X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Inverness Tourist Hostel Reviews

24 Rose Street, Inverness, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
2434 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Our stay here was just a stop over, the location was good for that for using public transport, but it's not a scenic location and would really be for convenience only! Hostel was adequate, nothing outstanding but it did the job for our stop over. Staff were nice!


57%

The receptionist was very friendly but there was no tourist maps left at reception which I find annoying as a traveller. There was not one power outlet in the bedroom that we could find in our 8 bed dorm. There was only 3 toilets and 3 showers for the whole floor, which caused a major queue in the morning and one of the lights in the bathroom was broken so had to bring a flashlight..They were also dirty and mouldy. The lockers were all broken. Beds were very squeaky but were comfortable though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, If there was no power outlet all you had to do was ask! We have spares as sometimes these outlets get moved around or break. The light should have been fixed and we apologise for this, but all bathroom lights are now working. However, they are all freshly painted and mould should not be a problem. We are in the process of replacing locks as guests have repeatedly forgotten to leave the keys when checking out, leaving us with a dilemma! This shouldn't be a problem within a week or so.

97%

This hostel is awesome:-) the staff are very and helpful and down to earth:-) kitchen was fine and so to was the common room which even boasts piano, the internet wad very fast and reliable,would stay again!!


86%

It was a great hostel in that the location and staff were amazing! However, the paint was peeling in our rooms and the mattresses were bending in the middle - it needs a little more upkeep.


100%

Great hostel, the staff are super friendly and ready to help. Facilities were good too.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

ok place.


71%

Loved the location and helpful staff. However I put some food in the fridge at 10:30pm when the kitchen closes and was here at 8am when it opens but half of my food had been eaten, so take care if u have easy to eat good food.


77%

Bring your own towels and shampoo, but this place is convenient to bus and train stations....Morrisons nearby.


20%

This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. It is run down, shabby and SO dirty. We were told we couldn't have a room key when we arrived because they had run out - so has to rely on other people in the dorm to be there to let us in! The bed sheets were dirty and smelt awful - we watched different people come and go and the beds stay un changed - we slept in our clothes! The bathrooms were mouldy, the beds were rickety and none of the windows closed. Do not stay here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
we are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the hostel we did have an issue with keys for one of the rooms but that has been taken care off sheets are changed after every stay and sent to the laundry. All windows do close and are checked every week.Thank you for your comments and mould will be removed from the one shower asap.

94%

Near to the station and bus.


26%

Toilets and showers were unclean and smelled poorly. The bedding was very old and ratty and needs to be replaced. The hostel room doors did not lock which was not safe. The beds were squeaky and the pillows were too flat.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Toilets and showers are cleaned everyday toilets checked every hour bedding is renewed every year and all the bedroom doors lock do not understand why you have given such a bad review we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay but we do have so many happy guests who have enjoyed their stay.

91%

The hostel has a guitar and piano available - super awesome! The bus station is literally a 2min walk, and for those who come by car, there is a free night parking spot just in front of the hostel. I just thought the huge sign saying "Hostel" should mention it is the "Tourist Hostel"... It is not very clear! Otherwise very cool! The Wi-Fi could be a bit faster, though. We really liked Lynn :)


46%

Great location if you need bus station.But it is in a location in town with only a couple bars and few cafes. We were only there one night and didn't get to explore much of Inverness which was far, but for our transportation needs it was great. Passcode to get in is great,but locks on room doors were loud and hard to open and thus kept waking up everyone at night, bathrooms scarse,had no maps and no change for our payment,had to keep searching out the receptionist.no personal bag hold with lock.


43%

Hostel had some kind of moldy/ damp smell to it; smell in room wasn't as strong as in the halls. Room was horrible! Stains on the carpet, mold on the ceiling, mattress and comforter were almost brown with stains! We didn't even want to touch anything! The shared bathroom was just alright but none of the three of us dared to shower in them. We were so disgusted by the place that we left as early the next morning as we could!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. I'm not sure what you mean by smells in the halls- no one has ever said anything of the sort to us before. We change our mattresses as much as any other hostel does. The shared bathroom was alright, but you didn't want to shower? It's fine, it doesn't bite. We would really appreciate it if instead of running away you might have shared with us your concerns at the time and we may have been able to come up with a solution. We don't bite either...

71%

The location is super close to the bus station and an Iceland. We arrived early and were able to store our bags securely until check in. The internet was down and didn't work at all for the first 24hrs of our stay and the eftpos machine was also not working at the time and were required to pay cash. The kitchen was relatively well stocked but got extremely busy prior to 9:30 am. It would be less crowded if it opened at 7am rather than 8am. It would be better value if breakfast was included.


66%

Incredibly noisy at night due to being next to a parking lot that the locals apparently use as a street racing track at night. In the 4 nights of my stay I barely got any sleep (and the window of the room was broken and couldn't be closed, making the situation even worse). The staff were friendly and welcoming, the location is great (right next to the bus station) but the beds were so rickety and squeaky, there weren't anywhere near enough bathrooms, and not enough power outlets for charging.


69%

I cannot say it was smashing. The bunks were a bit unstable and rickety. The bathrooms are few and far between for it's max capacity of fifty guests. So is the space in the kitchen, which is shut between 10PM-8AM. But the location is unbeatable if you need an early bus or train as Inverness is a cute wonderful Scottish town, but you will also need it as a hub to isle of Skye, loch ness or Ullapool. Therefore it was acceptable as a single night of stay and I might come again.


86%

Keybox for early depargtures is open to all which is why I shoved my key under reception door. A sealed, locked drop box would be better.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

I had a very drunk individual in my room who drank in the room, spilled punch all over the floor, made lots of noise very late at night, and created a large hole in the kitchen wall. The management staff felt bad for the individual, so let him carry on, but I think he needed alcohol counseling more than a cheap place to stay long-tern. Other than the experiences with that individual, the place was cozy, the bathroom and showers were adequate, and the daily key-code for entry made the place safe.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great staff. Super helpful and nice. A bit of a hippie vibe to the place. Large clean kitchen and good lounge area. A little skimpy on toilets and showers though. Great location. Really, really great location.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(90 results)


View all Inverness Hostels

Please give us your feedback