X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6434 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Chambre pour 2 personnes : minimaliste. Manque des patères pour accrocher manteaux... Une seule chaise pas de table de nuit ou petite tablette... Rideaux tâchés ainsi qu'assise de la chaise... Ceci étant, nous sommes restées 6 nuits ! Autrement sanitaires, douches correctes. Cuisine vaste et très bien équipée. Le personnel de l'accueil est top. En bref, Isaacs Hostel reste pour son tarif une auberge que je kiff' ;-)

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

La estancia estuvo genial. La dos únicas pegas que pondría son: - ruido del tren que pasa cerca. - cocina no muy limpia.pero eso no es culpa de ISAACS es culpa del que se hace de comer y no limpia las cosas que ha utilizado para hacer de comer. Por lo demás, chapo. Si vuelvo a ir a Dublín seguro que me hospedo en ISAACS HOTEL.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much

86%

We were sold on the sauna

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fanstastic - so happy you enjoyed your stay,

89%

Très bonne auberge, bien placée et ambiance très sympa. Un peu bruyante en revanche (couloirs qui resonnent) mais on a la possibilité d'acheter des boules kies à l'accueil !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup - nous sommes contents que vous avez passes un bon sejour chez nous.

94%

I booked the 13 people shared room in the top floor. I think the floor is too noisy when you walk, and so are the bunk beds. Also, there is no door in both bathrooms, male and female, what is bad specially for the girls. I think that it is just a matter of stretching a little your neck to see the girls using the facility. Apart from that, the place is nice, have a good value for money, the staff is very nice and the breakfast is not so basic as they say - for my girlfriend and I twas great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your comments - you have made some valid points and we will take them on board. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

77%

We stayed in a two bed room and it was very nice .Overall a lovely hostel - but would have liked seperate facilites - showers and toilets - for men and women - just not comfortable with it mixed and I think lots of women and maybe men too would feel this But apart from this - a lovely hostel

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much - glad you liked the hostel - we actually do have separate facilites - male and female showers and toilets are on each floor.

100%

I liked the entire place. The common areas were great. Using the lockers for a deposit only the day of travel was a huge help.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely review - So delighted you enjoyed your stay.

71%

Le staff n'est pas vraiment acceuillant et ils preferent parler entre eux plutot que de repondre aux questions qu'on leur pose La salle commune est en plein courant d'air, au mois de novembre il serait judicieux de fermer la porte d'entrée! Les douches ne sont pas pratiques et la propreté laisse a désirer

Owner Comment (Hide)
Je suis desole que vous n'avez pas trouver notre personnel accceuillant - c'est domage car normalement notre clients adorent le staff.

94%

It was great time in Isaacs... wonderful people :-) so open, so positive. I had lot of fun being there. Bathrooms could be little bigger ;-).

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much - we love reviews like yours.

94%

One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in - really enjoyed our night here. Great communal facilities and everyone was really friendly. Only downside would be lack of lockers in the dormitories.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So glad you enjoyed your stay.

74%

beware the cleaners, some of them steal your non perishable things at the kitchen from your basket (mint tea, silver paper...)i asked them and they recognized it....anyway, i ´ll try not to come back

Owner Comment (Hide)
I really don't think our cleaners would have taken your tea bags- they clean in there so they would recognise the stuff.

97%

Pretty much everything at Isaacs was great: the friendly staff and general atmosphere over there made you really feel welcome, good maintenance (cleanliness), not to mention there was a sauna! As a finnish guy I can really appreciate access to one after a long day :) The only complaint I really have about the place is the bad wifi reception in the basement, a second wifi router could do wonders to this.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your email - delighted you liked our hostel.

91%

Wifi does not work in rooms, but works great in common areas. Comfortable beds, plenty of plugs, fairly clean. Great location. Friendly helpful staff. Self-service laundry. Overall great hostel. Would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your feedback - delighted you enjoyed your stay.

97%

This hostel is the best I've stayed in so far! Im a month into a 2.5 month trip backpacking Europe. It has a great staff amazing location and is a hub for fellow back packers! Met so awesome people!! Some claim its too loud that was never once an issue i slept like a corpse! A few downsides just to be fair is it can get hot and muggy in the first floor rooms and there is no wifi access in the rooms! Also so but not all of the showers are those push buttons that only stay on for 20 seconds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your feedback - we will see what we can do with the shower push button.

69%

Everything was ok, but rooms are like railway station, everybody comes and goes, leaves their things etc. Also nobody cares of house rules, it is very noisy

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry you found the hostel noisy- we do have ear plugs at Reception for our lighter sleepers.

77%

Third floor has very bad sound insulation, I can hear outside other people walk by, close door loudly, hope they can improve.


74%

beware the thieves including cleaning staff


69%

staff ok the evening, but they said lockers were free and another guy made me pay it. team clan the hostel but guests are very dirty (toilets and lavabo awful) after drunk youngsters uneducated dorm 16 industrial and hard to sleep, dorm 6 perfect and clean (except the cold shower in the morning) common spaces great kitchen little small and dirty

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The location and staff are excellent, the breakfast is good, bedrooms were clean but the toilets and shower were not, as was not the kitchen. They should be more alerts about the cleanliness in the place, specially in the kitchen, that was really disappointed.


74%

The hostel was nice. However, it is by train tracks so it is noisy.


(296 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback