Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

International Students Residence

  • 341 Broadway, Williamsburg, Brooklyn, 11211, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1656 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1656 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th May 2017
9.1

The room itself was very clean and the perfect size for 1 guest. It had no ceiling and the walls are more like partitions so you can hear every noise on the floor. Ear plugs are offered at check in. The only problem was the slow check in. I was behind someone and waited 15-20 mins for them to get checked in and I was on a time crunch. Later, I walked all the way to the 3rd floor to find my card didn't work. I had to wait a long time for another person to check in before they fixed my card.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
8.6

As others have mentioned, the walls separating the rooms stop about 3 feet below the ceiling. Sound does carry, but I never noticed it being overly noisy the one night I stayed. What did make lots of noise was the train, which passes right in front of the building. Fortunately the front desk provides earplugs. Bathrooms were clean, but showers are only separated from the rest of the bathroom by frosted glass, so those who want a private shower might look elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
8.6

The staff was wonderful! Especially a guy called Ray who helped us out allot! It was clean and great location. We loved the area Williamsburg full of vintage shopping, coffee shops and bars!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • yochaigreenfeld6284
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2017
5.4

Unfortunately this way a bad choice of location. Even though the hostel is well located as far as Williamsburg, it's actually located off the Subway track, and whoever suffers from such occasional train noises will hate it there. Some rooms actually face the tracks, and the Subway is loud. There weren't any coffee or foot to buy so you had to walk out to get some - which is legit only that it was heavily raining when I was there. Rooms are tiny though tidy, towel I got was torn, felt unwelcome

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th May 2017
8.3

there was something wrong with air on firt night it was hot. but then it got cold out again and it got cold. not first stay here, it is good for short term and rooms are not real big but the fact walls do not go up over full wall was not a issue by now. and large area to hang out cook and at leat hot water and shower..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
6.6

Each floor is one enormous dorm. They have separated beds with thin dividing walls that don't touch the ceiling so you can hear EVERYTHING on the entire floor. It's very creepy. A "private" dorm is in no way private. You can hear the person breathing next to you. Apart from that the location and price are good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th May 2017
9.1

If you are looking for a good hostel, with good price this hostel is the place! The staff is ok, the atmosphere is good. The place is clean and safe. Its near to the subway station and Brooklyn is a better neighborhood than I thought. I really liked my stay there. There is just one problem: the rooms are upstairs and there is no elevator to go up, so if you have a heavy luggage, this could be a problem. There is no roof for each room and sometimes people doesn't know be quiet, and that's all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • IsabelleGM
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
5th May 2017
7.7

Great location and wonderful staff. We originally booked a dorm room and got upgraded to a private room which was nice. The walls in the rooms do not go all the way up to the ceiling so noise was a bit of an issue. The walls in the bathroom are frosted glass....you can see almost everything haha. But overall if you are just looking for a place to keep your belongings and sleep in NY...this is probably your best cheapest option. Very close to transit

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
4.3

The only good thing about this hostel is its location. The walls do not reach the ceiling, so it is essentially like being in a 50 person dorm. It is LOUD. You can hear everything across the entire floor since there are basically no walls. If you are unlucky enough to get the top bunk, you will not be able to charge your phone and use it from your bed as the plug points are located near the floor. There are no latches on the bathroom stalls! WTF DO NOT STAY HERE.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • anthonyjamespriest7760
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd May 2017
6.6

Wouldn't stay there again. One of the women on front desk had attitude, room was smallest hostel room i had ever been in and the room didn't even have a roof (i was on 2nd floor). Place was clean and well located. Wanted to keep my bags longer than 10pm as was going to Washington for a day but they were going charge me $30 for bag storage.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.