X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

International Budget Hostel Reviews

Leidsegracht 76, Amsterdam 1016 CR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1856 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

The staff was not helpful or friendly at all. The building had a bad smell, the rooms were very small. Only 1 shower for one floor and two toilets. Our sheets were dirty. A lot of noise from the rooms around us. There was no kitchen or something, you had to ask the staff to put something in the refrigerator or to warm something up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Evelien Thank you for staying with us i was scared when i see this revieuw. We have every where in the building ambi pure this is the best cleaning spray that you can buy and only HOTEL'HAVE this normally. We have not 1 shower for whol floor but 3. I dont think you look good. We help you for you food there is no kitchen but we give you plates knife's and vork and also we wash it for you. We think like this you are on holiday and have better things to do than cleaning.

37%

Spent the whole stay covered in what we hoped were mosquito bites,


69%

Not the hostel for socialising, unless your version of socialising involves smoking weed. But as a cheap bed in the centre of Amsterdam I can't complain.


74%

Great place in a pinch. Better for a younger crowd. Mostly young dudes smoking pot in the smoking lounge and for smokers they were not too outgoing but that doesn't reflect on the Hostel.


60%

We had a comfortable stay here as we were a group of three in a four person room (we had booked a 6 person room). The wifi wasn't working above the first floor.


46%

Despite specifying we were arriving early we had to wait outside the hostel for hours until it opened at nine. A bad start and it didn't get much better.

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

dont unnderstand why this has low reviews... the place is in a great location close to everything. the bathrooms are immaculately clean and new even have air freshner. awesome chill out lounge to smoke and meet ppl with most important vending machines and coffee haha... to the ppl who whinge about the stairs... STOP BEING LAZY its not even bad god! this is a great hostel and i definately recommend it. oh and wifi everywhere


89%

Steep stairs (but that's everywhere in Amsterdam)... Common room (smoking) was sometimes very busy but we could always find a seat :) and pretty good Internet, had issues for a day (two tops) but it actually works in the rooms too. Perfect location! Quiet, beautiful street but only a block away from the action.


91%

Very friendly and good set up

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I think that even if you have to charge a bit more a free continental breakfast would be a plus. All of the other Hostels we stayed at offered this and it was a great opportunity to meet more people staying there as well.

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

there is no internet in the rooms medieval room weird staff


60%

Hostel is ok. "Lounge" (the non-smoking one) is not welcome nor comfortable. No facilities in the way of a proper hanging out place to meet others, kitchen, etc. Bathrooms are ok but very small, and only clean in the morning! Rooms are decent. Wifi in rooms actually never works, so you have to go to he unwelcoming lobby... after it closes, you are forced to sit / stand on hallway in order to access wifi. Staff was friendly but not too knowledgeable about the city. Good location.


74%

I would say more positives than negatives. My biggest problem is I had 3 golf ball sized bites but I can't be 100% sure thus was the hostel however there were mossies in the room. If a windows open that will happen. There was a cat in the sink but he was cute. There was a soiled pair of underwear in the shower but that's a reflection of the guests. Bar this is was warm welcoming and we had a great view and thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Too expensive. Besides, a girl from the staff entered into our room without our permission to woke us up at 8:30, just to tell us that checkout was at 10! pretty unpolite

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us. We inform every guest by check in (with a form) that there is a wake up call the day you check out. Another thing, we upgrade you to a private room while you booked for a 5-beddorm and you guys did not pay anything extra for this. We thought you appreciated this..Have a save trip!!

83%

This hostel did me fine but the door slamming was a bit much!


57%

The biggest problem we had was that we were moved to three different rooms, and the last time was in the middle of the night when we came home from the bars and were pretty tired and drunk and we had to spend an hour waiting at the reception before we got beds. And the next day there would be no talk of us getting any money back. Of course the whole thing smelled like weed, but thats just Amsterdam, so cant really complain about that I guess. Otherwise location and facilities was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jakob, we informed you about the room change for the second night as you booked this upon arrival and you agreed with this. The reason for the change in the last night, was because the people in your room changed their beds ( without our knowledge). So, we wanted to give you new beds with unused sheets/linen..

80%

we absolutely enjoyed every part of our stay, shame it wasnt longer, we will be back next year at the latest, the room was so cute with its layout we got top floor room for 4 people and loved staying in such a traditional building. the people working there were friendly and helpful, we didnt want to leave.

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

I had a mouse run across my pillow when I was laying down one night... And another night I squashed two bugs that were in the middle of my sheets. However, the location was nice because it was a short walk to the main center of town. The atmosphere was alright, I felt like the community area could use some work. Overall it was an alright experience, but the mouse and bugs were NOT okay.

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Really good location. Jordi in the reception was very kind with us. He helped us, recommending places to visit and to eat.


46%

The toilets were filthy. The lockers wouldn't lock. The woman on reception was rude.

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(1062 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback