X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
5936 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

I thought the staff were great, but I didn't like the fact that it was located so close to the train line. I like to sleep in so it was difficult for me. I also thought my room was a bit dirty but it was manageable.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great Hostel!


74%

The staff were very helpful


94%

Only complaint was that the rooms were far too warm.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

In terms of security, the card swipe on my floor that gives access to people was broken so anyone could come through my level. I thought the cleanliness of the kitchen was below the standard I am used to in hostels. And, I did not feel safe walking back to the hostel at night. The hostel is a bit isolated and far from the area I was eating and drinking.


80%

Bit noisy early in the mornings and quite warm but otherwise no issues at all.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel with a very friendly staff, really good value for money. Nice breakfasts, clean bathrooms and all in all nothing to complain about, maybe except the fact that the room we stayed in was a bit bit noisy due to the train passing right next to it from early morning but otherwise a very good place to stay in Dublin.


54%

Les table de billard et de Ping-pong sont la pour attirer l'attention des clients mais ne sont pas praticables. Tout comme le wifi qui est accessible dans une seul pièce (et encore). Le train qui passe 8 fois par heure sous nos fenêtre (même la nuit) pourait être mentionné. Mise à pare cela, l'auberge est bien située et propre.


89%

Rooms were spacious enough, but very very stuffy and hot, even at night when the heat of the day had dissipated. Showers and bathrooms were similarly stifling and sauna-like, more ventilation would be good. Basement area is excellent idea, very well organised. Staff were friendly and helpful, and although wifi was patchy in places and not available in rooms, it worked as a good tool for encouraging socialising. Overall, nice comfortable place to meet fellow travellers.


86%

There was some mold in a wall corner in our room. The ventilation in the showers is inadequate; it’s almost always hot & humid and you’re sweating as soon as you get out of the shower. Everything else was great!


91%

The issacs hostel was a great stay, the place very good if you want to socialise with other travellers, and has plenty of stuff going on, the building is a pretty one and somewhere you definitely feel more homey and cosy( especially the common room ,the staff where genuinely social friendly people, great value for money considering all the facilites they have and the central location. i would definatley reccomend issacs and id love to return someday, cheers!

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place


57%

The bathroom was always really hot, like in a sauna. Shower: You had to press the button for water every 5 sec, just one temperature- hot, what means i couldnt have a refreshing shower.


100%

Great all round experience

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Much noise in the nights, difficult to sleep due to people going back and forth in the corridoor...


100%

This is just great. Thanks Ian

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Wi-Fi in rooms would be great and air con or fans as the room where boiling hot.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

First time I`v.e used a hostel.A very enjoyable experience & would use it again on my next visit

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Some positives were the friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast and the generally cleanliness. Some negatives were that it is located next to the train station so if you are on one side of the building you will hear the train come in early in the morning also in summer the rooms get pretty hot. But overall good value for money and was nice to have easy going staff


91%

Ich habe nachgerechnet, seit 1993 habe ich 16 Mal meinen Urlaub in Irland verbracht. Dabei mind. 32 Übernachtungen im Isaacs!!


(404 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback