Hostelworld.com

International Student Center

  • 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA
Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,939 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,939 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
International Student Center Located at 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York.
International Student Center
USA
New York NY New York, NY 10 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024
83% 1939
40.7870380 -73.9694890
International Student Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Jun 2016
6.9

It was ok. Very clean, great and attentive staff, and an excellent location right next to the subway. But the facilities were kind of dingy, and the guests were incredibly loud and rude at night. Also there's no elevator and the stairs are steep, so not a good place if you have ano mobility issues

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! The building is old so unfortunately we don't have an elevator. Thankfully we are located in a lovely, well-connected neighborhood and aim to be as accommodating as possible- wonderful you enjoyed that! We also try our best to monitor noise levels and promote a respectful environment. Our apologies for any inconvenience our facility and/or certain guests may have caused. We hope you consider us again. Best, -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
10.0

I only stayed one night, but the location is great, the staff is friendly and helpful, and I felt very safe and secure there as a solo female traveler. I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in NYC!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We are located in a wonderful neighborhood and try to be as accommodating as possible. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that you felt safe. Our hostel is definitely a great option for solo travelers. Looking forward to hosting you again! Best, -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jun 2016
10.0

So I stayed for four days I'm currently cycling from Boston to Miami and I'm trying to keep it cheap ... Forty dollars a night in New York is the best you'll get. The staff were the place was clean I'd recommend this place to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We are happy we were able to host you and that you were able to stay within your budget. We wish you the utmost best on your adventurous travels! Hope you consider us again. Warmest Regards, -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
8.3

This was my first time staying at a hostel, and it was a good experience. My friend and I stayed for just one night on an all girls floor, to go to a concert. We had to be very quiet when we strolled into the room late and the building was a little strange, but we had a roof over our heads in NYC at a great price. Everyone was nice, and it was cool meeting a couple of the girls and exchanging stories. Cool place for students.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review! We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future! All the best, -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
8.0

I really liked the location. But I didn't like that I had to pay 8 dollars to leave my suitcase the last day. Why can't this just be an extra service? It's not like it costs them extra effort or anything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We are proud of our lovely, well-connected location and are glad you enjoyed that. We charge $1 an hour after 11AM to store luggage on check-out day. We have that rule due to our limited luggage storage, and it can get challenging to keep track of luggage with the constant in-flow and out-flow of guests. We try to communicate and be as flexible as possible with the rule to fit our guests needs and budget. Sorry that this was an inconvenience to you and we hope you consider staying with us again! Best, -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
8.0

It's convenient, the metro station is just two blocks away. The floors are kinda squeaky, and facilities are not new, but they are clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review! We are glad you enjoyed the convenience of our location. We are located in an old historical brownstone and are proud of our housekeeping staff who work hard everyday to ensure the utmost cleanliness! We hope you consider us again. Best, -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
7.7

Nice things: great community area. Not nice things: 2 bathrooms for potentially 16 people on the all girls floor. I stayed on the top (4th) floor. There is no elevator and the stairs are steep. There is no air conditioning, only a ceiling fan, which doesn't help much if you're on the top bunk. This was only June--the weather outside was quite nice--yet I woke up from the ridiculous heat several times in the middle of the night, both nights. I basically didn't sleep during my stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! The hostel is in a historical brownstone- it is old and unfortunately we do not have an elevator. We have AC units in each room. We normally check to see if the rooms are hot and keep the AC units on overnight- we apologize for our failure to do so during your stay, and for any inconvenience. We hope you consider us again. Best, -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
10.0

Really good located, place is really nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad to hear you were so happy with your stay. Please come stay with us again! ISC Staff

3rd Jun 2016
8.3

So many rules and regulations, I feel like they don't trust young people. The systems in place daily really cramp any style and atmosphere so that guests aren't all that friendly to anyone else. Great location (I ran in Central Park), well-organized, great staff, and shining clean... but lacks any fun and good atmosphere. Good for a one-night stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear that you were happy with our staff and location, and hope you enjoyed the park. Most of our rules are for fire safety, and are imposed by the fire department, or are made out of respect for our neighbors. We cater exclusively to young people, and our front desk is staffed entirely by people in their early 20s, so trust of young people is not a problem here. Safe travels! ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
9.1

Great place , the staff are very kind and helpfull!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.