X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Inverness Tourist Hostel Reviews

24 Rose Street, Inverness, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
2669 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The location is stellar. The hostel is within walking distance of both the train and bus station. And is not very far from the tourism information centre. The staff were VERY helpful and accommodating. They were a great help when it came to organizing a trip to see Nessie! (She is real.) Awesome place, if I'm ever in Inverness again, I'm 100% staying there!

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you so much for the wonderful comments! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are so happy that you had a good stay! Hopefully we will see you again in the future. I hope you enjoyed meeting Nessie :) Linzi - Customer Services

89%

I never stay anywhere else in Inverness

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Happy to see that we are your first choice for accommodation when you're in Inverness! Glad that you always enjoy your stay and hopefully we will continue to ensure your patronage. Linzi - Customer Services

86%

Kitchen cupboard fronts are beginning to fall off.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to comment, especially to let us know about the kitchen cupboards. Please accept our apologies for this - we will be sure to let maintenance know so that this can be fixed as soon as possible! Glad to see that you enjoyed the location, staff, safety, facilities and cleanliness of the hostel! Hope to see you again soon! Linzi - Customer Services

97%

Amazing staff!! Great social atmosphere. I can't recommend the Inverness tourist hostel enough. Had a amazing stay!!

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Wow thank you so much for the great review! It is very much appreciated. So happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon! Linzi - Customer Services

89%

A good hostel is generally made up of great staff and good common areas and this place has both. I loved it and would definitely stay here again or recommend to any body else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there So happy to see that you enjoyed your stay! We do try to make the hostels very welcoming for everyone so I am happy to see that you loved the staff and common areas. Thank you for taking the time to comment - we hope to see you again soon! Linzi - Customer Services

86%

First time staying in a hostel, I had an amazing time and met brilliant people who I plan to keep in touch with. The hostel staff were very friendly and I didn't have any problems, I may be coming back to Inverness and if I do, I'll definitely be staying here. Thank you!

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there So happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and even made some new friends! We do strive to make our hostel as welcoming as possible with the common areas bringing everyone together, so I am very glad that this worked well for you and your new friends! We really appreciate you taking the time to add your comments and look forward to having you again in the future! Linzi - Customer Services

54%

Bad beds (they gnashed the whole night). Even the hostel have 5 bathrooms, just 2 were working when I was there. And one shower was broken so was very complicated have a shower. Looks that nobody maintains the building.

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I can assure you that our hostels are most certainly maintained, and usually to a very high standard. However, it can be hard to maintain such high standards during extremely busy periods. Had you let our friendly reception staff know that there were issues with cleanliness, they would have been happy to have the cleaners deep clean the toilets and showers. Our maintenance staff have since corrected any issues with broken showers, also. Once again, thank you for your comments and hopefully these issues will not put you off booking with us again. Linzi - Customer Services

60%

Positive: The staff was very friendly and helpful. localization is also good. Negative: We where in 4 people, our room was very dirty with items from previous guests, most of the bathroom on our floor was broken and out of use. Beds make annoying noise when you move. Not a very good experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there I am disappointed to see that you did not enjoy the entire experience with us. This is certainly not up to our usual standards and I can only apologise for this. It is unacceptable that your room was dirty, and certainly unacceptable that there were items left in the room by previous guests. I will be contacting the cleaning team to ensure that this never happens again! I do thank you for your comments and appreciate your honesty and drawing our attention to the terrible room that greeted you. I am very disappointed with this, but I can assure you that this is NOT our usual standard of care and we certainly hope that this experience does not put you off booking again! Linzi - Customer Services

91%

Great place to stay! Would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there That's fab - so happy to see that you enjoyed your experience with us! I do hope that you book with us again if you are ever in Scotland in the future! Linzi - Customer Services

69%

Functional Place. Excellent value for money. Far too many beds per room.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel was a great place to stay a had a fantastic time the safe where great

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Average score since arrive 2330, left 0615 so didn't see. web needs to tell guests kitchen open 0800-2200, reception shut 2300 so no access unless guest has key code. I'd rather spend £15 at Bazpackers than £10 here.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

It really felt like a community. Since I spent the hidays here away from home I felt very welcome by the staff, special shoutout to Beth and good luck with the coloring book club!

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is located very close to the train/bus stations. Bars, restaurants and grocery stores are all within 5 minutes walk. The kitchen is fully stocked (refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave) with free tea/coffee all day long. The WiFi is only available in the kitchen and common room. There are not many toilets and showers, especially when Nessie has broken a couple. But in low season it wasn't an issue.


80%

Lovely atmosphere the staff were very accommodating. Hostel is a bit run down though but would still stay there again.


80%

Difficult to find but amazing hostel for travellers.


60%

Not entirely a huge fan of this hostel. Of all the hostels I've stayed in, this is the least comfortable one - sleep wise. The beds were not comfy at all, and I can usually sleep anywhere so long as I'm lying down. And they squeakeeven if you tried to move your head. The bathrooms had peeling paint and a bit of mold along the walls but the shower was clean and had hot water at least. The couches in the lounge also squeak. This is a safe and secure location though, no worries on that end. And th


100%

Everything was for 100 %, so I cannot say nothing more

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel is in a great location as I arrived by train. The bus station is even closer. Great value for the money I paid, but the hostel is a little run down. It is reasonably clean but quite a few handles on doors / lockers were broken. Soap dispensers not working either. It just needs a little maintenance that's all. My bed was very comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. I will continue to stay here, hopefully next time the problems I have highlighted will be sorted.


80%

Well located hostel with really friendly staff and good kitchen facilities. Downside was the 6 bed dorm I stayed in was really cramped and the shower was not very hot or powerful.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(102 results)


View all Inverness Hostels

Please give us your feedback