X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Intersail Reviews

Oosterdok st. 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
476 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Nice stay.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Best location ever, you can pretty much walk to everywhere interesting in Amsterdam. The owner, hany, is the nicest person an helps you with everything. Equipped with kitchen and washer and dryer. The rooms are small. But the boat is beautiful, as is the view and location. You won't find better place for a better price.


83%

As it is a boat the rooms are small, but comfortable to sleep in.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location, friendly staff and made a hostel experience a little different being on a boat - great fun! Highly recommend

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The attendant is very helpful and friendly. The boat is clean but as you can expect from a boat hotel is very small and loud able to hear everything in hallways and next room over but great location and good enough to sleep and party

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The rooms were very small, but it was a very good price, so no complaints. It was a fun place to stay, and the breakfast was really good. The lady in charge was very nice and very attentive.


77%

The staff was VERY friendly and willing to tell me about great places to go around the city. I actually didn't even know this was on a boat until I got there, but it was a pleasant surprise. The rooms are pretty small, anything more than 2 people can get a little cramped (and it's still small for two people if you have a lot of luggage). Everything is kept clean, and the staff go around every morning to keep it that way, and they even prepare a light breakfast!


80%

Boat life!


97%

Amazing experience! staying in a boat in Amsterdam is by far the best choice and is really close to red light District and restaurants area. Is quiet and peacefull just if you want to sleep until late I recomend to put on the eyes mask.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

just little far from Central train station but defo will go back there. Beds are so comfortable even the room is tiny. Staff is lovely and the place is very quiet during the night. Some different in Amsterdam and worth the money.


89%

The intersail was a great experience (never stayed on a boat for a hostel before), although I have to say the price was a bit steep. The rooms were slightly small (and claustrophobic, but that's subjective), but the bathrooms were spacious as well as the showers. Overall, I would say that the hostel is worth about 15-20 euro a night, compared to the 30 euro we paid. Staff is great, as well as the free breakfast Buffet!

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Sleeping on a boat, the only solution when you're in Amsterdam for a few days. Small cabin of course, i guess it's a better place for friends than couple, but if you got the same adventure soul than me and my crew, everything's gonna be fine. Christina, our wife in Dam. xxx, the french captain.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I'll recomand intersail shipi Cristina for the experience of living on a boat =) it's cozy and sometimes a bit difficult but very fun =P the ship was literally about 10 minutes from the station and from the downtown, the breakfast buffet was excellent and full of choice moreover the crew was very kind and available to answer questions.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Real value for money! Welcoming, clean, easy going and good breakfast.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

You book the Intersail, but however the name of the boat is totally different. and something else. So it is a little problem finding it in the harbour. The rooms are very very cramped but the tiny bunk beds are all the more nicer. Its not easy if you are 2 or 3 in the room at the same time so you got to dress up or brush teeth or whatever just one person at a time while the others still lie in bed as the space is so mimimal. Breakfast was good for such a tiny place.


91%

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Intersail. It was so peaceful and the staff was excellent. It was a bit cold, which you'd expect from being right on the water, but extra blankets were provided and the beds were extremely comfortable. The outlet in our room couldn't charge anything, so we were unable to charge phones/ computers or use a hairdryer. Other than that, the breakfast was great, the location was awesome. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Thanks so much for a lovely stay. Would recommend to all I know !!! Love you guys

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Staying here was definitely an experience as the sleeping quarters are very cramped. Overall, the large showers were a surprise and nice. It's about a 15 minute walk from the train station and red light district. Breakfast in the morning was super convenient and delicious. Not sure about the safety as it's on a remote dock and the manager leaves at night. You have to rely on fellow hostel stayers to lock the boat door correctly when they get home. Which they don't.


80%

The hostel was really nice. The bathrooms and the rooms were clean enough, breakfast was really big and tasty and the woman in charge tried to help us the best she could, even though she didn't speak french or english very well. However, the walls are very thin; therefore, we could hear everything from the other rooms, especially disrespectful people laughing and screaming in the middle of the night.


83%

I was 2 nights in this boat and it was nice time and great experience to sleep in a boat.

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(261 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback