X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

International House of Washington Reviews

1110 6th st. nw, Washington, DC, Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
749 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The owner is so nice and accommodating. Me and my two friends stayed in a four female room and we ended up having the room for ourselves because the other girl wasn't there. You get a bathroom inside the room which is convenient , not like other hostels where you have to go outside your room to find the bathroom. The location is really good, close to Chinatown. Very good price for dc!

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

30mins walk to the mall and anywhere else of interest. The staff was nice, especially the main lady, I could tell she really looked after the place (example, refusing to put bed sheets on because they weren't clean enough - nice!). This is NOT a party hostel, do not stay if you want to drink and go out. The room i was in didn't have a lock so anyone could just walk in - not good. Basic facilities but enough to do what you need done. not much atmosphere - hard to meet people outside your room


91%

Very Nice hostel! There are two entrances which make things easier. There is a parking lot and the staff helps you whenever you want to go out. Confy beds. Simple but very good breakfast. The place is well-located too, having a lot of food options nearby - even at night. In the room, there is a microwave and a fridge, which is really nice if you want to buy food. The bathroom is the only downside, as it was not very clean (flip-flops highly needed) as it is only cleaned once a day. Overall: 👍


91%

Staff is very considerate.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

The staff was really nice. The atlmosphere as well. I parked my car in the back ans there was no problem. I recommend tis place as its location is great for walking everywhere (but be ready to walk a lot, DC is very big !).


91%

The staff was very kind. Good hostel atmosphere. There are some partying places nearby and on Friday night the area could be a bit noisy with stupid drunk people. But in general the hostel is safe and noise level is not high on other nights.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Fatima, thanks for all the nice information when we check in. It makes my trip a lot easier. I had a very pleasant stay and will be happy to come again!


100%

It is the best óption in washington to be safe and close to the attractions!


66%

It is a fairly good hostel, but don't come here if you want to socialize a lot.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

I think the hostel lacks professionalism, it seems like you just entered somebody's house. My room had a piano, which was actually nice, but one bathroom for 6 people, and inside the room. There is no indication of the hostel outside, a tiny table in which everybody should have breakfast, and the "lobby" is also what appears to be a family's small living room and the hostel's main headquarters. Furthermore, no alcohol is allowed, if this happens to be a specific issue.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Wasn't crazy about this place. Great location and friendly enough people, but it just felt dusty and dirty and the shower was cold and horrible.

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location.

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It surely was a very good experience. The landlord and the staff were really nice and the quality of food (breakfast) was also good. There were also some value-added facilities that were not mentioned on the website.I was in D.C. for a conference that was held at the Mayflower Hotel on 17th St. Being a student, I was short on budget and was not able to find any hotel less than $200 in two miles radius. Luckily, a website diverted me to the this hostel and I ended up here for four nights.

  • 11th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Incredible hostel experience. Such a great location for DC (metro stop and Safeway are

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was a pleasant surprise this hostel. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Very comfortable and great location.


97%

The staff at the place were very helpful. They not only offered me street to street directions on how to locate the hostel (on the phone), but they also went ahead and personally made sure that i was comfortable in my room. I will have already recommended this place for a couple of my friends who will be visiting DC this Spring!!

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kenya
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place at a great price! Ron, the owner, is one of the nicest people you will ever meet, and helpfull too!! the location is great and the environment very good!


89%

Nice hostel, good location, 15minutes walking and you reach the White House and the Smithsonian museums. I booked a 4 bed room but there was an empty spot in the 2bed room and the staff allowed me to stay there with no extra charge, so they were really nice. On the second floor you have kitchen that you can use for breakfast and to cook your meal. On the groundfloor you have a lobby with TV, sofa, phone. I would recommend this hostel for a short stay.

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is awesome and the staff is very nice. i enjoyed my stay there. Recommend this to all.

  • 17th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Close to a metro and grocery store. Helpful pleasant staff. Loved having a microwave in the room. The downstairs room is huge . Most hostels would have filled it with extra beds but they kept it to six beds and great space. Large lockers for your luggage and things.


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback