X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International House of Washington Reviews

1110 6th st. nw, Washington, DC, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
946 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great Hostel in Great Location!!


97%

I reserved for 4 nights, and would up staying 6. Would have stayed another couple of nights but they were booked. A small friendly 4 story hostel. Coffee/tea & breakfast are included. Very friendly and helpful staff. I will definitely stay there again next time I am in DC.


80%

The older man was extremely helpful, great knowledge of local transport routes and costs, as well as happy to store our bags on our last day so we didn't have to walk around with them.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very welcoming, and I appreciated the free breakfast! They also give out free map and discount card for nearby Safeway. Directions on website made it easy to find. Great location to see all of downtown, and close to Metro.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely place to stay!


91%

Very helpful when I had to stay in Washington on short notice. Large lockers capable of storing a big suitcase big advantage. Manager very friendly and helpful. Very home-like feel.

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice stuffs, good experience.


80%

Very quiet ,safe place. Lovely staff

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Armenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Great location and the staff here are lovely! Fatima was very welcoming! Atmosphere was a little lacking and it was in need of a dust, but on the whole a very enjoyable stay.


69%

The beds are very unconfortable.

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

We arrived late and despite advising the property of this there was no way of us to get in because of the security code entrance. We stayed in a double ensuite room which was roomy and well equipped. The plastic mattress covers were a problem as they rustled all night, breakfast was fine and we liked the location!

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

++ Good location (close to Chinatown, Metro, Mall) Quite clean -- Bad service (took us around 15 to check-in, we had to explain to the receptionist how to use her own spreadsheets (!), could not pay with credit card in the beginning) Uncomfortable beds Dorm room can not be locked; people (staff members) walking through the room all the time Only 1 shower and 1 toilet for 6 people + staff members All in all a weird place where we didn't feel at home...


86%

This is my second stay at this hostel. Cleanliness has improved aa great deal. All was quite good. Would recommend.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The guy who runs this place is nice and very helpful. The facilities are not at all fancy. If you care about looks you might want to find something else. There is no big sign or anything in the front - it looks pretty run down. But if you want just a basic place to stay it can be alright.


91%

Basic hostel with outstanding staff and excellent location, a walking distance to the major highlights in DC.


71%

The staff is great. Next to the subway and market. Kitchen is really cramped. There is room for 4 people. Really unconfortable beds. Matress, pillows and sheets are paper thin. Get ready for a daily neckache. Internet connection is bad too.


86%

I liked it here. It felt like I was staying at my grand parents house in a way - an actual house. Old furniture, old style, old school. Not a bad thing. Location is about 15 min walk to the mall, but only 5 minutes to the Main Street with bars/food. Overall - an old feel but a sweet spot.


91%

This was a nice experience. Price was affordable comparing to other hostels. Well located. 20 min walking from the bus/train station.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel was in great location and the staff very friendly. We got to meet interesting people. We stayed for a night there so it was a convenient place for us. It's an old building but it has great atmosphere.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Historical District에 있어서 건물 앞에 사인물이 없다고 하시네요, 납득은 안가지만. 초행길에 헤매실 수 있어요. 스태프가 자리에 없는 경우가 많아요. 1박이라 귀찮아서 찾고 기다리고 하기 뭐해 수건 못 받은 것도 그냥 가져온 걸로 해결했어요. 어느 호스텔이던 공용주방을 자주 이용하는데 기구도 관리 안돼보이고 주방세제는 다 떨어진지 오래되어 보였어요. 스토버도 너무 낡았고 심지어 전등도 나가서 어둠속에서 요리하고 식사했네요. 스태프는 물론 그때 없었구요. 그냥 게스트하우스같은 느낌으로 사람들 만나고 가깝게 지내고 싶으시다면 이용해볼만 한데 그것도 복불복일듯해요. 봄방학 시즌이라 다른 곳에 예약을 못한 1박동안만 이용했는데도 가격대비 불만족스럽고 같은 가격이면 호스텔체인을 이용하시는게 훨씬 낫다고 생각합니다.


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback