X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Inverness Tourist Hostel Reviews

24 Rose Street, Inverness, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1908 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Boring but clean. The staff were not friendly whatsoever (except the girl with glasses, don't know her name but she was nice). Also, the doors for the rooms don't lock automatically so you have to rely on the other people in the room to lock the door when they leave which no one ever did. Literally right beside the bus station which is always a bonus but Inverness is quite tiny and everything is within walking distance so I likely won't stay here again, sorry.


69%

It was extremely hot and extremely noisy.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oh no- we are really sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay here with us. The heating hasn'nt been switched on for a few moths now that it is summer, so we are confused as to why it was extremely hot, and our guests in the evening are book reading blanket and hot chocolate types but we understand doors may bang during busy toilet rushes in the A.M.s All that said, thank you kindly for taking the time to leave your review.

69%

Room was very small, not much room for four pieces of luggage. Location is beyond excellent as its just around the corner from bus and train stations. It has lockers in the room, but out of 4 one you could not lock at all and the other one did not stay locked (at least not with my padlock).


89%

Very nice place to stay, near the train and bus station. Friendly staff and nice atmosphere.


97%

Nothing to complain about, fairly standard hostel. The rooms are rather small but clean, bathrooms were decent too. Nice little chillout lounge and super close to the bus station. This is very handy if you're traveling around. 1 minute from town, so can't beat the location.


60%

We liked the hostel and the atmosphere, but the showers were cold. There were only mirrors and sinks in the toilets (and there were only a couple of toilets, so in the morning you had to wait for quite a long time to use the toilet...). Kitchen facilities were good and the location was near the city center. Staff was okay.


71%

In theory the staff should be present until 23h but this was not the case. If unexpectatly arriving after 22h30 or so, it is impossible to enter the hostel since you lack the code. You should call ahead to get the code, which is not always evident.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Pros: super close to the bus station, nice and clean, lovely staff, great kitchen, close to a good supermarket, nice common room, basically a really good base to explore around the area, great value. And free tea! Cons: not enough showers (I could barely shower at all on my last morning as I waited 20 minutes and it was stone cold!), no blinds on the windows (sun sets at 11pm and rises at 4am-bring an eye mask!) Overall I had a lovely relaxing time at this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and your kind words, we are sorry that we can not fit more showers into the building, all rooms do have curtains but blinds would be a good idea! thanks Please pop by again soon.

86%

Room was clean, staff was friendly, bed was comfortable, and the locker in the room worked well. However, the sign on the building did not match the name listed online, and caused some confusion while trying to locate the hostel.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We'd never stayed at this hostel before and we were more than pleasantly surprised. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the location couldn't have been more central or easier to find and the hostel was well kept and fully kitted out! We would totally recommend this hostel!

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awwwwwww ta chums!! please come visit us again!! Thank you kindly for a lovely review

89%

Awesome location , literally 10 sec away from Inverness main bus station, Staff very friendly and helpful great experience

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your fab feedback, lovely having you! please come visit again soon!

94%

Great place to stay

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

In a room for 10 people there was only one power outlet. Not really what I expected from a hostel. But the staff were nice and it was cheap.

Owner Comment (Hide)
No way!! -gutted- you should have come told us we would have given you an extention lead, but plug sockets are lower down on walls- next time we'll show you, don't be afraid to ask us anything! Pop over again sometime. Thank you for your feedback

77%

Nice hostel, good atmosphere

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you kindly for your feedback

74%

Not enough showers, some additional sinks would be helpful as well, the fact that the kitchen is closed during the night is inconvenient. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry that we can not fit any more bathroom/washrooms in our building, we understand as all staff live here too. The kitchen has to close during the night for saftey but we do have tea and coffee through in the lounge for all guests to enjoy. Thank you kindly for your review.

100%

Stayed there just for one night, but it was nice. Good showers, lockers in the room. The room was very small, but it is really cheap. Great location.


89%

Great staff that gives you a warm welcome. It has a very nice atmosphere, especially the living room and the kitchen. Only thing that is a bit annoying is that there are no separate places with sinks to wash your face etc. There are only showers and toilets with sinks. For the rest, really nice hostel.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff was friendly and helpful (especially with a bicycle). Location is excellent, as I was able to reach everything I wanted to reach easily. I recommend the hostel as a good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely comments, and please we hope that you will come visit us super soon!!

83%

The staff were great. Even though our plane got delayed and we wouldn't get there until after the front desk closed for the night they were kind and made it possible for us to check in anyway. So grateful!


60%

I know hostels are cheap because of large number of people are sharing one room and bathroom but only 3 toilets and 3 showers for 30+ people? In fact 2 single toilets, 2 single showers 1 shower&toilet making the waiting time unbearable if you need a pea in the mooring. And they have run out of toilet roll on two toilets grrr. A bit disappointed. In full season this hostel must me overcrowded and in that small kitchen for 20 people must be hell to make yourself a tea in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay here with us, as we live here full time, and do not have staff facilities we understand there may be periods in the day whereby people may need to wait for a free bathroom, however we do have five working showers and five working bathrooms. Our kitchen is not the largest, but at least clean & tidy. We understand, which is why we have tea making facilities in the lounge available 24 hours. Thank you for your feed back.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(118 results)


View all Inverness Hostels

Please give us your feedback