X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

International Budget Hostel Reviews

Leidsegracht 76, Amsterdam 1016 CR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1855 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Close to everything, staff is great, beds are ok, bathrooms are not the cleanest ones and toillets are really small. I've just stayed one night so it was great deal !! But the first stairs are really really straight and 'vertical' so it makes difficult to go up with your luggage...


74%

The place and my stay was super! The toilettes were very good, the showers could be better but it was ok. A little light at every bed would be great, so you don't wake up everybody when you come into the room. Thank u very much! See you the next time

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for staying with us. If you ask the reception the give the small light. ibh staff

77%

Had some minor issues with the key card, but these little slip ups can be expected when going for somewhere cheap. Other than some waiting around on arrival and check-out, we got what we needed - comfortable bed, clean hot showers, lockers, etc. Staff were patient and helpful. The smell from the smoking room was noticeable in the halls, thankfully not in the rooms. Good place to stay, but I wouldn't hang out there for too long. Thanks for everything.


66%

Unreliable check in time..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Our check in time is at 9e clock you arrive 4.30 in the morning this time there was no possibility to check in. If we had the beds we Always give it but we was also fully booked. but still you went in and wait in the lobby. Normally we also dont do this. regards ibh

69%

I guess it felt a little unsafe since it was just myself with another girl friend when we didn't know if we were rooming with males or females, but I think it would definitely be worth it if we were a bigger group/mixed group. Fortunately our three other roommates turned out to be females too so it felt a lot safer.

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Katerina one of the clerks was awesome to me, very helpful and friendly. Stairs are real bad here, I have about 80lbs of gear, had to bend over and duck as I climbed up the stairs, steps themselves are very narrow, half my foot would hang over the edge on the first 2 floors. Reception area is small, "Ganja" room is right next to reception. Expect a contact high if you hang out in reception to eat. They will keep your food in their fridge. Bathrooms and showers is cramped, but kept clean.


91%

Staff very friendly. Nice friendly atmosphere, excellent location: you can walk everywhere. Beds were relatively comfortable, bathrooms were clean. Internet doesn't work very well in rooms, but it does in common room. It's totally worth the money you pay.


91%

Great place to meet people from all over the world. Excellent location, and a great "smoking" room. Staff were friendly and the facilities were clean. Would have been nice for somewhere to sit and eat.

  • 9th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Perfect location , excellent value for money but we stayed 2 nights

  • 2nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The International budget Hostel, as the name says, is a very good hostel if you are planning just find a place to sleep and leave your stuffs when you are in Amsterdan. It's very good localized and cheap. The internet is ok and the rooms have space enough to transit when it is full of people. The only thing it was not good was the room 1 that was smeling a little bad.


80%

The hostel was good. There was an extra tax we did not know about before coming (around 7 euro for our group, we were 5). Only 1 working shower for the whole floor (around 5 rooms I think). Cleanliness was ok. Otherwise everything ok. not far from the city center and in a pretty quiet neighbourhood.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Please read confirmation emails next time and you will know if you must pay extra tax or not. Nice to have you here, thanks

66%

It was the cheapest hostel we found. So it worthed its Money but it's not something Special.they didn't clean everyday the bathroom and the showers.the room was never cleaned.the other problem is that the room was very cold and the blankets very dirty. However the common room was nice and you could smoke anything you want and the hostel was very close to the Centre( 20 min on foot and 5-10 min by tram). i would suggest it only for 1-2 days staying or for someone that wants a cheap hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are sorry you feeling this way about our hostel. Our toilets and showers are cleaned every morning by our cleaners. It can happen that you probably used our facilities after someone else used it who left a mess for the next visitor. The rooms get cleaned after check out ofcourse, not while you still in there..this is a hostel not a 4star hotel. Rubbish in rooms is taken out every day. Maybe the heater in the room was not turned on. But thank you for staying with us! IBH

86%

Best hostel in Amsterdam for International travellers. Not just for people wanting to get high all day and zone out. One of my favourites in the world. Good distance from the Red Light District that you don't feel you'll get robbed or offered drugs all day.

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for staying and your revieuw. Hope to see you again. regards kadir

89%

I loved this hostel, had a fantastic smokers area (and a cat!) decent wifi and good beds. There are steep stairs but totally worth it IMO. Receptionists were really nice and helpful, and although there is no kitchen you can keep food in the fridge and reception can heat things up for you etc. Decent location, maybe 15-20 mins walk from the central red light district, but theres still a good amount of shops/food/coffeeshops in this area, plus a tram stop 2 mins away. Would definitely recommend!


80%

It was good and I am really gratefull for the spanish guy on reseption that out a good music there :)

  • 21st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

the best thing from this hostel was the location! Also the staff were very poliety and willing! It is very good choice for young people because it has little bit narrow hall and bathroom! The atmosphere is very friendly and we enjoyed our stay there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you to stay with us. regards ibh staf

77%

Really good, the location is perfect, but the reception isn't 24hrs and i lost my deposit money, because i left the hostel 5 AM.


94%

Had a great stay here. Room was quite pleasant, bed was comfortable and there were lockers. Easy access to toilet and shower which were kept clean. Excellent location for museums, and amenities round the corner. Nice part of the city. The only thing to be wary of is that the staff walk into people's rooms after only knocking briefly, to change beds etc

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for staying. The staff enter the room to check if the cleaners did them work good. It is like a double check to be sure that everything is good clean in the rooms and showers. regards ibh

71%

If you enjoy getting stoned, then you will love this place. Excellent staff, Katrina was a great help on the front desk. Very informative./


100%

Nice Trip ;) The people were great. The hostel is very god too. I very enjoyed my trip.

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thank your for staying with us. we are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday. regards ibh staf

(1062 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback