Hostelworld.com

International Student Center

  • 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA
Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,906 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,906 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
International Student Center Located at 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York.
International Student Center
USA
New York NY New York, NY 10 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024
81% 1906
40.7870380 -73.9694890
International Student Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2016
8.6

The staff were lovely, the location was spot on, and the hostel common area was great. Unfortunately my stay was somewhat ruined due to a contingent of interns staying in my room and keeping me awake all night. I was in room 2, and there was a group of 4-5 guys who knew each other who wouldn't turn the light off each night and were needlessly loud and disruptive. They were like this during the mornings too, which meant that a restful nights sleep was impossible. More monitoring of this needed

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
9.1

The location on the Upper West Side is incredible. As far as NYC goes, it is safe, quiet and not as congested as downtown. I loved being able to walk to Central Park, the MET, and the Museum of Natural History. I stayed in a 6 - girl room that was booked full both nights. I would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
8.0

ISC is a really chill hostel in a phenomenal location. The staff was great (especially enjoyed chatting with Eden), and they were super helpful and accommodating. The bedroom could have used some more outlets and some reading lights, but other than that, everything was great!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We greatly appreciate your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and will certainly take your suggestions into consideration. -ISC Staff

18th May 2016
10.0

Right next to Central Park and the subway so good location I thought. I only stayed for 1 night. The staff on the front desk were very helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. We hope we can accommodate you again in the future! -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2016
8.9

I really liked it, although I was at the fourth floor and there were only stairs. The staff was helpful and the location is awesome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
10.0

I was so pleased with my experience at the International Student Center. Everything exceeded my expectations. I plan on staying there every time I go to New York, at least until I age out! Best hostel I've ever stayed at!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th May 2016
5.7

Great location with nearby connections straight to downtown NY, but that's the only real selling point. The facilities are very old, the shower takes ages to warm up, very tiny security lockers in the room (couldn't fit my laptop in there) and no padlock provided. I had to get a locker two floors down to put all my stuff in ($5 deposit). You get kicked out of your room for 4 hours every day just for the cleaning. Mixed Wi-Fi reception. No activities. Staff friendly and helpful though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
9.7

Nice place! Perfect location, extremely quiet and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to host again in the future! -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th May 2016
6.0

I stayed at ISC for 2 nights while on a stopover. For a quick stay it is perfect. The location is amazing, right near Central Park, subway station at the end of the street, also easy to walk all around Manhattan from there. It is annoying to leave your luggage downstairs as it felt like there was nowhere to keep my items safe in my room. Bathrooms clean with good shower pressure. Mattresses could use a mattress protector as they're a bit gross.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for review. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the mattresses. We provide fresh sheets to all guests to ensure comfort in this regard. -ISC Staff

  • rvarvelo7316
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
28th Apr 2016
9.1

Great location, only half a block from Central Park, some museums and Subway station (and another line just 5 blocks away on opposite direction). Staff was very friendly and willing to assist (thank you Eden and Peter for your help!) . The only critic I have is that we can't take the luggage to the room, but its understandable. Highly recommended :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for reviewing. Our staff is always happy to help, and we're glad that you were happy with our location. We understand that the baggage rule can be inconvenient, but it is required by the NYC fire department, so there is no getting around it. Safe Travels, ISC Staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.