X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International Student Center Reviews

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1491 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

I can't bring my baggage in upper floor, according to their rule. It's really inconvenient. And it does not make sense at all. And they don't have wifi. It is inconvenient, too. I don't want to stay in this hostel again. The staff was nice enough.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Loved the place, except the mouse in my room. It's a good thing I don't freak easily!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately pests are common in NYC. We do our best to keep pests out of the hostel. If you see one please notify the staff so we can remove it immediately. We wish you good luck in your travels. Warm Regards, ISC Staff

80%

I had a great time in NYC, as testified by the lack of time I spent in the Hostel! I was travelling along and felt very safe staying here; the location is great- walking distance from Central Park, and if you're like me, most other attractions too. I would have preferred the lockers to be in the dorms but you can't have everything! The locks were provided and no extra charge for linen. I went at a quiet time of year which is perhaps why the atmosphere only scored average for me.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you found our location convenient! We have lockers inside the dorms for two dormitories, but not for all. We would love to host you again if you come to NYC! Safe travels. - ISC Staff

60%

The least expensive hostel in New York. Location is good, near central park, not so far from dowtown. Staff very friendly. Room is huge but they don't allow you to bring ur luggage in the room (security reason). Bunk beds have no ladder to get the top. They look pretty old and need renewal. Same situation for the bathroom. Poor facilities. No internet connection and no breakfast. It's the least expensive in New York...and you get what you pay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you found our staff friendly and location convenient! Though our facilities are well used, we do our best to keep them clean. Also, please note that large pieces of luggage are not allowed upstairs in accordance with local fire safety regulations. We hope you'll stay with us when you visit again! - Warm Regards, ISC Staff

51%

Staff is unfriendly, room was not very clean, bed was awful

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry you did not have a good experience! Our diligent housekeeping staff clean the living spaces every day. Though our facilities are well used, we do our utmost to keep them clean. - ISC Staff

60%

The beds were very unstable and the rooms were not cleaned properly. There was damp and mould growing in the bathroom.

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear your stay wasn't to your satisfaction! Our guest's safety is very important to us. Please know that we have gone through and checked each of the beds and they are secure. We wish you would have brought up your concerns to the staff so we could have addressed them during your visit to make your stay more comfortable. - ISC Staff

89%

Good price. Good location, just 2 blocks from the subway line that goes to a lot of different places. It's an old building, so it has old buildings characteristics. The bathroom and kitchen were really clean and they have a nice commom area, but it was empty when I was there. Generally a good hostel where I would come back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us! When it's not during the peak months, our accommodations are less busy. - ISC Staff

100%

every body was so nice and Mike was great nice and wonderful person really look out for me in my travel.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Jamaica
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're really glad you found the staff helpful! We wish you the best with your further travels! - ISC Staff

86%

A short walk from major transit, even closer to Central Park and nestled in a quiet neighborhood, the International Student Hostel was well worth the stay. Very affordable, clean and staffed with helpful/polite individuals, I'd stay again should I visit NY in the future (or recommend to friends)!

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We would love to host you again the next time you are in NYC. We wish you all the best in all your further travels! - ISC Staff

74%

Good location and cheap for New York, but when I went (mid-October) it was pretty quiet and the scheduled Tuesday pizza and games night did not occur.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We try our best to host the scheduled pizza and game nights, but during quieter months, it is often difficult to get enough people involved! Please let the staff know when you visit in future that you are interested so we can plan to arrange these social events! - ISC staff

97%

this hotel has no own WiFi


83%

Good value for money, but you do get what you pay for. Staff were lovely. Good location next to the 86th street subway and Central Park. Quiet hostel. However, no locks on the bedroom door which felt weird. Only 2 shower rooms for the building (as far as I could see unless some were ensuites) and no wifi, which in fairness we were told about and I could pick up some other wifi. OH and the fact you can't bring your suitcase upstairs to your room. On a whole though great hostel for budget trip

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at ISC! Please understand that New York City fire department regulations about fire safety evacuation demand that we request guests to leave their large suitcases in the reception area, and just take small bags that they need for the night. Also, please note that every dorm room in the building has an assigned bathroom: two bathrooms on the top floor, with attached bathrooms in dorms on the second and third floors! -ISC Staff

40%

Dirty, old. Never again.


46%

The hostel was not so good. The bathroom was awfully bad and older, i hate it.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us! We do our best to keep the place clean. Our diligent housekeeping staff come in every day to keep all of our facilities, including the living areas and bathrooms, clean. We wish you could have brought any of your concerns to the front desk so that we can better address issues and concerns raised by guests like you. We hope to be able to serve you better if you come back sometime in the future. -ISC Staff

69%

It's nice but if you don't stay for a long time. There is 12 beds in one room and it's not comfortable when you hear someone unknown snorking at night. There is no privacy at all. Location is great and it is great when you come as a tourist to visit NYC. You just come to sleep over night and take a shower and that's it. Kitchen and dining room are ok.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Montenegro
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We hope you had a good time in NYC! Space is limited and during busy times it may be difficult to find privacy. We wish you good luck in all your travels. -ISC Staff

83%

The information on the wall is very useful.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you found it helpful! We hope to see you again next time you are in NYC. Safe Travels! -ISC Staff

74%

Nice place for the price. Very good location, close to central park. No wi-fi!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the International Student Center! We would like to wish you safe travels and we hope to welcome you back next time you are in NYC! -ISC Staff

57%

Just dirty old and not easy to stay there in general couldn't even keep my bag or check out earlier than 9 very inconvenient

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We are based in an old brownstone in a historic district, therefore many of our finishing are older. We have a housekeeper come in daily to make sure that the living spaces are clean. The luggage situation can be frustrating, but we are required by law (fire code) to keep all large bags and suitcase on the first floor. We do our best to make your belongings available to you during our office hours 8Am to 11PM. Safe travels! ISC Staff

86%

I have good stay in this hostel, really! Thank you very much to the helpful staffs. I stayed for 8 nights in this hostel and I have no problem. At first, I was a bit distracted with bad comments but I don't care, so I just booked to experience it by myself. So I realized that the problem is not the hostel but the person who stay in the hostel. My first night there was terrible not because of the hostel but a stupid people whom just like to complain. Hostel is great!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We would be happy to host you again next time you are in New York City. Safe travels. ISC Staff

60%

The hostel was well located and close to subway stations. Our greeting was poor and I felt as if I had walked into a boarding school. Luggage and other specified items were not allowed in the dorm. Facilities were limited and I felt it wasn't very good value for money but my stay in general was good. The rooms were cosy and we met lots of friendly people and I would recommend it :)

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear that you would recommend our hostel! We know that the rules about luggage can be inconvenient at times. Please understand that we these rules are in place to comply with local fire code. Safe travels and warm regards. -ISC Staff

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback