X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Intersail Reviews

Oosterdok st. 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
521 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

A lot of fun to stay on a boat.


91%

Good afternoon, I was last week-end at this boat-hostel and it was really nice ! The staff is very kind and took time to give us good advices about the city and the comodities. Being on a boat is a very good experience. The breakfast is really complete with lots of things to eat and with all at your disposal you'll never get hungry ! Only incovenient : it could a bit noisy because the rooms are very close and beds are not really big, that's a boat so not for families with children (stairs) Lisa

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

If you like the real hostel feeling and don't mind the lack of comfort, this is the place for you. To stay on a real boat was really fun. The staff was very nice and there was a good, cozy atmospere. The beds were okay, though the rooms were really small, but that's what you can expect when staying on a boat. The basic facilities were clean, the breakfast was fine, but nothing special (bread, cerials, diverse drinks, boiled eggs, fruits) Very close to the centre of Amsterdam

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

The rooms are extremely too small, WE were for girls And we couldn't stand all together in one room. There is no air and I wouldn't recommend it for claustrophobic people. The ship which is actually a small boat can be open by anyone at night by sliding the small roof and there is nobody at night to control the ship. Anyone can get in. The breakfast doesn't have a good aspect either.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Really enjoyed the stay. Kristian was an excellent hostel manager!


91%

Had a great weekend would recommend for anyone that likes to be high in a chilled atmosphere


91%

Everything was amazing! the only small problem was that you can hear every noise any of the other guests make....opening doors, flushing toilets and the crowd coming home very late from going out on the town. However, there were absolutely no problems with the facilities if you can put up with the noisier guests. The staff gave us a map and offered us advice, the rooms are heated and beds are comfy, and the location is perfect! For the money you can't beat it! (just bring some ear plugs)

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

For the price and the amenities that you get (free breakfast and towels) the Intersail is a great value. The location is great, you can walk to shops, cafes, and the red light district. Chris is also very accommodating with check ins and serves up a dank breakfast. The only complaint is the walls are thin so if people are loud you can hear everything. Rooms are also small but if you know in knowing that its not a disappointment.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Our room was very very small. But hay, we knew what we were getting. Decent all you can eat breakfast which not many ppl get up for. Fun to say you stayed on a boat and I think that's why ppl stay there. If every guest was eating/getting ready/leaving the boat at the same time it would have been absolute carnage, they definitely over-cram ppl onto Intersail. Fourtnatuly we didn't see that many ppl, which unfortunately created a very quiet vibe

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff was awesome and the boat is really centrally located!! We had a great time staying on the boat and hanging out on the deck. My only complaint is that it was a little pricey for what you get; rooms were very very small (two people couldn't stand up and move around/get ready at the same time). But we were only in the room to sleep, so it was manageable.


100%

The Intersail was incredible! It was everything we hoped for and more. Our stay in Amsterdam felt authentic & easy as we were a very short walk (or bike!) from everything and our room, although quite small (it's a boat!), was perfectly comfortable for sleeping. Towels = provided, breakfast = lovely & everything was tidy. The staff was honest, kind, & welcoming. As a final note, I left an envelope filled with cash behind by mistake and they kept it safe & then posted it to me on their own dime!


74%

Staying on a boat isn't as cool as it sounds. The rooms were tiny, freezing, and damp. My friend also had water dripping on her face occasionally throughout the night. Staff is extremely nice but I know for sure that I'm a landlubber now.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Original way of sleeping in Amsterdam, close to the Centraal Station.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Owner very lovely and breakfast is awesome. Location very good. Rooms are tiny, but to be expected on a boat. Rooms could also do with a bit of updating.


89%

The hostel was very nice and the lady was very helpful and nice. The only problem I would say is that the rooms are very small, but it is expected on a boat. Everything was clean and breakfast was good.


83%

Very nice location and it's on a boat which is very cool. However, the room was very very small. It is to be expected on a boat, but still, it was very small. If that's not a problem for you, the rest is perfect. Everything is clean and the breakfast was very good and the lady is super super friendly




View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback