Hostelworld.com

International House of Washington

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,093 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,093 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
International House of Washington Located at 1110 6th st. nw, Washington, DC, Washington DC.
International House of Washington
USA
Washington DC District of Columbia 20001 1110 6th st. nw, Washington, DC
85% 1093
38.9044928 -77.0200181
International House of Washington
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Apr 2016
8.9

We have a wonderful stay at this hostel. The owner is friendly, funny, and gave us useful tips. You get a discount card for the closest grocery store (Safeway) - which saves you a lot of money - as well as a SmarTrip card (without money) for the public transit. It's located in a safe area, close to National Mall (15-20min walk). The hostel is a little old. It didn't really bother us but it's good to know if you like to stay in modern, super clean, hotel-like rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
8.9

Great place. Just stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
9.4

Everything is great, except that the bath water was a little bit cold.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
9.7

It was my first stay at a hostel and I think I've left hotels behind! The staff was helpful and pleasant. The place spotless. A walk to the National Mall, White House and monuments. It's a total "find" in the heart of one of the most expensive cities in the world!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2016
6.3

The place is really well located and the caretaker is a lovely gentleman who was accommodating and genial throughout my 2-day stay. I found the place to be less than my expectations having stayed at very modern hostels all across Europe at similar or lower daily rates. Perhaps it's the DC prices, but I think the whole hostel could use an upgrade / refurbishment as it looked a little worse for wear.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
10.0

I love Fatima. I love the cosy atmosphere. The location is gold. Definitely will only choose you guys on my trip back to DC.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
8.9

While so much of the neighborhood is being razed to the ground to build condos it was nice to stay at an actual an old house. It is a little pricey for a hostel but it is the same rate as all the other hostels in the area. Ron is an amazing host. I read some of the reviews complaining about the bathroom situation, but I stayed in the 4-bed women's dorm which has it's own full bathroom. You can't cook full meals as there is no stove/oven, but there is a microwave and a toaster oven.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
7.4

Limited facility but the staff makes up for it. Fatima and Greg were great but they don't have much to work with. Could use a larger common area. No place to hang out other than your room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malawi, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
8.6

Conveniently located.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
5.4

The staff is really nice, good location and the lockers big and convenient but the facilities are terrible, only one bathroom for 8 persons, the window didn't close, all the lamps were down and the mattresses are really old.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.