X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International House of Washington Reviews

1110 6th st. nw, Washington, DC, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
917 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The guy who runs this place is nice and very helpful. The facilities are not at all fancy. If you care about looks you might want to find something else. There is no big sign or anything in the front - it looks pretty run down. But if you want just a basic place to stay it can be alright.


71%

The staff is great. Next to the subway and market. Kitchen is really cramped. There is room for 4 people. Really unconfortable beds. Matress, pillows and sheets are paper thin. Get ready for a daily neckache. Internet connection is bad too.


86%

I liked it here. It felt like I was staying at my grand parents house in a way - an actual house. Old furniture, old style, old school. Not a bad thing. Location is about 15 min walk to the mall, but only 5 minutes to the Main Street with bars/food. Overall - an old feel but a sweet spot.


91%

This was a nice experience. Price was affordable comparing to other hostels. Well located. 20 min walking from the bus/train station.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel was in great location and the staff very friendly. We got to meet interesting people. We stayed for a night there so it was a convenient place for us. It's an old building but it has great atmosphere.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Historical District에 있어서 건물 앞에 사인물이 없다고 하시네요, 납득은 안가지만. 초행길에 헤매실 수 있어요. 스태프가 자리에 없는 경우가 많아요. 1박이라 귀찮아서 찾고 기다리고 하기 뭐해 수건 못 받은 것도 그냥 가져온 걸로 해결했어요. 어느 호스텔이던 공용주방을 자주 이용하는데 기구도 관리 안돼보이고 주방세제는 다 떨어진지 오래되어 보였어요. 스토버도 너무 낡았고 심지어 전등도 나가서 어둠속에서 요리하고 식사했네요. 스태프는 물론 그때 없었구요. 그냥 게스트하우스같은 느낌으로 사람들 만나고 가깝게 지내고 싶으시다면 이용해볼만 한데 그것도 복불복일듯해요. 봄방학 시즌이라 다른 곳에 예약을 못한 1박동안만 이용했는데도 가격대비 불만족스럽고 같은 가격이면 호스텔체인을 이용하시는게 훨씬 낫다고 생각합니다.


54%

The place wasn't clean. The average age of most other guests was 40/50.


100%

great place to stay. safe, clean, friendly, close to attractions.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

the beds at this Hostel were very Old and everything looks a little bit dilapidated. The atmosphere were not so typicall for a hostel, because most of the other guests were older then 40. the breakfast was quiet good.


89%

It is a great hostel. Quiet, near from metro station and Chinatown, the U st. and the Mall. Staff are friendly and guests to. Thank you for my pleasure stay in Washington.


69%

You can buy books from there with very good price, some books are free and good books.


91%

I had a great stay. Walked everywhere I needed to go. Felt very safe in the neighborhood. I would return . Staff accommodated me and made every effort for my stay to be rewarding.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Very friendly and helpful staff. He gave me a lot of advices what to do.

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The owner of the hostel (Ron) was particularly nice and helpful. Gave us a lot of useful tips on where to go and what to eat etc. Also helped foster a really great atmosphere in the hostel, it was very homey. All in all a great hostel, would recommend.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

If you're looking for good relaxed energy and excellent location this is perfect. No fuss no drama just a straight up bed.

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Ron was awesome.. he was really accomodating excrpt for the girl tenant. I like the ambiance of the room in the basement. The only disadvantage is that, that room is nearer to girl tenants room. So better behave and be extra careful.


57%

Nice location near to main attractions. However the house itself is very old and requires reconstruction, poor breakfast, a little bit strange staff. Ok to stay 1 night, not more


86%

Thank you Greg! You made this hostel. He will go out of his way to answer every question or do anything he can to help you out. Only complaint was our room was like a sauna with no way to turn the heater off.


83%

No complaints, staff were friendly and helpful and the location was within walking distance of most major locations. Only minor complaint was the availability of bathrooms!


97%

It was a great time in International Hall. I get to know several friends they are from Europe and Australia. It is a really memorable trip there. And I really like the host. He is a such sweet men.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback