X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

International Budget Hostel Reviews

Leidsegracht 76, Amsterdam 1016 CR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1799 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Good location and wifi everywhere only de first stair is like the mountain everest(: enjoyed 2nd time here they have also a smoke room wat is called Ganja Lounge(:

  • 21st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Too pricey for my liking. Chap at reception was from near Barcelona and was really friendly and helpful which made up for the price a bit! Room was small but did the job. Place lacked character and were steep steps as you arrived. Is close to leidseplein which isn't bad


63%

Arranged to arrive for 7am, was kicked out until 12 which messed our plans up in Amsterdam for the day and. Staff was argumentative about this issue despite how it clearly says we have access to the building 24/7 and that we were due to arrive at 7 and I had emails arranging the luggage and our arrival. This supposed early check-in was the main reason we booked this hostel, so it totally failed!! Also, wifi connection was dodgy, might as well not advertise free wifi.

  • 14th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Zoe The check in is 24 hours our that means you can come any time but if you book for the 14h you can check in and your room is finish at 12h. if you want to get in your room at 7am you need to book the 13th also. we are almost everyday full and we need to clean also the beds. ibh

57%

We had a two night stay in a very cool room with a big open window overlooking the canal. After the first night we had to move out of it for "maintenance". I had forgotten something in the room and returned to get it finding five new people staying in the room, I was placed one flight up in a small, cobweb filled room. The last thing I wanted to do is move, it required repacking, refilling my locker and getting the last bed in the new dorm. Also my personal backpacking towel was stolen.


57%

no breakfast, small and old faciites. renew the facilities and the environment and decoration. lockers in room with key. bathrooms need a renovation and room's doors also.

  • 9th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Joao, why do you say we serve no breakfast, that is false. We are an old building in Amsterdam by a canal... real amsterdam, we suggest you to learn to see the positive part of everything when you travel. Good luck, Jordi.

63%

For the price this hostel is not too bad, a bit out of the very city centre but close to the big supermarket and shops which is good. You get what you pay for, ther is access to plates and a microwave by you have to ask the staff to do it for you because you aren't allowed in the kitchen. Staff fairly pleasant, although its annoying that the reception closes at night and doesn't reopen till 9 am. Rooms are nothing special but no bunks which was amazing!


43%

The place is average. Poor cleaning, staff not so nice, but is near Leidsplein, very easy to get anywhere on the city. If you're looking for a cheap place, and you don't bother if it is a nice place, go ahead, but you can get better places very close this one.


46%

This hostel was not close to the downtown area, it was not very clean and the facilities weren't very good (super small bathroom and shower, wifi not working) Initial stairs going up to reception super steep making it feel very unsafe to navigate with a backpack.

  • 8th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Miranda, why do you say we are not close to downtown area? We are so centric...! sorry about he stairs, it is an old building by a canal, real amsterdam. Thanks, and safe trips. Jordil

74%

Just a good and cheap (remember you're in Amsterdam) place to sleep. No kitchen, no real usual breakfast, no common rooms, except a little smoking room, showers and toilets are too small, there's no elevator, Wifi doesn't work properly, rooms require some "modernization". But good staff and good position near the city center.


74%

The staff here were brilliant. Really good atmosphere and even if you dont smoke, the smoking room was really great for meeting people. About 10-15 minutes walk from main area of Amsterdam.


66%

The stairs to the 2nd and 3rd floor are almost vertical, like on a ship's ladder. All corridors and doors are too narrow. Not very good if you have a big bag with you. The guy at the reception did not know where is the closest place to have dinner, so I am telling you this. Out of the door, right. On the next junction turn right and go along the channel till you see the tram tracks. Then turn right again, and go about 100m - you will see several different restaurants.


51%

Very unclean and dirty.


63%

The rooms were very clean and so were the bathrooms which was a perk! The man who checked us in was very nice, cheerful, and helpful when providing directions and information on renting bikes. Unfortunately, the worker who was on shift in the evening and overnight was extremely unfriendly when it came to helping us with the poor internet connection. We appreciated the closeness to all the sites and cool cafes, but at $100 a night for 2 people we felt this was EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE!

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

For some reason, a female entered my room to ensure I was awake? thought that was very strange as I have stayed in many places and that was a first. Other than that, the other staff member was very welcoming and helpful. Location was alright, showers are not in the room but on the floor. The only other complaint was the "cost" 1 night for 50€ is extremely expensive however as I had 2 nights at another location I had no choice to take this hostel to cover my 1st night in Amsterdam.


74%

i really liked this hostel, beautiful smoking room overlooking the canal with a cool cat in it, helpful staff, and great location right next to liedseplein, where a lot of the great bars are. enjoyed my stay


77%

Great location next to the bar district, but it's very quiet. Smoking room is a good place to watch the canal and meet people - fantastic as a solo traveller. Beds and bathrooms were clean. Noise however was a major issue. The hostel wakes the entire room at 9 if at least one person is checking out as a reminder. The stairs creak incredibly loudly and the door locks don't disengage when you leave the room so the doors are constantly slammed shut against the locks. Recommended, but frustrating.


63%

Wifi didnt work, staff not very friendly, walls paper thin so can hear everything, hard to find and not in best location, about a 30 minute walk from dam square and most of the main attraction! However standard of hostel reflected in the hostel, a good cheap place to stay if you are on a budget and don't mind walking


91%

Great place for the price. Comfortable smoking room and good atmosphere. Large lockers in room for belongings.

  • 19th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really great hostel. Nice smoking room for those who would like a nice place to hang out. Great location. I don't have any complaints. (Would have loved 24hour check in, but thats not a huge deal.) I would recommend this place.


77%

The hostel is nice in that it offers bike rentals to get around the town and isn't far from a lot of sights by foot. The rooms were lackluster, but for the price in Amsterdam it's to be expected. Only 2 showers per floor which aren't clean but aren't disgusting either. Biggest complaint is the lockers- only 4 lockers for a 6 person room isn't very fair and they were in rough condition. But for the price and location it was a pretty awesome deal!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Meagan, We clean the showers every day. But our cleaners dont work 24 hours a day. It is also the way how guests leave the toilets or showers behind after using it. Other than that we do our very best to keep it clean. Regards, The international Budget Hostel

(1029 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback