Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

International Student Center

  • 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,965 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,965 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
International Student Center Located at 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York.
International Student Center
USA
New York NY New York, NY 10 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024
82% 1965
40.7870380 -73.9694890
International Student Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
7.1

The staff was nice and the rooms and the bathroom were clean. It will be nicer if the bed bunks had stairs or something to climb easily. Also it is not very comfortable having electric connections that far from the bed. It was one of the lowest prices in NY, although not very cheap, but its close to central park and not so far from the museums. But at night it doesn't look very safe around and there are no places to dinner or breakfast close by (besides 7-11 and dominos).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
4.3

Personal didn't seem to like their job, was bored. The bed was old, didn't even have a latter altough one is able to get on thr upper bed. Not enough charging points, the ones thst are are in thr middle of your room so no control of your devices. Policy to leave your luggage downstairs is ridicoulod because the room was big enough. One of my worst experiences so far.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with the rooms. We will be sure to keep your comments in mind. In regards to the luggage, we do not allow large bags upstairs as a result of New York State Fire Safety Regulations. Thank you for your review. -ISC Staff

18th Jul 2016
10.0

Great pleace! Lovely staff! Super worth! Thank you all!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the review and we look forward to hosting you again in the future! -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
8.9

A fantastic hostel! It has all the necessary facilities, is situated in a great location in the city, and boasts a good environment. I recommend the ISC!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We thank you for your recommendation as well as your review. We hope to be able to host you again on your next visit to NYC! -ISC Staff

  • MarkAnthony96
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
7.7

Location is great, price is good for Manhattan. But the guy who greeted us was not very welcoming and acted like we were bothering him. The rooms we're good, but the washrooms looked very old. The whole building is very old and definitely needs renovating as even the stairs are crooked. Plus the rules we're very strict and unfit for young people traveling and looking to have a good time. But overall, the location and the price make it a convenient place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to hear that you found the rules too restrictive. We try and keep everyone happy while maintaining a safe and calm atmosphere. We will be sure to keep your comments in mind. Thank you for your review. -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2016
8.3

A true gem for low-budget travellers. Perfectly situated, cheap (remember there's no tax!), and with enough services to satisfy all needs. Really recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are happy to hear that you found us to be such a great deal and we appreciate your recommendation. We hope to host you again on your next trip to NYC. -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
10.0

Clean, professional, quiet, and accommodating! I was running late for checkout and the super friendly staff were happy to help me out. 10/10!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to accommodate you again in the future! -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
8.3

Should probably provide the guests with cleaner bedsheets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to hear that your were disappointed with the sheets. Our housekeeping staff wash the sheets every day so it is surprising that you found them this way. We will be sure to continue to keep them as clean as possible. Thank you for your review. -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
8.9

Fantastic place! Great staff, good lounge, next to Central park, cheap prices. The only negative I can think of is a stiff mattress and a semi clogged drain in the shower. Far from being dealbreakers. I encourage everyone to go there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the location as well as our staff. We do apologize for the drain, we try our best to make sure everything is in good working order. -ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
7.7

Was a general good stay but had my sun glasses and phone charger stolen while I slept.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.