X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
7741 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I absolutely loved this hostel experience and would highly recommend staying at Isaacs! The staff is friendly and helpful, facilities are clean, and there is great security. Bring some ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. Definitely take advantage of their free walking tour. It was an excellent way to get my bearings for the city and full of interesting facts and history. My tour guide was wonderful and had great advice on where to go and what to see.


80%

The staff were amazing - helpful, kind and generally friendly.


100%

I loved Isaacs! The staff are incredibly nice, helpful, and fun. The rooms are a good size, the bathrooms are good (you have to keep pressing the button for the water to run but you get used to it), the common room is nice, they have music playing and a tv and in the basement thet have luggage storage, a hangout room, laundry facility, a pool table, and a sauna. Overall it was a really good experience. If you're looking for a quiet place I would suggest Jacobs inn though.


77%

Simple but it was clean and safe. The staff were friendly and provided breakfast for us before the kitchen opened when we were headed out early

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks

100%

Auberge très agréable et idéalement située (notamment à deux pas de la Connolly Station où s'arrête la navette aéroport). Le personnel est adorable et donnera tous les renseignements pour vous faire partager leurs bons plans de visites à Dublin et en Irlande.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup

91%

Great Stay at Isaacs. The male staff are really sweet and friendly! My room was huge (tip: you're at a hostel guys, it's going to get noisy, bring earplugs and a mask to sleep!). Also, there's no wifi in the room, but who cares, you're there to sleep! Go to the common rooms for "connection". Great location and it's really easy to meet people! Thanks :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review and great Hostelling attitude - Love it

66%

Stayed in an 8 bed dorm. Only 4 plugs in the room, made charging phones/cameras difficult. Also no little lights for night time, so as people came in from nights out, made it difficult for others to not disturb those already asleep. little things that could have made the dorm experience much better.

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks and yes you are right the little things are important , we have made a lot of improvements recently and more to do yet !

91%

Isaacs was the best hostel I've been to so far. The stay was comfortable and the building was clean. There is a common room where people hang out. It's a bit of a walk to get to the tourist attractions. The location of the building was in a safe neighborhood. Overall I really enjoyed my stay and definitely would return again.


83%

Agréable séjour à Isaacs. Personnel agréable et compétant dans cette auberge située en plein centre de Dublin. Comme dans toutes auberges, il y a des risques de tomber sur des gens qui ronflent ou qui allument la lumière la nuit. Il faisait chaud dans la chambre (fenêtre ouverte la nuit en plein mois d'octobre). Douches un peu froide si vous êtes habitués aux douches très chaudes. Miroirs et prises au milieu du couloir (donc au milieu du passage). Dans l'ensemble, très bon rapport qualité/prix.

  • 7th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Kitchen is quite small, so you might have to wait a while before you can cook anything, and there is no wifi in the rooms. Otherwise, perfect hostel ! Very convenient location & great staff !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you liked the hostel - sorry you had to wait a while in the kitchen but hope that was an opportunity for a bit of socialising !

83%

The ambiance and location are great. Down sides: 1) rooms are right by the train so if you're a light sleeper, good luck. 2) Comforters had hair all over it. 3) No lockers or Internet in the rooms. Overall, I would not stay here again unless it's a budget issue and no other cleaner hostels in the area have availability.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback . Our rooms are cleaned daily and beds changed also for every guest, so there definitely should not be hair on the Blankets and we will check this out immediately .We do have 24 hour lockers in the basement and this is handy to leave luggage before check in or after check out . Wifi is throughout the Hostel so apologies if you did not get in room connection .We are so very sorry that Isaacs did not tick all the boxes for you

89%

Staff was super helpful and friendly. Great place just north of the river.

  • 6th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Deadly Thank you !

77%

Top Lage! Einzig die Toiletten sind zu wenig und die gleich daneben befindlichen Waschbecken. Ansonsten schöne Atmosphäre. Wusste zu gefallen.

  • 6th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Vielen Dank

91%

Very friendly helpful staff. Internet only in public areas. Breakfast included which was quite good. Few showers that are weak but you get there in the end. Comfy beds but loud trains right outside. Central location. Excellent security. Dorms had corners to create partial privacy. I'd definitely stay again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks fir your lovely review - see you again soon:)

100%

You guys are great! Really helpful in regards to tour information and places to go out - thank you! Staff are super friendly and up for a chat...facilities are great and literally at the bus station...we had a great stay :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Love your review - do come again.

100%

Staff was outstanding. They answered any questions, no matter how stupid you thougt your question was. They were honest about what to do and see given the time frame you were there. Gave local information about the area that was very helpful. Concerned about how your stay was going and honestly wanted us to have a great time and we did!. The atmosphere was comforable, genuine, lively and personable. Definitely want to go back and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • 5th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is a bang on review, we think our staff are the business too ! Thanks so much

100%

Isaacs Hostel and the city of Dublin - I'll bbe bback. This is bbyy far the bbest hostel we stayyed in in our 2 weeks of travel. I honestly cannot fault this hostel. Great vibe, in fact everything is awesome. Fantastic staff, keep it up. We stayed at Isaacs during the past part of our holiday and what a way to conclude our holiday. Bbig ups to Isaacs Hostel. Thank yyou guyys.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wowser ! You made our day- thanks !

91%

Appreciated having free cling wrap available. 3 cooktops in the kitchen was nice. Wifi could have been better in the rooms. Free walking tour was excellent

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's the little things that count! Glad to oblige with cling wrap !

97%

Great location. Common room is big and easy to meet other travellers. extra facilities like the sauna and kitchen are great. Only complain is the showers, you need to literally press it every 3 seconds for water. I understand it's for water conservation but it gets a little annoying. other then that I had a great time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks.

89%

I really liked this hostel. It's not in the heart of the Temple area which is good because it wasn't too loud to sleep at night but because Dublin is small in size we were still able to walk everywhere in a short amount of time. The hostel is also right next to the bus/train station which made it super easy to leave Dublin for a day trip. They also put on a lot of events and we loved the walking tour of Dublin. Staff was super helpful. Free breakfast was nothing special.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million.

(385 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback