X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International Students Residence Reviews

341 Broadway, Williamsburg, Brooklyn, 11211, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
944 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Probably one of the best 'value for money' options you can find in NYC. It's in Brooklyn, yet the commute to the lower-middle part of Manhattan is even faster than from upper Manhattan, for example. At first the big street seemed a bit sketchy, but in the end it seemed to be okay. The hostel looks superb, almost like a hotel, facilities are all new and amazing. Only downside is that you can hear everything in the rooms, even if it's a single. Good sleepers preferred...still I say it's worth it!

  • 17th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

After a horrible airbnb situation I booked this hostel because it was technically the cheapest in the area. Rooms are not actually rooms but more like extended bathroom cubicles. Very loud from the metro and the other guests but you get free earplugs. Staff have the general New Yorker rudeness to them, which you're not supposed to take personally. Did the job for a night. Great lounge area though!!


43%

There are actually no REAL rooms, all of them are simply separated using some thin boards on a floor. You can hear clearly everything your neighbors are doing, just can't see them. Very noisy from the metro outside the building and from the neighbors. The area is full of black people, who are not polite and strange somehow. It gives me an impression of living in somewhere in Africa or the middle-east ... Anyway, don't live here, better to pay a bit more expensive to live in Manhattan.


49%

There was no soap or razors for hygiene. There should be taxi car service with Uber.

  • 14th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I really enjoyed my stay at the International students residence - very impressed with cleanliness and security. the staff were friendly and having a metro stop right outside was very handy. would definitely return and/or recommend to friends.

  • 12th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel's location and cleanliness where its highlight. Having the availability of free earplugs was an added bonus and the WiFi was extremely powerful. I stayed in a "single private room" which was clean, had enough light from the two wall mounted lamps, and came with a full height mirror. There were several power sockets and the bed was comfy. The downsides were there being only 2 showers and one toilet per floor, with the toilet having no lock and privacy glass for minimal privacy.

  • 12th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The private rooms are not "private" as we could hear others talking clearly even though they did not talk very loudly. The water for shower is small.

  • 12th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The room is small and all guest at the same floor share the same public toilet. But I am lucky that never met alot of people use the the restroom at the same time. It s actually not bad. But the wall in the bathroom is made of glass. So...


100%

Great stuff, great Atmosphere!!! Location is perfect walkable to Manhattan , you can rent a bike right before Williamsburg Bridge and croos the Bridge and have one of the most beautiful views . Rooms are clean , comfortable but small . Bathrooms are very clean any time of the day . They have free earplugs, iron , blue dryers . The kitchen and lounge is amazing all amenities, games library , tv's Netflix movies . I loved my stay. I wanna be back.

  • 6th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location , really was much much better then expected . Left very satisfied with cleanliness ,stuff, facilities . Their lounge area is just amazing , it's so huge and fame area as well where you can socialized with another traveler . I would recommend this place to everyone .

  • 6th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great stuff, great location, cleanliness. Helpful manager . Lounge was very nice with full open kitchen. 1 Subway stop and you are on Manhattan. Looking forward to be back .

  • 6th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The hostel is really next to manhattan (only 1 stop by train) so the position is excellent. The main problem is that all the rooms are too small to be comfortable for 2 people and there's too much noise during all night and day. Moreover, it's so close to the train rail that you can hear the sound and the wall vibration as if the train was in your room. Finally, there are only 2 restrooms per floor.

  • 3rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel was ok. We booked a room for two which was nice. At night it is a little noisy because the walls don`t reach all the way up to the ceiling. The bathrooms are adequate and clean. The staff is helpful when asked for directions. The metro is about 3 minutes away and it takes you 15 minutes to get to the city center.


69%

For New York prices this hostel is really well priced and conveniently located. The staff is not so talkative and very functional. I was bitten by some bugsduring the night and the reaction I got for sharing this was rather bland. I do not have the feeling like they follow-up on those things or make any personal commitment to the well-being of their guests. But aside that the hostel is fine.

  • 28th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30


71%

noisy due to the train & the rooms are very small


86%

My stay was fine. Nothing too special but nothing bad either. I liked having a private room even though the walls didn't go all the way to the ceiling. This meant more noise but the hostel was smart to give out free ear plugs upon request. The hostel was pretty clean, and the bathrooms were nice. I liked the communal cafe area with tables and kitchen. It was support close to a metro and walking distance to all my favorite Williamsburg restaurants and bars.


91%

Great time in the accommodation, very secure and safe.. Lovely staff and right near the metro 👌🏽


80%

A fairly decent hostel with good facilities and a great common area. Kept very clean. However, located about 10m away from the Metro so is very noisy at night.


74%

good but so noisy!


83%

You should give a locker and maybe take deposit for it, but not sell.

  • 20th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(79 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback