X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International Student Center Reviews

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1604 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

could be better for the amount we are paying


94%

Really awesome place. Great chance to hang out with people from all of the world. Warm and clean.


51%

I had to pay for everything that I needed, there was a lot of rules and the atmosphere inside was very disappointed. The price was too high for the experience that I received.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. There is a rationale behind each of our rules. Just bring up any specific difficulties with the front desk and we will do our best to accommodate you. The price for the New Years Eve and New Years day is higher due to the large demand for accommodations during that time. -ISC Staff

69%

God place to sleep and get out


86%

Wonderful staff and location. Not the terrible place we expected from the other reviews :)


29%

This is a super location. HOWEVER: This is the perfect place to study the mice population of New-York. The hostel was super old and dirty, the bathroom was super poor and not really clean. The staff was not welcoming at all, they only talked to you when you talk to them. Furthermore, this is definitly not the place for smokers as you have to walk to the end of the street to lit up your cigarette. Never again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. While pests are unfortunately common in NYC we take precautions to keep them out of the hostel. The hostel is cleaned every day and we set traps to help keep pests away. We are located in a historic part of the city so many of our building's features are older. Since we are located in a residential area we ask that our guests not smoke in front of the building as a courtesy to our neighbors. -ISC Staff

86%

It was overall a great hostel. Great locations, friendly staff, and for the most part courteous guests. I loved the neighborhood too

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It's a really nice hostel. The best is the location because you are one block from the subway train. Apart from that, the place has a nice living room where you can eat, hang out with other people or just watch tv. Just keep on mind that you will not be able to take your luggage in the room. It's not a big deal, you can put your important things in a small bag and take it to the room.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Overall it was a nice little place to sleep and pass the day while taking an interviewing trip. Travelers must be aware that the hostel does not provide wifi, and that a big piece of luggage will be locked in the office. So don't forget to take changes of clothes etc with you to the bedroom. Also, in winter, the blankets they provide may not be warm enough for you, but the staff is happy to provide you with extras if they are available.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to help! we are in the process of installing WiFi in the hostel. Large suitcases are not permitted in the rooms for fire safety reasons. -ISC Staff

89%

I like this place so much that I'm probably going to cancel the other booking I had with another place just to stay here again! (seriously, it's a little rough around the edges at first, but a great place to stay at!)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy you enjoyed your stay! We would love to host you again if you are in NYC again! We wish you all the best with your travels. - ISC Staff

71%

You aren't going to get a better deal in Manhattan than this hostel! Less than a block away from the Subway line. The common area in the basement was really cute! Lots of games to play, television, etc. No baggage upstairs is a downside. The beds were not extremely clean, but no issues with bed bugs, cockroaches, etc. We didn't sleep much when we were there, so for a place to crash it's ideal. For laid back travelers, why not! High maintenance? Might want to try somewhere else.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location just half a block away from 86 st subway station, very comfortable i slept like a baby, I would stay again no doubt. They give you a key so you can get in anytime, the only con was the luggage you must leave it down stair at the receptcion and it closes at 11pm so you must grab your things for tomorrow if you are leaving early.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent location, near central park in Manhattan near Subways. happy atomsphere with friendly youth. The staff are friendly & helpful. The building and rooms are old and the sheets are a bit yellowish. Very good value for money in the heart of nyc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and found our staff helpful! We are lucky to have a lot of wonderful guests at our hostel. We would love to host you again if you return to NYC! We wish you all the best! - ISC Staff

100%

I liked the Hostel International Student Center. Not a very big place, pleasant and safe environment with very committed staff with the cleanliness of the hotel and the well being of guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! -ISC Staff

1 2 3 Next » last »
(54 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback