Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

International Student Center

  • 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2,036 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2,036 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3
International Student Center Located at 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York.
International Student Center
USA
New York NY New York, NY 10 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024
81% 2036
40.7870380 -73.9694890
International Student Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
9.4

Went in expecting the worst—dirty bathrooms, beds I didn't want touching my skin, obnoxious people, and a general this-place-is-falling-apart-but-we-don't-care-because-you-poor-kids-need-it vibe. Not at ALL what I got. The staff was super helpful and willing to accommodate my group's weird checking-out hours and the facilities were clean and usable. Even the sheets and towels provided by the hostel felt clean enough to use without cringing. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
10.0

Great location, very accommodating, awesome atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
9.1

The staff was very accommodating to our schedule and the amenities were clean and well stocked. Overall, it was a nice and comfortable place to stay. I would definitely stay there again, you can't beat the location or experience for such a good price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
5.1

Great location Too many rules. Bags not allowed in rooms. Booked a dorm and got put in a double room. No chance to meet people and k was travelling on my own. Not impressed. They charge you a dollar an hour to look after your bag.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! Our apologies if you were not happy with your room. The charge on the luggage is on the day of check out- we have limited luggage storage and try to be sure there is enough room for new check-ins! Sorry if it was an inconvenience. Thank you for considering us. Best Regards, -ISC Staff

  • tonkikhalina353
  • Russia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
8.9

First thing that attracted us is cheap price for such location. Rooms are clean and quiet. There's only one minus it's slow internet. But if you pass most of your time walking around New York it's not a problem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review! We recently added wifi to our common room lounge, our apologies if it was not working well. Thank you for considering us. Warm Regards, -ISC Staff

12th Sep 2016
9.1

Location is right next to the A and C lines so commuting is very easy around New York, and close by to the crosstown bus through central park to take you into the upper east side (next to the Met). Staff is extremely friendly and helpful! The people who frequented this place were all very chill and easy to talk to so the vibe is good. Theres' no AC in the room so it got quite hot the first night I was there when New York was experiencing a heat wave. Good place though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review! We are in a great location and try to be as accommodating and welcoming as possible. Our apologies, there are AC units in each room though the AC seems to have been unintentionally off during your stay. We hope to see you again. Best Wishes, -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Sep 2016
9.7

Perfect hostel.I would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review!! We hope you consider us again. Warm Regards, -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
6.3

The hostel was in a good area literally around the corner from central park, although having to leave suitcases in the downstairs office didn't feel to secure although I understand why they aren't allowed upstairs, staircase is narrow and 3 stories tall! Facilities are standard and there isn't any WiFi in dorms, kitchen and lounge area are basic and clean but I feel there were a lot of restrictions with this hostel and more interaction with the guests would help.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Our apologies in case you felt there was not much interaction, we try to be as welcoming and accommodating as possible. Our policy on luggage is due to a city fire hazard about having too much luggage in the rooms. The wifi we provide is only in the common room lounge. Otherwise we will take your comments into consideration. Kind Regards, -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
8.3

It's very close to 86th street stop, which is great. If you go back after 11pm you'll need a key. At night the street is quiet so probably a good idea to have some company. Keep all the valuables with you at all times. It was extremely hard to go up to the top bunk of the bed but you basically don't have choice. I found it to be annoying when the people in the room slept early and the room was dark. You're sharing bathroom with 9 other people. But it's still a pretty good hostel. Not too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We are located in a residential neighborhood, so it tends to be quiet at night, though still fairly safe. We are working on updating some of our facility and will take your comments about the bunk bed into consideration. Kind Regards, -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
8.3

The staff were so lovely and helpful, they remembered our names which was a nice touch. A great place to lay your head, it was clean warm and close to the subway! Only criticisms were that the wifi did not reach my room and that there was little to no atmosphere in the building. There were no tea bags which was inconvenient. All in all it's worth the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We are glad you find our staff helpful. We will wok on the WiFi. As for the atmosphere, we are looking to incorporate organized events and activities in the future. We will also look to have tea bags available. Thanks again and please come see us again soon! Warm wishes - ISC Staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.