X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5580 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Pros: good location, good price, very helpful staff Cons: wifi works very poorly, and only in reception; no lockers in rooms!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. The wifi does work in the ground floor area - we want our guests to talk to each other in the bedrooms.

86%

à recommander


80%

Great atmosphere and staff. I wish there had been free lockers, but the beds were comfy and the kitchen facilities were good. Pretty good location, right near the bus station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments - sorry about having to charge for the lockers - we try and keep our bed prices as low as possible so we have to charge for extra things like lockers.

89%

je recommande vraiment cette auberge de jeunesse, nous étions deux ami et nous avons trouver l auberge super, le seul bémol le petit déjeuner ferme tôt donc si vous sortez la veille c'est mort Nous avions une chambre double privée (Chambre 103) elle est bien malgré la porte d'escaliers qui tape fort et la vue et moyenne. Sinon parfait séjour, ambiance conviviale et personnel accueillant et serviable.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup - désole que le petit déjeuner ferme assez tôt!

83%

All right !!!

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

No elevator which was rough, and showers were the annoying push button ones that give you hot water for about 2 minutes before you have to push it again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes - Isaacs is a very old building and it wasn't possible to put in an elevator - on the positives you have the lovely old atmosphere you only find in a building like Isaacs and you are probably fitter than when you came!!

74%

someone was in my bed when i got back. The door in the toiled didn't close or lock. i reported both

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry for both of this things - we have sorted out the maintenance issue.

83%

Une auberge sympa, avec un personnel chaleureux, une cuisine sympa, et globalement bien propre. Mais l'auberge est trop bruyante !

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

very clean and amazing staff!!! worth going to

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much - we love reviews like yours!! Come again.

86%

Excellente adresse, emplacement central, personnel agréable, super ambiance sonore, à recommander!

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup.

69%

Breakfast can be much better: no cheese, meat, eggs, choco,... Friendly people dough!

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for posting. Breakfast is just a light breakfast we offer free of charge to our guests -other hostels charge for breakfast.

77%

nice people and atmosphere thank you !

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

94%

Only stayed for one night but this hostel was so great. Everyone was so nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review. Do come again and stay longer next time.

89%

Great place to stay if you decide to do without luxuries. Our room was everything we were asking for: silent (windows facing an unused backyard), clean, comfortable and cheap. The batthroom was door-to-door, and since we were the only ones using it, it felt like having our own. Great price too, it's the best place if you want to spend your money in beer instead of lodging. One small complain: please get rid of the gums stuck to the bunkbeds. Little bit disgusting.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for telling us about gum on the bed - we will be getting rid of this immediately.

86%

Très bonne auberge, excellente accueil et offre tout donc on a besoin. C'était mon deuxième séjour en 2 semaines et les lits du dortoir à 8 sont beaucoup plus confortable que les lits du dortoir à 4.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup - c'est incroyable que vous avez trouvez le lits dans un chambre plus comfortables que dans un autre car il sont tous le memes lits -peut être que certains sont plus vieux???

74%

We loved the hostel and its location. An easy walk to everything. Very creaky floors and slamming doors make a good nights sleep difficult. We experienced the room mates from hell which isn't the hostels fault, but made for an uncomfortable four nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn't have the best of room colleagues - did you ask at Reception for a change of room? We would have been happy to move you if we could have done so.

83%

Soggiornato una notte di passaggio a Dublino. Buona posizione e pulizia. Camera doppia spaziosa. Sicuramente se tornassi a Dublino lo sceglierei nuovamente

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the hostel.

77%

There were no lockers in the dorms. You simply had to trust the other people they wouldn't steal anything or you had to leave your stuff in the basement which wasn't ideal either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to post. We just find that the bedrooms are too small to put lockers in too - years ago the lockers were in the bedrooms but it was just a bit crowded - But we hear what you are saying and we will discuss and see what we can do.

91%

I really enjoyed my 3 night stay at Isaac's Hostel. The central location is in the heart of Dublin within walking distance of all the major attractions. The accommodations and facilities are more than adequate for a reasonable priced hostel. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to stay! Would recommend it to anyone!


(326 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback