X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ipanema Beach House Reviews

Rua Barao da Torre, 485, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
256 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I loved the Hostel!!! My favorite by far! Now, every time I'll go to Rio I'll stay in Ipanema Beach House!!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Clean and spacious, great breakfast, close to beach and shops, nice swimming pool area!


97%

Awesome location, plenty of showers, hammocks and a pool! The upstairs dorms have balconies with hammocks. Not a fan of 3 story bunks, but they did have a fan at ceiling level making sure the top dawg was plenty cool. Would definitely go back, loved that they served beer from the cooler!


94%

Friendly Staff, clean place, good location.... i would definitely go there again !


60%

They should renew their rooms and bathrooms.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
74%

Loved the location, the hostel itself was not bad at all, friendly staff. But I never had to do my own bed in a hostel, EVER!

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location, close to ipanema a beach. Great atmosphere in hostel for meeting other travellers, breakfast grand although one cleaner did steal my conditioner!!

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Location is excellent, just 3 blocks from ipanema's beach. Also it has a swimming pool and the atmosphere is great to meet people from all over the world. As well, it is worth mentiin that Ipanema is the best neighbourhood to stay, since it's secure and has all the fun, and the hostel it's located in the centre of it. I would definetely go back there.


86%

great place to stay. only a couple of blocks from Ipanema beach. would definitely recommend this place to others and if return to Rio would stay here again. One small gripe, not all the rooms have AC which can make the rooms a bit stuffy in the night.

  • 25th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Ipanema is very much the upper class part of Rio, you will feel very safe in this area. Hostel staff were friendly and the place has great facilities in respect to kitchen, pool area and space to lounge about. Recommend using the toilets and showers towards the back of the building, bathrooms in the main building are overused. The hostel organises daily activities at reasonable prices.


83%

The perfect location! Two blocks from both Ipanema beach and the Lagoa. The staff are really helpful too with whatever you need.

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I had a great time at Ipanema Beach House. The location was perfect for visitors to access the rest of Rio either through metro or taxis. Several stores and restaurants around Ipanema Beach House.

  • 11th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The beds and lockers could be in better conditions (not all lockers were able to lock). Breakfast could be a little earlier than offered, so that the guests that want to do early activity can start early the day. The facilities are not in the level of the price, but the location is very good. The staff is very gentle. In overall, the experience was good.


80%

The shared bathroom didn't have hot water and could be cleaner.


94%

I really had a great time there, it´s good for making friends and hang out, I recommend it.


74%

Met amazing people and had a brilliant time. The hostel wasn't perfect, but I've stayed in much worse places. I'd recommend it as a place to stay.

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

It was a great experience. I totally recommended it.. I would stay again in the same hostel. The people on the desk helped me a lot.


77%

I just stayed one night but i spent a good time. Neighbors were silent and breakfast was good enough. It is very well located!

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good safe area, nice hostel and good beds with decent sized lockers! Bathroom could have been a bit cleaner but overall a good place!


69%

Ok, but but beware of the triple bunks and don't go buying any tours or tickets from them. More of a relaxed hostel than social.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(188 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback