X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6545 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Nice hostel in a good location but there was no atmosphere. the wifi didn't work in the room, the staff at the counter were nice but the cleaners were very rude and I thought €6.50 was a bit much for laundry


100%

The staff was more than exellent, please add a tick box perfect.

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Awesome place! Near the city center is the perfect place to stay if you want to visit Dublin. The staff is very helpful and every day they organise free tours of the city.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Night staff was a bit unfriendly, could've been nicer. Clean place though!

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

When we returned to the hostel around 1 am the doors to enter were locked and a janitor let us in. We are not sure how we would have gotten in otherwise because we were never notified that the hostel would be locked at a certain time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi the Hostel is open 24/7 and a member of staff is always on duty - We just lock the doors as a added security precaution at nighttime - apologies for any confusion

94%

Helpful staff, plenty of gender seperate facilities, good kitchen!


83%

Very noisy. cannot sleep as train bridge is just across. Cannot charge my phone only two socket in bedroom. You cannot take shower on morning time as cold water only. self kitchen nice but smells terrible. Management should more keep eyes for cleaning in kitchen. Birds in kitchen are nit permitted due to healthy reason

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. For lighter sleepers we do offer ear plugs and will try and accommodate if you need a quieter room. There would be more than two sockets in each bedroom so I am sorry if you did not locate and they were not obvious, we will always charge your appliances at reception if you need We will check out the Kitchen but it is cleaned twice daily by our staff and we would ask that all guests leave as they found some would be more diligent than others.

86%

It was very nice hostel with a lot of facilities. We did the free walking and it was very good. We loved our guide Keith. He could explain everything very good with a good amount of humor sometimes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lovely to read this feedback . Thank you

94%

I really enjoyed my stay. The beds were good, the place was very clean and warm. There was little to no trouble with noise in the rooms. I would've liked the breakfast to have lasted longer: 7AM to 10AM eg. Further I think a bigger sink would be useful, similar to the type used for cattle.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the useful suggestions .

100%

Great place to stay will return soon

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good to hear this !

97%

Great time with the family. Good base location not far from the center. Will be staying again next time. Excellent value for money

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks !

91%

Very cool hostel, the staff it's really helpful and friendly. Everything is very clean, there are enough places to chill and relax in the hostel... I would give Isaac's Hostel 4/5 rating just because sometimes the wifi didn't work properly and the water in the showers was really cold, but everything else it's really good.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I already miss the hostel!

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
W miss you too ! Thanks !

89%

Wifi is only working at lobby I couldn't use wifi in the room Only cold water was provided in the shower room I needed warm shower!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do only have wifi currently in the common areas but the signal is good . You should of course have hot water and we will double check our plumbing settings to see if all is in order. Sorry for any inconvenience

66%

Overall this hostel wAs ok. Breakfast was overly complicated and not great quality. Rooms were average, but clean. The one main concern was that staff could not find an ice pack or any form of ice for an injured person in our group and dos not see why this was a concern...,

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Our Free breakfast is light and simple with tea and coffee, toast, jams ,juices and cereals. Was there was perhaps an issue with the breakfast being very busy that day as we are not sure what you mean by complicated? I am so sorry if we were unable to locate an ice pack or ice we do have it on the premises and we have first aid trained personnel on our team . We have since discussed with all staff to ensure they know where to locate Ice

77%

Good atmosphere and warm decor. However, we had a very noisy night because of the train which passed each hour just next to the youth hostel. But except that inconvenient, they propose many services and activities like free lockers, sightseeing tours or organized party in Dublin's typical bars. Concerning the cleanliness, it depends on the moment when you decide to have a pee or a shower.


97%

Good location ,would return..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cool Thanks !

94%

Amazing atmosphere and a wonderful staff. The hostel is an experience in-and-of itself! The only criticisms I have are for security (a few brats broke into a guests only area) and cleanliness (I had to throw away some personal belongings because a man pissed and defecated all over them after coming in from the pub crawl). Both of these issues were resolved promptly, however.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million glad you enjoyed the hostel and so sorry about the incidents during your stay.which are most unusual and glad we wre able to resolve quickly

49%

Most expensive hostel my friend and I have stayed in in Europe and we didn't get much for our money. Wifi was only available in common spaces which was both inconvenient and annoying. They put us in a room on the ground floor (with a window open right on a dark alley!) and wouldn't hear my request to move us to a higher up room, as two young women traveling together this made us very uncomfortable. Staff wasn't overly welcoming either. Location was decent but not worth the splurge.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Such an awesome hostel- I wish all hostels were like this one! Great location, clean, the best atmosphere. Loved every minute.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(253 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback