X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International Student Center Reviews

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1581 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Really convenient location, nice staff. This hostel is a good way to connect with people's. The curtains deserve to be thicker ...

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The location is just great, next to central park and in the beautiful upper westside! But, the rooms and beds are not great. Everything is kind of old and unclean. Also I wasn't allowed to bring my backpack in the room so I had to go downstairs to change all the time. Most of all I was surprised by the receptionists. They are all very similar in a way that they are all really really introverted, speak softly, seem kind of sad and shy and are not that helpful. Also the no WiFi-thing is so unhandy


80%

Good hostal and good location!!


91%

The location is excellent! A large variety of restaurants and super markets all really close by. Central Park is really close as is the subway. The staff were really helpful and friendly. They had so much advice and knowledge to pass on. I left some baggage on my shuttle to the hostel and they exceeded my expectations with helping me out to get it back. Their willingness to help guests really stood out for me. Negatives - can't bring luggage in room and no wifi.


97%

A really nice hostel with a great common area/kitchen right next to central park, a short walk away from the MET!


71%

Shower didn't work

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

it's the place if you want to save money and just for sleep


74%

I enjoy staying in this hostel. It was clean and the personel was friendly. The location is close to a subway station and it is only a short ride to downtown Manhattan. My room (8-pers dorm) was surprisingly large, considering that the hostel is in Manhattan. The common room is large and the kitchen is well equiped. It is however inconvenient that the hostel does not allow to bring your suitcase to your room (fire restrictions). Unfortunately there is no wifi available from the hostel.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

This hostel was ideally located in a super nice neighbourhood in NY. Advantages: it's very close to a subway line, quite reasonably priced, with really friendly and helpful staff and a good atmosphere of young American/Canadian and European travellers. Disadvantages: the bathroom and kitchen facilities are a bit out-of-date. I also didn't receive a fitted sheet for my mattress, which made sleeping on a regular sheet quite awkward especially after 3 nights. Minor issues all in all. I recommend!!!


77%

ISC is not a bad place to stay. The location is excellent! Subway very close. And Central Park just around the corner. However, you get what you pay for. The fact that they have no wifi really is a bummer. They want you to be more social. But you still are. And the cleaninghours are just riddiciolus. The straff was avarage. A cheap, okey hostel with many strange rules. Bathrooms and dorms were okey but could use som new beds. Otherwise totaly okey!


100%

One of the best hostels I've ever been to. Just amazing.


94%

We met so many amazing people during our stay. It's a great environment to come back to after spending the day out and about.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great youth hostel !


91%

The staff is really helpful (thakn´s for all Rome, Peter and Mike) and the location is awesome, you got the subway right on the corner. It´s a nice build, a little older all the things but you can handle. The atmosphere is good but depends entirely on you and the guests because the hostel doesn't have many activities. I think that three things will be helpful: wi-fi, another computer and a printer.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff are absolutely awesome! The ISC provides a very social atmosphere while being located near everything in the city. Will stay here and nowhere else from now on!

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A really cheap and clean hostel with super friendly staff. It is a good hostel to explore the city.


86%

Very much enjoyed my stay here. The building is old but very clean. Even though it was cold outside, the rooms were warm. Helpful and flexible staff. Everything you need for a trip to NY!

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the hostel the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Really happy to help. The location is fantastic and for the price you really couldn't ask for better.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Good hostel, good people! It's Cheap for the location and has good subway connections to go anywhere and get home late. Kitchen with everything you need to make yourself a decent meal wich was great! Staff is super pleasant and will help you with anything. Book here in good confidence!

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Friendly staff, very well equiped kitchen. The atmosphere is nice because people have to meet in the common room due to the fact that there is no wifi in the dorm rooms. Great time with great people! I'd recomend if one wants to meet people.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback