X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
7755 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The staff were great and very helpful with all questions asked. The location is ideal, very close to everything (as well as The Celt which is a fun pub). Very good value for money.


94%

I'll definitely recommend this hostel! The atmosphere is very positive, joyful. The structure is kept cleaned and the people you meet there are young and cooperative


86%

Very clean. Decent location, most major attractions within walking distance. Breakfast was ok


91%

Cool place. Great staff. The light in the shower wasn't working out first night so we had to shower downstairs. Not a big deal but maybe should have received some reimbursement since we paid for the private room for a reason.

  • 12th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Not happy about the €300 euro deposit amount for the room, less happy about having to wait upto 4 days to have the amount credited back on to my card

  • 12th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about that but we do charge a damage deposit for any large groups staying - we don't charge it for individuals - we would have credited it back on the day of departure - I think your bank might be the problem with you having the wait the 4 days although normally it goes through immediately.

97%

I think its the best hostel in Ireland. I was told so and now i see its true..

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

only the open hours of the breakfast....7.30-9.30 is too early from my point of view

  • 10th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed the stay - if we run the free breakfast any later nobody would get out of bed.

94%

Clean, safe and value for money :)

  • 10th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much - glad you enjoyed your stay.

97%

The staff here is outstanding. They are friendly, welcoming, helpful, and really do everything they can in their power to assist you. The location is near many of the other hostels, which is in a sketchy part of Dublin. However, the ce has character and old charm. There's free walking tours, a recommended pub crawl, decent continental breakfast, music all around, and security lockers.

  • 9th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is such a fabulous review - Thanks !!

80%

Staff was helpful and friendly, great location for sightseeing. There were many large groups staying there at the time who monopolized the facilities and weren't welcoming which was a bummer.


89%

The hostel itself was really cool, especially some of the basement facilities. The staff was knowledgable and very friendly. The only annoying thing is that my keycard would not work consistently and I constantly had to go and get it fixed at reception.

  • 8th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cool comments thanks a million . We are very sorry about the issues with your Keycard

83%

Nice and welcoming staff! The dorms were a bit noisy, but I guess it's how it is in a youth hostel :) Breakfast a little light !

  • 8th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you liked the staff ! Sorry if noise was anuisance at all.W do ask for quiet between 11pm and 7am in the dorms and hope that all our guests will respect this rule . Our breakfast is simple but it is "all-you- can eat" and the Self catering Kitchen is very handy if you to want to rustle up a full fry !

100%

First Hostel experience and I am hooked. Such an awesome place with amazing vibes. The staff is wonderful, especially Trouble who works at the front 😉

  • 7th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much- you wouldn't believe how much we have to pay the staff to be this wonderful!

94%

Had a nice stay at Isaacs for one night. very central, clean and modern bathroom, great breakfast included, nice staff. any time again :)


86%

All around - comfortable place to stay. Location is a good spot for getting around in Dublin and there is plenty to do in and around the hostel itself. Would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

66%

This hostel is very much a party loud hostel if that's what you are looking for. My room was located next to the train track which is quiet noisy. Rooms are small with 2 outlets. There are lockers for rent in the basement at 10 euro(refundable). Only 2 showers and toilets for he whole floor. Staff are somewhat helpful at times but seem very busy. Ok for a bed for a night or two.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback . Sorry if you found your room noisy, We can't deny the trains at front of the Hostel but we do have ear plugs for lighter sleepers and we have chill out areas in the basement if you are looking for peace and quiet on busy nights We have extra showers in basement if busy

83%

Good place to stay. had to move rooms in the middle of my stay and wasn't told when I checked in. It means our things were dumped in reception when we returned from sightseeing. Staff apoloogetic but the change had been decided before we arrived and we were not informed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So very sorry about the change of rooms- you are absolutely right you should have been informed and normally would be. Not sure why this did n't happen but our apologies

83%

Easy to find, clean and well decorated. Comfortable beds. Quite a social hostel- would recommend for solo travelers. In a very cool and fun part of town, but it is a good 10-15 minute walk to the closest tube station.

  • 4th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I found it was too crowded and noisy but all the rest was fine.

  • 3rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Isaac's has a great location, lively atmosphere, no shortage of facilities and incredible value for your money.


(4506 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback