X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Intersail Reviews

Oosterdok st. 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
478 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I was 2 nights in this boat and it was nice time and great experience to sleep in a boat.

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Such a lovely place to stay! The boat was secure, with a lock on the bedroom door. Plenty of breakfast, bedding, towels, city maps, hot showers were provided. There was some noise from people walking past the room, but that's mentioned in the description. The area was calm and peaceful, and the boat did not move at all.

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I thought it was great, especially the breakfast. Really good for that price range. As it is a ship, the rooms are kinda small and as wood is the main element here, you will hear every door shutting and every single guest going up and down the hallway, but as you usually don't go to Amsterdam for peace and quiet you shouldn't let that put you off.


89%

Nice boat very central located! Really small room but they have mentioned it before. Breackfast really good!!! Nice Common room, wifi and drinks to buy ob this boat! Furthermore, the lady on board is really nice :) nice experience!!!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at intersail. The atmosphere was excellent and the staff so friendly and helpful :) superb advice on where to visit and what to see! Would highly recommend and hope to visit again! Thank you so much for making us feel so welcome x

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to read you had a good time! we hope to see you again

91%

Great place, fantastic breakfast and relaxing area with out noise. Rooms are small but is enought to sleep. I would back again.

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wir sind froh, lesen Sie hatte eine großartige Zeit und hoffentlich werden Sie wieder in unsere kleine Familie Hostel sehen.

86%

Really nice small botel, - : Noisy when people walk on the wooden floor during night - : small rooms, but it's a boat, what do you expect (2 points you can't really change but worth mentioning). The minus points are greatly outwaged by plus points: + Great atmosphere and cosy + sufficient breakfast + smoking (evrth) allowed on the deck (roof) + proximity to central station + free wifi + towels and city tax included

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to read all of your plus points and understanding of our boat environment. Good you had an awesome time at our hostel and we hope to see you again!

89%

Great place to stay. The guy running it is totally relaxed and helpful. Cheap drinks available 24/7 (beer, soft drinks, water). Free breakfast included as well and no extra charges for things like safe, towels, extra blankets... No smoking room but you can smoke on the deck. All together I really enjoyed the stay there and hope it will be available during my next visit to Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to read you had an awesome time at our hostel. Make sure you book your next stay in advance as during high season our rooms are already rented out a month before the actual date ;)

74%

Pleasant place to stay with a lively atmosphere.

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good to read you had a good stay with our hostel, looking at the rating it seems you were not totally satisfied with location and security. though we can't really change the location, we might be able to improve our security according to your wishes. we currently have double locks (main entrance and individual cabins) and we have a camera which covers the entrance and lounge. if you know what we could do to improve our security, please do send us an e-mail so we can change that.

74%

Take ear plugs, the rooms are not sound proof. The place was a bit difficult to find because we arrived in the middle of the night and it was dark, but self check in was easy. Breakfast was very good. A nice experience after all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good to read you had a nice experience and self check in went well. We try to make as much light in our own hostel without bothering our guests but unfortunately we are not able to improve the lightings outside of our hostel area. If you have suggestions on how to improve self check in, please do send us a personal e-mail so we can try to make it better.

91%

Super small rooms but great service!

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the big compliment on our service. Unfortunately we can't make the rooms any bigger as we are in a boat Which is why we try to compensate with our awesome breakfast and friendly staff. Good to read you had a nice time!

89%

Would definitely stay here again, but I wish it was a little closer to Central Station!

  • 28th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The Christina is a fun experience, a hostel on the water. The staff are very helpful and kind, the beds and rooms, although small, are very comfortable. Hot showers are supplied with soap and shampoo. Close to city center. And quiet at night when you need to sleep.


89%

The boat itself is in a really good location - close enough to the city to walk but far enough to avoid the noise of the city. The rooms are very small- as are the beds, however they are all very clean. The staff are very nice and friendly.


74%

Nice guy, quiet place, far from town, bycycle mandatory

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

What you see is what you get with Inter Sail. The rooms are small but for their purpose are perfect. The boat is located within easy walking distance of Amsterdam Centraal Train Station & about 10 minutes walk to the centre of Amsterdam. The hostess is very helpful & polite and will help you with any queries you might have. In the evening its nice to relax with a drink on the deck with fellow travellers. If I was to return to Amsterdam I would seriously consider staying here again


100%

i wish there were higher ratings than excellent cuz I have 0 complaints about this place. you need to stay here at least one night. awesomeness.


80%

My girlfriend and I have stayed at the Intersail for seven nights. All in all we've had a good time. The manager is a really helpful and nice guy! The rooms are small, but hey, you're on a boat, so this is nothing unexpected. The toilets and showers were clean. Breakfast was fine as well. We just want to give the advise to not forget earplugs during the stay, because it can be quite loud on the boat. Pretty annoying was the everlasting flow of one of the toilets. Hopefully the crew will fix it.

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The room is as they say small but appart from that everything was great. Very helpful staff!


74%

My friend and I stayed here for two nights. It was a neat experience to stay on a boat and the manager was very helpful. The room was quite small but that is to be expected. Our only major complaint was that the walls are paper thin and we could hear everything in the rooms next to ours as well as people stumbling in drunk throughout the night. The overall cleanliness was fine and the breakfast was decent. It is very close to NEMO and about a 25 minute walk from Central Station.


(262 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback