Hostelworld.com

International House of Washington

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
International House of Washington Located at 1110 6th st. nw, Washington, DC, Washington DC.
International House of Washington
USA
Washington DC District of Columbia 20001 1110 6th st. nw, Washington, DC
85% 1112
38.9044928 -77.0200181
International House of Washington
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th May 2016
6.0

My stay was fair. The hostel needs to be renovated and updated, however. Very old building and rather cluttered looking. But, overall, not a bad stay. It was quiet at night and the bed was comfortable. Mrs. C. Turner

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th May 2016
9.1

Great staff; very helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
8.9

I stayed with my 2 teenagers. We felt safe walking through the neighborhood. The hostel was 2 blocks from a grocery store, and a short 1 mile from the "mall" area. We used the capital city bikes, and they were great to get around the mall and monuments, and there were 2 docking stations within a few blocks of the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
9.4

It was like home. Definitely will stay here again if I come to DC next time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
7.4

The upstairs shower was out of order for our entire stay. The window in our room could not be closed. The staff was nice but sometimes hard to get ahold of. The building is in need of renovation.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
8.6

The location is great! Very close to the metro-network, hop-on-hop-off bus and other buses. The staff is very friendly. We had a 2-persons 'private' dorm, which was actually a very big room with 2 big bed, a desk, own fridge and a private bathroom, so very good value for our money! The place is clean and the kitchen has everything you need, including pancake-flour for breakfast. The only disadvantage is the wifi: it works but it is very very slow. I would definitely recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
10.0

The hostel is great. I liked it very much! The hostel owner Fatima is very kind. Thanks sooo much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
10.0

My stay at the hostel was PERFECT! The staff was so friendly and assisted in making sure that I was comfortable. They gave tips on what to see and made sure my stay was comfortable. I think this place is a secret jewel of the city. What was so great was that it was SO CLOSE to the convention center. BEST PLACE & BEST STAFF TO SPEND A NIGHT AT!!! :D :D :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Apr 2016
7.7

Was a sweet place to stay a little out dated. Nice rooms and welcoming staff but kitchen has a little difficult to use when cooking meals

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Apr 2016
8.9

We have a wonderful stay at this hostel. The owner is friendly, funny, and gave us useful tips. You get a discount card for the closest grocery store (Safeway) - which saves you a lot of money - as well as a SmarTrip card (without money) for the public transit. It's located in a safe area, close to National Mall (15-20min walk). The hostel is a little old. It didn't really bother us but it's good to know if you like to stay in modern, super clean, hotel-like rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.