Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

International Student Center

  • 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2257 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2257 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th May 2017
8.0

Best location ever, we absolutely loved the neighborhood. Great chilling area and kitchen, friendly staff. They should invest in better beds and mattresses though and windows that you can open in the rooms. Good value for money in Manhattan. Atmosphere wasn't so great when we were there, but that depends on the guests of course. We definitely recommend this hostel to anyone that doesn't mind sleeping in a 10 bed dorm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it! We will definitely look into those things you mentioned. As for the atmosphere, we definitely try and create a warm/friendly environment however sometimes it really depends on the guests. Please come back and visit us though. We would love to have you! Warm Regards, ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th May 2017
8.3

I liked staying here, there is a good space to meet friends and the staff is great, very friendly, understanding and helpful. The only problem are the stairs to get to the room, specially with luggage.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review We appreciate it!. We know the stairs can be a problem but we are an old building. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and visit us! Warm Regards, ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
9.7

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Facilities could have been better, there was no hot showers and it was cold when I visited NYC. But other than minor things and if you can adjust, it is great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2017
7.4

Overall it was a good experience. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the location is very good as well. The facilities however is not as good. The building, furnitures, and everything is very old, and the wifi does not work. But it was not a bad experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and we are glad you had a pleasant stay with us. As for the WiFi, we are looking into other options to better it. We would love to accommodate you again! Warm Regards, ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
9.4

Excellent location 1/2 a block from Central Park and a subway station. Staff was friendly and accommodating, room and common area were spacious. It is an older building that has its quirks, and be prepared for stairs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are glad you enjoyed our staff with us. Please come back and visit us again. We hope you didn't mind the stairs! Warm Regards, ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
10.0

Everyone was really friendly, great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your kind review! We really appreciate it. Please come back and visit us again! Warm Regards, ISC Staff

5th May 2017
8.9

Awesome hostel! The location couldn't be better. 100m to Central Park and to the metro station. The common area is big and confortable, and the kitchen is small but sufficient for basic meals. The only drawback of this hostel is the WIFI connection, it is really slow. They said the connection was better in the common areas, but I couldn't even send an email so I ended up in a Starbucks nearby. Also, they charge for storing luggage after check out: 1$/h. Great hostel! I would stay again for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your kind review! We loved having you. Come back and visit us again! As for the WIFI, we are looking into other options at this time. Thanks again! ISC Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th May 2017
6.9

Located in a nice, quiet area right across from central park and close to a subway station. No lockers in the room I was staying in and the bathrooms weren't very clean which are my only complaint. But there is a big living room and kitchen which is nice and it's good value for the price so I would stay again. Don't bring a large suitcase as you are not allowed to take anything smaller than a carry on into the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for review. Unfortunately there is a room without any lockers and we apologize for that inconvenience however we do have additional lockers in our lounge area. We do have a cleaning staff that comes in everyday to clean. As for the suitcases, we understand the inconvenience of this but we have to abide by NYC fire regulations.

2nd May 2017
8.0

Spent only one night and except there is no lift was really good. Restroom on a different floor

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! Unfortunately we don't have an elevator. We apologize for the inconvenience but it is an old building. As for the restrooms, we have them on every floor. There are in each of the rooms with an additional one downstairs in our lounge and kitchen area. Thanks again for for your review and we hope you come back and visit us! Warm Regards, ISC Staff.

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd May 2017
8.3

The place is really cozy, staff is so nice and it is basically what keeps this place running. Everything else in normal or just bad Thw Wi fi is really bad especially for a person who travels with no cell phone connection Warm water is rare Bathroom is not very clean all the time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it. We apologize for the wifi. We are working on improving it.. As for the warm water, we do have warm water in all of our bathrooms - sometimes it takes a few minutes to warm up because it is such an old building. We have cleaning staff that come everyday and clean our bathrooms. You are more than welcome to come visit us again! Thanks again, ISC Staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.