X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

International Budget Hostel Reviews

Leidsegracht 76, Amsterdam 1016 CR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1855 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

It was good for me to stay there. It has a good price and kind people. And it also was very clean


100%

Staff are very helpful especially Jordi... I would definitely stay here again and will recommend to friends...

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

They have a card payment policy which is very abusive, you have to pay 5,5% more than the total amount if you want to proceed with it. Why they do this and not the other hostels.. simply cheating... The Spanish staff is really nice.

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Adrian Thank you for staying. This 5,5% is CITY TAX and is not included in the price. This is also written in our HOSTEL CONDITIONS before you book it. Regards IBH

89%

Generally I was very happy with my stay at this hostel. The toilet and bathroom facilities were very clean (which is always a big plus) and the dormitory was adequately spacious. The common room (or smoking room) was a nice place to hang-out and I got the impression that a lot of the guests were seasoned backpackers rather than loud, uncultured kids. For the price, this place was excellent value and I would happily stay here again.

  • 7th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

My room wasn't very clean and the hostel seems a bit cramped. The lighting in the bedrooms is poor.


63%

The blond woman at the desk was not nice at all!!! but all the other staff were great! they have a smoking room, but they're 10-15 mins walk from the center (Dam center).

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The atmosphere resembles nothing of what hostel should have. The services are average to subpar and the knowledge of the city by the hostel staff is extremely low for a place that receives turists all year long.

  • 2nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

the living room was a nice place, with the window looking at the canal. but in general, it lacked some atmosphere, this cozy feeling i like. maybe change the colours and make the entrance more easy access. people with handicaps are already excluded due to the really steep stairs. but in general i was content, i dont ask fora lot ;)

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

perfect location. staff very helpful, specially the spanish recepcionist giving good tips. clean easy going, free wifi and smoking rooom!

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I loved staying here, not being in the middle of everything but definitely close enough, especially with the rental bikes! Thanks a ton.

  • 29th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Crazy place good location everywhere coffeeshops

  • 26th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Cool place, smoking room overlooks the canal in front good place to chill.


77%

Awesome location in Leidsplein, right near all the happening nightlife spots and near a bunch of good coffee shops, restaurants, and parks etc. Staff was very informative and friendly, atmosphere was very laid back and very cool. Lots of people hanging out and a good place to make like minded traveler friends. Smoking lounge overlooking the canal was also a huge plus! Only complaint was the lack of hot water in all of the sinks. Made shaving/washing my face and such a miserable chore.


80%

Good points: sociable hostel, staff are nice, good location Bad points: really narrow, long flight of stairs, door bang loudly when closed, cleaner opened out door without knocking


89%

Really nice and cosy place, perfect if you are travelling alone! Unfortunately there is no kitchen to cook your own meal, but the staff wants to help you to warm up your meal in the microwave and store your food in the fridge. Nice and warm showers, could be cleaned more often but reasonable. Perfect situated in the city and easy to reach by public transport!

  • 23rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Clean,safe but pretty boring...It's an Hotel with no atmosphere. But for the price it's nice, you have a bathroom and a shower in the room. If you want some sleep and a quiet atmosphere this place is for you !


60%

Its really loud!!


69%

It was generally a good stay. The place was nice and there's a good common room. It's very centrally located and easy to find.


77%

A nice hostel, with friendly and informative staff. However we disliked the 'no food in rooms' policy, I understand that the hostel is just trying to maximise profits but they should make this policy clearer when booking. Plus the directions on the website from Amsterdam Centraal to the hostel were useless and we weren’t fans of the smoking room which was a real shame when I have visited Amsterdam previously the Hostel smoking room can really maximise your stay, however this one was grotty and dull.

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

In the center of amsterdam, next the famous leidseplein, some really good day with a lot of new meeting. Personnal was frendly and help you to enjoy your trip in amstedam. And I forgot my sellphone in my room the last day andthey bring it back in france (by the post). So really thank for this and for this beautiful vacation

  • 18th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(1062 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback