Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International Budget Hostel Reviews

Leidsegracht 76, Amsterdam 1016 CR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained


2052 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Cool hostel, nice friendly staff. The hostel was still have some cosmetic work done to the bedrooms. But still overall a pleasant stay, and I would stay there again!

  • 26th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. Being a frequent traveller I have stayed in at least 50 hostels and this is definitely the worst to date. I have now been charged for my stay 3 times and was woken up with someone shouting and swearing in my face! The owner even made a girl cry. I recommend to any other traveller tto stay WELL CLEAR of this place and spend your money elsewhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Hillier is not true what you tell you can see our rates for friendly etc. You smoke in the room and get a fine for this this is the reason why you tell things like this. regards Ibh staf


a bit of a party hosrel lots of fun but not much sleeping


It's not a bad place to stay for a few nights if your young and your just looking for somewhere to sleep. The shower situation was weird...it's like right at the entrance to the room and there's nothing shielding you from others so in a mixed room for a female it's weird. I'd come back just not in a mixed room.


The location is amazing. It's just 5 minutes from everything. The staff was overall amazing and very kind. if you had any inquire they'd help you rightaway. The only downsides are that the rooms are quite small and there isn't a very big atmosphere, but overall great. would definitely come again


Good for a short trip. Rooms a little cramped. Bathrooms clean

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us see you with your next trip. greetz Israel


the hostel is terrible. the staff is non welcoming. the room were i sleept was extra small for a 8 bed. next morning the shower was cold. the room has only 4 electric sockets. please avoid this hostel for that money.


It really isn't very nice. My main two issues were; 1. In my dorm, there were 8 beds but only 7 lockers. Of those 7 lockers only 5 had a way of locking them. Therefore only 5 of the 8 beds in the dorm had a way of securing their luggage. Honestly this is not good. 2. They don't change the doona cover or pillow cover. They don't provide any other bedding. This is actually disgusting.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Felman Thank you for staying it is not nice what you write you smoke in the room we charge you for this and you write things what is not true. you can see our cleanlis is 7 and is real high for a hostel see other hostels. regards Kadir


Overpriced hostel! The hostel was pretty average in a lot of ways– not enough outlets or showers. Attracts a ton of international bros which might not be the environment for everyone. As a woman, I was regularly harassed by other patrons, which was annoying to say the least.


Kadir, jordie, Jessica(I love you........), and all staff, thanks for the hospitality.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear David See you next time see you from facebook Kadir


Didn't like the place, the overall environment wasn't welcoming. The staff wasn't very present. The reception is close from 11 until like 9am which of you ask me makes a lot of thing inconvenient


An interesting hostel with a great atmosphere. The facilities were okay and staff were helpful. One negative was that the whole hostel smelt of weed.


Overall a good hostel to stay in whilst in Amsterdam. Good recommendations, not the most sociable hostel but that could be just down to chance. Would stay here again


Sorry for the Access Card, I forgot to return it to you!

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Great place! The smoking area is very handy to hang out & an easy place to meet new people. Everyone is friendly! Rooms are a bit cramped but the lockers are massive & the shower is very modern. Cheap food at the hostel & it takes about a ten minute walk from the Dam square & 20-30mins from the train station. Definitely recommend this place if you're going for smoking & site seeing. Nothing is too far away!


Stayed here for a few nights and was good value for the time of year/nights we stayed in Amsterdam. Location is perfect and the staff are super helpful. Budget travelling is always tricky in Amsterdam but this place is as good as any other for the money.


Eh. Amsterdam is expensive, especially when you are travelling with a 17 year old friend and can't stay at the cooler places. This was really well located, and fronts the canals (perfect for Instagram). Common room was smokey, pretty cramped in general but I guess you can't expect that much when the buildings in Amsterdam are so skinny. Our room was well set out, pretty basic. Not the best, not the worst.


Jordy was a delight!


Good place! Super chill crowd. Nice to have a smoking room in the building, with a TV. Rooms are decent, not too spacious, but fine. Decently clean. Good atmosphere. Would stay here again!


best cheap hostel around. smoking room was cool to hang out and make friends.giant lockers

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)

View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback