Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

International Students Residence

  • 341 Broadway, Williamsburg, Brooklyn, 11211, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 1614 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 1614 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
8.6

Everything was great, except for this: the rooms have no ceilings. The entire floor is basically just wall partitions w/ doors, completely unenclosed. You can hear everything, so loud! It's crazy. And, I can't speak to the men's room, but the women's room has frosted glass stalls and showers. The frosted part does nothing. You can totally see pantless people using the toilets and naked people in the shower! It creeped me out. I think these things should be addressed!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2017
6.9

The staff were really friendly and facilities were fairly clean, but security was lacking. Access to the lounge was unlocked to the street so really anyone could walk in. Also walls in the rooms don't go all the way to the ceiling and while it is called "student residence" there were many older men staying there too. It was a good location if you are only planning to travel into Manhattan and don't care to visit the area around the hostel. I would not have felt comfortable staying here by myself

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mozambique, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
6.6

You got what you paid for... :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Apr 2017
6.3

The location is still a bit far from Manhattan; sound proofing is very poor; the cubicles (bunk bed, 2p/room) are very small; the rooms' walls are only dry walls, and one can technically peek into another's room. Cleanliness is alright. The worst thing is that since it's really close to the metro, the loud rumble from the old subway trains will definitely wake you up! Can't sleep at all. Unless you can't find a better deal, wouldn't really recommend this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • nicholasgotts3084
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
6.6

Very close to Williamsburg & very clean, but is definitely the noisiest place I've ever stayed in. It is directly beside the train line, which sounds like Thor's hammer sending thunder through your soul every time it passes. The rooms also have no ceilings, they are just separated by little walls, like office cubicles. This means that you can hear the train, also things like someone rattling a plastic bag, or snoring like an old tractor, or ripping mad farts, or sleeping through f**king alarms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
6.9

I was charged a $20.00 late check put fee wrongfully. The check out time is 11:00am and I checked out 3-19-2017 between 8:30am-9:00am. I asked the female at the front desk at the time if I needed to sign or anything to take with me to show I have checked out. She said I did not. The next dayI was charged a $20.00 late check out fee. I called to get it rectified and got the run around. I was never given a managers name because they said I could not have it. To date, still no refund.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
6.0

The private rooms are NOT really private. The ceiling is ten feet high but the wall only goes up 8 feet. Light and noise spill over from one room to the next. If someone is watching Netflix without headphones, talking on the phone, etc it sounds like they're right next to you. If a thief wanted to it would be quite easy to hop over the wall to steal your valuables from your room. The lounge is great, but the heating is was broken so it discouraged guests from hanging out there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
4.3

The walls do not touch the ceilings! You can hear everyone & people from other rooms! Impossible to sleep-ear plugs didn't help. During my stay, people were so inconsiderate. They talked on the phone in the rooms, they watched shows without headphones, they woke up early and had loud conversations. You can hear everyone snore and fart. The staff was moreso helpful, they regulated quiet time around 2am? I wish it was earlier--like 10pm. I couldn't stand the noise so I left early.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
8.3

Booked 6 bed dorm but was upgraded to a two bed dorm and told there wouldnt be anyone else in it during my 4 nights. Thanks! My room was the smallest space I've ever seen and could not imagine two people fitting, but for one, it was alright! Walls don't go up to the ceilings but as long as you wear ear plugs at night it doesn't matter. Rooms had tiny lockers that barely fit my laptop and camera. There's no atmosphere/common so dont think you'll make pals. V clean great location. Will go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
9.4

This place is good! If you are looking for a place where to sleep that is not far away from downtown, this is the place to be. The staff is really nice and also very helpful. The only but that the I found was that you are able to hear your neighbors because all the rooms do not have a roof (so it is like an open space roof with walls and doors)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.