X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

International Travelers House Adventure Hostel Reviews

1658 Front Street, San Diego, CA, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
367 Total Reviews
  • 96%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Best Hostel in San Diego by far!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us! The ITH team is very glad to hear that :)

100%

This hostel was great. I had stayed in a lot of hostels before both good and bad, but this one was wonderful. I was thankful to have such a great hostel to introduce my friend to since he had never stayed at one before.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a great stay in Sam Diego because of this hostel. Free breakfast and dinner. Lots of free and fun activities. Great place to find a good group of friends, go to the beautiful beaches and chill in the outside area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed your time here and all the fun, free amenities we provide :)

100%

I've stayed at about 40 hostels globally, and this was probably in the top 3 I've ever been to. If you're visiting San Diego, don't stay anywhere else if there are rooms available here!

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! We are excited to hear that! Thank you for staying with us and leaving such positive feedback. Glad you enjoyed your time in San Diego!

89%

tons of activities, better food than most hostels. very steep stairs can be tricky after a couple of beers or with too much luggage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our home cooked meals! Our apologies for the tricky stairs but they do make getting to your room after a night of drinking a little more interesting! Thank you for leaving us a review, we really appreciate it.

100%

Very cool Hostel! Finnaly a place in US that has a fun atmosphere that brings people together! Every day has a new activity! The rooms are good and the free dinner every night is very nice! The staff is amazing and always looking to show you a good time! Amber, Chris and Ben are the best! Ps - great laundry room!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your awesome feedback! We are very glad to hear you had an amazing time with us!

100%

If you are looking at meeting new people and exploring the city through an abundance of activities, this is the beat place to stay, hands down.

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We really appreciate your positive review! Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

100%

Stayed for a night and enjoyed it. I've lived and stayed in hostels before and this is by far one of the homey-ist ones I have been to. They provide you with breakfast and dinner and have quite a few wireless routers so you won't have trouble getting internet. They have fun activities and trips for the occupants/travelers that come through and have a "best places" board. Walking distance to downtown. Vanessa was nice checking us in and Amber [Amy? ;)] made a pretty rad lentil soup.

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Everyone here at ITH is happy to hear that you felt at home with us. Our main focus is to provide a comfortable travelling experience for our guests and make the best of their time in San Diego. Thank you for staying with us! Come back anytime!

89%

Great hostel with good free activities!!

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your awesome feedback! Glad you enjoyed our activities!

97%

It is a bit of a party hostel - be aware of that! Nights can get noisy with all the chatting and drinking in the commom areas, but it didnt bother me too much AND free ear plugs! :) Food was good and don't remember to take a padlock along!

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We do understand that the hostel can get a bit noisy and we do try our best to keep it under control. Thank you so much for your helpful review. We hope you enjoyed your stay here at ITH!

94%

Love this place! Met really great people and enjoyed every bit of my stay. Definitely stayed at the wrong time since the weather was really cold, but otherwise best experience and will definitely be back this summer. Thank you :)

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ethiopia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the positive feedback! We are thrilled to hear you had an awesome time! You should definitely come back in the summer for even more fun times. Looking forward to seeing you in the future. You are always welcome at ITH!

97%

Had an awesome time here! Perfect location, really good set up and vibe. Had no problem making friends here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy to know we provided a friendly experience for you! Thank you for leaving us a review!

100%

The atmosphere was really friendly, the staff were amazing. They make the whole hostel dinner and breakfast every day! and the food is really nice. They also have daily night and day activities that are all fantastic. One of the best hostels I've stayed in hands down!

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the awesome review! We are really glad you had a wonderful experience here at ITH. You are always welcomed back!

83%

Small hostel, staff were lovely and atmosphere was good. Rooms are pretty tiny. great location

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that the rooms were tiny... We are working every day to provide a comfortable experience for our guests. Thank you for recognizing the lovely staff and atmosphere! ITH appreciates your feedback!

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

Awesome place to stay the staff are amazing and it is just a great place to be, the organised trips are really cool, highly recommend The only thing during the winter it can get cold during the night and evenings be bring a couple a extra layers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much Jan for the great review! We're so glad you had an amazing ITH experience! Now that winter is coming, we'll be sure to start turning the room heaters on :)

100%

Let me tell you why ITH is the best hostel in the world. When you walk in this beautifully decorated place, you get an instant feel of home and comfort. The staff consists of well traveled, educated, and friendly volunteers. ITH offers two super fun/social activities a day! They also provide delicious home cooked breakfast AND dinner. Everyone gathers around the dining room table, lounge, and wonderful outdoor space. This hostel really brings people together for an awesome traveler's experience.

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The rooms could have been cleaned more often, but otherwise, the place is great. I really appreciated the free breakfast and dinners. Oh and the free towels! Nice bungalow setup.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! We deep clean the hostel two times a day, and common areas throughout the day. So sorry if you had some messy roommates! We hope you'll continue to come back and visit!

97%

Wow, what a hostel. I was travelling on my own and made friends immediately. Activities during the day and night! Breakfast and dinner served! Stay here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the awesome review! You're always welcome back here at ITH Michael!

97%

If you want an awesome hostel in San Diego this is it.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you so much for your review. Hope see you again soon. You will be always welcome to party with us.

94%

Stayed here for a week was awesome! Met some great people here and the activities are so good. They are all free? It's crazy! Activities during the day and night 7 days a week. The bungalow we stayed in was super roomy, clean and big lockers. The doors have pin codes to get in so don't have to worry about loosing a key. The showers so good and amazing bedding!!! Loved my stay thank you !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the amazing words! We are glad that you enjoy your staying so much. You will be always welcome to come back and make the party with us.

(258 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback