Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Inverness Student Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1594 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1594 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • hea47017661
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Aug 2017
10.0

This hostel is very close to the train station and the view out of our dorm room window is so far the best of the trip! Inverness is a great little town and there are plenty of places to enjoy a good meal! We of course went to Loch Ness but unfortunately, no Nessie sightings for us though the Jacobite Loch Ness boat and castle tour was a lovely experience! The bathrooms were clean and the over all feel of the hostel is very comfortable and cozy. Friendly and helpful staff as well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
16th Aug 2017
10.0

Great little place with a lovely lounge and labyrinth of rooms in an old building next to a river by the castle. Helpful staff, clean bathrooms, spacious room, great price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Aug 2017
8.6

Nice hostel with helpful staff. Small kitchen but lovely atmosphere in it. Fanzy decorated hostel. Size room is okay, mattress too soft/thin. Handtowels changed regularly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Inverness Student Hotel. We are due a major refurbishment soon, this should help combat some of the issues raised in your review. We do hope to welcome you back sometime in the future to appreciate the changes. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Aug 2017
8.9

Nice hostel. We only stayed one night, but the staff was friendly and helpful. Had free city maps and things to do. The main complaint is that the beds were uncomfortable, but you got 2 pillows. Could use thicker curtains. The laundry service was cheap and well done (other than it said it would be folded, but was not). The rooms, bathrooms and kitchen were clean. It's in a central location and has free parking for the first 6 people. The continental breakfast was a 2£ cost and had the basics.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Inverness Student Hotel! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us for the most part. We are due a major refurbishment in later this year, and this should combat the issues raised in your review. Many apologies that your laundry was not folded! We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future to appreciate the changes. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jul 2017
7.7

Great: - atmosphere in common room - location, views - helpful staff Bad: - old carpets - narrow corridors - weird sheets

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2017
8.0

Decent hostel in a great location. Mostly young people (which I am decidedly not!) but very friendly. Beds are not super-comfortable, but adequate. No lockers in rooms, but they will lock your valuables up for you at the front desk. Nice common areas, smallish kitchen. Free WiFi throughout the building. Walk to everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Inverness Student Hotel. We so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We are due a major refurbishment later this year, and hope to welcome you back sometime in the future to appreciate the changes. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
8.3

I've enjoyed my 4 nights stay at Inverness Hostel , it is really conveniently located within walking distance to the city centre and a few seconds walk to Inverness Castle with great views! It's a very basic hostel with sufficient hostel so don't expect too much, there's only 3 showers and 2 bathrooms so be prepared to wait. Definitely go for the full breakfast which only costs £2.00 and they have delicious freshly baked scones too! The staffs were friendly and were willing to help as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Inverness Student Hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us, for the most part. We try to inform our guests of our facilities upon check in, as we have toilets and showers both upstairs and downstairs (5 of each in total), and can only apologise. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms and hope to welcome you back sometime in the future to appreciate the changes. All the best with your travels!

15th Jul 2017
7.7

Decent cozy hostel, very clean kitchen and bathrooms. Staff was helpful and pleasant. Right near down town. Could be improved with room lockers, reading lights, and some newer mattresses. Also a little expensive compared to Edinburgh

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so happy you enjoyed your time here. We are due a major refurbishment towards the end of this year, and this should combat many of the issues raised in your review. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future to appreciate the changes. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Jul 2017
9.7

great atmosphere and fantastic location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so happy you enjoyed your time here. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2017
7.7

Well it was just a night stay. Staffs were very helpful and friendly. The lounge and dining area is lovely. Kitchen is well equipped and they provide good breakfast. However, they can improve the rooms and toilet/ shower facilities. The room doors can be equipped with security codes rather than keys. Thanks a lot for the stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so happy you enjoyed your time here. We are due a major refurbishment towards the end of this year, and this should combat many of the issues raised in your review. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future to appreciate the changes. Safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.