X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International Budget Hostel Reviews

Leidsegracht 76, Amsterdam 1016 CR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
1883 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The hostel was in the perfect location, walking distance from every major thing in the city. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was unbelievably helpful: they helped us plan what to do for our day, where to go, how to get there, and everything we could have needed. Our weekend in this hostel was great thanks to the staff of IBH

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The Location is very central so it is great to visit Amsterdam. I personally didn't like the hostel ... There was no atmosphere at all ! The staff was nice but not very helpful and the service when you didn't bring a padlock you can buy one for 5 euros but return it for 2 is ridiculous ...

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Only stayed one night but the atmosphere didnt seem so great and there was no kitchen other than the canteen... The bathrooms weren't very secure meaning they had a dodgy locks (one not working) and the door was straight into the corridor. The security of the rooms were good and the beds were comfortable but the rooms were cold. Probably wouldn't stay here again but its okay for a few nights. While its not in the centre of everything it is in a nice location (off a main street).


83%

A really nice hostel especially for being in Amsterdam where a lot of them are quite bad in my previous experience. Super comfortable beds and clean rooms and toilets. Super chill smoking room where you can talk to other travellers. Helpfull staff, no problem to check out early and still get key card deposite back. Close to coffeshops, restaurants and shopping. The location is great for party, the sugarfactory is just around the corner and have techno tuesdays=)


89%

Spacious room, great location!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review We hope you have enjoyed your stay!

69%

Was limited due to festival booking up the entire city. good vibes, smoking room has a great view and close to multiple shops, food and cafes. not to far to walk to all the major attractions either. just needs somewhere for people to cook their own food


77%

average = 8/10 CLEAN = 9/10 LOCATION = 25 min to Central train station. But still inside the nice channel area. = 9/10 LOCKERS = big, not new, not too strong , but big enough = 7/10 BED / BED SHEET = 9/10 ROOM = small = big enough to sleep but nothing more you can do there STAFF = 12/10 helpfull nice people if you are looking just a place to sleep and leave your stuf this is perfect

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review We are happy you have enjoyed your stay !! Hope to see you next time again

89%

A comfortable hostel close to bars, attractions, trams and coffeeshops.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review We are happy you have enjoyed your stay Hope to see you next time again!

100%

The hostel is in a fantastic location, close to the center. Excellent level of cleanliness, great staff; the lounge room is basic but functional ;-) Special thanks go to Kadir, he always clean the lounge room. I advise everyone to stay in this Hostel. David from Pisa (ITALIA)

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for staying with us. Kadir

57%

The cat was nice! Other than that the reception was rude and everything smelled like weed and it was unbearably stuffy in the room. If you're going to party it's good. If you want to sleep, stay somewhere further away from the city center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review We are sorry you felt this way about our hostel Our hostel has a smoke area in the lounge where guests can smoke everything And sometimes when guests visit coffeeshops, their clothes will smell like weed and it will stay in their clothes for a while which you might smell when you sharing a room with one of them.

89%

This hostel was great, very friendly staff and clean rooms. More than anything, the location is what made our stay incredible. Its directly in front of a canal and is on a quiet street, while still very close to almost everything we wanted to see/experience. We didn't need to use public transportation at all during our stay as everything was within walking distance. Definitely would recommend staying here. (Only negative thing was a not so friendly cat that lives there, hardly an issue though)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us! Sorry about our cat, Herman is very nice and is use to many people around him maybe you just caught him on a day when he was a bit moody..

54%

The common room is just full of stoned people. Not a very comfortable environment. The concrete floors give it a prison feeling.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review We have a smoke area in this hostel where our guests can relax and have a smoke if you are not a smoker or do not smoke weed, we can understand that you do not like this area. This hostel is very basic and this building is narrow, we have steep stairs but we do not have bars in front of any room doors. But you have the right to have this opinion

69%

Good hostel to base yourself from if you don't want to stay right amongst the chaos. Beds were very comfortable and the smoking room has a great overview of the canal.


80%

Everyone made me feel very welcome in the hostel, as i've never stayed in a hostel before after staying at IBH i would definitely stay in one again!

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Loved this hostel! The Leidseplein is a decent area if you're willing to hire bicycles or get a 7 minute tram. If you're a smoker then choose this hostel, you really can't beat the smoker's room overlooking the canal! I was alone for 4 nights and made more friends in that hostel than any other. As an additional plus there was a misunderstanding on the last day and they wanted to charge me extra but the guy on duty was super cool and listened and trusted me, that means a lot. Choose this place!

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Absolutely loved this hostel!! Very clean facilities, and wonderful staff. The location was fantastic, and the best part of all was the smoking lounge.. So chilled out and a great place to spend those rainy days. Favorite hostel


54%

I don't really recommand this place. It was expensive and there is nothing to justify that price. The rooms are small. There are lockers in the room but they can hardly contain a rucksack. The staff was not really helpfull. There is not ambiance, no facilities, no social life. They require a large deposit for the keys (15€, whereas other place usually ask for 5€ of just an ID), but if you check out before 9AM there is no staff to give your deposit back. This looks like a thief to me...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for stating with us. Before you book you can see about the keydeposit and also we tell you with your check in that the reception open at 9 and that you need if you go early then 9 come one they before and we give it BACK. it is every where in the building written. We send also the deposit back to you still writen like this is not so nice from you. ibh staff

71%

Clean and friendly staff, not a central location but still easy to get around and close to everything. Not much of a vibe in the common area , wouldn't recommend to solo travellers


69%

Thishostel asona greatlocation, however the only common area was the smoking room it was a bit difficult to meet people. There were usually just a bunch of stoned people sitting around. However it is in a great location and the staff are nice.


46%

Cat pissed on my clothes and way too over priced as they charge you for everything in there anyway. Not going back there again.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback