X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
6231 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Amazing and helpful staff made our stay that much better!

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your fantastic review.

83%

No geral foi uma boa estadia. Como pontos fortes destaco o pessoal de serviço, o pequeno almoço, a limpeza nos quartos e balneários e o tamanho dos cacifos que se podem alugar. Como pontos fracos assinalo o calor intenso que se sentia principalmente na zona dos balneários. Os duches só têm torneira de água quente, que por sua vez vem a escaldar. Devia ter um sistema de ventilação mais eficaz. Quanto à limpeza da cozinha fica um pouca a desejar, no entanto cabe a cada hospede limpar o que suja.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Has a sweet lobby to chill out in with decent wifi. Rooms are clean but it's right next to a train line so just keep that in mind. It's a 10-15 minute walk from the bar region so a little bit of a hike but it's super close to the main bus station out of Dublin.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Don't forget we have ear plugs for any light sleepers. Glad you enjoyed the hostel.

49%

No elevator although 3 floors, no lockers in the rooms (just some dirty lockers in the basement, and again no elevator to get there), internet was not working half of the time (at least on my phone, although it works perfectly at every other place), my first dorm room before I changed to a better one was unbearably hot and fuggy because you could not open the window. Anyway. I thank the staff that they gave me a new room. But I won't come again to Isaacs Hostel.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is an old building - the first independent hostel in Dublin so we are limited with regard to installing elevator. Sorry you didn't appear to enjoy your stay.

97%

Highly recommended. Not so many hostels like that and you get free breakfast included. Lockers are secured and Internet at high speed. Just you don't get Wi-Fi in room but only in common area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your great comments.

100%

The staff was awesome. Some of the doors slam shut which is annoying. The building is very nice and the breakfast is awesome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great comments. We will see what we can do about the doors slamming.

66%

Lack of wifi in rooms can be frustrating when you want to lie in bed and figure out what to do next day or talk to family back home. Internet on the main floor did not work very well and took quite some time before you could get connected. Became tad frustrating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the wifi- we don't have wifi in the dorms because 1. we want people to make friends and talk to each other and 2. when you are in a room with lots of people the tapping of the computers late into the night could be very annoying to people trying to sleep. However we do hear what you are saying.

89%

Staff were great and really appreciated things like the lockers that could be rented. Only real issue is if you could sort out the creaking floorboards in some of the rooms and corridors, no matter how conscientious everyone was it was still impossible not to wake people up!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Delighted you enjoyed your stay. We will see what we can do about the floorboards but it is an old building.

97%

Staff is wonderful, helped us with all our questions. Maybe hang a sign on the doors not to slam them at night.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing staff and fantastic location. Great place to stay!


77%

Hostel is okay, you can find a lot of young people here, mainly Italian. Room is a bit hot. Not so close to Temple Bar, but close to the bus station and the train station, that can lead you to awesome places around Dublin.


86%

Really good option for a couple of nights in Dublin, good value for money. It would be much better with Wifi in the rooms.


100%

It was great! Best hostel we've stayed at so far, the staff we're hilarious, everything was clean, big areas, breakfast was great!


49%

Me quedé solamente 3 noches con mi familia y me obligaron a cambiarme de habitación. Un poco molesto pero nada del otro mundo. Lo que si me parece inaceptable fue la actitud de la chica de recepción. Fue totalmente irrespetuosa y maleducada. Cada vez que le preguntaba algo a cerca de esto me respondía de muy mala manera, como si fuera mi culpa. Una vergüenza tener a una persona así trabajando de cara al público. Una situación muy mal manejada por parte del hostel.


74%

Too Try hard Hipster

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

We had an amazing time in Dublin as a group of 8 and the hostel was fantastic. The staff were very helpful and all so friendly. It was full of great people to talk to and the atmosphere was good. We went on the free walking tour which was so interesting and well worth doing and also got involved with the pub crawl (in our own fancy dress) which was a mental night out ending in a sick club. Would definitely recommend this hostel :)


100%

If you are looking for a upbeat atmosphere this place is for you! Loved every second of my stay

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice place to stay if you want to see the city center of Dublin.

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A great hostel, staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, letting me peruse their bookcase and offering advice on my 2 week cycling trip! There's a pretty big communal area in the hostel which was great for socialising, and the breakfast was a good added bonus! They also had a locked area for bike storage, including a bike rack attached to the ground for even extra protection.


100%

le top du top en matiere d hostel 10 euros bresfast included !!! qui dit mieux ? un emplacement central, une equipe jeune , souriante, motivée, competente et disponible ( felicitations ) des chambres spacieuse, propres, un breakfast copieux , des propositions de visites multiples .... une des meilleurs auberges que je connaisse et que je recommande chaleureusement a dublin


(332 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback