X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International Budget Hostel Reviews

Leidsegracht 76, Amsterdam 1016 CR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
1992 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Very good!

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

It was just ok, can't complain.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The best thing about this hostel is the staff, by far. They are very generous and are always willing to help you in any way. The rooms are very small and no outlets for everybody. The beds are very comfortable and everyone has a locker to use. It's well located and you can walk everywhere.


91%

Really great hostel. Good value for money and incredibly clean rooms! The Wifi didn't work in the rooms but everything else was perfect. The staff were amazing (especially the Spanish guy in reception, sorry I didn't get your name!). Excellent service, all round great place!

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Extremely small and dirty bathrooms. The rooms were also very dirty, dusty, cobweb and have few electricity sockets. Even there is a place for smokers in the hostel, but the whole hostel has a cigarette smell and is very stuffy. If you are allergic to cats, they have one, which stay all day sleeping on the reception sofa. The guys of the reception are very friendly. The photos of the hostel on hostel world website has almost nothing to do with reality. I spent two days in a room of 8 people.


34%

It doesn't have expected hostel atmosphere. Maybe it's in the middle of tourist spots that everyone just come and sleep. Rooms are too small and lounge area is smokey as hell. Smell of cigarette 24/7 if you are a smoker, maybe it's fine. It wasn't for me though. Wifi signal is too low most of the time. Especially, never had any wifi in the room even though they said they have a room wifi. I had to go down to search of attractions smelling smokes... will never going back again to the hostel...

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The bathrooms were disgusting. Towels on the floor, hairs on the wall. So beyond disgusting. Rooms for right people were much too small. Meant for six, if that many.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Cant Charge my handphone because there are not enough electricity plug in the room...


60%

Wifi is not working in room properly.


83%

The staff I met a guy from Barcelona was really friendly and helpful. Nice hostel!


74%

Be careful on the stairs and the WiFi doesn't really work in the rooms.


94%

The right place for 7 guys. Everything was OK. The lounge was very comfortable. Staff was very helpful and polite. Should I recommend this place to others? Is the best that you could find for the price and what it offers. Very clean place. Gerti


63%

Very basic place, and lacking personality, but clean, cheap and well located.


74%

Staff was very friendly but I didn't like that the pillow cases or duvet covers were not switched after a new guest came.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

A great place to stay if you're just looking for a bed to sleep in. The beds are really comfortabel and the bathroom was really clean. Great vallue for your money. The common room was really boring though. Not a great place to meet others. That's why it's perfect to stay just for a cheap night in Amsterdam if you already have plans that night or something


100%

Great place to stay!! Staff was awesome and the dig was f****** awesome! Highly recommend staying in there apartment

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The clean staff was very nice, but they woke up us all the mornings making a lot of noise to clean and speaking loud. I know clean is very important part, but young people in Amsterdam usually want to sleep a little bit more, not be wake in the morning. And more than one time staff woke us up asking if we should make the check out, and we would stay more two days there. We love the hostel and everybody was very nice, we just think that staff could try not wake up everybody in the morning hehehe

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice staff, nice rooms, nice locations. A shame we have to RENT the lock for the lockers.


57%

Don't come here if you're not looking to smoke copious amounts of weed. The smoke room filters all through the hostel, so it's pretty difficult to escape. While the upgrade in facilities is welcome, the tradesman installing a bathroom fan on the wall while standing on my bed is not.


80%

Very safe hostel and very well located. Decent group facilities with a smoking room as well as a common room. Ultimately this was a small, vertical hostel smashed in to a small area near the party district, which was fine. Lockers were spacious and dorms were nice. Only complaint I had was regarding the staff and desk hours, which are not, in my opinion, nearly all encompassing enough for the times people may want to check in or out in a party city like Amsterdam. After hours staff was unhelpful


(47 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback