Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

International Student Center

  • 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,988 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,988 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
International Student Center Located at 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York.
International Student Center
USA
New York NY New York, NY 10 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024
82% 1988
40.7870380 -73.9694890
International Student Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
5.4

When I went, this hostel had no atmosphere. I think it was pretty full but nobody chilling in the common area. There's no wi-fi in the dorms, at least not in mine on the 4th floor. There's not enough bathroom/showers in the morning

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
8.0

If you want to meet other young travelers, it's place for you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iran, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
4.0

The bulding didn't have any elevators! And the bathrooms were broken! There was just one bathroom available!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
5.1

The location was fine, but we expected a very different group of people to be staying at the hostel than the reality. Most were older and not students, no similar interest or even interest in talking with others. The staff was indifferent and not at all welcoming. You cannot bring any bags other than small ones up to the room, despite the rooms having plenty of space, which is quite a hassle. Would not recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
8.9

The hostel was great! Location is near 86th subway(88th exit). Receptor at front was so helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
10.0

This hostel was everything I needed and more. Safe and convenient location, clean and well maintained rooms/facilities, and wonderful staff. Rules might seem strict, but they're all within good reason. Best part of my stay was the friends I made in the common lounge area. If you love to travel and meet new people this is the perfect place for you. For $50 a night, this is the ultimate steal. I definitely recommend, and I will definitely be back! (Staff members Kristina and Eden are the best.)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
10.0

Loved every moment. Namely the staff who were kind-hearted and friendly. One even inspired my singing career.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2016
9.4

I had a great time here. Really well connected with subway lines, and lots of stuff to do like central park and the natural museum of history and shops around the hostel too. The fact that some staff are resident makes it feel very homely and comfortable. The 24hr common room is really chill. I had a blast with staff Edin and Kristina. Stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
7.1

The staff was nice and the rooms and the bathroom were clean. It will be nicer if the bed bunks had stairs or something to climb easily. Also it is not very comfortable having electric connections that far from the bed. It was one of the lowest prices in NY, although not very cheap, but its close to central park and not so far from the museums. But at night it doesn't look very safe around and there are no places to dinner or breakfast close by (besides 7-11 and dominos).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review. We're glad that you enjoyed our proximity to the park and museums. The Upper West Side is a very safe neighborhood and there are several restaurants for every meal nearby. We also have a kitchen that you're free to utilize. If you stay with us again, staff will happily help you find a satisfactory place to eat. Safe travels! ~ISC Staff

19th Jul 2016
4.3

Personal didn't seem to like their job, was bored. The bed was old, didn't even have a latter altough one is able to get on thr upper bed. Not enough charging points, the ones thst are are in thr middle of your room so no control of your devices. Policy to leave your luggage downstairs is ridicoulod because the room was big enough. One of my worst experiences so far.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with the rooms. We will be sure to keep your comments in mind. In regards to the luggage, we do not allow large bags upstairs as a result of New York State Fire Safety Regulations. Thank you for your review. -ISC Staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.