X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5167 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

They make you check into the hostel to connect to wifi. That's a bit of a joke but overall it's a good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you liked the hostel - we are trying new system for our wifi which has been really improved the Wifi availablity and speeds .Most people don't seem to mind the check in but we will keep an eye and review if necessary.

66%

There was an incredible stench in the first floor hallways and toilets. Like moldy moisture mixed with 20-something drunk sweats. I almost vomited. Conveniently located right beside the bus station and close to the train station though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have checked this you and all seem to be okay currently The bathrooms are cleaned often - a few times each day.We can only think that hygiene of some fellow guests may have been the issue here .We are very sorry if this marred your stay. this spoilt your enjoyment

100%

The best hostel ever! ENJOY!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awww Thanks !

100%

Isaacs is the greatest !!! Andy is amazing! The hostesses wonderful over all with a great atmosphere and great accommodations for the price. I'm definitely going back !!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
and YOU are very welcome back ! Thanks so much !

60%

It's a big hostel, with loads of activities. One can expect a lot of people in the common area, crowded freezers and unavailability of the staff due to so many people requesting the "attention". My main issue, though, was that there was only 1 computer available, and the one available had issues in the internet during my stay. Being such a big hostel should have more structure to attend the customers... All in all, good place to stay over the weekend, but wouldn't stay longer.


91%

Great staff.. Everything is very well explained (even the couverture of the wifi), the atmosphere it´s so positive, it´s better than a lot of Pub´s there... For sure

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sweet Thank you !

97%

Great place to stay, clean, warm, good showers! Good value for money and decent beds! Nice reception and communal areas too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great comments, good customers and thanks !

94%

great central Location!

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have to agree!

91%

I loved Isaacs !!! The staff were brilliant especially Andy, any question I had the had an answer. The rooms were good especially for the price, however in some you might want to purchase earplugs if you are a light sleeper. It's in a great location and the free walking tours take you to most of the tourist hot spots. They provide an environment where it's easy to make friends. I will definitely go back there !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lovely lovely comments - thanks so much . You are not alone in your praise of ANDY !

91%

For quite a big hostel this place feels homely. The place was packed with people so it's very easy to meet others. However the breakfast finishes way too early considering 99% of people are hungover in the morning, and "extras" like safes and lockers cost money. The showers are pretty dodgy as well. But on the whole, a pretty good place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback . Normally hostellers are up and at it quote early to make the most of day and we do have the self catering Kitchen for later risers. When you say showers dodgy did you mean temperature / Pressure so we can check it out ?

51%

My least favorite of the three hostels I stayed at in Dublin. The free breakfast is nothing more than cornflakes and orange juice. The wifi was pretty bad, and the rooms weren't very clean. They offer lockers but you have to pay for them.


60%

C'est vraiment dommage qu'un détaille vienne quelque peu gâché le séjour danq cette auberge pourtant fort sympathique Au prix ou nous avons payé notre chambre "vip" Il ny avais pas de sécurité avant d'aller pouvoir rentrée dans les douches et toilettes De ce fait grand grand nombre de personnes se sont invite chez a tout heur pour ce laver et faire leur besoin cette situation quelque peu ambarassante. .. dommage !

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Maybe it was because I had never stayed at a hostel before, but i was a little disapponlinted. I found the hostel hard to find, the staff a little unhelpful when someone was sleeping in my bed, the wifi was spotty and bathroom facilities small for the number of people they served. Breakfast was average but there was defibitely enough. About a 20-25 minute walk to other side of river and some tourist attractions.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry that you were disappointed and if staff were unhelpful over bed mix up that is so unusual so we will try and address that issue / Our wifi speeds in common areas has been much improved but during very busy periods can come under pressure. We will review our directions on how to get to hostel to see if we can improve that.

100%

Being my first hostel to ever stay at, Isaacs has set the bar really high for where ever my next hostel will be. The staff is really friendly and awesome, the security is great and everything was awesome, making my stay awesome!.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Alltogether awesome remarks !

60%

sadly, our arrival was little welcoming, had it not been for the paid deposit we would have turned around and left. our rooms were not ready yet at 1pm and we could not leave our luggage for the remaining hour but had to carry it on to the place we had lunch. Safety lockers were in the cellar and had to be paid €2 /day. Not enough hooks/ space to leave clothes etc in showers, breakfast very basic. experience would have been completely different if staff had just been less annoyed and friendlier


54%

No personal lockers available in the room itself, making it really inconvenient to leave our valuables around if we're going to the toilet. Also, the room lacks surfaces like tables/shelves/lockers for us to put our belongings. It's more convenient to pack our bags and organise our things (especially in dim light conditions when we don't want to disturb others sleeping in the room) if there are surfaces for us to place our belongings. Resorted to using the ground and the bed. Very inconvenient.

  • 22nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

While the overall atmosphere was conducive to meeting people, there was never an actual seat in the lounge or shared areas. The bathrooms were quite gross, never enough showers or sinks to accommodate the morning rush. The wifi was terrible- barely worked at all. The one computer was either always either occupied or broken.

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Only issue i had re security was my dorm door had been broken in the past and had only been fixed with tape this meant u had to slam it a good few times to close it - not good for trying to keep quiet n also ppl forgot n allowed the door to swing shut behind them which didn't lock it. Otherwise fine

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

In general an average hostel with friendly stuff, and good value for money (the cheapest in town) but my room smelled terrible, not ideal.


89%

Ive stayed In three different dublin hostels And this was probably the best. Staff we very friendly and helpful. Kitchen facilities were pretty good. Rooms were spacious and clean. Wifi wasn't the best (have to go through facebook and didnt always work) but would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good to hear had a good experience . Wifi has been much improved but occasionally it can come under pressure so sorry for any inconvenience to you.

(202 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback