Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

International Student Center

  • 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2299 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2299 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
8.0

This was my first time staying in a hostel and it was a great experience! The neighborhood felt safe, staff was friendly, the hostel was clean, etc. Rooms can get hot during the day since they only turn the AC on at night (there are fans though), but other than that no complaints. Would definitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2017
9.1

Brilliant location right on the edge of central park and close to great nearby places to get food and drinks, and the area in general is SO pretty. The local subway stop is literally at the end of the road too so it couldn't be easier to get around. The hosts were fab -always happy to help and suggest places to go and things to do. Would have liked if the hostel organised socials so that people staying there could get a chance to mix and there'd be more atmosphere . Other than that - perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
8.0

The hostel is located in a nice and quiet neighbourhood, close to central park and public transport. The hostel itself is nice with a big common room to socialize with other people. The hostel has a great atmosphere and nice staff. The wifi only works in the common room, and one of the showers is either too hot or too cold, however that okay. Overall a really good hostel, with a great vibe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it! Please come back and visit us again! Best, ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
9.4

The staff were so kind and helpful and the other guests completely respectful of everyone's needs. There were always people hanging out in the lounge so no one in the rooms had to get disturbed if they were sleeping. I met amazing people who invited me to hang out with them during the day and because I've been travelling lone that was a nice break from myself! Easy to learn the subway and the place is right near heaps of vegan places which worked well for me! Definitely will be going back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your kind review! We really appreciate it. Please come back and visit us. You are welcome any time. Best, ISC Staff.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2017
9.1

Everything was pretty good, location was nice, it felt safe and the staff was nice. Downside was the bathrooms. Only two for the floor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review. We hope you can come back and visit us again! Warm Regards, ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
9.4

It was pretty good, they were really charming explaining everything about rules and how my staying there could be. The localitation was great, really near to a train station. Open all the time and very secure

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
9.7

We couldn't have been happier with our stay here. Great value for the money in that location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your kind review! We really appreciate it. Please come back and visit us again'! Best, ISC Staff

  • Chlomoney
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
10.0

Hostel is great. Environment is great. Location is great. Most of all the staff (Kris and Robin) are amazing. I'll definitely return if im ever in NY again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your kind review! We really appreciate it. We loved having you. Please come back and visit us again. Best, ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
28th May 2017
8.0

*I was only here for one night*. Pros: very, very good location & lovely brownstone building, nice share area/kitchen downstairs, staff members were lovely, roommates I had were very considerate & quiet, not too crowded, nice big single bathrooms. Cons: rooms were a bit basic (ie. had to use my own extension cord, no personal lights/shelves, no air-con), Wi-Fi wasn't reliable (& I definitely rely on Wi-Fi in NYC!), no lift (lots of floors). Overall pretty reasonable 👍

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
7.7

Hostel staff was really nice and friendly. They were really accommodating and even left sheets and linen out for us when we came back after reception closed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your kind review. We appreciate it. Please come back and visit us again! Best, ISC Staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.