Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Inverness Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 3057 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 3057 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
7.1

Inverness Tourist Hostel has the Bare Necessities. I only paid £12 for the night so I really couldn't complain. It was a bed to sleep in and a bathroom across the hall. The people I shared my room with were respectful, the staff, consisting of the one guy at reception, was friendly. I couldn't seem to find any common place for people to hang out in but I didn't look very hard. If you're on a budget and just need somewhere to rest your head, this is perfect, but don't look for much else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
6.0

Hmm, difficult to say anything about this hostel, I stayed just night, but... It is rather basic hostel, small dormitory rooms (my 4 beds was small), creaking beds, bathroom average, kitchen is small. Location is good, just around the corner you have city centre, bus and railway station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2017
5.1

Location and security was nice, the hostel was right next to the bus terminal as well as a supermarket, and 5-10 min walk from city centre, museums, river and castle. However, I did not see any signs of the toilets and showers being cleaned for a long time. There was barely any soap left, the towels were often left on the floor and seemed really dirty, and overall the the facilities just seemed a little undercleaned. The pillow also smelled, and the beds were super noisy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2017
8.3

Great location, facilities were fine. Staff was friendly. Great kitchen and recreation room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
5.4

Bathroom and shower doors can be easily unlocked from the outside, things are dirty and old, sheets didn't for the beds, blinds didn't close and lockers were very small- I couldn't fit any bag in there. Also, only 1 plug in my 8-bed dorm worked. The punch-code to open the front door changes every few days, so I was locked out my second day. You need to make sure that on those days (apparently they put up signs) you get back before reception closes, or you will be locked out for the night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
6.6

Not a bad experience, but could have been better. The rooms were a bit congested and the bathrooms on our floor weren't super clear and had no hot water supply. Toilets are too small, but isn't the end of the world. Kitchen is alright. Right next to the parking which makes it more convenient. Good for the value.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
9.1

Great location next to train and bus station. Central City area two blocks away. Staff informative handle my few problems courtesly.Location clean nice staff and inexpensive what hostel are all about.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • petragurney309539
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jun 2017
8.9

The atmosphere loved as met a lot of people and the staffs were helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
6.9

Very good location but be aware that the wifi is NOT reliable here! It didn't reach to our room and it didn't even work in the common space in the evening when most people were there. The router just couldn't support that amount of activity. If you want to book things (like we did) when you are there please have a back up plan since you may not be able to do it from the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jun 2017
6.6

Great location: just a short walk from the train and coach stations There are not enough toilets and shower places in the building, and the toilets and shower places are very small. As a result, they are also very dirty due to heavy use. Tips: there is a huge bathroom with toilets at the end of the corridor on the second floor There are nothing much to see in the city but Inverness is a good place for exploring the Scottish Highlands

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.