X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International Student Center Reviews

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1520 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

The price of this Hostel only comes from it´s great location. The place is really filthy, although they throw everyone out of the rooms at 11am to "clean", but afterwards the whole place is as dirty as it was before. They don´t allow you to take your luggage to the room, so you have to run down in the office (which closes at 11pm) overtime you need something. There were 5 lockers in a room of 10 beds. There was no hot water sometimes and they have rats in the kitchen and even in the dorm rooms!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We wish you would have raised many of these issues with our front desk staff. We offer large lockers in our common area and if you think something is not properly cleaned let us know that we can get it clean. Unfortunately pests are common in NYC. We do our best to keep pests out of the hostel. If see one notify the staff so we can remove it immediately. We wish you good luck in your travels. Warm Regards, ISC Staff

74%

Very welcoming hostel, I could also pay by cash which was great given my circumstances. Stayed for 3 nights, very near to a lot of cool places. So its location is great. The hostel closes at 11pm and if you don't have a key you can't get in otherwise. I thought that was strange. Also, for the money, I believe that the sitting area and dorm rooms could have been nicer. However, I had a great stay, met some great people and have no major complaints!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We would be happy to host you again next time you are in NYC. Warm Regards, ISC Staff

43%

Dear International Student Center, Please, please, please for the love of all that is good in this world, replace those disgusting, nubby, ancient mattresses you have in dorm room 1. You know the one's I'm talking about. Sleeping on that mattress was one of the grossest experiences I've ever had in a hostel. Oh, and please keep the toilets unclogged, since that was a pretty nasty surprise too. Yours sincerely, A concerned citizen

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis. If you find that something is not to your satisfaction, please let the front desk know so that we can better address any issues. Again, for any issues with plumbing, let the front desk know and we will have a plumber here to fix it as soon as possible. We would like to wish you good luck in all your future travels. Warm Regards, ISC Staff

57%

However the hostel has a very good living room and kitchen they dont have important facilities as WIFI. Moreover, they dont let you take your big luggagge to your room so you have to leave it in the reception and take your stuff (open from 8am to 11pm). I think they dont have enough restrooms and showers for all their guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay. We intentionally do not have Wifi to encourage guests to explore NYC and to promote personal interactions between guests. We do not allow large bags upstairs because it is against the local fire code. In order to comply with the law, and ensure the safety of our guests, no large bags are permitted in the rooms. We would like to wish you good luck with your future travels. Best Regards, ISC Staff

46%

I stayed only one night at the International Student Center, but here is my opinion - not convenient as you are compelled to let all your stuffs in the lobby (no luggage allowed in the room) opened only from 6 am to 11 pm, which means you have to go up and go down everytime you forget or need something in your bag. - the staff is not much willing to do effort Good location (at least very near to Central Park) and non profit organization though

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologize for the inconvenience with the luggage. All large bags and suitcases must stay in our front office to comply with the local fire code. We enforce this rule for the safety of our guests and to follow the law. We would like to wish you good luck with all your future travels. Warm Regards, ISC Staff

83%

Very well locared and clean. The only major issue is that due safety reasons you can't take your luggage with you to your room, only small backpacks. Your luggage stay at the reception and its safe to leave it there. There is also no wifi!


1 2 3 Next » last »
(46 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback