X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6047 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Rooms were spacious enough, but very very stuffy and hot, even at night when the heat of the day had dissipated. Showers and bathrooms were similarly stifling and sauna-like, more ventilation would be good. Basement area is excellent idea, very well organised. Staff were friendly and helpful, and although wifi was patchy in places and not available in rooms, it worked as a good tool for encouraging socialising. Overall, nice comfortable place to meet fellow travellers.


86%

There was some mold in a wall corner in our room. The ventilation in the showers is inadequate; it’s almost always hot & humid and you’re sweating as soon as you get out of the shower. Everything else was great!


91%

The issacs hostel was a great stay, the place very good if you want to socialise with other travellers, and has plenty of stuff going on, the building is a pretty one and somewhere you definitely feel more homey and cosy( especially the common room ,the staff where genuinely social friendly people, great value for money considering all the facilites they have and the central location. i would definatley reccomend issacs and id love to return someday, cheers!

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place


57%

The bathroom was always really hot, like in a sauna. Shower: You had to press the button for water every 5 sec, just one temperature- hot, what means i couldnt have a refreshing shower.


100%

Great all round experience

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Much noise in the nights, difficult to sleep due to people going back and forth in the corridoor...


100%

This is just great. Thanks Ian


97%

Wi-Fi in rooms would be great and air con or fans as the room where boiling hot.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

First time I`v.e used a hostel.A very enjoyable experience & would use it again on my next visit

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Some positives were the friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast and the generally cleanliness. Some negatives were that it is located next to the train station so if you are on one side of the building you will hear the train come in early in the morning also in summer the rooms get pretty hot. But overall good value for money and was nice to have easy going staff


89%

Isaacs Cons: no signs or floor plan maps for rooms, creaky floors and beds, the corridors were super hot and humid (not so good when putting make up on!) staff are helpful but not friendly (the guys are pretty good though), not much atmosphere, not great for single travelers Pros: good hot showers, bathrooms were small but reasonably clean, mirrors in the corridors with good lighting and power points, good internet connection (fine for skyping), and the place is nice and secure.


100%

Very friendly staff, great facilities, very clean and a private room at a very reasonable price!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

often the hang out rooms in the basement were sticky. but besides that, I had a wonderful experience at the Isaacs hotel! I would come again.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Incredibly hot, there was only one window in the bathroom and it hadn't been (and couldn't be) opened. These were in the centre of the building causing the rooms to heat up as well. Other than that everything seemed good.


94%

fantastic place to stay if visiting dublin/backpacking


91%

Very well located and comfortable

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Bathrooms could be cleaner. Rooms were uncomfortably hot, not for me personally, but the people I traveled with mostly agreed.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Enjoyed staying there - would stay again

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Brilliant hostel, central location and easy enough to find. Staff are lovely which makes the difference. Shared a room with 5 other girls and all were lovely. Lockers are provided. Only problem was that it was really warm but that wouldn't put me off going again! Place was very clean also! Definitely recommend it and I'd stay there again no problem :)

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(314 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback