X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International Student Center Reviews

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1576 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

You aren't going to get a better deal in Manhattan than this hostel! Less than a block away from the Subway line. The common area in the basement was really cute! Lots of games to play, television, etc. No baggage upstairs is a downside. The beds were not extremely clean, but no issues with bed bugs, cockroaches, etc. We didn't sleep much when we were there, so for a place to crash it's ideal. For laid back travelers, why not! High maintenance? Might want to try somewhere else.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location just half a block away from 86 st subway station, very comfortable i slept like a baby, I would stay again no doubt. They give you a key so you can get in anytime, the only con was the luggage you must leave it down stair at the receptcion and it closes at 11pm so you must grab your things for tomorrow if you are leaving early.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent location, near central park in Manhattan near Subways. happy atomsphere with friendly youth. The staff are friendly & helpful. The building and rooms are old and the sheets are a bit yellowish. Very good value for money in the heart of nyc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and found our staff helpful! We are lucky to have a lot of wonderful guests at our hostel. We would love to host you again if you return to NYC! We wish you all the best! - ISC Staff

100%

I liked the Hostel International Student Center. Not a very big place, pleasant and safe environment with very committed staff with the cleanliness of the hotel and the well being of guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! -ISC Staff

54%

Good location but rooms don't lock and there was a mouth in the room.

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad our location was convenient for you! Guests do require a key to gain access to the building front door, and our staff do their best to ensure a safe and friendly atmosphere. Pests are common in NYC. We do our best to address the issue, but if you spot one please let staff know so it can be removed immediately! - ISC Staff

66%

The shower in our room was horrible it was impossible to take a shower, no water pressure at all. There was a mouse in our room the second night.

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry you didn't have a good experience! Unfortunately pests are common everywhere in NYC. We do our best to address the issue. When you spot a pest, please let staff know so that we can remove it immediately! - ISC Staff

97%

The staffs were beyond nice. They clearly say what they provide, a place to sleep, and a bathroom to use at the end of the day. Great value for the money. Some of my roommates were complaining about not having hair dryer. Well read the description carefully before you book.

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you were satisfied with your stay at the ISC! We look forward to hosting you again. We wish you all the best with your future travels! - ISC Staff

77%

ロケーションがとても良かった。86st まで徒歩1分以内で、セントラルパークもすぐ側だった。 Wifiがないとあったが、フリーwifiが利用できた。 ホステルの雰囲気は少し暗い。落ち着いて過ごすにはいい場所かもしれません。


51%

I can't bring my baggage in upper floor, according to their rule. It's really inconvenient. And it does not make sense at all. And they don't have wifi. It is inconvenient, too. I don't want to stay in this hostel again. The staff was nice enough.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry you found the luggage situation inconvenient! We realize that several guests are unhappy about not being able to carry their suitcases up to the dormitory room, despite being informed of this. Please understand that New York City fire department regulations about fire safety evacuation demands that we request guests to leave their large suitcases in the reception area, and just take small bags that they need for the night. -ISC Staff

89%

Loved the place, except the mouse in my room. It's a good thing I don't freak easily!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately pests are common in NYC. We do our best to keep pests out of the hostel. If you see one please notify the staff so we can remove it immediately. We wish you good luck in your travels. Warm Regards, ISC Staff

80%

I had a great time in NYC, as testified by the lack of time I spent in the Hostel! I was travelling along and felt very safe staying here; the location is great- walking distance from Central Park, and if you're like me, most other attractions too. I would have preferred the lockers to be in the dorms but you can't have everything! The locks were provided and no extra charge for linen. I went at a quiet time of year which is perhaps why the atmosphere only scored average for me.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you found our location convenient! We have lockers inside the dorms for two dormitories, but not for all. We would love to host you again if you come to NYC! Safe travels. - ISC Staff

60%

The least expensive hostel in New York. Location is good, near central park, not so far from dowtown. Staff very friendly. Room is huge but they don't allow you to bring ur luggage in the room (security reason). Bunk beds have no ladder to get the top. They look pretty old and need renewal. Same situation for the bathroom. Poor facilities. No internet connection and no breakfast. It's the least expensive in New York...and you get what you pay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you found our staff friendly and location convenient! Though our facilities are well used, we do our best to keep them clean. Also, please note that large pieces of luggage are not allowed upstairs in accordance with local fire safety regulations. We hope you'll stay with us when you visit again! - Warm Regards, ISC Staff

51%

Staff is unfriendly, room was not very clean, bed was awful

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry you did not have a good experience! Our diligent housekeeping staff clean the living spaces every day. Though our facilities are well used, we do our utmost to keep them clean. - ISC Staff

1 2 3 Next » last »
(53 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback