Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ipanema Beach House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 447 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 447 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 8.1
Ipanema Beach House Located at Rua Barao da Torre, 485, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro.
Ipanema Beach House
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro Rua Barao da Torre, 485, Ipanema
83% 447
-22.9830885 -43.2064819
Ipanema Beach House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lucypendlebury
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
7.4

Rio was my first stop in a tour around South America, I had booked the hostel hoping to meet some people to experience and explore Rio with. During my stay most of the other guests were Brazilians on mini bread who had as little English as I do Portuguese, this made for a lonely stay but some of the staff were lovely and all in all it's a nice place. I loved the outdoors spaces and found the wifi good. Could do with more than one bathroom upstairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Jochophosho
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Nov 2016
7.4

Atmosphere was lacking. Breakfast was decent, bread and cheese People tend to keep to themselves. Receptionist Judy (Julie?) Was very helpful in helping me set up a Sim. Not too many cheap restaurants nearby, but maybe that's just Rio being bloody expensive. Very close to Ipanema beach and 20 min by taxi to all other attractions

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Oct 2016
9.7

Great location just a few blocks from the beach. Lots of restaurants and shops near by and very safe neighbourhood. Not too far from the metro either. Breakfast is pretty limited though seems to be the standard of the rest of Brazil. Hardly any space in the rooms though (we were in a 9 bed with triple bunks)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Oct 2016
8.3

Good location, next to restaurants, not far from the subway (Line 4 - Nossa Seniora de la Paz station). Not much space in the dorm. Good size locker but padlock not provided. Moist smell in the dorm and in the showers. Nice pool and backyard area. They offer a large choice of bevrages and have fresh caipirinhas to purchase. The music was a bit loud to my taste. This is a party guest house. Definetely go for this one if you're a party-goer. Easy to make friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2016
9.1

Great location, right in between Ipanema beach and the lake. Close to bars, restaurants and market. You can also get to the bars and restaurants in Leblon with a quick Uber ride or in Lapa throgh the subway station nearby. Staff was good and the guests were mostly young travelers looking for some party. Breakfast was bit poor though and the rooms couldn't be locked, so you had to lock everything into the locker. Would definitely stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 37 reviews
8th Sep 2016
6.3

One of the grubbier hostels we have stayed in - don't think toilets and kitchen cleaned that often, and the fridge desperately needs cleaning out! We had a strange woman that continued to walk in and out of our room because she had apparently been given the hammock on the balcony to sleep in, thought that was a bit weird. Breakfast was good and location is great. Wifi hit and miss in rooms. Way overpriced for what it was but so is everywhere in Rio I guess!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • hollyqk6903
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Sep 2016
7.7

Loved the pool area of this hostel which was like a mini oasis in the middle of the city. Breakfast on the terrace by the pool is a great way to start the day! Kitchen has all the amenities you could want. Dorms are good with big lockers, but has the usual Brazilian 3 bunk beds which is a little bit annoying! Wasn't the most lively hostel and found people tend to keep to themselves so there wasn't much socialising. We still made some good friends there however.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Aug 2016
5.4

One toilet for 26 people on the floor. Staff seemed to be bothered that there are guests around

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
8.0

Great location, lovely helpful staff and a nice layout. The rooms aren't the most comfy and having triple bunk beds can be a bit of a shock but in general it's worth it for the nice laid back vibe and great location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Jul 2016
10.0

Amazing! Really cool hostel. Staff were awesome. High recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.