X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Intersail Reviews

Oosterdok st. 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
502 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Amazing experience! staying in a boat in Amsterdam is by far the best choice and is really close to red light District and restaurants area. Is quiet and peacefull just if you want to sleep until late I recomend to put on the eyes mask.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

just little far from Central train station but defo will go back there. Beds are so comfortable even the room is tiny. Staff is lovely and the place is very quiet during the night. Some different in Amsterdam and worth the money.


89%

The intersail was a great experience (never stayed on a boat for a hostel before), although I have to say the price was a bit steep. The rooms were slightly small (and claustrophobic, but that's subjective), but the bathrooms were spacious as well as the showers. Overall, I would say that the hostel is worth about 15-20 euro a night, compared to the 30 euro we paid. Staff is great, as well as the free breakfast Buffet!

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Sleeping on a boat, the only solution when you're in Amsterdam for a few days. Small cabin of course, i guess it's a better place for friends than couple, but if you got the same adventure soul than me and my crew, everything's gonna be fine. Christina, our wife in Dam. xxx, the french captain.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I'll recomand intersail shipi Cristina for the experience of living on a boat =) it's cozy and sometimes a bit difficult but very fun =P the ship was literally about 10 minutes from the station and from the downtown, the breakfast buffet was excellent and full of choice moreover the crew was very kind and available to answer questions.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Real value for money! Welcoming, clean, easy going and good breakfast.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

You book the Intersail, but however the name of the boat is totally different. and something else. So it is a little problem finding it in the harbour. The rooms are very very cramped but the tiny bunk beds are all the more nicer. Its not easy if you are 2 or 3 in the room at the same time so you got to dress up or brush teeth or whatever just one person at a time while the others still lie in bed as the space is so mimimal. Breakfast was good for such a tiny place.


91%

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Intersail. It was so peaceful and the staff was excellent. It was a bit cold, which you'd expect from being right on the water, but extra blankets were provided and the beds were extremely comfortable. The outlet in our room couldn't charge anything, so we were unable to charge phones/ computers or use a hairdryer. Other than that, the breakfast was great, the location was awesome. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Thanks so much for a lovely stay. Would recommend to all I know !!! Love you guys

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Staying here was definitely an experience as the sleeping quarters are very cramped. Overall, the large showers were a surprise and nice. It's about a 15 minute walk from the train station and red light district. Breakfast in the morning was super convenient and delicious. Not sure about the safety as it's on a remote dock and the manager leaves at night. You have to rely on fellow hostel stayers to lock the boat door correctly when they get home. Which they don't.


80%

The hostel was really nice. The bathrooms and the rooms were clean enough, breakfast was really big and tasty and the woman in charge tried to help us the best she could, even though she didn't speak french or english very well. However, the walls are very thin; therefore, we could hear everything from the other rooms, especially disrespectful people laughing and screaming in the middle of the night.


83%

I was 2 nights in this boat and it was nice time and great experience to sleep in a boat.

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Such a lovely place to stay! The boat was secure, with a lock on the bedroom door. Plenty of breakfast, bedding, towels, city maps, hot showers were provided. There was some noise from people walking past the room, but that's mentioned in the description. The area was calm and peaceful, and the boat did not move at all.

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I thought it was great, especially the breakfast. Really good for that price range. As it is a ship, the rooms are kinda small and as wood is the main element here, you will hear every door shutting and every single guest going up and down the hallway, but as you usually don't go to Amsterdam for peace and quiet you shouldn't let that put you off.


89%

Nice boat very central located! Really small room but they have mentioned it before. Breackfast really good!!! Nice Common room, wifi and drinks to buy ob this boat! Furthermore, the lady on board is really nice :) nice experience!!!


97%

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at intersail. The atmosphere was excellent and the staff so friendly and helpful :) superb advice on where to visit and what to see! Would highly recommend and hope to visit again! Thank you so much for making us feel so welcome x

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to read you had a good time! we hope to see you again

91%

Great place, fantastic breakfast and relaxing area with out noise. Rooms are small but is enought to sleep. I would back again.

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wir sind froh, lesen Sie hatte eine großartige Zeit und hoffentlich werden Sie wieder in unsere kleine Familie Hostel sehen.

86%

Really nice small botel, - : Noisy when people walk on the wooden floor during night - : small rooms, but it's a boat, what do you expect (2 points you can't really change but worth mentioning). The minus points are greatly outwaged by plus points: + Great atmosphere and cosy + sufficient breakfast + smoking (evrth) allowed on the deck (roof) + proximity to central station + free wifi + towels and city tax included

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to read all of your plus points and understanding of our boat environment. Good you had an awesome time at our hostel and we hope to see you again!

89%

Great place to stay. The guy running it is totally relaxed and helpful. Cheap drinks available 24/7 (beer, soft drinks, water). Free breakfast included as well and no extra charges for things like safe, towels, extra blankets... No smoking room but you can smoke on the deck. All together I really enjoyed the stay there and hope it will be available during my next visit to Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to read you had an awesome time at our hostel. Make sure you book your next stay in advance as during high season our rooms are already rented out a month before the actual date ;)

74%

Pleasant place to stay with a lively atmosphere.

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good to read you had a good stay with our hostel, looking at the rating it seems you were not totally satisfied with location and security. though we can't really change the location, we might be able to improve our security according to your wishes. we currently have double locks (main entrance and individual cabins) and we have a camera which covers the entrance and lounge. if you know what we could do to improve our security, please do send us an e-mail so we can change that.

(273 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback