X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6053 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

+1 for the Sauna !

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for posting - glad you enjoyed the sauna.

77%

I was placed in a room that was very, very hot, maybe 30ºC inside, and you couldn't open the windows. I couldn't sleep for 3 nights, and the staff didn't want to put me in another bedroom without charging me more money. Also there are no internet in the bedrooms. I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.

80%

Gute Lage, sehr nah zum Zentrum und zur Bushaltestelle, nettes Personal, saubere Zimmer Insgesamt ein gutes Hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Vielen Dank

89%

Could use an elevator. Bathroom did not smell too great. Staff was very nice and helpful. In a good location to walk throughout the city. Only a 10 min walk from River Liffey, so that was wonderful. Right near the 747 shuttle bus stop from the airport.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A lift would be great but it is quite an old building. Glad you enjoyed your stay though.

80%

Buen trato. Buen ambiente con huéspedes de todas las edades. Todo limpio y bastante céntrico.


83%

I had an excellent stay, really nice atmosphere, loads of things to do. quite good location, 5min to the spire, approx. 15min to temple bar.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

63%

I decided to overlook the many warnings about the stifling hot rooms, thinking, "How bad could it be?" Well.... it's bad. Really bad. I was in a dorm room on the 2nd (really, the 3rd) floor, directly across from the washrooms and showers. All the heat and moisture from the showers (which have no temperature control, by the way - hope you like scalding hot showers) would go into our sleeping quarters. Impossible not to move around without sweating profusely. So gross and uncomfortable.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. It is not often that the hostel is so warm- high temperatures are rare in Dublin.

94%

The hostel is very good, the staff eas very friendly and ready to help.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for you review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

86%

I REALLY ENJOYED STAYING AT iSAACS AND HAVE ALREADY WARMLY RECOMMENDED YOU PLACE.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

74%

Il problema c è stato quando ho fatto la prenotazione del bus per andare all aeroporto.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Sehr schönes Hostel in einer sehr schönen, zentrumsnahen Lage. Die Ausstattung ist prakmatisch, aber ausreichend. Lediglich der unglaubliche Dampf in den Bädern durch die Duschen bleibt durchgehend hängen und sorgt für einen muffigen Charakter. Selbst wenn es sauber war - es wirkte dadurch schmuddelig. Ich denke aber ich würde wieder hin gehen.


89%

The room we were in was extremely hot and made for an uncomfortable sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry about the heat - it's rare in Dublin, I promise you. We do have fans for guests use.

100%

Fantastic hostel, funny and friendly staff, clean rooms and an excellent breakfast. Would definitely stay here again :)

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Love your review.!

89%

wifi un peu faible pour la taille de l'hotel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci. Malheureusement le wifi devient un peu faible quand il y a beaucoup de gens que l'utilisent

97%

Excellent location on the southside of the old city, half an hour's walk. Great 3 hour free walking tour of the old city. Wifi was slow and only one computer available.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you liked the hostel and enjoyed your stay. With so many people using our wifi, from time to time especially at very busy times it can slow down but normally it is ok.

54%

We had a sleepless night. It was the whole night very loud in the house, the staff was not able to control the Situation. The will never come again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry you had a bad night.

74%

A déconseiller aux familles : claquement de portes toute la nuit, train circulant juste à côté, cuisine trop petite. Cette auberge ressemble davantage à un hôtel avec bcp de passage et une clientèle peu respectueuse des règles de vie en communauté. Toutefois, le personnel est très accueillant et le petit déjeuner est impeccable (self-service).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup. Pour les families, le Jacobs Inn est mieux. Isaacs Hostel est plutôt pour les jeunes voyageurs.

91%

The staff is very helpful! A guided tour of Dublin is available every morning. WiFi, which is included and available on the ground floor is of good quality.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your great comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay.

80%

recommendation

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review.

91%

There was 3 clothes washing machines but only one was functional. Theee was 3 clothes dyers, none was functional. This is a let down.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, We are getting them fixed - the washing machines are industrial ones and not easy to get the parts but this will be sorted.

(388 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback