Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ipanema Beach House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 478 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 478 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
6th Mar 2017
8.3

I've had better breakfasts, facilities are a little run down and bathrooms are sort of dirty. Otherwise great vibe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.4

Lovely staff with a friendly atmosphere. Lovely balconies with hammocks for chilling and great facilities. Best hostel in rio!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Feb 2017
9.4

Nice hostel in a good area, felt quite safe walking around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jan 2017
9.4

Fantastic hostel! I stayed here for 6 days and absolutely loved it. A great place to meet fellow travelers and make lifelong friends. The pool is wonderful and a great hang out out spot during the day. It closes at 10pm which is unfortunate but you can hang out in the front area. There is usually a group of people that goes out together at night which is sweet! Location is great, close walk to the beach. The hostel could offer better details for multiple night stays. Do the surf tour!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
4.3

One of the dirtiest and smallesg hostels I've been to. AC kinda works but only the first and second lowest beds. The highest one is really hot because the air ventilation is horrible. Also, if you're worried about Zika virus, don't stay in communal spaces. It turned out airbnb is a cheaper and cleaner option.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Dec 2016
9.1

Many reviews say that it is impossible to make friends and that there are too many non English speakers... A way to overcome this... Jump in that amazing pool and talk to people!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lucypendlebury
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
7.4

Rio was my first stop in a tour around South America, I had booked the hostel hoping to meet some people to experience and explore Rio with. During my stay most of the other guests were Brazilians on mini bread who had as little English as I do Portuguese, this made for a lonely stay but some of the staff were lovely and all in all it's a nice place. I loved the outdoors spaces and found the wifi good. Could do with more than one bathroom upstairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Jochophosho
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Nov 2016
7.4

Atmosphere was lacking. Breakfast was decent, bread and cheese People tend to keep to themselves. Receptionist Judy (Julie?) Was very helpful in helping me set up a Sim. Not too many cheap restaurants nearby, but maybe that's just Rio being bloody expensive. Very close to Ipanema beach and 20 min by taxi to all other attractions

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Oct 2016
9.7

Great location just a few blocks from the beach. Lots of restaurants and shops near by and very safe neighbourhood. Not too far from the metro either. Breakfast is pretty limited though seems to be the standard of the rest of Brazil. Hardly any space in the rooms though (we were in a 9 bed with triple bunks)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Oct 2016
8.3

Good location, next to restaurants, not far from the subway (Line 4 - Nossa Seniora de la Paz station). Not much space in the dorm. Good size locker but padlock not provided. Moist smell in the dorm and in the showers. Nice pool and backyard area. They offer a large choice of bevrages and have fresh caipirinhas to purchase. The music was a bit loud to my taste. This is a party guest house. Definetely go for this one if you're a party-goer. Easy to make friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.