X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Inverness Tourist Hostel Reviews

24 Rose Street, Inverness, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1744 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

We had a good stay here. It's in a very good location and the staff are really friendly. The rooms do get quite hot at night but other than that it's a great hostel.


80%

wifi extended to work upstairs would be good and also if the kitchen was available earlier in the morning - from 0600/0700?

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

They claim to have parking, which is not true. You can park in the parking opposite of it, which belongs to some shops. You have to pay from 7am-7pm and it closes over night (according to a sign). We were lucky it was not closed because we had to leave early in the morning. No need to say that it was annoying to not have parking (at the hostel) when it says so on the internet!!! the receptionist was not really helpful - only told us that she does not drive and hence does not know.


94%

we had a great nights stay, we had two young children with us and the girl who greeted us made sure that the children were part of the conversation too. When we had a visit to see the dolphins, she remembered and asked the children if they had seen any. The room we were in was great, and just what we required

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is very good, it was a great experience to stay there, and specially the fact that it is exactly next to the bus station really helped and made it comfortable! :) the place is lively and people are really nice, totally recommend!

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Me and my friends were very pleased with this hostel. We had such a great time there, and the staff are really nice! Genuine people. The atmosphere was amazing, people always laughing and smiling, it was great. Definitely staying again!

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel centrally located. The staff are nice good kitchen and lounge. However it seemed to be mostly full of long term guests making it hard to meet people. Also my first night 3 people checked in at 1am waking me up as they entered the room turning on lights etc and also some smart arse decided to pull all the lights chords out of the ceiling leaving the entire hostel with no bathrooms for a day, but these things were not the hostels fault. All in all a nice place to stay.


69%

Don't take the 4 bed dorm if you want any sleep. The wall between toilets and the room is wafer thin. You can hear everything! I know we live in tough economic times but is it necessary to turn the heating off at night?! If you are a deaf penguin then this room is perfect, otherwise choose another room. Rest of the hostel and staff were good

  • 11th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

A great budget place to stay -very good staff at reception.Comfy beds and hot showers.Easy to find and central.

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

it was good to find a stay for short time.

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

FALSE ADVERTISING! The only reason we chose this hostel was because on the description they say they have free walking tours and bicycles for the guests to use for free. When we arrived and asked for that, the member of the staff didn't even know about any of those things, and that's because it's on the main description of the hostel. Very disappointing. False advertising, (The 4 bed room we stayed it's very tiny too)


97%

This place exceeded my expectations from some of the older reviews. Talking to the staff it seems like management has changed recently and they have really done a great job with the place. The atmosphere is great and had no troubles making friends and finding things to do. The staff were very friendly and always willing to answer questions. The only problem I had was the place was always freezing but luckily the blankets they provide offer a lot of warmth!


91%

Excellent choice, clean and quiet, nice staff, plenty of toiletes and showers. Comfortable common room, a bit cold though.

  • 21st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is worth going. It is well located and has very nice staff. And it is Cheap.

  • 16th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

For the price is not that bad. Kitchen is pretty good. Quite a few random types of people there, but all good folk.


100%

Great hostel, great staff, affordable. Would go back!


80%

Staff here were great, Rick took us out for a pint when he got off for the night. Met some awesome people that I ended up travelling the highland with


80%

Security: The entrance requires passcode to enter. The lock of my room was broken. Location: The bus stop is just around the corner, and very close to the city center. Staff: Very nice, friendly and helpful Atmosphere: Not great, but expected for the price. Cleanliness: Had no problems with cleanliness. Toilets and showers were very clean. Value for money: It's a good deal for this price! Facilities: Well-equipped kitchen. Quite a few toilets and showers were out of order at the time.


91%

Had a good time here, staff were great. Great hiking in lochness near by. Special shout out to long stay Andy aka Tommy! Legend


71%

Worth for the money. Pros: Close to the bus station and city center. Clean toilettes and showers. The staff was really great. Cons: It's really cold in the rooms. The kitchen closes after 10 PM. No breakfast included Overall great experience for a couple of nights.


(63 results)


View all Inverness Hostels

Please give us your feedback