X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International Student Center Reviews

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1457 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

The hostel was not so good. The bathroom was awfully bad and older, i hate it.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

It's nice but if you don't stay for a long time. There is 12 beds in one room and it's not comfortable when you hear someone unknown snorking at night. There is no privacy at all. Location is great and it is great when you come as a tourist to visit NYC. You just come to sleep over night and take a shower and that's it. Kitchen and dining room are ok.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Montenegro
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We hope you had a good time in NYC! Space is limited and during busy times it may be difficult to find privacy. We wish you good luck in all your travels. -ISC Staff

83%

The information on the wall is very useful.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you found it helpful! We hope to see you again next time you are in NYC. Safe Travels! -ISC Staff

74%

Nice place for the price. Very good location, close to central park. No wi-fi!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the International Student Center! We would like to wish you safe travels and we hope to welcome you back next time you are in NYC! -ISC Staff

57%

Just dirty old and not easy to stay there in general couldn't even keep my bag or check out earlier than 9 very inconvenient

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We are based in an old brownstone in a historic district, therefore many of our finishing are older. We have a housekeeper come in daily to make sure that the living spaces are clean. The luggage situation can be frustrating, but we are required by law (fire code) to keep all large bags and suitcase on the first floor. We do our best to make your belongings available to you during our office hours 8Am to 11PM. Safe travels! ISC Staff

86%

I have good stay in this hostel, really! Thank you very much to the helpful staffs. I stayed for 8 nights in this hostel and I have no problem. At first, I was a bit distracted with bad comments but I don't care, so I just booked to experience it by myself. So I realized that the problem is not the hostel but the person who stay in the hostel. My first night there was terrible not because of the hostel but a stupid people whom just like to complain. Hostel is great!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We would be happy to host you again next time you are in New York City. Safe travels. ISC Staff

60%

The hostel was well located and close to subway stations. Our greeting was poor and I felt as if I had walked into a boarding school. Luggage and other specified items were not allowed in the dorm. Facilities were limited and I felt it wasn't very good value for money but my stay in general was good. The rooms were cosy and we met lots of friendly people and I would recommend it :)

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear that you would recommend our hostel! We know that the rules about luggage can be inconvenient at times. Please understand that we these rules are in place to comply with local fire code. Safe travels and warm regards. -ISC Staff

77%

Since it seems that the only bathrooms there are, are ensuite it took a long wait to finally get a shower in the morning. I was staying in a 12 bed dorm and it seemed that 12 people have had the same idea - having a shower in the morning. for me it was impossible to check out in time, but the staff was very friendly and understanding and allowed me to wait to eventually get a shower :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying at the International Student Center. We would be happy to host you again next time you are in NYC!

80%

The location is great but it is pricey for what we got: an eight bed dorm with no lock on the door. There was only 2 bathrooms on the fourth floor to share between 12 females! There were long queues for the showers/toilets especially in the morning.


46%

The price of this Hostel only comes from it´s great location. The place is really filthy, although they throw everyone out of the rooms at 11am to "clean", but afterwards the whole place is as dirty as it was before. They don´t allow you to take your luggage to the room, so you have to run down in the office (which closes at 11pm) overtime you need something. There were 5 lockers in a room of 10 beds. There was no hot water sometimes and they have rats in the kitchen and even in the dorm rooms!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We wish you would have raised many of these issues with our front desk staff. We offer large lockers in our common area and if you think something is not properly cleaned let us know that we can get it clean. Unfortunately pests are common in NYC. We do our best to keep pests out of the hostel. If see one notify the staff so we can remove it immediately. We wish you good luck in your travels. Warm Regards, ISC Staff

74%

Very welcoming hostel, I could also pay by cash which was great given my circumstances. Stayed for 3 nights, very near to a lot of cool places. So its location is great. The hostel closes at 11pm and if you don't have a key you can't get in otherwise. I thought that was strange. Also, for the money, I believe that the sitting area and dorm rooms could have been nicer. However, I had a great stay, met some great people and have no major complaints!

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We would be happy to host you again next time you are in NYC. Warm Regards, ISC Staff

43%

Dear International Student Center, Please, please, please for the love of all that is good in this world, replace those disgusting, nubby, ancient mattresses you have in dorm room 1. You know the one's I'm talking about. Sleeping on that mattress was one of the grossest experiences I've ever had in a hostel. Oh, and please keep the toilets unclogged, since that was a pretty nasty surprise too. Yours sincerely, A concerned citizen

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis. If you find that something is not to your satisfaction, please let the front desk know so that we can better address any issues. Again, for any issues with plumbing, let the front desk know and we will have a plumber here to fix it as soon as possible. We would like to wish you good luck in all your future travels. Warm Regards, ISC Staff

57%

However the hostel has a very good living room and kitchen they dont have important facilities as WIFI. Moreover, they dont let you take your big luggagge to your room so you have to leave it in the reception and take your stuff (open from 8am to 11pm). I think they dont have enough restrooms and showers for all their guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay. We intentionally do not have Wifi to encourage guests to explore NYC and to promote personal interactions between guests. We do not allow large bags upstairs because it is against the local fire code. In order to comply with the law, and ensure the safety of our guests, no large bags are permitted in the rooms. We would like to wish you good luck with your future travels. Best Regards, ISC Staff

46%

I stayed only one night at the International Student Center, but here is my opinion - not convenient as you are compelled to let all your stuffs in the lobby (no luggage allowed in the room) opened only from 6 am to 11 pm, which means you have to go up and go down everytime you forget or need something in your bag. - the staff is not much willing to do effort Good location (at least very near to Central Park) and non profit organization though

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologize for the inconvenience with the luggage. All large bags and suitcases must stay in our front office to comply with the local fire code. We enforce this rule for the safety of our guests and to follow the law. We would like to wish you good luck with all your future travels. Warm Regards, ISC Staff

83%

Very well locared and clean. The only major issue is that due safety reasons you can't take your luggage with you to your room, only small backpacks. Your luggage stay at the reception and its safe to leave it there. There is also no wifi!


83%

Amazing location, cool guests and cool staff. Down to earth atmosphere.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to stay--the people were friendly and curious. I will be staying here again the next time I go to NYC.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to hosting you again, next time you are in NYC. Safe travels! -ISC Staff

83%

This hostel was great. Primarily the location is fantastic!! Upper west side and seconds from central park. It also is easy access to different subway stops with multiple different lines serving them. My bed was comfortable, room was spacious. Very few sockets in the room but it is an old building. en suite bathroom is handy. Lovely common area very comfortable and kitchen facilities are great. They make you leave big suitcases downstairs which wasnt an issue for me but is worth thinking about.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are pleased to here that you enjoyed your stay! We are actually in the process of updating our electrical outlets. If you decide to stay with us again, there will be extra outlets available in the rooms. Safe travels! -ISC Staff

94%

In general i was pleased having stayed here and i'm going to stop at this hostel again on my way back to NYC.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the International student center! We hope to welcome you again next time you are in New York. Safe travels and best regards – ISC Staff

43%

Unacceptably filthy, no A/C, only two loud fans, no outlets/sockets, only 1 shower/toilet in a 10 person bedroom, only 5 tiny lockers (!) in a 10 person bedroom. Only one light source for the entire room. Matressess smelled like urine. Overall, I had to basically escape that place.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We would like to reaffirm that we clean entire building on a daily basis. We take the cleanliness of our facilities very seriously. All dormitories are equipped with new AC units, and both extra lockers and power strips available. We wish you had raised these concerns with us at the front desk during your stay. We would also like to wish you good luck on your travels. Best Regards –ISC Staff.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback