X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5583 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Rooms on the third floor are boiling hot, so much so, it is impossible to sleep! Bar crawl that the staff offer is not as good as it sounds. Good facilities at the hostel and a good location.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel is good, however they don't have wifi in the room, so you need stay in commum area. The bed is ok, however if you stay in a room with much people as I did can be some dificult for you sleep.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We had a great stay in the hostel. The Good: The rooms were nice and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were pretty decent. The included breakfast is decent too. Not loads of choice but good. The Bad: The showers have to have a button pressed every few minutes otherwise it switches off. Only one heat setting. There also seems to be no ventilation so the corridors and rooms feel warm.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

I thought the staff were great, but I didn't like the fact that it was located so close to the train line. I like to sleep in so it was difficult for me. I also thought my room was a bit dirty but it was manageable.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The staff were very helpful


94%

Only complaint was that the rooms were far too warm.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

In terms of security, the card swipe on my floor that gives access to people was broken so anyone could come through my level. I thought the cleanliness of the kitchen was below the standard I am used to in hostels. And, I did not feel safe walking back to the hostel at night. The hostel is a bit isolated and far from the area I was eating and drinking.


80%

Bit noisy early in the mornings and quite warm but otherwise no issues at all.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel with a very friendly staff, really good value for money. Nice breakfasts, clean bathrooms and all in all nothing to complain about, maybe except the fact that the room we stayed in was a bit bit noisy due to the train passing right next to it from early morning but otherwise a very good place to stay in Dublin.


91%

The issacs hostel was a great stay, the place very good if you want to socialise with other travellers, and has plenty of stuff going on, the building is a pretty one and somewhere you definitely feel more homey and cosy( especially the common room ,the staff where genuinely social friendly people, great value for money considering all the facilites they have and the central location. i would definatley reccomend issacs and id love to return someday, cheers!

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place


57%

The bathroom was always really hot, like in a sauna. Shower: You had to press the button for water every 5 sec, just one temperature- hot, what means i couldnt have a refreshing shower.


100%

Great all round experience

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Much noise in the nights, difficult to sleep due to people going back and forth in the corridoor...


100%

This is just great. Thanks Ian

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Wi-Fi in rooms would be great and air con or fans as the room where boiling hot.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

First time I`v.e used a hostel.A very enjoyable experience & would use it again on my next visit

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Some positives were the friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast and the generally cleanliness. Some negatives were that it is located next to the train station so if you are on one side of the building you will hear the train come in early in the morning also in summer the rooms get pretty hot. But overall good value for money and was nice to have easy going staff

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Isaacs Cons: no signs or floor plan maps for rooms, creaky floors and beds, the corridors were super hot and humid (not so good when putting make up on!) staff are helpful but not friendly (the guys are pretty good though), not much atmosphere, not great for single travelers Pros: good hot showers, bathrooms were small but reasonably clean, mirrors in the corridors with good lighting and power points, good internet connection (fine for skyping), and the place is nice and secure.


100%

Very friendly staff, great facilities, very clean and a private room at a very reasonable price!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(263 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback