Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

International Students House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ahwaters350
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2017
4.9

Very dirty place, tons of rules that make you feel like you are a child. Much better places to stay in the area.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at ISH. We were disappointed to hear that you thought our levels of cleanliness were not satisfactory. Your comment has been passed onto our housekeeping manager for review. As our name may suggest, the majority of our residents are students who stay with us for up to three years whilst they undertake their studies in London. You mentioned that there are tons of rules that make you feel like a child. We take the safety and security of all our guests and staff very seriously here at ISH and we have certain guidelines in place for that exact reason. If you are looking for somewhere that better suits your needs, you are indeed right that there are other places to stay in the area such as the YHA where the majority of their residents are not long term. Warmest regards, The team @ ISH

25th Mar 2017
8.3

The place is not bad.. and the area is not too far away from center London. I got a private room (tiny) with a shower (tiny) but its ok if you need a place to throw your bags and sleep. The problem is that you have to go down a hallway, open a door to a tiny public kitchen that smells like ethnic food all the time and then open the door to my room. WTF. Literally the kitchen was about big enough to swing the door open, and you have to squeeze in to close it so I could open my door. Not cool

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Hoguer, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at ISH. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and that our residence is an ideal place for you to stay when visiting London for short stays. With that being said, we are also home to many international students and usually, the type of room that you had been provided is a long term room. The kitchen is placed outside of the room for the convenience of the residents close by. We have also opened a new kitchen space for our long term residents which may decrease the usage of the smaller kitchenettes thus lowering the possibility of any prudent food odors being present. We do appreciate that the space isn't the largest and we will take your comments into consideration when making plans for the future. We hope to welcome you back to ISH in the near future. Warmest regards, The team @ ISH

24th Mar 2017
5.1

I had to pay in cash, I assume because the reception was closed by the time we arrived from the airport. I wanted to pay by credit card and had I not had cash, I would have had huge fees withdrawing cash from an ATM. I had to return for change due me then ext day. The bathroom was disgusting with one toilet clogged the entire weekend. Other guests came in at all hours of the night causing the motion sensor lights to turn on. They were also loud so we never got a good night sleep.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at ISH. We were sorry to hear that your experience was not up to the usual standards we strive to achieve. Please rest assured that your comments have been passed onto the relevant departmental managers as we are always looking for ways to improve the service that we provide. We would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Warmest regards, The team @ ISH

  • rostaizer
  • Brazil, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Mar 2017
8.6

Excelente opção, preço super acessível, localização ótima. O Hostel também funciona como acomodação estudantil no mesmo prédio. É bem grande, fácil se perder pelos corredores meio labirintos mas os quartos são bons, cortinas nas camas que te dão um pouco mais de privacidade, cozinha, lavanderia e wc limpos. Único ponto ruim (talvez azar da minha parte) foi que uma das luzes automáticas estava com problema no sensor e ficava acendendo e barulho a noite toda, no mais tudo OK. Recomendadíssimo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
6.0

Unwelcoming, rude, unprofessional staff. Safety problem.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at ISH. We were dissapointed to hear about the issues you have raised. In order for us to investigate further, we kindly request for you to contact us with some more information on the problems you have faced. Warmest regards, The team @ ISH

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
7.1

It was specified breakfast included when I booked the room, and on the email confirmation, but what a surprise in the morning when we were refused breakfast in the canteen. We went up to the reception desk to ask for it and the staff has not been very helpful about it, stating that the price we payed for was part of a special offer which therefore did not include breakfast, information which appeared nowhere during the whole booking process.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing International Students House for your recent visit to London. We were pleased to see that overall stay was satisfactory. The majority of our bookings do come with breakfast included however there are some packages which are room only. We will investigate the issue raised and contact you should we require more information. Thank you again and we do hope that you will return to ISH in the near future. Warmest regards, The team @ ISH

  • sandreeva
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Feb 2017
9.1

Very good place to stay, quite a lot of room and beds are comfy, good showers and very clean. Tube stations are right at the door and you can easily find supermarkets near and it's right in the centre. Would stay here again, very good value for money. Only thin is the sound of the automatic light, can be disruptive when sleeping and it sometimes randomly goes off but it's not really that much of a bother

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent trip to ISH. We were pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you took advantage of our excellent location and local amenities. In order to provide adequate lighting in all of our guests rooms, our dorms are fitted with motion sensor lights. There may be times where our guests need to get up in the middle of night therefore the lights may turn on for a short period of time. We try our best to ensure that our guests experience is not marred. Your comment will be passed onto the relevant departments for review. Warmest regards, The team @ ISH

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Feb 2017
3.4

Ok staff in the beginning. Walked to the room, reeked of unpleasant smells.automatic lights went on and off every minutes all thru the night. The housekeeper woke us screaming, waking the room up. Horribly rude, and uncalled for, calling in her manager yelling about us in front of her in French, as if we did not know the language,we did. Couldnt believe what she said. We were supposed to rebook this in a week, not anymore. Can't believe the unprofessionalim, lack of empathy! DONT RECOMMEND!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We were dissapointed to hear that your stay was not up to the usual standards we work hard to achieve here at ISH. We would like to discuss the issues raised with you in more detail and would kindly request for you to contact us at your earliest convenience. Warmest regards, The team @ ISH

  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
5.4

Moldy smell in the room. Spiders were found under the pillow. No hot water in shower after midnight. So the price is the only advantage I guess.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Dec 2016
7.4

Location's great but the room is old and really basic. The bunk bed shakes with very slight movement and the sink was designed poorly with the shelf right above it and you can barely fit your head half in when trying to wash the face.. I had to turn on the shower to do that. Overall the staffs are friendly but just the facility is really old and didn't give the most comfortable living experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.