X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Intro Hostels Cusco Reviews

Cuesta Santa Ana 515, Cusco, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
159 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Overall very nice hostel, great breakfast and friendly staff. The shower is a problem - inconsistent hot water in winter, very frustrating.


63%

Staff was good, the atmosphere and vibe here are really great, people hang out in the courtyard and bar area. The kitchen is a nice touch. However, Wi-Fi barely connected when in the rooms and dropped a lot. The doors to the rooms have big gaps at the top and bottom, so it gets very cold at night. Hot water was iffy, and suddenly stopped in the middle of my shower. The women's bathroom is far away from most of the rooms, and you need to cross the outside courtyard.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola, thanks for your comment. We just bought a new device for the Wifi and its working well now. It was not working well when we had a full house. Anyways that should be better now. There are 2 woman shared bathrooms with plenty of showers so that should not be a problem.

91%

Intro truly felt like home. It was a great jumping off point in cusco.. No complaints at all. Fair warning though, the open air layout makes for some chilly nights and mornings!


60%

overall pretty good but a bit of an akward vibe.... the fire is nice but small so there is literally no heat. The bar plays quiet music and shuts down early and doesnt have any atmosphere despite advertising different events each night. It has potential but just doesnt pull it off and couldnt figure out quite why - seems to be caught in between aiming for something it is not. Staff generally friendly but no real atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola, sorry we dont like to push people to drink cheap booze as it is done in other hostels. We have a bar, bonfire and activities everynight so you can meet people. The bar closes early (11.30pm) so people can sleep but opens early. For the ones who like to continue the night, we arrange a bus everynight to pick you up from the hostel and give you a ride to a club with free admission. You just have to sign up for that and you will go with other people and have fun until 6am if you would like.

77%

Nice hostel for meeting people, but there were no towels for hire, no heater available on the second night, and the key for our lock on the room had been lost by the staff on the second night, meaning our room was not locked. Showers were not always warm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola, we consider your comment a bit unfair since you extended a night and we gave you a bed in a dorm. Our dorms have lockers you can use at no charge. They dont have keys at the door since we consider dangerous if somebody locks the door from the inside. Remember you are sleeping with people you dont know. The night before you were sleeping in a private room and of course you had a key for your room. Sorry about the towel but we run out of them that night. We will buy more. Thanks.

91%

Great breakfast, hot showers, super friendly staff.


77%

The staff was good but the people at the frontdesk were chaotic so they often didn't know anything about the rooms or the people in it. The Wifi was not working in every room but it was good enough to skype or facetime in the comon area. Most of the time the showers were hot but early in the morning you have to be lucky to get a warm shower... so if you are going for tours or something, just take a shower in the afternoon and not in the morning. The vibe was good and the breakfast was very good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry if you had a bad experience eventhough you liked our vibe. The guy at the front desk started to work with us when you were here but he is much better now. Wifi does not work in every room because this is a 400 years old house with walls so thick (2m) that the signal doesnt go through. Sorry about that but there is nothing we can do. The water is hot 24/7 but you have to wait the water to run in the morning since the pipes are cold. Thats why in the afternoon you do not have to wait.

89%

Cool hostel in a good location, close to the main plazas and nice to walk around. Big social area with a (much needed) fire, pool table and BBQ. Had a warmish shower which was probably the downfall but otherwise we had a pretty good time.


66%

It could be a bit cleaner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
He have a crew cleaning all day long. We also encourage people to tell the front desk if they find something dirty. They will clean it immediately. As you can imagine, in a hostel with 70 people its difficult to find everything before the guests. Sorry if you found something dirty but we always try to improve in this aspect and would love our guests help us doing everyone stay better.

89%

Front desk staff were extremely nice and helpful, when my friend was sick they gave us advice about altitude sickness and even offered to call a doctor. Bar staff was a little cliquish and not very welcoming, but the cleaning staff was amazing! This hostel was so so clean and the water very hot, consistently. Location is relatively close to the main plaza and a supermarket. Hostel staff had a group dinner for everyone where they cooked for a small fee, the food was delicious. Nice fire pit also!


83%

A good hostel with good atmosphere and the best breakfast. Only bad thing is the mattresses, really hard, or holey. The staff were all very friendly, and the location was really central. Hot showers in the girls bathroom, but not in the main bathroom.


86%

Nice, clean hostel with comfy (and warm since it gets cold in Cusco at night) beds. Breakfast is above Peruvian standards with eggs and yoghurt with cereals. Wifi is reliable and showers are nicely warm. Only downside is that there is no heated communal area


100%

Superb location! Close to market and cheap restaurants. The nicest hostel I've seen. Service, decor, cleanness and atmosphere was outstanding. Nice firepit at night for keeping warm and socialize.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bolivia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Nice atmosphere when the fire was on at night, chilled out overall. The staff helped us out when we arrived really early in the morning, and they looked after our bags during the inca trail. Bed and pillows were really uncomfortable though!


77%

Intro hostel was a perfectly fine place to stay, but I don't doubt that there are better places out there. The one annoying aspect about our stay was how we reserved beds for the night we returned from our trek and they couldn't find our reservation anywhere. Unorganized, unprofessional.


94%

Great social atmosphere without being a party hostel. Nice to sit around the campfires at night with nice people.


91%

We had an amazing stay! I would definelty recommend it. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Only a couple of comments: the bar area is quite nice and we enjoyed it but it can be a little noisy, specially for travelers who are trying to sleep as they need to wake up really early for MP. The common kitchen area is not super clean (specially the sink).


91%

COMMON AREAS IN THIS HOSTEL ARE GREAT IT IS SO EASY TO MAKE NEW FRIENDS HERE!! THE STAFF ARE ALSO AMAZING AND THEY ALL MADE MY STAY THE BEST POSSIBLE!!! THANX GUYS XX


86%

Comfy beds, nice dorm rooms, clean bathrooms Some of the staff were really good, but a couple didn't seem to know what they were doing. One of my roommates decided to use my rental towel and leave it in the men's bathroom and when I couldn't find it, the woman at the front desk was going to charge me again. Also, I was disappointed with the activities. They advertise beer pong and flip cup which I thought would be a good way to meet people but it never even happened.


100%

Mattius, Pamela, Joakim, Michael, and Luis were amazing and made the experience that much better. When I go back to Cusco, I will only stay here.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(62 results)


View all Cusco Hostels

Please give us your feedback