X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
7769 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great Stay at Isaacs. The male staff are really sweet and friendly! My room was huge (tip: you're at a hostel guys, it's going to get noisy, bring earplugs and a mask to sleep!). Also, there's no wifi in the room, but who cares, you're there to sleep! Go to the common rooms for "connection". Great location and it's really easy to meet people! Thanks :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review and great Hostelling attitude - Love it

66%

Stayed in an 8 bed dorm. Only 4 plugs in the room, made charging phones/cameras difficult. Also no little lights for night time, so as people came in from nights out, made it difficult for others to not disturb those already asleep. little things that could have made the dorm experience much better.

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks and yes you are right the little things are important , we have made a lot of improvements recently and more to do yet !

91%

Isaacs was the best hostel I've been to so far. The stay was comfortable and the building was clean. There is a common room where people hang out. It's a bit of a walk to get to the tourist attractions. The location of the building was in a safe neighborhood. Overall I really enjoyed my stay and definitely would return again.


97%

Kitchen is quite small, so you might have to wait a while before you can cook anything, and there is no wifi in the rooms. Otherwise, perfect hostel ! Very convenient location & great staff !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you liked the hostel - sorry you had to wait a while in the kitchen but hope that was an opportunity for a bit of socialising !

83%

The ambiance and location are great. Down sides: 1) rooms are right by the train so if you're a light sleeper, good luck. 2) Comforters had hair all over it. 3) No lockers or Internet in the rooms. Overall, I would not stay here again unless it's a budget issue and no other cleaner hostels in the area have availability.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback . Our rooms are cleaned daily and beds changed also for every guest, so there definitely should not be hair on the Blankets and we will check this out immediately .We do have 24 hour lockers in the basement and this is handy to leave luggage before check in or after check out . Wifi is throughout the Hostel so apologies if you did not get in room connection .We are so very sorry that Isaacs did not tick all the boxes for you

89%

Staff was super helpful and friendly. Great place just north of the river.

  • 6th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Deadly Thank you !

91%

Very friendly helpful staff. Internet only in public areas. Breakfast included which was quite good. Few showers that are weak but you get there in the end. Comfy beds but loud trains right outside. Central location. Excellent security. Dorms had corners to create partial privacy. I'd definitely stay again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks fir your lovely review - see you again soon:)

100%

You guys are great! Really helpful in regards to tour information and places to go out - thank you! Staff are super friendly and up for a chat...facilities are great and literally at the bus station...we had a great stay :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Love your review - do come again.

100%

Staff was outstanding. They answered any questions, no matter how stupid you thougt your question was. They were honest about what to do and see given the time frame you were there. Gave local information about the area that was very helpful. Concerned about how your stay was going and honestly wanted us to have a great time and we did!. The atmosphere was comforable, genuine, lively and personable. Definitely want to go back and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • 5th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is a bang on review, we think our staff are the business too ! Thanks so much

100%

Isaacs Hostel and the city of Dublin - I'll bbe bback. This is bbyy far the bbest hostel we stayyed in in our 2 weeks of travel. I honestly cannot fault this hostel. Great vibe, in fact everything is awesome. Fantastic staff, keep it up. We stayed at Isaacs during the past part of our holiday and what a way to conclude our holiday. Bbig ups to Isaacs Hostel. Thank yyou guyys.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wowser ! You made our day- thanks !

91%

Appreciated having free cling wrap available. 3 cooktops in the kitchen was nice. Wifi could have been better in the rooms. Free walking tour was excellent

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's the little things that count! Glad to oblige with cling wrap !

97%

Great location. Common room is big and easy to meet other travellers. extra facilities like the sauna and kitchen are great. Only complain is the showers, you need to literally press it every 3 seconds for water. I understand it's for water conservation but it gets a little annoying. other then that I had a great time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks.

89%

I really liked this hostel. It's not in the heart of the Temple area which is good because it wasn't too loud to sleep at night but because Dublin is small in size we were still able to walk everywhere in a short amount of time. The hostel is also right next to the bus/train station which made it super easy to leave Dublin for a day trip. They also put on a lot of events and we loved the walking tour of Dublin. Staff was super helpful. Free breakfast was nothing special.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million.

86%

The atmosphere and location of Isaacs is very chill. It is only located a block from the Spire, shops, and pubs and just across from river from the City Centre. The staff is also very helpful with anything you need whether it's traveling tips, airport travel, or just accommodation needs. You will find a lively environment in the common area with people of all ages. Good for staying one or two nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lovely review and a lovely guest

91%

Loved my stay here..nice folks..clean room. Quiet enough. Would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Do come again.

86%

Hot water needs to reach the third floor showers and wash-basins, only luke warm water available to wash/shower.

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very sorry to hear this .Hot shower is important and we are checking the system for neccessary adjustments

91%

Isaacs was a great place to meet people, has a nice common area, reliable wifi, and the staff does a great job of helping you enjoy the best of Dublin!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million

86%

A cool laid back and easy-going' place for backpackers to stay in Dublin. Close to city centre and all the main activities. Self-Kitchen, free Breakfast and the walking tour a worth a stay at Isaac's.

  • 1st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cool Thanks !

80%

I had a great trip to Dublin and this was better because of the friendly staff and chilled out vibe at the hostel. It's great for everyone, younger and older people alike. It's always busy and never without noise and laughter. Very happy to have stayed here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million

83%

It was a really nice place to stay. Nice people, good atmosphere. The only bad thing is that there was no hot water at all in the showers.

  • 30th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(4511 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback