X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International Student Center Reviews

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1810 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I filled in the radio buttons because it was the only way I could leave a review.I can't review it because I didn't stay there. I called and cancelled the minute I received my confirmation because I read they had strict age restrictions. The man I spoke to told me he would cancel the booking in their system without charge and told me to contact hostel world to get my deposit back. I paid a flexible deposit. How do I arrange for it to go into an escrow account to go towards my next booking

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice place!!!! :D totally recomended.

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to write a review. We hope to host you again on your next visit to NYC! ISC Staff

86%

I stayed at International Student Center in New York, USA from 12/01/2016 till 15/01/2016. It was my first time to stay at Hostel and I like it. Very friendly staff and good location. In my room was 5 two-tier beds in girls room. During my stay there was 5 girls and it was good as we can share 1 bathroom comfortably. I would like to stay in this hostel again.

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found the staff friendly and that you enjoyed the location. We look forward to hosting you again! ISC Staff

91%

To Hostel World Thank you for an absolutely wonderful stay, you guys made me feel like I was home even though I was a million miles away from home actually. The staff are friendly and I love the fact that they actually want to talk to you and find out where you are from and your background. I was thoroughly impressed with the facilities and the cleanliness of the place it was a comforting feeling. I also loved the location of the hostel. Loved my stay and I will be back 😃 Thank you!

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in the future! ISC Staff

94%

I stayed at the ISC for a week. Everything was clean and nice. Definitely a good value for your money. I would definitely come back and recommend.

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay! We are very grateful for the review. Thanks! ISC Staff

100%

This place is fabulous! Clean, aesthetic, and cozy! I recommended this place to friends!

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! ISC Staff

94%

Security is excellent. You have to buzz to be let in the building on your initial arrival, but after that you can receive a key as part of a small fee (deposit). The location is very near Central Park and only about 1 block away from the Subway line. There is not much to do on this side of the city, however.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this review. We are glad to hear that you felt secure and enjoyed the proximity to the park and subway. We do our best to find fun things going on in the area, but its true that the most exciting things are sometimes a subway ride away. Safe Travels, ISC Staff

100%

I stayed for the two days after New Years Eve and met an exciting, extroverted, and eclectic group of individuals that varied in age, vocation and origins. The staff and times to reach them were very reasonable and available. There are decent locker options and food storage areas. The lounge is a good area to meet people (downstairs).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this review. The atmosphere you experienced is what we strive to create here every night. We are glad you had such a good time and hope that you come visit us again next time you are in New York! Safe Travels, ISC Staff

31%

so bad. will never come to this place again.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with is. We will be sure to make a greater effort so that future guests do not feel the same.

69%

the shower in the room is horrible and they should have extra showers around the hostel.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our facilities. We understand that having one shower per room can sometimes seem like too few. Unfortunately, we are very limited in the renovations we can make to the hostel. Safe travels, ISC Staff

49%

No wifi, only 1 bathroom for many girls.. No room service and no talls.

  • 26th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We apologize that the 2 female bathrooms did not seem sufficient for the number of female guests. We can say however that the hostel does now provide free Wi-Fi. We thank you for taking the time to write this review. ISC Staff

66%

Hostel was okay. The stairs felt like they were about to fall away, and the floors were very noisy. Otherwise was okay for what we paid. Good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the location! -ISC Staff

91%

Totally recommended. I traveled alone and the locatiin was close to the subway, in a save area, the staff waited for me after hours cause I needed to check out at midnight since my flight was leaving early, the bathroom clean. Yiu don't listen anything but the noise of the floor and stairs. The lounge very confortable, people from all over the world. Just awesome! ★

  • 12th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Panama
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Elsy, Thank you for your review and we're happy that you enjoyed your stay! ISC Staff

77%

Subway station very near, and less than one block to the Central Park, these are the high points of this hostel.

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy that you found our location so convenient. We hope the rest of your trip went just as well. Safe travels! ISC Staff

66%

The location and the staff were wonderful, everything else sucked. No ladders on the bunk beds, sheets covered in hairs, nowhere to hang a coat etc. I realize that $40 dollars for a bed in this part of the city is really cheap, but even considering that, the state of repair in the room meant that I felt cheated out of around $10 of that price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff and location. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our facilities. We work hard to keep the hostel clean, and of course wash the sheets when they are returned after checkout, so it is unusual that they would not be clean. We will certainly make sure that does not happen in the future. Thank you for your review and enjoy the rest of your travels. - ISC Staff

97%

Wonderful location~~

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this review. We are happy that you were so pleased with the location and your overall experience. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again. Safe travels! ISC Staff

51%

We weren't allowed to take our luggage with us to our own bed space. Even though in the rooms there is plenty of space. So that made life a lot harder getting sorted in the morning etc. bathroom was adequate although the showers could have done with being hot. Location was great though very accessible into town. If you want somewhere to sleep and leave ASAP then go there. Lounge was good. Not forgetting there wasn't even any wifi. Overall a lot of potential here but the luggage thing ruins it.

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this review. We are sorry to hear that the baggage rule left you so dissatisfied, and understand that it is inconvenient. Unfortunately, it is not up to us to change the rule, as it is necessary due to FDNY rules. We do our best to work around it by providing small tote bags to carry your things up to the room with you. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and the lounge. Thank you again and have safe travels. -ISC Staff

100%

Perfect place to stay to explore the city, affordable and comfortable. The only thing I would recommend it WiFi. Wifi can be used to communicate with family and I saw certain people have difficulties communicating with their family due to the limitation. Besides that everything was great.

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hostel and had a great time in New York. We understand that the lack of wifi can be a challenge, and try to help overcome that when we can. Enjoy the rest of your travels! ISC Staff

94%

Everything was great - great location near Central Park and the B/C subway, safe neighborhood, building is beautiful and kept-up well, clean & comfortable. Only two complaints: they overbooked the first night, so instead of staying in the all-female room I requested online and paid for, they put me in the staff room. Don't overbook! Also, they said they would move my stuff for me, but when I got back, they hadn't moved it. If you say you'll do it, then do it! If you can't do it, say that!

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience on your first night, overbooking tends to be a rare occurrence. We do our best to fulfill every guests' reservation request and we are hopeful that this situation will not happen again. -ISC Staff

71%

Certainly a no-frills hostel, but I expected that considering the price and the location. Great showers and I was glad to see the heaters worked (looks like the air con works too which is great). They had very few people staying so the atmosphere was non-existent. Staff all seemed to not want to be there, not a single smile from any of them and very resistant to helping, showing around etc. Friendliness costs nothing! They could also invest $20 and get a single hairdryer/other small bits

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our facilities, and yes, the air conditioners do work. Unfortunately, the atmosphere does depend very much on how full we are, and we are sorry that the staff was not as helpful as you like as we do try to always be friendly and attentive. Much like the bags, hair driers are not allowed upstairs due to fire safety concerns. Thank you for taking the time to review, enjoy the rest of your travels. -ISC Staff

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(56 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback