X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
7139 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I felt the staff were friendly and ready for any questions I had.

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The best hostel I stayed at in my travels. Very clean and the staff were friendly and cool


86%

Great location - just minutes from the main bus station, and only about 15 minute walk to the city center (Temple Bar, etc.) The staff was helpful and friendly. We had a private room (me and my female friend), and the room was great. Our only complaint was that the halls were very noisy in the morning - doors slamming and people walking on the noisy floor. But Isaacs did offer ear plugs for 50 cents advertised everywhere, which we took advantage of and helped considerably.


89%

Really great atmosphere, met lots of interesting people, and the staff are all super nice and helpful! Only complaints: there was no way to secure belongings in the rooms (but the hostel seemed safe in any case) and the pillows were way too thin.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel Ever! Stayed in a mix dorm and got great rest. Staff really moré than helpful and always in a great mood! Perfect place if you travel by yourself and want to meet people. Location is perfect you can walk everywhere!

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to stay and close to all the sights. Staff were very helpful and friendly and would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a cost-effective way of seeing Dublin. Thanks

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel, pretty chill but easy to meet new people. Has a pool table, v. important.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is greeting its guests with a very welcoming lobby and very nice personal at the desk. It is close to the city center and a DART (regional train) station, so it's a great starting point to explore Dublin and the vicinity! Due to thin walls and VERY squeaky hardwood floor, it can be noisy sometimes, even when your room neighbours try their best to be quiet. Separate rooms next to larger dorm rooms, meh... Breakfast is included, which was nice. WLAN only in the lobby, not in the rooms.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Basic but clean with comfy beds and pillows and clean sheets. The shared toilets can be horrible after a large volume i.e. In the mornings but cleaned often enough not to be a big issue. Atmosphere was a bit lacking but staff were helpful in pointing you to the right places. All in all though very worth the price! Good experience.


91%

A great Hostel! Me and my boyfriend stayed in a 8 bed shared bedroom and it was great! :) Breakfast is good, and the local is clean (except for the kitchen, but I think it's because there are many people using it all the time).


80%

I really enjoyed the stay in isaacs. Thank you!

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice hostel, private room was oke but not really cozy. Common room and breakfast place were good.


97%

Great staff and a clean room!

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Decent hostel. Wifi is only accessible in the common room / lobby which is a bit annoying. Bathrooms were a bit small and dingy. There's a free walking tour of Dublin which was really good. Overall, I enjoyed my stay.


89%

Friendly staff and they leave on your own if you like to be like that. I would recomend people to go there. Only it coulb be noisy and the beds could be more confortanle


97%

Hostel is very friendly. There was a lot of young people and everyone was very nice. I stayed at 14 beds room and there was no problem. Hostel lobby seems a bit old school but it's great atmosphere there and I felt like home.


86%

The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The rooms and shower/toilet areas were clean. Special vibe when you walk into "the lobby", great atmosphere! Only a bit disapointing that some other guest stole my shirt while showering, maybe it's a good idea to install lockers or something like that? Other then that, it was great and i wouldn't mind staying there again during my next visit to Dublin! Keep up the good work!

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Rooms were really cramped (and didn't have lockers) but staff was great!


94%

Stayed here twice. Once in a 6 bedroom then again in a private double. Both rooms were good. Staff was very friendly, helpful, and funny. I would just suggest you shower out night, otherwise it will be a cold one in the morning.


71%

- No hot water on toillets before 8:00 AM. - Little room (space) for 8 people to stay. All the rest, everything OK! ;)

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(341 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback