X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
5950 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I only stayed here one night, but the place had a great vibe, and it was in a good location. It seems like a fun place to stay if you like meeting people and nightlife, as well.


51%

Very disappointed. Location - not terrible but not the best either. Quite far from central area where many other hostels are located. Rooms - like an army camp and only 3 showers for the whole floor. Sauna available ONLY 2 hrs per day. Ping Pong equipment - broken and hard to use. No atmosphere in the "chilling out area" WIFI only works in reception area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry you didn't seem to enjoy your stay with us. We will look into your comments about the broken ping pong bats. Sorry but you are incorrect when you say that there are only 3 showers for the whole floor - we have 2 sets of showers on every floor - and on the left side on each floor we have 3 extra showers and toilets. Perhaps you didn't see this. We don't have wifi in the bedrooms as we would really like our customers to talk to each other. 5 of the biggest hostels in Dublin are here.

66%

Isaacs was a decent hostel. The front desk staff are very helpful if you have questions of what to do, where to go, how to see it. The rooms are not ventilated at all. Was in an 8 bed mixed room and it smelled absolutely terrible and all we had to try and help the smell of unshowered men was a small fan. Not enough plugs in the room either. Wifi only works in the lobby. Have to pay for lockers and they're in the basement. 5-10 min walk to Temple Bar area. Across the street from train, bus, tram

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Sorry about the smell in the room especially as it is quite warm in Dublin and difficult enough to get air into the rooms.

89%

Great hostel! Staff is very fun and helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review.

86%

Great place to stay! It's located right next to the bus station so you don't have to walk far when you arrive. Atmosphere was amazing and we met so many people the night we arrived, even though we got there around 11pm.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

74%

The hostel was quite a busy place but seemed pretty well organized and was clean. Location was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

91%

I would definitely stay here again! And employees at front desk were extremely helpful and willing to assist you in booking day trips (she even called for us and made the reservations)

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review.

54%

No wifi in rooms, only in the downstairs common area, and it's very unreliable. No lockers in rooms. In a slightly dodgy part of town (there were junkies shooting up in the alley outside the hostel's front door). Dirty underwear from previous guests was left hanging in both the bathrooms and my dorm room throughout my stay, questioniing the hostel's cleanliness. It's a bit of a walk for decent pubs and resturants, but I guess it's a place to sleep. Expected a lot more considering the reputation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
sorry you didn't seem to enjoy your stay. We do clean every inch of the hostel every single day - the clothes might not have been removed in case a guest was looking for them.

80%

Solid hostel. Great lively atmosphere in the main lounge with a more chill lounge in the "basement." Staff are very accommodating and are willing to help answer questions or give directions. Only downside in our opinion was the location, but that ultimately wasn't a huge factor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review. We think our location is fab - close to everything and easy to get to.

86%

Great party hostel, very nice people in the staff, who will always help you.


74%

The water in the showers was too hot. One of the doors of the toilets is broken. Rooms could be better equiped, with a small locker for each bed, a mirror, something to put your towels on to dry them. The benefit of the sauna is not very clear. I didn't see anyone using it and there is no changing room. The fact that the kitchen is closed after 11pm is a problem, when you want a tea. The hostel was difficult to find when I hopped off the bus 747, even with the explanations from the web.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We will look at the maintenance issues you raised - it is very unusual to have the water too hot. We do have guests who use the sauna but probably more in the winter and colder times. We have extra bathrooms beside the sauna too.

69%

Excellent location. Friendly staff. Good installations. Very clean. But it is very popular between young north american people. So if you like to share with drank and unrespectful people, this is your place. However , like me you are looking for a place to rest and sleep during the night, don't come.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you liked the hostel- can I suggest our sister hostel Jacobs inn which is very close but is perhaps a little quieter.

91%

Isaacs hostel was awesome! We stayed at the beginning of our trip and then again on our way out. The staff was so much fun and so friendly. People were always hanging out in the common area, so it was easy to meet fellow travelers. The rooms and bathrooms were standard as far as hostels go, but very clean. And the atmosphere definitely made up for it. Had a great time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
So glad you enjoyed your stay.

97%

This was a great hostel to stay at. The atmosphere was great, dorm rooms weren't bad and it's located at a very central location in Dublin. I met some awesome fellow travelers there, and the pub crawl was a lot of fun. Be aware that there are no lockers in the rooms though. You have to rent one for $3 per day, and they are located in the basement of the hostel. The staff are very helpful, and will recommend sites in the city to see.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are do thrilled you enjoyed your stay.

97%

The showers could do with a shelf to put your things on even a hook for your clothes would be nice……also don't like having to press the button every 5 sec (yes I timed it) to keep the shower water on!! Other wise I loved staying there and enjoyed my time in Dublin once again!

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are trying to sort out increasing the time of the showers. Glad you enjoyed your stay despite this.

89%

Hostel was very clean and came with breakfast. Showers were amazing. Staff was good and hostel is very close to main city. About two minutes walking

Owner Comment (Hide)
Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your positive review.

83%

Rooms with windows looking on the railway are loud!

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the noise - some people don't notice it at all. We do have ear plugs at reception for our light sleepers.

69%

The place is ok.. trains run very near during the day, There are very few refrigerators taking into account the quantity of guests. good breakfast area

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We do have plenty of rooms away from the trains.

91%

The tours offered were a nice and original way of knowing the city. Nice atmosphere and very friendly staff (almost every one of them)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

69%

The bedroom was very noisy in the sense I couldn't walk without making the floor echo my footsteps. The beds were very old as well, it looked like the mattress had a hole in the middle of it. The toilets were disgusting and very smelly. The shower was alright.


(3691 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback