly people and staff.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall a very good experience, the owners have put a lot of thought into the communal spaces and the building is very characterful. Basic but exceptionally clean and well-designed room ( brilliant shower) and relatively quiet, although unfortunately we were woken up on both days, once by the cleaners watching music videos on their phones, then again by hostel staff incorrectly thinking we were supposed to check out a day earlier than we were, though I'm sure this is a rare occurrence.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Awesome hostel, great breakfast available and heaps of fun! Only downside is the bathrooms - one per floor or having to go to the ones outside so they always seemed busy in my time there. That was only a minor issue in an aotherwise wesome hostel.


69%

The place is easy to find and close to a tram which will bring you downtown. It is all typical hostel style, a bit of hippie atmosphere. Two points are not satisfying: No breakfast included as usual in a hostel and even worse: Our room was as cold as a fridge. A/C is running all night with no control for the room. Unfortunately the A/C itself was outside but directly on our wall, so it was very loud the whole night, too. We mentioned this two times but nobody offered a solution. Bring earplugs!


49%

Price reflects standard. No proper plates or silver wear, bugs in kitchen. Bedding doesn't fit beds properly. Rooms are small. About a 15 minute tram ride to bourbon street. Staff and other people in the hostel very friendly and helpful.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I would definitely stay at India House again. We had a private room. It was basic but served its purpose and all the facilities we needed were elsewhere on the property. My only problem was with the older Swiss guy who occasionally staffed and stayed there. He was rude to other staff and guests and would stand around staring at younger guests, interrupting conversations and generally creeping out the girls. It was obvious that other staff members (who I can't fault) didn't like him. Great place!

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel. Good location, rooms are nice, staff are very friendly. Wifi works very well. I would stay here again.


80%

Friendly people. Very very close to a streetcar that takes you to the French quarter. Cheap breakfast. I'd stay here again.


63%

there is no where secure to keep your luggage they just left it in the front room and staff were competent and useful but not always that friendly.


89%

cool atmosphere, yummy breakfast, swimming pool was nice, competent staff - would stay there again!


83%

The hostel was very lively and charmingly decorated. The staff - particularly the nice man who was making breakfast on the morning we left - couldn't be more helpful or more courteous. The room was good with excellent bathroom facilities. (Mattress could have been a bit thicker, though!) Didn't get an opportunity to try out the pool, to sit in the TV room or use the laundry facilities.


91%

Great hospitality from the front desk staff member (Liz I believe it was). Good atmosphere in meeting new people. Nice and relaxed areas to come together. Strong wifi connections throughout. Good advice and delicious cookouts.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(241 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback