X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International Student Center Reviews

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1543 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Very much enjoyed my stay here. The building is old but very clean. Even though it was cold outside, the rooms were warm. Helpful and flexible staff. Everything you need for a trip to NY!

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the hostel the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Really happy to help. The location is fantastic and for the price you really couldn't ask for better.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Friendly staff, very well equiped kitchen. The atmosphere is nice because people have to meet in the common room due to the fact that there is no wifi in the dorm rooms. Great time with great people! I'd recomend if one wants to meet people.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

no heating system. oh... it is so cold for me. It's too cold to fall a sleep in NYC. It is not summer. It is spring. cold...


80%

Excellent customer attention and location, NYC was chilly but room was always warm and so did the shower. A clean place and an excellent value. Recommended :)

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

If you need a cheap clean place to spend the night in NYC this is a great one. Don't expect luxury or fancyness, they have a lot of rules and don't offer many things, but I can't complain for anything, they're pretty clear about everything and I've met a really cool group of people there!


97%

Awesome experience! Staff was friendly, and the location is the best hostel in Manhattan. A little on the older side, but definitely an amazing value for one of the most expensive cities in the world. Definitely recommend this hostel!


100%

It was the perfect spot, and the one employee in particular, Peter, was great.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

A perfect place for students to stay in. You get to meet new people and see places in a cheap price.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location next to Central Park. In a more quiet area but easy to get anywhere on the subway and easy to get to and from the airports via the subway. Staff were really helpful. There isn't any wifi but there is a Starbucks with free wifi two blocks away. The beds are also a bit solid but overall this is a good place to stay.


83%

It's a good and cheap place to stay, we were there in winter so there were not that many people to hang out with but the location is still good!

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • xawnia
  • Luxembourg
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This place does not deserve the less than good reviews it has gotten! We booked it very last minute and the reviews would have made us avoid it, but we were met on upper west side by friendly staff, clean rooms, working showers and bathrooms, and a safe atmosphere. Yes, you do have to leave suitcases in the basement and walk up 4 floors to get to the all-ladies floor, and yes, it is an old building. This is as good as it gets for the price of $35. ISC exceeded my expectations by far!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

1. Read the rules- u have to leave ALL ur stuff downstairs even if its a carry-on on wheels. The place where you leave all ur stuff opens at 8, so if you have an early flight staying there is definitely not an option. 2. The heating systems in the rooms makes so much noise that you can't fall asleep, unless you are extremely exhausted. Was very annoying and you can't do anything about it. 3. The rooms don't have locks on them 4. The shower was decent and clean actually


60%

could be better for the amount we are paying


94%

Really awesome place. Great chance to hang out with people from all of the world. Warm and clean.


51%

I had to pay for everything that I needed, there was a lot of rules and the atmosphere inside was very disappointed. The price was too high for the experience that I received.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. There is a rationale behind each of our rules. Just bring up any specific difficulties with the front desk and we will do our best to accommodate you. The price for the New Years Eve and New Years day is higher due to the large demand for accommodations during that time. -ISC Staff

69%

God place to sleep and get out


86%

Wonderful staff and location. Not the terrible place we expected from the other reviews :)


29%

This is a super location. HOWEVER: This is the perfect place to study the mice population of New-York. The hostel was super old and dirty, the bathroom was super poor and not really clean. The staff was not welcoming at all, they only talked to you when you talk to them. Furthermore, this is definitly not the place for smokers as you have to walk to the end of the street to lit up your cigarette. Never again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. While pests are unfortunately common in NYC we take precautions to keep them out of the hostel. The hostel is cleaned every day and we set traps to help keep pests away. We are located in a historic part of the city so many of our building's features are older. Since we are located in a residential area we ask that our guests not smoke in front of the building as a courtesy to our neighbors. -ISC Staff

86%

It was overall a great hostel. Great locations, friendly staff, and for the most part courteous guests. I loved the neighborhood too

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback