Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ipanema Beach House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 516 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 516 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Aug 2017
8.0

Great atmosphere - very close to the beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jordanpasss
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
4.3

The hostel focused its efforts on the staff and their friends. The staff didn't attempt to be inclusive. The rooms were overfilled and the hostel does not have enough facilities to accommodate enough people. Cleanliness wasn't there priority. Breakfast was poor. Staff do not provide helpful information to travellers as more than 5 people were robbed on the beach in the space of 3 days. .

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
8.0

Rooms pretty crowded and staff only semi-attentive, but can't beat the location and the pool area is great. Kitchen could be a bit bigger/more user friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jul 2017
8.0

Great location and the area feels safer than anywhere else we went in Rio. Especially For two girls in Rio.The metro is super Close too!It was quite clean as they were cleaning the rooms every day. Only thing was a bit of miscommunication as we had booked a transfer from the airport which never arrived and the language barrier made it difficult to communicate sometimes. We also booked ensuite and the shower and loo weren't working the first couple days! Other than that great!we're coming back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jul 2017
9.7

Fabulous hostel with great atmosphere and perfect location 3 blocks from the beach. Perfect for meeting people. Lovely staff especially Louisa, Laura and Isabela. I would definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Jun 2017
8.3

Great location, great staff also great value for money. Could be a little more cleaner and brekfast more organized.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Jun 2017
6.6

Our room was moist and smelled bad. It was only cleaned once after we asked several times and we stayed for 4 nights (reservation mistake) Maybe it is us getting old but intense music from 10 am to 10 pm in the common area was really annoying. Especially when you have a bar which is secluded from the rooms. On the positive side the breakfast was ok and th common area was nice, location was also great. I would only recommend this to backpackers who dont care abt cleanliness and just want to party

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Jun 2017
10.0

Amazing location, amazing staff- we loved it here!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Jun 2017
8.3

Awesome location!!! So close to the beach, shopping and some good coffee!!!! Spacious room and lockers are big enough to fit at least a 70L pack in it. Great atmosphere. Bartender makes amazing caipirinhas. The others we shared our room with we're very respectful. A great place to chill out and/or party. Staff a very helpful and give you a lot of information about what to do and what is coming up during the week.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st May 2017
8.9

Enjoyed staying here, good to have a pool and being close to the beach which felt safe. The rooms were clean only Only downside would be the showers as we had one on our floor and the others were downstairs near the pool area but would certainly recommend this hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.