X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6595 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Fix the shower hot water pressur problem. It's not that i don't like cold water (ehm) but you know.. better have the choice, especially when winter is coming yo

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks- we seen to have had a problem during your stay but it was fixed . Our apologies

91%

Very clean and new hostel. Good facilities-nice bathrooms and well qpequipped kitchen. Good basic breakfast. Really helpful friendly staff. Would have liked lockers in the rooms but overall a very good quality hostel and enjoyed my time here.


77%

There was no hot water for shower not even warm ! Experienced water cut off for a day which is a disaster .

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am so sorry to hear this this is most unusual .

86%

Good location, good value for money. No lockers on the rooms and only WiFi in reception. Kitchen well equipped and good lounge area.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff was great, really helpful. Rooms were a little noisy but nothing you wouldn't expect in a hostel. Really enjoyed our time at Isaac's (we even came back there a few days later, when returning from our road trip to the west coast).

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great staff, many free act. including sauna, pool table, free breakfast ... Great place to stay in general.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many Thanks

91%

The staff were very friendly and always available to help. The hostel was also clean, warm and has some great facilities


80%

it's a hostel so i think it would appreciate a late breakfast and not just until 9.30

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for our comments - we are considering this but find many hostellers want to be out exploring Dublin early and like the early breakfast fur Catching Flights and tours etc

100%

Andrew is the best staff, very kind.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We will pass that on to Andy ! Thanks

83%

nice room, staff was superb


89%

We had an awesome stay!!

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Excellent !

94%

Awesome place to stay! The walking tour was really good too :)

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great hostel! Very reasonable price for all that was offered. Staff was very friendly and helpful, even charged our phones for us at the desk overnight! Didn't get to go on the pub crawl but wish we could have. Great, cozy atmosphere, reminded us of a fun ski lodge! Would definitely stay here again.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
All good to hear thanks so much !

91%

The only 'poor' rating relates to the loud music in the reception/common area. It was so loud that the guests and staff had to shout at each other to be heard, and this ruined the atmosphere of meeting people and talking, so central to a hostel experience. It is hostel, not hostile! Please turn down the music and you would be totally excellent. There are lovely reminders for guests to be considerate, and that should be demonstrated by the management, too. That is why earbuds were invented.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your comments, We will take that into account and talk to the "DJ " in question . We like to create an atmosphere with great music but not to the detriment of conversation !

69%

few bathrooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have bathrooms to each floor and should it be very busy there are extra bathrooms in the basement by the Sauna which can be used.

97%

Many of the plug-in outlets in the basement & common room are loose. Otherwise, the staff made for an exemplary experience. I'd've been content never to've left, honestly.

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We will check out the plugs immediately Thank you .

91%

It's a busy hostel cause they're awesome here! Kitchen can get a bit cramped and dirty with all the guests, but people are nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for great Comments . The Kitchen has been busy with a longer term guests this last month we will take a look and see what can be done.

100%

Absolutely brilliant I don't see the point in staying in a hotel when you can stay in a place like this. I'll be coming back time and again.

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel is incredible. When we first got there, Kevin greeted us and he was the best. Everything about the facility is top notch and the staff is great. A hostel.

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Our stay in Isaacs was really good - will come back for sure!! The place was clean, the staff was friendly, breakfast was ok (and included!) and atmosphere nice and cosy. I noticed that the room door didn't close if you didn't push it properly. Also, on our first night, when we got to the room, a guy had entered and was laying on my bed - the staff was great (thank you!) but I still don't understand how he could get into the room as he didn't have a bed there for that night. Thx!

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(257 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback