X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Intersail Reviews

Oosterdok st. 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
581 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

We had a great time in Amsterdam! Christian, our host, was absolutely fantastic: he took care of us, made magnificent breakfasts, made sure everything was in place and always with a genuine smile. Thank You!

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot C.! I'm sure Krys will really like your compliments when he reads this. Glad you liked it.

86%

You are on a boat. Remember, it is a boat. It is not a hotel. It is not a hostel. It is a bostel... or something like that. You get exactly what is advertised. Any negative review talking about size etc is short-sighted given that it is first and foremost... that's right... A BOAT. Having said all of that, it is a nice enough boat. The showers are hot and have awesome water pressure, the guy who runs the place was so friendly and helpful and a great location!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your understanding E.! We are happy to read you had a good time and thank you for the compliments. We hope to see you if you ever come to Amsterdam again

77%

Very, very small rooms for a group of 4 dudes. Would recommend for 2 -3people in a 4 person room. Good location though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to read you guys managed to have a good time at our hostel, even though the rooms were small ;) Hope to see you next time you visit Amsterdam.

83%

it's obviously small because it's a boat, but the location is great, Christian is a very friendly and nice host

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your understanding and kind words, I'll be sure to tell him you enjoyed his hospitality :)

89%

My friend is 1.98 m, he just fitted in the cabin, but you´re better of with smaller people and less luggage. Just remember, it´s not a hotel, it´s not a cruise, it´s cabins on an old carrier ship. It´s a great place anyway.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome review, thank you for your understanding. Indeed the rooms are small, and we recommend you not to bring too much luggage. Glad to read you still had a good time ;)

86%

A lot of fun to stay on a boat.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to read you liked it :)

91%

Good afternoon, I was last week-end at this boat-hostel and it was really nice ! The staff is very kind and took time to give us good advices about the city and the comodities. Being on a boat is a very good experience. The breakfast is really complete with lots of things to eat and with all at your disposal you'll never get hungry ! Only incovenient : it could a bit noisy because the rooms are very close and beds are not really big, that's a boat so not for families with children (stairs) Lisa

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'll be sure to tell Krys and Henny about your compliments. glad to read you enjoyed it! Sorry about the noise :( we now sell earplugs, to help you sleep better. good to know you still had a good time!

80%

It was great for what we paid for. The rooms are small so it was a bit crammed between the four of us.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your high rating, we are sorry for the room size, not much we can do about it, besides trying to advertise it as much as possible. If you missed it and want to give us a suggestion of where we should mention the rooms are small, please let us know.

89%

Our stay at intersail was mostly good because the host was very awesome! She helped us right away figure out where to go and was very friendly and welcoming. We had a very early flight before the time she made breakfast so she set us out breakfast to go the night before and it was a nice surprise and a sweet gesture. Otherwise- the room was very VERY small didn't have room to stand in it but what we expected from a boat hostel. The walls were so thin though we could hear everyone else snoring :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your understanding and nice comment. We'll be sure to tell Henny about your compliments. We are sorry about the snores :\ We are aware of the thin walls, but unfortunately are not able to fix that without making the rooms even more small.. which is not really an option. we now sell ear plugs, so next time you could use those to prevent you from hearing others.

77%

If you like the real hostel feeling and don't mind the lack of comfort, this is the place for you. To stay on a real boat was really fun. The staff was very nice and there was a good, cozy atmospere. The beds were okay, though the rooms were really small, but that's what you can expect when staying on a boat. The basic facilities were clean, the breakfast was fine, but nothing special (bread, cerials, diverse drinks, boiled eggs, fruits) Very close to the centre of Amsterdam

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice and detailed review, We've sent you an e-mail to ask you for some suggestions, please help us improve our breakfast. We hope to see you next time !

37%

The rooms are extremely too small, WE were for girls And we couldn't stand all together in one room. There is no air and I wouldn't recommend it for claustrophobic people. The ship which is actually a small boat can be open by anyone at night by sliding the small roof and there is nobody at night to control the ship. Anyone can get in. The breakfast doesn't have a good aspect either.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest We are sorry to read you didn't enjoy your stay as much. Please know, the hostel can only be opened when you have a key, and we have a security camera that records everybody who gets in and out of the hostel. We have sent an e-mail with some questions and hope you can reply us with some suggestions. Thank you for your criticism.

83%

Really enjoyed the stay. Kristian was an excellent hostel manager!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you liked it! I'll be sure to forward your message to krys, if he hasn't already read it ;)

91%

Had a great weekend would recommend for anyone that likes to be high in a chilled atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Haha, well that's one way to enjoy Amsterdam ;) Good to read you had a nice time. We are happy you enjoyed our hostel together with the various other guests (be it high or not)

91%

Everything was amazing! the only small problem was that you can hear every noise any of the other guests make....opening doors, flushing toilets and the crowd coming home very late from going out on the town. However, there were absolutely no problems with the facilities if you can put up with the noisier guests. The staff gave us a map and offered us advice, the rooms are heated and beds are comfy, and the location is perfect! For the money you can't beat it! (just bring some ear plugs)

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
great to read you guys enjoyed your stay, we actually now also sell earplugs on the boat. We can't make the walls thicker or the metal less noisy so we sell earplugs instead ;) If you have any further suggestions, be sure to contact us

83%

For the price and the amenities that you get (free breakfast and towels) the Intersail is a great value. The location is great, you can walk to shops, cafes, and the red light district. Chris is also very accommodating with check ins and serves up a dank breakfast. The only complaint is the walls are thin so if people are loud you can hear everything. Rooms are also small but if you know in knowing that its not a disappointment.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Our room was very very small. But hay, we knew what we were getting. Decent all you can eat breakfast which not many ppl get up for. Fun to say you stayed on a boat and I think that's why ppl stay there. If every guest was eating/getting ready/leaving the boat at the same time it would have been absolute carnage, they definitely over-cram ppl onto Intersail. Fourtnatuly we didn't see that many ppl, which unfortunately created a very quiet vibe

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff was awesome and the boat is really centrally located!! We had a great time staying on the boat and hanging out on the deck. My only complaint is that it was a little pricey for what you get; rooms were very very small (two people couldn't stand up and move around/get ready at the same time). But we were only in the room to sleep, so it was manageable.


100%

The Intersail was incredible! It was everything we hoped for and more. Our stay in Amsterdam felt authentic & easy as we were a very short walk (or bike!) from everything and our room, although quite small (it's a boat!), was perfectly comfortable for sleeping. Towels = provided, breakfast = lovely & everything was tidy. The staff was honest, kind, & welcoming. As a final note, I left an envelope filled with cash behind by mistake and they kept it safe & then posted it to me on their own dime!


74%

Staying on a boat isn't as cool as it sounds. The rooms were tiny, freezing, and damp. My friend also had water dripping on her face occasionally throughout the night. Staff is extremely nice but I know for sure that I'm a landlubber now.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Original way of sleeping in Amsterdam, close to the Centraal Station.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(309 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback