Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Inverness Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 2987 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 2987 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2017
6.0

Disappointing, the place could do with a lick of paint, inside and out. Toilets and showers bad and not enough of them.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st May 2017
6.6

Please put some clothangers up on the wall Nowere to hang clothes Kitchen was a mess Wifi very bad

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • sydneyakaleah5867
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
16th May 2017
9.4

The location is absolutely marvelous, right by the bus station! The rooms and facilities were clean; however, it would have have been nice if the kitchen would have been opened earlier than 8am, so that the earlier risers could access the fridge and such.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th May 2017
7.7

It was easy to find though somewhat nerve-wracking to go through a weird alley to find it. The staff were helpful but there didn't seem to be any way to store huge luggage and the rooms had small lockers that were always fully taken despite the fact that they matched the number of people in the room. The wifi in my room was non-existent despite the fact that there was a wireless router right outside but the bathroom facilities were clean and roomy. It's a nice place to crash for a night or two.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
9th May 2017
7.7

Good hostel, great kitchen, chilled out people, nice staff. Security does suck though. They change the door code to enter the hostel every few days but the rooms have keys and I was the only person in my room of 8 that actually locked the door, and as there were no lockers for bags anyone could have taken anything. Also heaps of thieves in terms of the kitchen. Lost half of my food even though it was labelled. Security sucks but the hostel is great otherwise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th May 2017
5.7

Bed lining have not been changed for each visitor. I had hairs on pillow from previous visitor and beds were not changed for anothers as well. Toilets... dirt under sinks, floor and skirting boards. No lockers in a room for personal belongings. Only two plugs in dorm of 6. The kitchen is locked between 22.3o- 8.00 and you don't have access to food and no chance to make coffee or tea if you need before 8am, most fridges are filled up with staff's food and a little space left for visitors.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2017
7.7

Very nice hostel with a relatively nice staff! The main problems were the showers and toilet (few showers and toilets for many people, and very old facilities, almost no hot water :/ ) and the windows in the rooms didn't close properly so it was very cold (especially with thin blankets)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your review, the showers and toilets have all been replaced but when the hostel is busy there can sometimes be issues with the water so apologies for this. We will be looking to expand in the near future and new facilities will be added. Kindr regards, Dylan Weldon Office Manager

23rd Apr 2017
6.6

The location and the staff were great. Everything else was unfortunate. I wouldn't recommend staying more than a couple nights

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I am sorry to hear that your stay with us wasnt as expected. If there was anything that you werent happy with the staff wouldve been more than willing to help out. Kind regards, Dylan Weldon Office Manager

16th Apr 2017
6.9

The location in front of a supermarket and nearby the city centre is good. The staff is ok. The beds were pretty uncomfortable. If you want to start early, it is a minus that the kitchen opens at 8 am. The living room is nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we always check the mattresses in the rooms to ensure all are suitable for our guests so apologies you didn't find this comfortable. At the moment the kitchen is only accessible between 8 and 11pm, this may be something that we look to change in the future so thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Dylan Weldon Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Apr 2017
6.0

Queues in the mornings for toilets and showers, there must have been barely enough toilets per guest to meet the legal minimum which I believe is 20 to 1, most hostels provide much more. Didn't help that none of them seemed particularly clean but that may have been down to how many people there were per toilet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we do have toilets on each floor but I appreciate it can be hassle when guests need to leave by a certain time and all want to use the showers. We are hoping to renovate in the future and there will be additional bathrooms/showers added. We do have a rota for cleaning the toilets every hour but depending if there is a queue for this then guests will just want to get it done as soon as possible. Kind regards, Dylan Weldon Office Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.