X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International Student Center Reviews

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1649 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The staff is really helpful (thakn´s for all Rome, Peter and Mike) and the location is awesome, you got the subway right on the corner. It´s a nice build, a little older all the things but you can handle. The atmosphere is good but depends entirely on you and the guests because the hostel doesn't have many activities. I think that three things will be helpful: wi-fi, another computer and a printer.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff are absolutely awesome! The ISC provides a very social atmosphere while being located near everything in the city. Will stay here and nowhere else from now on!

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A really cheap and clean hostel with super friendly staff. It is a good hostel to explore the city.


86%

Very much enjoyed my stay here. The building is old but very clean. Even though it was cold outside, the rooms were warm. Helpful and flexible staff. Everything you need for a trip to NY!

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the hostel the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Really happy to help. The location is fantastic and for the price you really couldn't ask for better.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Good hostel, good people! It's Cheap for the location and has good subway connections to go anywhere and get home late. Kitchen with everything you need to make yourself a decent meal wich was great! Staff is super pleasant and will help you with anything. Book here in good confidence!

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Friendly staff, very well equiped kitchen. The atmosphere is nice because people have to meet in the common room due to the fact that there is no wifi in the dorm rooms. Great time with great people! I'd recomend if one wants to meet people.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

no heating system. oh... it is so cold for me. It's too cold to fall a sleep in NYC. It is not summer. It is spring. cold...


80%

Excellent customer attention and location, NYC was chilly but room was always warm and so did the shower. A clean place and an excellent value. Recommended :)


89%

If you need a cheap clean place to spend the night in NYC this is a great one. Don't expect luxury or fancyness, they have a lot of rules and don't offer many things, but I can't complain for anything, they're pretty clear about everything and I've met a really cool group of people there!


89%

The atmosphere and staff at ISC were exceptional. The value for the money was the best in NYC that I could find. For those worried about the many rules they posted, I came to find out that they weren't very strict about any of them besides check out. Only downfall was that there was no wifi but it is available on the computer downstairs or at any local café, the low price makes it worth the inconvenience.


97%

Awesome experience! Staff was friendly, and the location is the best hostel in Manhattan. A little on the older side, but definitely an amazing value for one of the most expensive cities in the world. Definitely recommend this hostel!


100%

It was the perfect spot, and the one employee in particular, Peter, was great.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

2 great nights! A special thank you to the staff who send me my 10$ from the deposit by mail to Canada, really appreciated! Great staff!


97%

A perfect place for students to stay in. You get to meet new people and see places in a cheap price.


77%

Great location next to Central Park. In a more quiet area but easy to get anywhere on the subway and easy to get to and from the airports via the subway. Staff were really helpful. There isn't any wifi but there is a Starbucks with free wifi two blocks away. The beds are also a bit solid but overall this is a good place to stay.


83%

It's a good and cheap place to stay, we were there in winter so there were not that many people to hang out with but the location is still good!

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • xawnia
  • Luxembourg
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This place does not deserve the less than good reviews it has gotten! We booked it very last minute and the reviews would have made us avoid it, but we were met on upper west side by friendly staff, clean rooms, working showers and bathrooms, and a safe atmosphere. Yes, you do have to leave suitcases in the basement and walk up 4 floors to get to the all-ladies floor, and yes, it is an old building. This is as good as it gets for the price of $35. ISC exceeded my expectations by far!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


1 2 3 Next » last »
(58 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback