X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5802 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

That was really nice hostel :)

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much.

94%

This place is awesome! They really tried their best to make me welcome. My room was originally too hot, so they gave me a free upgrade and were so nice about it! I had the best time, thanks guys!


94%

An excellent place to stay. Lively, but not noisy. Most of the staff are very helpful and friendly, they'll do their best to sort out any issues at any hour. I'd come back just for the atmosphere, forget Dublin!


100%

Great location, stay, EVERYTHING!


51%

What an awful place! The room was unbearably stuffy, the window would neither stay open nor stay closed. No air conditioning. Squeaky floorboards. VERY squeaky beds. Frantic staff. Located in a rough part of town. The only redeeming feature was the airport shuttle bus, although it didn't arrive on time, and never does, aparently. Definitely for first-time globetrotters rather than seasoned travellers.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn't appear to enjoy your stay at our hostel. it is not usual for it to be so warm but we do have some fans for our guests when it too warm (a couple of weeks a year at most).

100%

It was a great stay among great people in a great location with excellent facilities. I would definitely recommend it, and will be staying there whenever I am in Dublin!

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel is EXTREMELY NOISY! Instead of Isaacs Hostel a better name would be SlamingDoors Hostel. This is definitely a problem. The wooden floors are noisy too. So it is impossible to have a normal sleep. So they have to do something on this. That is the reason I would not recommend it to other people unless you have no problem with it.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place to stay! Just right by the bridge to get to the side where everything is. It's clean and big! The rooms are clean and they have big bathrooms.. Maybe could use a few more sinks in the girls. It can get crowded. Overall good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review - glad you enjoyed it.

80%

Wifi is a little spoty but had a great time over all. Ps do the walking tour and pub crawl, great way to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed it.

91%

Very friendly atmosphere with people hanging out in the lobby at all hours of the day. Staff are also helpful and fun. Great location being seconds away from the main bus terminal and tram lines, also a minute walk from O 'Connel street and an easy stumble home from Temple Bar and other nightlife. Decent breakfast for a hostel and sizable kitchen to cook for yourself. Definitely do the pub crawl and free morning walking tour.


77%

Nous avons trouvé qu'il faisait trop chaud dans tout l'etablissement.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

It's a nice place to stay for a couple of nights, lovely staff and people, a bunch of cool activities offered. They have to install an aircon or something in the hallways and the bathrooms though, as soon as you leave the room you're in a sauna. The breakfast is better than average in hostels, you get good coffee and juice, sometimes even boiled eggs. It's as clean as you expect a budged accommodation to be ;)

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Auberge située sous un pont où passe un tramway, celui-ci s'arrête à 23h30 ce qui limite le bruit la nuit. Chambres bien isolées de la salle principale, là encore bruit limité. L'accès aux chambres est sécurisé par une carte. Une cuisine est à disposition et le petit déjeuner est inclus (pain grillé, confiture, céréales, boissons chaudes, froides). L'ambiance est sympathique et le personnel agréable. Le ménage est fait tous les jours. Groupe de femmes de 29 à de + 60 ans - Chambre 3 personnes

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci. nous sommes contents que vous avez passes un bon séjour chez nous.

80%

Only one problem- the first floor heating was always on, and it was roasting in the dorm.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Bestest hostel, next time I'm back in Dublin, I will stay here again. Great staff, great atmosphere, perfect location, can walk to city centre.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your lovely review.

91%

Dublin was a very cool city and this hostel let you experience it all! The free walking tour gave us the historical overview of the city we needed and the pub crawl was the perfect way to end each night. Thank you Isaacs for a great stay! Slanja!!!


74%

The hostel was trickier to find than listen on the website. It also seemed a little bit unsafe late at night.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ah no it is as safe as anywhere in a big city - you need to be careful in every city.

100%

One of the best hostels I stayed in! The best atmosphere and there are lots of opportunities to meet other travellers. The staff was fantastic and the facilities were clean and I had no complaints! Would highly recommend!


89%

Loved my stay, good location and very social hostel. However, the floors are very loud, the rooms were very hot and the showers weren't very clean. But overall great stay - and would come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. So sorry you found the rooms to be hot. It doesn't happen very often!

83%

Rooms were good but the halls were way too hot always! Floor was ridiculously noisy which made for terrible sleeping both nights as people coming and going from the rooms could not avoid making large amounts of noise.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you found the hostel to be too noisy - we do offer ear plugs to our lighter sleepers.

(393 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback