Hostelworld.com

Ipanema Beach House

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 373 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 373 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.2
Ipanema Beach House Located at Rua Barao da Torre, 485, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro.
Ipanema Beach House
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro Rua Barao da Torre, 485, Ipanema
84% 373
-22.9830885 -43.2064819
Ipanema Beach House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lujenny4718
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Apr 2016
8.0

I really enjoyed my stay at Ipanema Beach House. The location is only a couple of blocks from ipanema beach and very safe. I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm and we had air conditioning which was a relief as Rio is always hot! The staff were alright, when I needed to do laundry and asked if there was one nearby. The response was "Yes, there is one nearby" before she went to help someone else. I ended up looking for one on my phone. Regardless I would stay here again for sure!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
9.7

Great place to stay met a great bike guide there called Vitor Alkaim. Knows all the hidden waterfalls literally 15 mins on bike from the hostel. A real genuine guy with a heart of gold even told me I didn't have to pay for a tour but I still gave him some money. Add him on FB or ring him direct speaks great English. ‪+55 21 98119‑8291‬

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2016
5.4

There is no key to enter the bedroom, so anyone can do it and take your personal things. Cleaning does not exist in both bedrooms and bathrooms. You should pray you don´t get the highest bed in bunk beds (3 levels), otherwise you´ll hit your head against the ceiling whe you wake up. There´s an awesome backyard which can not be used after 10 PM, which is the best moment to have a beer and relax. I´m sure you can find a much better place for less or the same price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2016
9.7

Dorms very. Very cramped

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2016
8.6

Great hostel in a cool location. Definitely a safer part of Rio. Hostel design in interesting and quirky and the beds were comfy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
31st Jan 2016
9.1

This is a great hostel. We stayed here a few days before and during carnaval. The rooms are nice. The beds are good. The bathroom on the first floor wasn't the best but it's oke. The showers at the back are much better. There are two nice relaxing areas. One in the front and one at the back of the hostel. There is a pool of good size at the back too. The staff was helpful and kind. And breakfast was good. The location is good especially if your goal is to visit the beaches.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • danieload380
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
31st Jan 2016
7.7

Location is great and there is a pool, hammocks and a nice garden to relax. The staff, late afternoon and night, is great (the girl in the morning proved herself kind of snobish or bored, not-in-the-mood). The room was furnished w/ 3-floor bunk beds very high, lockers and no air-condiotioning, 2 fans instead, but it's ok, it is not a hotel. The price is not that good for Brazilians, but I think is worth for those who come from US or EURO currency countries.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Jan 2016
7.7

Good place to explore Rio and to hide from the rain!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jan 2016
3.1

If you love cockroaches, mosquitoes, no air conditioning, and unfriendly staff, then this is the place for you. Horrible cramped rooms with no ventilation and a laughable fan in the corner was all that greeted us on arrival, as well as the incredibly rude staff. Seriously this place is a joke, especially for the extortionate prices they charge. It's one saving grace was the location; luckily for them Ipanema is a great district to be in, so stay there, but in literally any other hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2016
7.1

Good looking hostel in a great upscale location in Ipanema. Lots of communal space to mingle with fellow travelers during the day by the pool or evenings in the front yard. It would be all good IF it was not for the bathroom in the main building, the only 1 for 5 dorms (30 people). It was not dirty, it was filthy, sticky floor, bin overflowing with toilet paper, etc! Note that when I was there (January) the vast majority of the guests were from Argentina & Chile, with Spanish the main language.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.