Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

International Students House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 617 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 617 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
International Students House Located at 229 Great Portland Street, , London.
International Students House
England
London W1W 5PN 229 Great Portland Street
87% 617
51.5233326 -0.1449926
International Students House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
25th Nov 2016
5.4

Glad I only stayed one night. No atmosphere, friendly staff, common room or kitchen. If you don't want to go out, you just have to hang in your dorm room and eat out. Might be different if get your own room but it doesn't have a good hostel vibe. I was the only female in a mixed dorm of 10 with an adjoining dorm of another 10 guys which was weird. Had people walking in and out and through to the adjoining dorm all night along with sensor lights which made it impossible to sleep

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2016
10.0

This is the first time that I live in a hostel,it is really amazing of its location and price,if you areba student,I believe that it is a good choice,and my roommate is also very amiable to communicate with.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Oct 2016
7.4

Television did not work

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Oct 2016
5.7

Little annoyances made the stay unpleasant: -Dormitory was in the basement with little natural light and room light was broken -Shower room light shut off after a few minutes and could not be re-activated, needed to shower in the dark -Shower head holder was broken, needed to use one hand to hold shower head to shower -Mini size sink made cleaning difficult and messy -Internet access (20mb daily max) required registration with email, phone and consent to receive future promotional materials

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • iamkaikai
  • Taiwan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
7.4

It's a cheap price so I don't complain for the atmosphere and facility. ISH provides a clean bed and nice breakfast. However, the way to reach your bed is through a long hallway, so it's noisy when people come and go while your sleeping. And the plug was not working since the day I came and still not working when I left.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2016
7.4

Not my favorite hostel but the bed was comfortable and featured a privacy curtain. Location is good with easy access to the tube and the building is secure. Other travelers mostly stuck to themselves during my stay. Bathrooms could have been cleaner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Aug 2016
10.0

brilliant

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
7.7

Location was absolutely perfect, I didnt even take the metro because everything was close! The single room was ok but the rooms and corridors smell "old" because the windows open only a few centimetres for security reasons. Bathrooms were ok. The breakfast is free BUT there are things that are not free (coffee, cereal bars, nuts, soft drinks etc). I nearly saw any people in the house and it is mid August! Some receptionists were rather annoyed when I asked questions about buses etc. overall ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
10.0

Great accommodation in London.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.