X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
6971 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

We stayed three nights and were not able to sleep at all because of the noise! The walls are paper thins and people make A LOT of noise at every hour of the night! Some people even entered in our room to try to take a bed. This happened twice to us and we were not the only costumer who got their bed ''stolen'' by strangers in the middle of the night. We tried to talk to the manager about the situation but the employee did not want to call him and he did not look to care

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Young atmosphere, excellent location and a good value for money. The weakness is very closed room.


91%

I felt the staff were friendly and ready for any questions I had.

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The best hostel I stayed at in my travels. Very clean and the staff were friendly and cool

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location - just minutes from the main bus station, and only about 15 minute walk to the city center (Temple Bar, etc.) The staff was helpful and friendly. We had a private room (me and my female friend), and the room was great. Our only complaint was that the halls were very noisy in the morning - doors slamming and people walking on the noisy floor. But Isaacs did offer ear plugs for 50 cents advertised everywhere, which we took advantage of and helped considerably.


89%

Alles in allem ein super Hostel. Nicht direkt in überfüllten Partyviertel Temple Bar gelegen, trotz allem zentral zu Sehenswürdigkeiten und Innenstadt. Die Zimmer waren sauber, die Betten bequem. Mitarbeiter super freundlich. Sehr zu empfehlen. Hatte überlesen dass es das WiFi nur in den Gemeinschaftsräumen gibt.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Really great atmosphere, met lots of interesting people, and the staff are all super nice and helpful! Only complaints: there was no way to secure belongings in the rooms (but the hostel seemed safe in any case) and the pillows were way too thin.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Ottimo ostello! Colazione abbondante al mattino, bellissima sala di condivisione con gente. Camera spartana, putroppo solo due bagni su ogni piano, ma docce calde. A 15 min dal centro a piedi! Fermata dell'autobus per andare in aeroporto a due passi!


100%

Best hostel Ever! Stayed in a mix dorm and got great rest. Staff really moré than helpful and always in a great mood! Perfect place if you travel by yourself and want to meet people. Location is perfect you can walk everywhere!

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to stay and close to all the sights. Staff were very helpful and friendly and would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a cost-effective way of seeing Dublin. Thanks

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

- Altes Hostel, könnte man mehr draus machen... - In den Duschen hat es ausser 3 Haken keine Halterungen für Duschmittel, kein Ablage für Kleider, nix.. Türrahmen bricht fast auseinander... - Zu viele kotzende Engländer... unglaublich... WC's waren praktisch immer vollgekotzt...!

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel, pretty chill but easy to meet new people. Has a pool table, v. important.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is greeting its guests with a very welcoming lobby and very nice personal at the desk. It is close to the city center and a DART (regional train) station, so it's a great starting point to explore Dublin and the vicinity! Due to thin walls and VERY squeaky hardwood floor, it can be noisy sometimes, even when your room neighbours try their best to be quiet. Separate rooms next to larger dorm rooms, meh... Breakfast is included, which was nice. WLAN only in the lobby, not in the rooms.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Basic but clean with comfy beds and pillows and clean sheets. The shared toilets can be horrible after a large volume i.e. In the mornings but cleaned often enough not to be a big issue. Atmosphere was a bit lacking but staff were helpful in pointing you to the right places. All in all though very worth the price! Good experience.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A great Hostel! Me and my boyfriend stayed in a 8 bed shared bedroom and it was great! :) Breakfast is good, and the local is clean (except for the kitchen, but I think it's because there are many people using it all the time).


51%

L'auberge est très bruyante (le train passe à la fenêtre), ce n'est pas très propre et c'est surtout vétuste (les lits grincent énormément), enfin il n'y a pas d'ascenseur (au 3 e avec les bagages !!!)


80%

I really enjoyed the stay in isaacs. Thank you!

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I was really impressed how modern and clean and welcoming the whole facility was. I will highly recommend your hostel for a great stay at Dublin.


77%

Nice hostel, private room was oke but not really cozy. Common room and breakfast place were good.


89%

Bon séjour dans cette auberge. Sanitaires propres chambre propre cuisine spacieuse. Pas loin de temple bar, une sécurité importante quand on rentre tard le soir, toujours quelqu'un à l'accueil. Dommage qu'on ne capte pas le wifi dans les chambres et un manque de prises accessible dans la chambre que j'occupais. Une auberge qui est de très bon rapport qualité prix.

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(382 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback