Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

International Students House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 633 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 633 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Feb 2017
6.0

Unwelcoming, rude, unprofessional staff. Safety problem.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at ISH. We were dissapointed to hear about the issues you have raised. In order for us to investigate further, we kindly request for you to contact us with some more information on the problems you have faced. Warmest regards, The team @ ISH

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
7.1

It was specified breakfast included when I booked the room, and on the email confirmation, but what a surprise in the morning when we were refused breakfast in the canteen. We went up to the reception desk to ask for it and the staff has not been very helpful about it, stating that the price we payed for was part of a special offer which therefore did not include breakfast, information which appeared nowhere during the whole booking process.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing International Students House for your recent visit to London. We were pleased to see that overall stay was satisfactory. The majority of our bookings do come with breakfast included however there are some packages which are room only. We will investigate the issue raised and contact you should we require more information. Thank you again and we do hope that you will return to ISH in the near future. Warmest regards, The team @ ISH

  • sandreeva
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Feb 2017
9.1

Very good place to stay, quite a lot of room and beds are comfy, good showers and very clean. Tube stations are right at the door and you can easily find supermarkets near and it's right in the centre. Would stay here again, very good value for money. Only thin is the sound of the automatic light, can be disruptive when sleeping and it sometimes randomly goes off but it's not really that much of a bother

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent trip to ISH. We were pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you took advantage of our excellent location and local amenities. In order to provide adequate lighting in all of our guests rooms, our dorms are fitted with motion sensor lights. There may be times where our guests need to get up in the middle of night therefore the lights may turn on for a short period of time. We try our best to ensure that our guests experience is not marred. Your comment will be passed onto the relevant departments for review. Warmest regards, The team @ ISH

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Feb 2017
3.4

Ok staff in the beginning. Walked to the room, reeked of unpleasant smells.automatic lights went on and off every minutes all thru the night. The housekeeper woke us screaming, waking the room up. Horribly rude, and uncalled for, calling in her manager yelling about us in front of her in French, as if we did not know the language,we did. Couldnt believe what she said. We were supposed to rebook this in a week, not anymore. Can't believe the unprofessionalim, lack of empathy! DONT RECOMMEND!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We were dissapointed to hear that your stay was not up to the usual standards we work hard to achieve here at ISH. We would like to discuss the issues raised with you in more detail and would kindly request for you to contact us at your earliest convenience. Warmest regards, The team @ ISH

  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
5.4

Moldy smell in the room. Spiders were found under the pillow. No hot water in shower after midnight. So the price is the only advantage I guess.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Dec 2016
7.4

Location's great but the room is old and really basic. The bunk bed shakes with very slight movement and the sink was designed poorly with the shelf right above it and you can barely fit your head half in when trying to wash the face.. I had to turn on the shower to do that. Overall the staffs are friendly but just the facility is really old and didn't give the most comfortable living experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Dec 2016
8.9

I stayed in the 10 bed dorm, which is excellent as a cheap bed right in central London, especially if traveling alone. As others have said, there is no "backpacker" atmosphere or common space. Each bed has: - large locking bin for luggage (padlock available for 20£ deposit, no need to buy it) - free locker for valuables in the room - curtains for privacy and darkness! - 2 power outlets in the bed plus a reading light They also give you free towel & bath mat & a tote bag to keep as a souvenir!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Dec 2016
8.9

Pros: brill location, beds had clean white sheets, two pillows, a privacy curtain, hooks, a storage box, two plug points, and a light. Breakfast was substantial considering the price point, the bathrooms were clean, and offering a towel with products and a bath mat in a bag was a nice touch. Excellent security. Cons: motion triggered room lights are bright, so bring a mask. Not much natural light, so can feel a bit claustrophobic. Not much atmosphere, if that's something you're looking for!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
25th Nov 2016
5.4

Glad I only stayed one night. No atmosphere, friendly staff, common room or kitchen. If you don't want to go out, you just have to hang in your dorm room and eat out. Might be different if get your own room but it doesn't have a good hostel vibe. I was the only female in a mixed dorm of 10 with an adjoining dorm of another 10 guys which was weird. Had people walking in and out and through to the adjoining dorm all night along with sensor lights which made it impossible to sleep

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2016
10.0

This is the first time that I live in a hostel,it is really amazing of its location and price,if you areba student,I believe that it is a good choice,and my roommate is also very amiable to communicate with.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.