X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International Student Center Reviews

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1562 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The staffs were beyond nice. They clearly say what they provide, a place to sleep, and a bathroom to use at the end of the day. Great value for the money. Some of my roommates were complaining about not having hair dryer. Well read the description carefully before you book.

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you were satisfied with your stay at the ISC! We look forward to hosting you again. We wish you all the best with your future travels! - ISC Staff

77%

ロケーションがとても良かった。86st まで徒歩1分以内で、セントラルパークもすぐ側だった。 Wifiがないとあったが、フリーwifiが利用できた。 ホステルの雰囲気は少し暗い。落ち着いて過ごすにはいい場所かもしれません。


51%

I can't bring my baggage in upper floor, according to their rule. It's really inconvenient. And it does not make sense at all. And they don't have wifi. It is inconvenient, too. I don't want to stay in this hostel again. The staff was nice enough.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry you found the luggage situation inconvenient! We realize that several guests are unhappy about not being able to carry their suitcases up to the dormitory room, despite being informed of this. Please understand that New York City fire department regulations about fire safety evacuation demands that we request guests to leave their large suitcases in the reception area, and just take small bags that they need for the night. -ISC Staff

89%

Loved the place, except the mouse in my room. It's a good thing I don't freak easily!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately pests are common in NYC. We do our best to keep pests out of the hostel. If you see one please notify the staff so we can remove it immediately. We wish you good luck in your travels. Warm Regards, ISC Staff

80%

I had a great time in NYC, as testified by the lack of time I spent in the Hostel! I was travelling along and felt very safe staying here; the location is great- walking distance from Central Park, and if you're like me, most other attractions too. I would have preferred the lockers to be in the dorms but you can't have everything! The locks were provided and no extra charge for linen. I went at a quiet time of year which is perhaps why the atmosphere only scored average for me.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you found our location convenient! We have lockers inside the dorms for two dormitories, but not for all. We would love to host you again if you come to NYC! Safe travels. - ISC Staff

60%

The least expensive hostel in New York. Location is good, near central park, not so far from dowtown. Staff very friendly. Room is huge but they don't allow you to bring ur luggage in the room (security reason). Bunk beds have no ladder to get the top. They look pretty old and need renewal. Same situation for the bathroom. Poor facilities. No internet connection and no breakfast. It's the least expensive in New York...and you get what you pay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you found our staff friendly and location convenient! Though our facilities are well used, we do our best to keep them clean. Also, please note that large pieces of luggage are not allowed upstairs in accordance with local fire safety regulations. We hope you'll stay with us when you visit again! - Warm Regards, ISC Staff

51%

Staff is unfriendly, room was not very clean, bed was awful

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry you did not have a good experience! Our diligent housekeeping staff clean the living spaces every day. Though our facilities are well used, we do our utmost to keep them clean. - ISC Staff

60%

The beds were very unstable and the rooms were not cleaned properly. There was damp and mould growing in the bathroom.

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear your stay wasn't to your satisfaction! Our guest's safety is very important to us. Please know that we have gone through and checked each of the beds and they are secure. We wish you would have brought up your concerns to the staff so we could have addressed them during your visit to make your stay more comfortable. - ISC Staff

89%

Good price. Good location, just 2 blocks from the subway line that goes to a lot of different places. It's an old building, so it has old buildings characteristics. The bathroom and kitchen were really clean and they have a nice commom area, but it was empty when I was there. Generally a good hostel where I would come back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us! When it's not during the peak months, our accommodations are less busy. - ISC Staff

1 2 3 Next » last »
(49 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback